(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi dor... here are my details:

Here's mine:
EDD: 19 Feb 08
Bb no.: #2
Gynae : Dr Loh Foo Hoe
Hopsital : Mt E
Add: Joo Seng Rd

BBKgal, didn't know they had H&M in HK!! I love that shop and used to go everytime I was in Denmark for work. I was in Paris last November and got so many things for Sabie there!

purple, CL is confinement lady..

are you chinese? because chinese normally engage CL to help out during confinement period.

ooh...i see, what does she normal do?
No, im not chinese, im arab actually..localised though..
for me..its good old mum that will be my confinement sergant! hehehe...and soon after mine is up..she will be moving to the next block..to my sis..shes expecting too!!

H&M opened in HK this year. hehe. my gfs and I were so excited that it's finally in Asia
Hopefully they open in Spore too!

Bkkgal,

For maternity bras, u can try sorella there is one design without wire quite comforfy thought.... But right now i am looking for half cup bra without wire. Anyone knw where can i find it?

Confirment Lady
Wow. Didn't know the cost can escalate to $4k during CNY period. Think they will just take the once in a year opportunity to earn more $.

Maternity Clothings
have been hearing you gals saying that babydoll dresses/tops are in fashion now. i've been looking around but don't seem to see much leh. i wanna buy babydoll clothings too. more practical and can wear after birth. now i also dare not step into maternity shop, dunno why.

dorothy/blueginger
didn't know can knit such cute animal. used to knit when i was in secondary school, but only did simple stuff like tissue box holder.

purplecurlz
welcome. soya bean is ok. i didn't drink milk so far. only drank soya bean milk. i was having nausea feeling during 1st trimester, whole day like got a funny bitter taste in the mouth. didn't vomit though. now much better but still have occasional nausea feeling.

gain of 2kg in weight is ok i feel. the weight gain or loss really depends on individuals. my gynae told me it's not surprising not to gain any weight during 1st 3 mths, as long as bb growing, it's fine. if there's weight gain, then it's a bonus.

bbkgal
maybe you should import fashionable maternity wear to thailand, sure will be a hit. :p

hi tong, another alternatives for u is to cater for veg confinement food if yr mum is coming over to help u out...i think normal confinement catering is abt $1.3K..veg one not sure...

garfield, wan to go?

Any recommendations for maternity wear for petite sized MTBs??? Please share as i have problems buying clothes. Am really out of clothes to wear liao!!!!

jacelyn,
if u are petite sized, then u can opt for the normal wear..u noe like dresses, long t-shirts.
For me, i havent really bgt any maternity tops yet...coz my current clothes can still manage..
i just bgt 2 pants...bur having diff finding jeans though..all i see is the skinny leg type..im looking for the bootleg cutting...any suggestions..

Stephie, u might wan to try top shop? forever 21?for babydoll dress or top....

wow, bkkgal! good idea leh... to import m clothes into bkk... btw, what do the local ladies wear when they preg?

jacelyn, i bot L and XL sizes long top from Bega and i think it's very suitable.

dor, thanks for the recommendation! may want to explore this alternative too

purple, CL will cook confinement food for the mummy, take care of bb, wash bb's clothes, and sometimes clean the house if time permits. So in arab all ladies durinc confinement do not engage anybody to help out other than own mums?

Jacelyn, hehe maybe you don't need real maternity wear, can buy bigger sized clothes? can go see topshop they have large size blouses with stretch that maybe you can wear?

purple: i got a bootleg jean from spring maternity

oohh jacelyn, if you manage to find half cup no wire, let me know hor? half cups are so sexy. need to feel sexy again man. everyday wake up feel like a hippo. i'll try sorella.

stephie, good idea but import tax in thailand is sky high. Cannot make money leh. i heard of another idea from a fren. apparently there's a company here that rents out breast pumps to moms here. the breast pump brand is medela. apparently quite good biz. good idea for mommies who dun wanna invest in expensive pumps. u think this will work in spore?

Jacelyn, u might wan to get normal wear but in bigger size?try those americian brands like top shop/gap/forever or zara?

actually...in the (malay) muslim community...we don engage in a CL...not that i noe of anyway..
i think mothers taking care of mummy is the best kind...and mothers can have more pantang!!
usually its the mum's mother or mil will take care...then maybe engage a maid if need.
And judging frm the price u ladies mention....its so expensive....

patssy,

Nope i haven tried! But i went to triumph the showed me a half cup w/o wire but is teenager bra! Dun feel comfy when i tried it.

Thanks for all the suggestions. I bought a pair of slim cut jean from Thyme maternity, very nice cut and comfy! Spring maternity do sell bootleg cut jeans u can go and take a look.

my sis just posed me a question: where will bb sleep when born?

my room is quite small, if i squeeze the baby cot in there won't be any walking space. hb and my 'long term plan' was to put bby cot in the other room opposite ours but now im just thinking, for the 1st month, wouldn't it be more convenient to put bb in same room as me?

if bb sleep in same room and wakes up in the middle of the night for feeds, wouldn't this disturb hb's sleep? or do most hb sleep in another room during this period?

hi piglettail,

i think what u suggested sounds reasonable enuff..for the first mnth ...bb cot can be in ur room...then its easier for u to nurse the baby..i think ur hb wont mind...maybe both of u can work out a plan..take turns to wake up..hehe..

as for me...i was thinking of just having the baby in the room for him/her...we are going to decorate the room..if need to move the cot here and there...abit leceh...and our rooms are very near to each other..but then again its only just plans...

piglettail, my first born always slept with us, even though the room was small, we squeezed in her cot and gave up the TV table to the corner. I guess for me hb was quite good and would wake up to do night feeds for me, or even wake up to accompany me when i express milk because first few months i had to express at midnight and 3 am otherwise will wake up in a bed wet with milk.

hi piglettail,

i think what u suggested sounds reasonable enuff..for the first mnth ...bb cot can be in ur room...then its easier for u to nurse the baby..i think ur hb wont mind...maybe both of u can work out a plan..take turns to wake up..hehe..

as for me...i was thinking of just having the baby in the room for him/her...we are going to decorate the room..if need to move the cot here and there...abit leceh...and our rooms are very near to each other..but then again its only just plans...

my friend said she did not wash her hair for 1 month during confinement!

erm, then hubby said i will smell like rubbish bin and it's better if i sleep in another room with my bb, haha

serious?? don wash hair for 1mth....is that going to diff for those who have long thick hair?

didnt noe the chinese community has alot of pantang!!

Hi, you can find the baby doll blouses in far east plaza. Though not quite cheap either, but cheaper than maternity clothes.

My CL is 1800 cos my EDD is also 28th Feb hee but keep changing.

Here's mine:
EDD: 28 Feb 08
Bb no.: #1
Gynae : Dr Adrian Woodworth
Hopsital : TMC
Add: Sengkang

yea purple! chinese got lots of pantang! like cant wash hair, cant on the fan, must eat a lot of food like ginger, black vinegar, cannot drink plain water -must drink red dates or other herbs only... etc... what about muslims? i'm interested to know too!! hehe

hi dorothy, dun mind going. let me know when you gals are going i'll try to make it.

my details :
EDD: 20 Feb 08
Gynae : Dr SF Loh
Hopsital : KKH
Add: Katong

bkkgal...long time never see you!! how are you? i thought thai ladies should be very trendy leh. but from what you describe - so funny!!! aiyo i cannot imagine myself in sailor moon man.

recently i've tried to improvise my dressing. i buy long tunic tops 2 sizes larger than normal and then wear them over 3/4 slacks with a belt on my hips. then i fluff out the top a bit (imagine those secondary school girls in pinafores and who wear their belt very low). pple say cannot tell i'm pregnant when i dress like that although my tummy is seriously big. hope i can dress like that for another month or two.

you gals may want to give it a shot =P

errm...our EDD in feb, very hot month leh. how to tahan not bathing.

i already decided that i will bathe. will get the herbs from those chinese medicinal hall and boil them for bathing.

hahah...wah so terok man..tot the hurdle would be over after u give birth..hehe...ive heard of all those...but didnt believe them...if u get a garang CL..then how??

actually for muslims...no particular pantang..coz its based on our religious framework...just have to make sure, u are clean, baby is clean.
however, if u follow ur race, malay,javanese or indian...then another story la..hehe..
i dun noe much..coz i wasnt exposed to that while growing up.
i noe for malay/javanese, usually the mum will go for traditional massages after delivery, takes lots of jamu, go for some tummy warp thingy. but im sure, the more traditional families will have more pantang. For muslims, regardless of race, you can follow these tradition as long it doesnt contradict with our religous beliefs.
For indians...i dunno...but im sure theres alot!! from what ive heard and seen frm my frens, frm the moment baby is born, there's alot of tradition things/events have to go thru..

but i think taking the food and herbs u mention shd be good right...coz for us anything that is good for the person is okay...but not washing hair....hmmm....

to add on....for malays..i guess during the pregnancy theres where the pantang is...
like u noe...ppl believe in spirits right...majority of preggy mums bring with them some things..like a nail or hairclip (smthing sharp), a spice (clove i think) i dunno la...all these to prevent unneccessary things frm following them....scary...if u let ur mind wonder..
for me...i dont carry..coz my mum doesnt believe in that la...shes not that pantang in that context..hehe...but i just have to maintain a strong will...and always say my prayers...hehe..

also...during preg, we are very careful of what we speak..cannot anyhow whack talk especially abt ppl!...then if u say anything not nice...they always say to pat ur butt..hehe..funny right...

Dorothy,
I rec'd your mail this morning. noted down your hp no. Was a bit busy today to reply.

Stephie,
it is just following thru instruction. If you just do for an hour or 2, you probably need 2 weeks the most the complete a pair of booties.
946493.jpg

dorothy/winnie
thanks for the suggestions on where to get babydoll dress or top. will check out those places you mentioned.

garfield/tongtong
i bathe and wash my hair during my confinement (with boiled chinese herbs water). just that didn't do so everyday cos my mum didn't allow. think i bathed every other day and washed 2-3 times a week.

ya, can be very hot especially when i drank only red date tea and must drink while it's still hot/warm. perspire like mad. had to sponge myself to keep clean.

tute
haven't been to the shop you mentioned. the clothes look quite nice price wise should be in mid-range.

winnie

finally there is someone who seeing the same gyane as me... only thing i see him at cck....

tute
not only u... me oso. suddenly tummy become so big leh.... so these weekend have to buy liao

blueginger, those are so cute!! i wish i had the patience to knit!

i'm one of those who didn't bathe for a month!! oh, except on the 14th day coz i begged my mum to let me bathe so i was clean when we went to bring my baby home!! but she made sure the water was hot and i could only wet my hair, no shampoo... you girls won't believe the releif I felt when my confinement was over! I think I took an hour long shower!!

hi dorothy, here's mine:
EDD: 28 Feb 08 (past 2 apptmts showed 28 feb though today's apptmt showed 1 mar.. next year leap yr.. if baby comes out on 29 feb, he/she will only have birthday once every 4 yrs woah..:p)
Gynae : Dr Gordon Tan
Hopsital : Gleaneagles
Add: Pasir Ris

Am 14 weeks today. Went for gynae appointment today, but he still didnt talk about any of the screening test that you gals did. so i asked him, and he says he doesnt think it's necessary.. he says it's just a screening test and he doesnt think very accurate anyway, so he say he wouldnt order the test unless i choose to do it.. wanted to ask you ladies, any of your doctors say no need to take the nuchal translucency and triple test for screening??

garfield, on? we gg on mon... will be meeting at the shop(called golden dragon) at chinatown... i should be reaching at 6pm...where is yr office?
can email me @[email protected] as u dun rec pm...

purple, haha... got lots of "love" one leh... $$ cant buy....

patsy, after u home arrest then u join me lah... also do update on yr review!!!

cheryl, not bad!!!

eileen, if u are less than a certain age.. gynae will tell u can dun do ds screening... but the decision maker is still yrself...i din take ds screening as gynae told me my NT scan is ok....

bathing during confinement...
i bathe twice... my mum brewed those herbal water for me to bathe... she washed my hair!!!

purplecurlz,
i think u shd be close to 18 wks now, cos my EDD is 3-4th feb and i am 17w 4d now.

those little toys are so cute, pity i am not good with handicraft. hahah.

oh btw, i think i felt baby move last night leh!! heheh. so exciting!

dorothy,
my Add: USA
doc: Dr Garner
hospital: Presby of Plano
thanks for updating!! btw, thought it was Snoopy doing the updates last time?

fairfeld, huh u also week17 n 4d? then i think i caclculated wrong lah? so i should be abt week 18 huh?

i taking over cos ...
...u get what i meant?