(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi dort! ya long time didnt appear here. me so far so gd. 16 week liao. 2nd one so take it easy. but i can understand all the new mummies... i was oso terrified of the delivery of my first one. somemore cry so hard before my delivery, marchiam going to die like tat *paisay*. too bad i didnt know about supportive forum like this when i had my #1. really good to share all our fears here with fellow MTB. hubby sometimes dunno wat the hell we talking about rite

my first is boy la. this 2nd one dunno yet. my EDD keeps moving forward leh.. at first 9feb/ then 7feb/ latest like 3feb... soon hv to go to jan tread liao. haha. but u are rite about the antenatal class - useless! it was just fun to go for the classes with hubby and fun meeting other mums. but in terms of wat we learn was quite basic la.

really, this is seriously a good place for all expectant mothers to gather and "complain" ha ha ha... So Cheryl, don't get too dishearten.

We can all go for yoga together then!

Dorothy, haven't really decided yet. I had my first one at KKH cheap and can't complain much. But this time round, my gynae has moved out as a private doc and he can only go to Mount E, glen E and Thomson. Haven't really decided which hospital to go to.

This time round, cost not so much of a problem cos hb's company will subsidise $5k... so any advice?

Hi Sunny, Cecilia here. Welcome.

regard the heartbeat i feel at my tummy. recently it is getting more stronger leh.. i hope it is my bb 1.. haha.. abit crazy... even when i lie down n slp, i can oso feel it leh... last time dun have de leh.

Just to share my experience what it was like when I had my first one.

I delivered natural with epidural. Apparently they do use the scissor to cut up before delivery. However, in all honesty, the pain of the contraction and delivery was way higher than the cut. As a matter of fact, I didn't know the doctor had cut me untill my hb told me about it after delivery in the ward. The pain of the cut is felt when you are recovering and have to apply medication on the wound. That is the painful part.

As for having back problem with use of epidural, I have to admit, personally I feel it is true to a certain extend cos I have frequent backache. Although doctors always says it is due to weak back muscle. But if you ask me, I think it is the injection. However, I will still opt for epidural when the time comes, I have rather low threshold for pain too he hehe...

re dong cong cao (cordyceps) my mom asked medical hall and TCM doctor - safe to eat. but not everyday, few times a week enough.

wah all this talk about nose getting bigger...i also going to scrutinize in mirror liao

i just asked hubby - he say dun have but i dun believe him =P

oh by the way, mummies can u advice me if its ok for me to visit my girlfriend who has a baby tat is now 2mths old and she is still on maternity leave? anyone heard any "pangtang" things about it? please share. tnks.

hihi, back from lunch!!!

when thai express!!!! had tom yam soup n other stuff!!! no wonder my face can became warzone...

garfield, today no shopping???

cecilia, huh... cut there.. i scare leh... aiya... i always pattern pattern one... now i kept telling my hb that i will go natural n will go for 4-bedded... last min, i sure pattern one.... me too had my gal at kkh... first day, admitted to 4-bedded.... after 1 day, changed to 1-bedded....i gg to mt a...u prefer which one leh....
jusmom, dun go jan thread leh... tho, my gynae told me(during last visit).. my edd changed to 27jan... but i wan feb leh...wah, his company so good!!!

dorothy......you are making me hungry again =P this kind of weather drink tom yam so shiok!

shopping ah - today wanted to go leh - tempted but decided to halt the brakes cos already spent more than 1k on clothes so far

me have been hearing many sad stories. one of my best friend's wife still birth 7 mths cos baby suffocated by umbilical cord. then my neighbour also miscarriage around 6 mths. makes me realize that every successful pregnancy is something very precious.

garfield
is like that. anything can happen during pregnancy. not say only 1st 3 mth. actually thru out anything can happen...

garfield, haha i had tom yam soup n curry soft shell crab rice!!!!

wow!!! what u buy!!! $1K- all for yr self huh? actually, i wont enoough spending so much on m clothes cos we only wearing for few months leh... save $$ for bb....

is like that one.... pregnancy is not a bed of rose.....

cheryl, feeling better??

dorothy

thanks yes, better.. TGIF.. wan to go for maternity shopping tml.. haha.... pocket gonna burn big hole.

i see this webbie maternity clothes very nice leh.
www.motherhood.com but hor oversea 1 leh, ship till here oso not cheap.

cheryl,

me also feeling the same thing ! read somewhere that it is possible that mothers in 14-15 weeks being able to feel the baby's movement though very faint.

hana,

yeah same thing for me..in the beginning very sure wanna do natural with epi...now scared of doing epi coz all the side effects

about prenatal classes, isn't it too early for us to go ? i was planning to go :p they have one at Thomson.

ya, so we must all pray for every MTB to have a smooth and successful pregnancy.

eeeeee dorothy.......see lah now i want to eat!!!

errm *blush* ya i oso dunno how come so much =P everytime i look into my wardrobe - like nothing to wear leh, so feel like buying haha!! but it includes the cost of buying flat shoes (i used to only wear heels), stretchmark cream, new underwear etc etc.

garfield, **blush** i see... i finally need to change all my bottom to maternity bottom already!!! so tomorrow gg to get some bottom.... i need **undies** also....

garfield, where u get yr undies???

back from lunch..

i searched high and low for tom yum soup at lunch around my office but can't find....!! so settled for some kim chi soup instead ;/ not satisfying...

luckily i lunch alone today, so can walk from place to place in search of tom yum soup, haha.

dorothy, thanks for searching for the classes! hehe, earlier i meant i didn't search very hard (think i just browse a few mag and google search 5min) and only found birth and beyond. *embarressed*

my discomfort scale...its more like my 'personal scale' keke. 9/10 being the bloat/gas feeling so bad that i ran to the toilet 3 times in 1 afternoon thinking i was going to vomit. today is not that bad but still i couldn't eat lunch. only had kim chi soup bits of the veg and meat in it.

regarding the pain/cut; actually i more worried about the wound pain. yes my mum had her virgina cut too and she said she couldn't feel the pain (cos everywhere so pain already) while being cut but it was when stiching up and wound recovering period that it hurts.

<font color="119911">hi dorothy,
Re: maternity undies
Hey, i wanna recommend MotherWorld Maternity Undies...lacy stretchable support top part only. very comfy & price at $17. Can consider to invest in 1 or 2 pcs.</font>

haha...im still trying to squeeze into my normal clothes, the not-so-tight ones. cos not everyone in office knows yet, only my boss. the other colleagues are more 'distant' in terms of job scope so only say hie every morning when i walk past cubicle on way in to my desk.

undies i bought a few in 1 size larger already, from the usual triump/sorella, when they have those discount trolleies...

this morning MIL also commented on my expanding tummy. hmmm..i read in some pragnant mag there's some elastic extension band with hook and/or buttons we can buy to attach to our usual pants and skirts to make room, therefore with a longer and looser top covering it we can still wear our 'modified' original skirts/pants? anyone used this before?

cheryl,
MotherWorld brand maternity apparel & undergarments. Add: Jurong Point, 1 Jurong West Central 2, #02-52, Tel: 6791 5669 - call to check other outlet address.

<font face="comic sans MS">piglettail,
i heard of Maternity Exchange Ingrid and Isabel's Bella Band but not elastic extension band with hook/buttons? You don't mean bra extension bah.</font>

ok, today had lunch at pasta mania, filling full but now still munching on the lays chips! erm, feeling guilty of eating non-stop!

cheryl-i think dong cong cao cordyceps should be fine becuase my friend had this every 2 weeks during her pregnancy. i also had this too.

i realised that guys would prefer bb boy more than gals from all the response from the forum. cuz my hubby is one of them too althoguh he said gal is also good.

hi dorothy, i got my undies from mothercare. super comfortable quality very very good. got two types - one that sits below the tum (5 for $36), and one that covers the tum when it grows bigger. sometimes they have 20% discount

also want to recommend the maternity cotton pants (either 3/4 or full length) from spring maternity. the cotton is ooooooohhhhh sooooooooo soft and comfy. my goodness!!!

i think early stages they say the elastic of the panty shouldn't cut across tummy cos will apply pressure on baby and affect growth.

later stages tummy is very very big, need support cos very heavy, so cover tummy to help relieve the weight.

dunno if it's a marketing ploy to get us buy more. but i very obedient lor =P....just follow lor haha....bought the "sit below tum" type and wearing them now. later change to "cover tum" type when i grow bigger.

Hmm .. i have never wear undies that cover tummy for ages, =)
And most of the pants shld be low cut at below tummy right? Wouldnt it be a bit odd to pair low waist pants with high waist undies?

Went shopping at Parkway today. See a few variation for the bottle steriliser for Avent brand. Anyone has any idea which is better or what is what?

Bought two maternity shirts and two more bras from Sorella. My doctor did a scan on my breast for tissue changes on my last visit and told me my ligament is very thin and that I need to wear very good supportive bra to prevent breast from sagging after birth. So, I didn't dare to buy those cheap bras from market but still bought the cheapest in Isetan which is the Sorella at $34 each.

Also bought some Undies from Kiddy Palace, two for $19 those cover all the way up to the tummy type for later use. Currently still wearing the normal panties but are low cut to save cost.

BTW, I went to check out the Clarins stretch mark control oil it's $79.90. Anyone has lobang where I can get it cheaper?

Dorothy, actually no preference to the hospital I think. But I will opt for the 1 bedded so that hubby can bunk in. If you can afford the 1 bedded, then opt for it. It provides more privacy and can allow more visitors.

Normally, I don't have much craving. Don't know why when I read all you gals talking about Tom Yum Soup... now craving for it too... Mind you, I don't normally take spicy food... Geez... gotta ask hb to get some for me now.

hi jusmom,
thanks for the info on cicumcision. I guess things are the opposite in US, becos parents are afraid kids grow up with esteem problems, so they choose to have their boys circumcised instead ( boys' locker rm lah, u know). Anyway, dun think i'll opt for that if i'm really having a boy lah.

piglettail,
i think epidural has its risks becos if the anaesthesiest injects the wrong amt of drugs, might have complications lor.. i also hope i can have a smooth and easy natural delivery.

tongtong,
i think my hb is one of the few here who actually prefers a girl.

cheryl,
i also feel the "little heartbeat" on my tummy, but i dun think that's the baby's heartbeat lah. Dun think will be able to feel the heartbeat like that at this stage yet. Most likely its just gas in the stomach moving ard. Dun think its fetal kicks too, cos its a little too strong to be that at this point.

hihi, just came back from late dinner cum supper,garfield, heehee... tempting u again!!!

wen changi rd fr kidney mee sua...feeling good now...

cecilia, ya... do agreed on 1 bedded... cos i stayed in bedded in kkh... good cos hb around for everything.... but for this one, i aiming for natural n 4th bedded cos i planning to take one mth unpaid to test water for single income n also hb promises my gal to bring her n bb to japan next may... cos me rather save the extra for shopping....

if u wan clarins oil, i can asked my friend's hubby to get cos he steward so can buy under duty free n also extra discount under staff...

maybe i go parkway tomorrow also... can look see n also to eat tom yum steamboat!!!!

feel happy now as me gg to see bb!!!!

dorothy,
the minute i read abt ur " tom yum steamboat" at parkway, i find myself drooling. I like the steamboat at the foodcourt. Have been going there for more than 10 yrs, is it still ard?

i know there's the other steamboat restaurant at the basement. Never tried before. Is that one better?

good morning, i woke up already!!!

cant sleep!!! cos too excited!!!!

fairfield, yes... it is still there since my school days!!!

if u coming back to sing, we all go ok???

wah, u sleep so late, wake up so early!!
update us on ur gyne visit later, k?

ya, next time we must organise eating trip.. heheh.

good morning everyone.

i think the tom yum steamboat got another branch at novena. opposite the novena church, but the prices there are more ex compared to the one at parkway foodcourt! i miss the tom yum soup there too!

morning ladies..

still craving for my tom yum soup, but tonight got dinner at some steak house. hmmm..

parkway n novena got tom yum steamboat? haiz, i live all the way at west coast leh.
im currently addicted to the tom yum soup at this restaurant at purvis street, called First Thai. small thai eatery n very affordable prices too.
the spicy and sour combination just right for me.

i found the 'elastic extension belt' advert i mentioned earlier, it's called "Belly Belt combo kit" from the advert pix looks like a piece of cloth with button/hooks on each side so we can attach the cloth to the zipper/button area of our original skirts and pants to create more space. any1 used this type of thing before?

the advert says it's available at mothercare, KK hospital, mother and child, etc.

MIL went to ask around for CL...and 1 quoted $1,800x2=$3,600 for the CNY EDD period...!gosh!

Cheryl, you falling sick? Better drink more water. Cough is quite unbearable during pregnancy.

Dorothy, so you got your medisave thingy resolve?

Think I have to get new undies too. Now wearing my undies below my tummy but still feeling uncomfortable. Think getting tight cos hip bigger. Will go mothercare to see later.

hi gals, been MIA for a while...had a huge scare the pst few days. Started to have spotting from Thursday and became actual bleeding yesterday. Went to gyne and he said it's because my placenta is lw lying and may have a blood vessel growing into the cervix... haiz,very scary and stressed. But at least the baby is doing well.. thriving adn good heartbeat. Just so sian now must stay in bed whole day,not even allowed to walk around the house.

Hope everyone else is ok!

I m bk from my scan yesterday, still cant tell the sex of the BB yet (4 tmhs now). Me & hb wondering will it a bb gal or bb boy? Cause he is so excited to decorate the bb room, painting, wallpaper, poster, furnitures...etc ;)

Hi piglettail,
Ya, i had asked aroung for few CL, the price is almost there...coz our EDD is on CNY! Now, i had confirmed with my CL @ S$2,800. The S$3,600 is the highest among all, some they only charge S$2,500...but for my case, my CL is recommended by my hb's sis in-law.

HI Patsy, take good care!
Pigtail, the CL fees is the market rate for CNY leh. it is x2. the one I got is 1.8K but as my EDD is end Feb, but hor, I also worry that the CL will fly plane last min if she got a better offer during CNY.

PAtsy, take care ok... dun worry.. cos everything is yes n amen for u!!!! pls ok, bedrest... i have a friend who is also like this n now bb already 6mths old!!!!

fairfield, sigh... cos these days i cant get back to sleep after waking up in the middle of night....

cheryl, take care ok....

piglettail, yr cl so ex!!!!tom yum soup, die la... now got craving for it... guess my hubby will kill me if i say i wan it now...purvis st???i will try to go n try out...

babyhopes, thanks for yr concern...not yet.
wonder when can i see my $$

anyway, i went for my appt today!!! my bb is abt 11plus cm... it's a BOY!!!! but this boi boi hor not as active as his sister... movement veri minimum...like moving hand n playing with his legs.... gg for my detail scan next month!!!

i went parkway, din eat my tom yum steamboat cos the weather was veri hot....isetan is having sales... so i had a good time doing my "to-buy-list"...wanted to buy the panties that cecilia said... but the cashier q is very long....

went kiddy place... managed to get a skirt n pant... hahaha... tomorrow gg spring to look for the cotton pant that garfield recommend....

Just finished my Mahjong session. Glad to hear all well and safe. I'll be praying for all.

Was craving Tom Yum soup ever since i read this forum on Friday but till now still never get to eat it... sianz.

Congrats Dorothy, I hope mine is a boy too.

Since all our babies are during CNY period, I wonder will anyone of us give birth to the first rat baby. I heard the first born on CNY will receive $8K. That would be enough to pay for the CL.