(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

haha piglettail, now that you mention! ya...i stained my sofa with the clarins oil cos i wear shorts mah, so when i sit down will kena the sofa. one of the reasons i change.

elancyl has two types - one is a cream, and the other is a concentrate. the cream can be used during pregnancy, but the concentrate only AFTER pregnancy. i bought both (kiasu).

can get it at the larger guardian, watsons stores. JL now having 20% discount so good time to stock up!

cheryl
take care.

pigletail
what brand of stretch mark cream you bought? last pregnancy, i was using clarin's stretchmark oil. no stretch mark. i applied it when i was in 2nd trimester only on tummy 'cos 1st trimester totally no mood to do it. this time round, i haven't started.
some said stretch mark is genetic, meaning if your mum has, then you will get it, too. not sure how true it is.
i read the instruction for using the clarin oil. if i remember correctly: rub it evenly, then after that use cold water to rinse a bit.

moi dar
i agreed with what garfield9 suggested.

loinky
i haven't gained any weight and still losing 'cos of my MS. different ppl, weight gain speed is different. no worries.

Thks for all the info on the stretch mark creams, will quickly get 1 now ;)

Hi loinky,

Im in my 4th mths now, have not feel any movement on my bb yet....according to doctor, its ok. I had put on 3kg now, is it too little or alittle too fast to gain these much??

I am using a french brand cream recommended by the gynane. Its not too oily and has a faint mild fragance. Its quite moisturing cos end of the day i still feel my tummy well moistured. I also heard strechmarks are genetic and stretchmark cream can only reduce the appearance but not "erase" it. So its better to apply than not!

I already gained 2 kg plus when i was in week 12. Now in week 16 already, dunno how much more I have gained! :{

Going to checkup this sat. Quite anxious to see how is my baby and how much he/she has grown.

i knw stretch mark is genetic oso. so i assume i cfm will get it...
i wonder hw the movement feel like?? i alway have butterfly feeling in my stomach....

cheryl, how come scalded your fingers? hope you're alright now.

moi_dar.. agree with hana.. you may wanna sit hubby down for a heart to heart talk lah.. maybe he's also going through some emotional phase in handling pregnancy.. heard from a friend that the FTB can also go through some emotional upheaval.. just that they're not so open to sharing.. hence less heard of.. my friend's recommending us this book for daddys to be.. hubby yet to get the book title and author from them yet.. when i get it i'll post it here.. my friend says it's a useful book.

me at home today cos down with early stage of flu too.. many colleagues in my office sick too.. so doctor gave me 1 day mc to stay away from the office.. my stomach been giving me trouble these past few days. been feeling bloated and slightly constipated though i already tried to increase my fluid intake. doctor says prob the flu make my stomach ailment worse too

eileen

careless loh.. wan to drink water. den press hot water out of flask.. who knw the cup slip... lucky not so bad now. but thumb still red.. only hope no blister.

morning gals... how is everybody?

am still on bed rest but the bleeding has stopped!

dor: i cannot go out leh... unelss gyne finally agrees... but if anyone needs can let me know

Not sure whether is being pregnant make us more "unreasonable" or emtional. I been feeling very upset with things happening at home. Ultra sensitive to the surrounding too.

Maybe its my personality or character but things are super frustrating.

Already cm to the 4th mths now, the nausea has stop few weeks ago. This morning started to vommit again...guese it will only till the 8-9 mths.

My Gynae also commented that Stretchmark is genetic and asked me to just use the cheapest moisturising lotion in town and apply lots of it. More for the dry skin rather than the stretchmark. He even joked that i can pass it to my hubby since he will put on more weight.
Anyway, I am still using it as my thigh/side of hip area already has ugly stretch marks since teenage yrs... =) so for insurance, I am using the Palmer's one. quite gd.

garfield9 and piglettail...sorry just saw your questions on the wire bra and blocked ducts on the archived pages.

well i'm not sure if there's definitely a direct correlation. but i have a friend who after giving birth to her 1st girl, was breastfeeding initially, and for some reason the milk flow wasnt good, and when she went to see doctor, was told that she got blocked ducts. she had to undergo surgery to clear it up.. i wont go into the details here.. but it sounded really, really scary to me (ok i shld probably also mention that i'm quite the squirmish, scared to see blood kind).. i asked her what it was caused by, she said no one reason in particular but doctor says sometimes it may be because bra is too tight, or wire of the bra was pressing on the milk duct when it was developing.. bec the story was so scary, i did some reading up on my own abt prevention. most books suggest that once pregnant and when nursing, shld try to avoid wearing wired bra bec the wire may restrict or hinder development of the milk ducts without you realising. it is a real dilemma for me too, bec like cheryl, i'm a bit big.. and am used to having the support,and i'm really worried about them sagging :p but like i said lor.. my friend's story about what she went through was scary enough to make me play safe.. though i guess there's really no fool proof way to prevent it.. it's just try to play safe lor..

in fact, over the past week, i've been feeling this ache/pain on my left breast.. and i've been rather worried :p will be seeing my gynae this thurs.. think i'll ask him abt it too .. hope it's nothing serious..

Kellie,
I guess it's partly due to the hormones during pregnancy.
I told hubby that i will tend to get irritated and emotional much easier than i used to be... so that he can be mentally prepared and wont be overly angry because of that.
Hey we are the Queen for these few months ok? =)

Thanks Garfield9 & apple79. 2 simple tops for $60... that's really ex... I've tried spring maternity but didn't notice any... I think I'll drop by Suntec to take a look at both shops again... Thyme maternity is really expensive, I've bought 2 pants from there and each costs me $95... but I bo-bian, the pants from Spring is too short for me, only Thyme ones fit me...

I have read somewhere on the milk duct also. Best to choose bras without underwire. Initially i thought i will feel weird, but actually it's very comfortable.
I got 3 over the weekend at Bugis Seiyu. Sorella, buy 2 get 1 free. & Its very cheap.

dorothy, good to hear that u finally succeeded in getting your monies back. Hopefully Raffles will process it quickly.

Kellie, me also have emotional breakdowns couple of time. Once, I could not get through my hubby hp and I started crying when he finally called back. Think really scare my hubby big time cos I dun usually breakdown. So its normal. Like hana says, we are queen for these months.

Cheryl, hope you are better.

oh yah dor, glad you're gonna get yoru money back!

babyhope, thyme maternity is quite ex, but their clothes are very good quality. specially for work.

Hi all MTBs,
I'm in my 14weeks pregnancy. Since you are talking about the stretch mark cream, I'm using Palmer cocoa butter cream, so far so good, cost abt $17. My friend suggest me to apply it as soon as you know your pregnancy. Have to apply cocoa butter, genuine olive oil and any kinda skin lotion. You wont have stretch mark. But I'm too lazy to apply 3, so apply only the cocoa butter. Greasiness is acceptable. You may wanna try.

Kellie/Cheryl- i also more emotional n unreasonable.. prob cos my husband doesn't hav fixed working hrs.. n working almost everyday including sundays(alternate).. when he's back, he's too tired to accompany me for a walk..all i can do is hope that he will finish work early everyday..hehe.. but it never happens..

what does it means when the chest area hurts?

Thanks all for the kind advice. let talk about something more lively.

anyone noe where to OLD Navy stuff. I have try to surf the site but it seem that it does not shipped elsewhere beside US itself.

Understand previously there is a spree but it have close, so if anyone noes. Do enlighten me. I am quite sua ku in online purchases anyway....

hi ladies...

i took a train to Plaza Sing just to eat pasta mania for lunch! think im going mad already, everyday nearing meal time my brain will automatically have 'signals' of either "fried","soupy","salty" or "sour". haha

thanks garfield and eileen for your advise on stretch mark cream and blocked milk ducts

sunny, i got the clarins oil. think it's one of the more popular choices. now they also have a cream, i was given a small trial tube to try, it wasn't greasy as the oil but somehow i don't quite like it. i'll check out the elancyl cream sometime this week. the watsons i went just now dun have it.

hi everyone, wow... a lot of posts to catch up...

me still on mc as not well still...

cheryl, how's yr fingers? better?

cecilia, hope u feeling better... my husband also a scoccer freak!!! but he only watch... so now sat/sun... i like got no choice to talk to him too!!! wonder how to cope when we give birth cos during that time is champion league!!!

i guess as a SAHM... yr world revolves just yr kids/husband n yr home... something which cant be changed..u might wan to pick up something to do... like knitting(can jio me!!!) or exercise(can also jio me) or start a blog for no.2!!!
for me, my quality time is usually supper time when the 2 of us went out for a bite....

loink, i am into my week17... sometimes feel something(which i think is movement)... so far, i still have not gain any weight....

garfield, u veri kuai... cos i not so onz on my cocoa butter stretchmark cream... only apply when in the mood .;p
garfield, i think i will invest in spring stuff as i think their stuff as quite ok... if i din manage to accumulate $350... i will pass yr the reci... as i think after this one.. i will close shop already... then i will borrow the card from u or patsy when i need to buy anything...

patsy, better now???

kellie, u can go to the overseas thread to see any pending Oold navy spree... but hor the sizes are veri big leh... me just collected my old navy skirt. i ordered M but when i wear it, it looks like it will just drop off...

hi dorothy,
I hardly bother my husband before preg or now. SOmetime I oso play MIA with him. Like what you said, just pick up a hobby and go excerising loh! there are so many things I can do if I'm a SAHM, but husband strictly banned me cos he cannot afford it. Well... I'm into knitting. You wanna go with me on weekly basis. You can go to library as well, at least it is FOC. Or friends time.

hi !!

had called one agency and the rate for CL ( day time only - 9 to 6pm) is SGD 3,200. So ex ya!!

do you think getting a part time helper better? since my mum will be doing confinement for me too. not sure whether those $10/hour will charge more during CNY?

bluegin, i wan to learn knitting leh... btw, u not working huh?heehee, i cant read as i will fall asleep one....

tong, usually those parttime helper are housewife... cos i dont think for the 1st week of cny... u can find any..

Thread moving too fast

So far, only the following interested in cord blood banking:
1. bkkgal
2. Xiao Yun

I have not thot abt which company yet... just want to find out interests from mummies here before considering if it wld make sense to try to bargain for bulk discount.

hi dorothy, long time no hear? feeling better? how's the migraine?

now no need to worry about your medisave claims, can shop without hesitation hor =P ya agree spring is worth investing in. plus the bottoms can be worn even after pregnancy.

my hubby not a soccer fan, but he is a play station fan, so can identify with what you gals are referring to...haha....what to do??? i've learnt that it's better to try to appreciate and join in. so i always say i watch PS3 movie (basically i am spectator - give him encouragement as he is playing haha)

today i finally had tom yum soup!! been thinking about it since you tempted me the other day =)

hi patsy, good news?! hope gynae gives you the green light to get up and about soon.

err.....me very sua ku....what's OLD navy? i never heard before haha

dorothy,
I'm working. Usu wil go knitting after work, as for you, you can sit there full-day at the knitting place. U get to learn more than just knitting. Those aunties there very experience with kids and baby. I learnt some from them while I'm there. eavesdropping =P
You have migraine? Not too sure if the theory works, but I recently have terrible headache and bodyaches because I just overwork myself and my baby. Walking or sitting too long, busy with a lot of actiivites. After relaxing my body and mind for a few day, condition turn better. Guess there shouldn't be too much activities and too hungry.

Beauty Seet,
I'm interested in the cord blood banking. There are 3 in singapore: 2 private and 1 public. The public work in a way that if you donate your baby cord blood to them and pay the yearly maintainence fee. If in time when you need to use, they will seek a suitable cord blood for you. I dun really like that idea, hence definitely out of it.
Read Stemcord (private) phamplet nothing attractive, so likely to go for Cordlife(private). have not receive their phamplet yet.

Tongtong,
it is tough to get CL and part-time helper during CNY. You might wanna check for Malay massage lady instead. Not sure if they will charge the normal rate during that time. Otherwise, if your mummy wasn't too old, I think she should be able to handle the baby.

Garfield9,
Cord blood bank is used to store cord blood extract from the baby cord. The blood is known to cure disease like lukemia and cancer. Yesterday news announced the first case of using cord blood in singapore.
The intial price is $3000 and the yearly storage fee is $250. Pls check the price again for vary bank.

garfield, me better.... but today still on mc... tell u a joke!!! me thought of cooking dinner tonight... guess what i dont know how to on my stove!!! my hubby laughed at me.....
so u got yr tom yum soup... i prefer the clear looking type.... my hubby called them harmless looking ones....

beauty seet, thanks for the offer... i dun think i wan to store my baby cord....

garfield, old navy is a online website based in US.. www.oldnavy.com

bluegin, where do u stay? or work? me staying in east... work in amk... but will be moving in nov to lengkee(redhill)... when u gg to knitting???
i have had migrane for every long time... usually like once a week... veri bad ones... but it got worse during my first 3 months....my gynae attributed it to hormones...

Dorothy,
Oh.... Very coincident. Me staying east now and working at HarbourFront area (South). The knitting place at Outram. The shop is golden dragon. Will be going tmr.

OIC. That's bad... Bet it is very much better feel in 2nd trimester. =)

BTW. I din buy much for maternity. Friends said that dun waste too much money for just 9months. For the tops/dresses, can buy baby-doll from this fashion. Do you gals think that sports bra is good enough for pregnancy?

blueginger, are there fixed time schedules for the knitting classes? im thinking of picking up a new hobby as lately have more time on my hands. want to keep myself occupied and the knitting place is rather near my office.

Timing is as below,
Mon-fri 11am-8pm
Sat-sun & PH 1pm-7pm

Avoid Sat. MOST crowded, almost the whole day.
If you are first timer (working mother), can go on Monday night cos usually nobody. Sun and PH have to call them cos they have alternate sunday and sometime close on PH. As for SAHM, no problem, anytime except sat.

A fren of mine discovered her daughter was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes last year. The girl has to be injected with insulin 4 times a day for the rest of her life. It's very painful for the patient and the family. They have to be careful with her diet, her activities, lots of doctors' visits, consultations, blood tests. Imagine if she had cord blood right now, there is hope of a cure for her daughter.

Stem cell research and technology has been making a lot of progress in recent years. When cord blood banking first started, the list of diseases that could be treated with stem cell was short but now the list is so much longer. Taking the blood from baby's umbilical cord is the purest form of stem cell. Of cos we hope that we never have to use the cordblood (choi! choi!) but it's a form of insurance but should we ever need to, we know we have hope.

kellie,
i read that if u have more PMS signs before pregnant, like emotional etc, then u'll be more prone to mood swings during pregnancy. Dun worry lah, at least u know its not permanent, after bb is born, everything will be ok.

dorothy,
ur old navy skirt too big ah? did u buy the Maternity kind?
i love the clear tom yum soup too. Just made it recently. So the myth that says if pregnant woman likes sour food, she's having a girl, is not true lah, since u're having a boy. Hhehe.

I'm new to this thread. My EDD is 16 Feb. This is my #2. My gal is now 2.5 yrs old. Hope to join you gals in this thread.

Thanks, babyhope

Re Cord blood banking
I banked the cord blood of my gal with Cordlife previously. But am not sure if I need to bank for my second child. Can't remember exactly how much I paid previously. One time fee probably abt $1k-$2k. Annual fee is $250.

will discuss with hubby re cord blood thingy. honestly, never really gave it serious thought. up to now, still mentally unprepared to be a mummy haha....

i suspect i have "mild depression". nothing serious, and no mood swings or suicidal thoughts. just this compulsive urge to engage in retail therapy (usually a sign of stress for me...but no stress at work leh =P)

Good morning, all MTB.
I'm oso first-time mum. Din experience any emotional swing. Could be that I did a lot of excerises during my first trimester. From professional, excerise do help to reduce all sort of discomfort. Perhap can go for regular strolling at nearby park from now on. Thing won't get that worse. Be a happy mum too.

yah have been trying to exercise more oso. but very tired all the time. and after dinner always bloat (and it's painful), so need to lie down and rest.

now trying to walk during lunch time, either walk out for lunch or do some shopping. clock in at least 15 mins of walking lor =P

bluegin, currently what is yr project?(knitting)... i wan to go leh... but not today... do they teach crocheting???btw, kapo a bit... which part of east u stay huh? me at bedok reservoir...

fairfield, ya... got that skirt from maternity range...abt the the myth that says if pregnant woman likes sour food, she's having a girl... not true when i expecting my gal.. cos i dun like sour stuff...

garfield, better now??

good morning.

Just heard something scary from my colleague. She said the company can actually use the 3rd mth of our maternity leave to ask us to leave. and she said this is approve by MOM.

just want to ask if anyone here is in HR line that can advise.