(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

dor, no choice mah, my mum was very strict! She allowed me a shampoo the day we brought sabie home but other than that, cannot. As soon as it was 1 month I spent an hour in the shower!!!!

HI Cecilia!! So lucky, wish i could quit work too!

I'm very scared to wear non-wired bras coz i'm scared my already droopy boobs will droop more. told hb after this will go for breast lift and tummy tuck!!

morning ladies,

went back mum's place last night and mum commented "2 weeks never see u your tummy expanded so much ah!" think i'll have to get new skirts and bottoms soon.

checked thru my scans, 1 say EDD is 15Feb,another 19 Feb and yet another is 10Feb. so confusing... (haiz,i just want to know exactly when bb was conceived) anyway will ask dr when i see him next week.

can i ask a erm..'dumb question'? can MTB drink alcohol? i dun mean drinking hard liquor in large amounts every night but perhaps 1-2 glasses of wine a week? used to drink like this once a week when dining out b4 preggie but stopped since. now im kinda 'craving' for some form of alcohol. esp when i get stressed.

did ask dr this question but my dr is super conservative and said no, maybe cos i asked him if i could drink 'alcohol' and he thought i was going to drink hard liquor? plus hb also there w me during check up and he ban me from drinking. ;(

bkkgal, yes i hope to breast feed as much as possible. does any1 know if breast feeding will cause the boobs to sag? MIL breastfed hb while mum bottle-fed me all the way. so 2 camps of ideas but since im staying with MIL so it's ok.

hi apple,

according to my gynae, by 16 weeks you can see gender (if the baby cooperates)

my next appt will also be at week 16, can't wait to know the gender of my baby...

question, does anyone know if we do c-section, what type of anaesthesia do the doctors normally used ? is it the epidural ?

apple, yes can see gender already....

my firend told me that she can see that both her preg are boys on week 12 n week 13....

infact, i also saw something inbetween the legs on my week 13 scan....

pigtlettail, try not to drink... actually i very tempt to drink too!!! esp when i super stress...

patsy, wont drop(boos) lah....

toot, c- section can choose for epi or ga... i had ga when i gave birth to my gal... the only thing is u cant see yr bb out of yr womb....

dor, drooping liao! hehe

dor so you having a boy? my one refuse to cooperate leh... last time we did a scan the baby raised the arms like waving then turnend away...

piglettail, as much as possible, try not to drink, though can understand the craving. But one glass in a long long time should be ok bah... like when you're super duper extra extra stressed! :D

toot, my c-section was with an epidural, so i was fully awake and knew the exact moment Sabie came out.

Dorothy, I stay in the East too!
Actually didn't have plan for a second one but hb and mil kept nagging for a boy. Hopefully this time will be a boy and I will at least have fulfilled my duty. So answer to your question is "Definitely stressed up" Moreover my girl is old enough to know the situation and she was worried if she has a little brother, we won't love her as much any more. So she hope it is a sister whom she can play with. I have to assure her and remind my hb not to be biase.

Yo pasty, I have the same intention too
that is the pre-agreement I have with hb ha ha ha. Only if he pays for the breast lift and lipo that I will consider having a second one. Afterall now in the 30s, harder to get back into shape.

pigletail, I read that if you do not breastfeed properly (meaning the position) it will cause the breast to sag further. It is supposedly best to breast feed while lying sideways.

I only managed to breastfeed for two weeks for my 1st one cos baby wasn't sucking properly and injured the nipples thus both blood and milk oozed out everytime. Second reason was that the milk duct under my arm pit harden and was painful so my gynae advised me to stop. Didn't know that once I stop, the breast would sag so much...

I heard from my friend the second one will sag more, So this time round applying those lifting cream on breasts to see if it helps.

By the way, at wk 13, baby can drink and taste whatever we are eating and drinking... I don't think it is advisable to drink since their liver has just developed and might not be too strong yet. In my humble opinion is, "Don't risk it".

Won't know my baby's gender till 7 sept cos my gyna refused to scan on Monday claiming it's too small to be accurate. sianz.... praying for a boy this time so I can close factory.

can someone advise me if i should start massaging my breasts to prevent milk duct issues? one of my friends said i should....

patsy, u veri funny.... i think will sag further leh....

saw that "little" thing loh... ya, hopefully is a boy so that i can close factory n also to fulfill hb's dream to hae someone who can share his passion for football....

but i dun mind a gal too cos can dress up....hope bb will co-operate this sat cos gal coming along as well....

piglettail, i think wine should be ok.. a glass or 2 should be ok....

cecilia, what part of east??? next time can meet up!!! i staying in bedok reservoir rd....i think my gal still dun see this one as a rival yet... she is veri excited as she always wan a playmate...

breast lift n lipo??? wow!!! i never thought of it yet leh.... but i will chong fitness centre after deliver... we all go together lah....

WaT? Bf for two weeks only and the breast already will sag? I still intend to bf for a few months after i go back to work. Would mine shrink to ground zero? OMG, I am already with nothing much to start out. =) Guess, giving birth has so much to sacrifice uh.

Dorothy, you hb and mine sounds so similar. Soccer fanatic too! ha ha ha. I stay at katong. Used to stay in Bedok till I moved over two years ago.

Hana.. not that bad lah. For my case i think it's becos I'm already a C before preg and then never take care and not sure of how to breast feed properly... so resulted in saggy breast.

anyone started applying cream on ur nipple to prevent cracking ? one of my friend was saying i should start early...but wondering if now is too early. =P

Anyone experience swollen calves? My right calf is swollen and only realised it just now when I was having shower. Guess I must have been putting my left lap on top of my right leg too long while sitting down

er, tute,, nipple will crack one huh??? when will it crack?

andrea, swollen calves not yet for me but i did experienced cramp at night. so got to wake up and asked hubby to help massage hehe

tute, i think the nipples will crack.... but not so soon... usually after childbirth....

garfield. not so soon... usually when u abt due.... u press yr breast got inital milk( c one dun know how to spell).... after gave birth, quickly let bb latch on.... so that u have milk duct issues...

i breastfeed for 2 mths, force to stop cos i was bitten by ants n my foot swollen..... so on medication....

andrea, swollen calves? putting my left lap on top of my right leg too long while sitting down ??? my fav sitting posture leh.... hee hee... got to monitor mine man....

hmmm, didnt know nipples will crack! how come will crack?

tongtong, you got cramp on where? hope the massage will do you good!

dorothy, ya my calf is quite badly swollen. usually i get swollen calves only when i go travelling and walk the entire day and night! now i am getting it and only on my right calf! i hope you dont get it though ;)

just went to suntec for shopping!!!

the shops near toys r' us have pretty good range and prices are reasonable too!! ($60+ for a dress)

thinking of going again tomorrow cos not enough time during lunch to look through everything! so happy now =P

hi tong tong,
me feel dizzy sometimes, and breathless all the time.

they say that this is common, that's why better for MTBs to wear flats and always hold the railing when walking down stairs. i think something to do with slower blood and oxygen circulation.

good evening!

thanks ladies! i will try to tahan my urge to drink as much as possible...

i used to feel faint at times, later i read somewhere that it's due to lack of iron. so now i will take the iron tablets from dr in morning right after breakfast. so far it has worked. but dr did say can't take iron and calcium tablets together, so i take the other at lunch (but always end up forgetting).

tongtong,
i'm almost the same as u, get dizzy more easily-- esp when i am starting to get hungry.

had 2 times leg cramps while sleeping already. It's normal during pregnancy. I read that if u stretch ur legs, dun point ur toes downwards, can only point it up, point downwards get cramps easily. This morning, happened to me again. Was stretching myself in bed, and accidentally pointed my toes... pain like mad man!!

piglettail,
according to the docs in US, it is ok to drink a glass or two of wine a week. They are very relaxed abt what u can/cannot eat. Lucky for me, i dun like drinking anyway, so not a problem.

dorothy,
ya lor, i only know jewish guys do circumcision, but recent yrs, more angmos also do it for their bb boys liao, cos they feel do it while they are still young better, cos dun really know the pain yet.

tongtong,

yah, this is something that i just found out too. was quite surprised when my friend told me but then again, this friend of mine think got some problem during her first few months of breastfeeding (not sure what was the problem).

andrea,

seems like it might happen but not for all mothers...just read about it more here http://www.babycenter.com/0_cracked-or-bleeding-nipples_8493.bc?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%4015261fb2

dor,

thanks for replying, seems like you're becoming our senior consultant here...heheh...

i don't know about you guys, i'm feeling terrified now about going through delivery. being pshyco by a friend of mine to not having epi and how it can paralyzed you if not done properly...sigh, so stress. then i thought, maybe just do a c-section...is having epi really that risky ? if so, how come lots of mothers still do it...i know it's like still far away, but just can't help thinking about it and it's been lingering in my mind since

hi all mummies... i have not been here as often as i have been really busy!

fairfield, hi, just wanted to share with you what i learnt. when i had my first boy, i had the tot to circumcise him, as all my nephews living in the states were all circumcise as well. i was given the impression its cleaner, hygenic and less germs and cancer in future. since this was a MAJOR decision, i decided to do some reading and research (with a very open mind) about male circumcison and was surprised by what i found. this operation is done routinely ONLY in USA. not in europe or asia. and the basis for health reason was quite baseless as the % was very very very low for "catching" anything just because u r not circumcise. on top of all the reasons, reseach found tat babies do experience excruciating pain and was actually trumatise by the experience rather then wat ppl think was "painless" and forgetable to them since they are a baby.

anyway, after few mths of extensive reading i was totally convinced its NOT for my boy la. unless u have religious reason or a strong personal preference for it. if you are neutral, please do not be pressured into it. infact this routine operation has long existed in the USA its is only in the recent years that people are starting to question the need for it.

hope i have not bored u. just feel painful for a baby to suffer unnecessarily after what i have learned

hi hi, on topic of circumcision....my hubby and male colleagues feel it is a decision that our son should decide for themselves, cos it is something very personal and can potentially affect self esteem.

hi toot, dun worry - i had the same fears re delivery couple of weeks ago and had an interesting discussion on this thread. for me - i also afraid of pain but dun wan epidural. so thinking of c-section via general anaesthetic hee hee

good morning to all,

TGIF!
thanks fairfield, i will try my very best not to drink but in the event i do, will not kick myself for it.

guess bb is already 'genetically pre-disposed' to alcohol cos hb drinks regularly, haha.

im getting a tad paranoid about the gender of bb. initially hb said boy/girl nevermind, as long as healthy. last week i ask him again, he said of cos if got choice, will prefer boy. this morning he ask me if we can c bb gender during our dr appt next week (week 15)? (i said should be lor, provided bb is 'cooperative').

stress stress...

about delivery, initially i was also insistent on doing c-section cos afraid of pain (plus some ppl told me the dr will cut the virgina during natural birth, dunno if this is true for every case?)

but seems like c-section recovery period is longer than natural delivery. so now im open to both options once again.

my mum had me (natural delievery) w/o epidural, she said yeah, the pain was bad...

for my younger sis, mum had epidural, but she said given a choice she will not use epidural cos she found that she suffered from a 'weak back' since as a result of using the epidural. cos she had the epidural injection at her spine and she said she can still remember the 'cold liquid going down her spine' feeling up til today, and she never felt the same (i.e as well) since.

dunno true or not, or just my mum's imagination?

piglettail

it like that 1... when i ask my hb he prefer gal/boy, he say anything 1, as long as healthy.. but later ask agaun he say, if can boy 1st better... -.-||

sian. MC over now back to wrk. still giddy....abit unhappy abt 1 colleague cum good fren... i m admin assist, she admin exec. but in any case if i mc or leave she has to cover my job. she msn me complain that she has to do this n that when i nt ard. i mean it is not that i wan to take, but i m really sick ma... i cant imagine if i on maternity leave how.... sian

hi jusmom, last time no hear....

thanks for yr info for circumcision.... ya loh veri poor thing leh... so young got to go thr that....how are u???? so yr no.2 boi lah????

toot, no lah... just kapoing one....

wa lau, today weather super good again!!!! i got new pimples again... 2 on my forehead which is giving my headaches.... this headaches since yest til nw....

i also have another painful one on my nose... so yest, i was looking at it at my mirror. guess what!!! my nose like become big!!!! i asked my hb, he asked me not ask him super a sensitive issue.... praying that it is the pimple!!!!

piglettail, dun lah... stress over bb's gender... rem it's yr hb's factor to determine the sex of bb... the x n y factor....

cheryl, take care ok.... work can never finish one....

dorothy, ya lor, bb's gender is determined by the father, but somehow it's the mother who gets the blame and 'suffer' when bb gender does not turn out to be the 'desired' gender (usually male in most cases)

even after centuries of revolution, we asians are still bound by e acient thinking of preference of male over female offsprings.

yes,yes, i also think my nose is getting bigger....!oh no!

i have my MS and terrible gas/bloat feeling back today. thought MS should end already...arrgh.

yes, i want to go for some exercise/breathing/yoga classes (called an-natal?pre-anatal? hehe sorry im confused yet again). did really search very very hard but onlt found 1 place "birth and beyond" at tanglin mall. the location is not good for me cos i need to travel to and fro by public transport, so will prefer locations that r just next to mrt, etc.

cheryl, dun stress, just apologize a bit and laugh it off. most impt is dun let it affect your mood. my work plc ppl also not pro-kids/pregnant ppl, sometimes my boss will make snide comments. but i just laugh it off to ease the situation lor.

i wan to find ppl to go with me leh... haha... actually hb will follow 1 rite...

piglettail

i knw.. i m not being petty or wat, but everytime i on mc like 2 days. she sure will complain that she have to do my wrk... i knw... but ppl really sick ma... aiyo... she on leave 1 whole mth i oso like that leh....
and hor. pregnant woman abit low in immune system 1...

hi cheryl, i dun think i gg antenal class.... cos lazy.... n also no2... not so ONZ!!!

piglettail, ugly hor(the nose)... i hope it is just that pimple....
"birth and beyond" at tanglin mall-not cheap leh... i planning to go aqua-aerobics at sport complex... cheap cheap.... planning to take yoga also....

cheryl, she not married huh???

dorothy,

if you are going yoga, let me know. I want to go too...

Very sianz that I have put on quite a bit of weight for this second one. Guess not as young as before, metabolic rate is much lower

I actually have problem logging in since yesterday afternoon. Wonder how you gals managed to still post?

my mil make tonic give me drink yesterday but duno safe anot.. haha. i suppose it is... she cook chicken with dong cong cao and duno wat. maybe pao seng...dong cong cao safe rite?

I didn't go for any class for my first one... Not sure whether want to go this time round.

Can someone find out whether it is useful? How much? etc

My mother said that not supposed to eat dong cong cao coz there might be some substance that is not good for the baby. But only remember her saying it when I was breast feeding.

Better to check with chinese physician.

i went to kkh ante-natal class when i had my gal... they basically teach u how to bathe, n also the various breathing methods.... f u asked me whether are they useful to me... my ans is NO.... tho i c-section but i still in labour for natural... nothing helps!!!

how i wished they taught me how to identitfy labour pain... cos til i admitted to deliver i dun know what is contraction!!!!

i think it's an experience loh cos daddy are supposed to tag along....

cecila, i think hor for u no need lah... btw, where u gg to deliver???

cecila, yoga??? ok... i think there is one at liang seah street... for expectant mothers....

cecilia, i add under fav.... so can easily find this thread...

cheryl, cant help on tonics cos i dun like them... maybe can ask med hall???

hmmm sounds like im more interested in those exercise/yoga class now rather than those how-to-bathe-bb/breathing class, cos im so forgetful these day, better to leave the how-to-bathe-bb classes right til end when im about to deliver, haha.

dorothy, ya lor, the big nose is soooo in-the-face. i try not to look at it for too long when i look into the mirror. (self delusion, haha)

thanks! ok think i'll give birth and beyond a miss then. will look for alternatives.

oh manz my bloat discomfort is serious today...serious scale 7.5/10.

cheryl, yes can understand how u feel. i also have some 'unsupportive' friends/colleagues around me. maybe they dunno what to say or what to expect or simply only see things from their own (i.e: no children so very mobile) view. sometimes i also get affected by insenitive remarks by friends but i try not to let myself feel bad for too long. come and complain here! we'll be here to listen to u

can i join? my EDD is 28 feb... though 12 wk is coming to the end, the MS is still killing me....
very depressing. this is my 2nd child.

tong tong, I was the one also looking out for infant care.

My EDD is 28th Feb, sometimes 21st and sometimes 25th hee, never accurate.

I do feel breathless at times, and i realise i seem to take deeper and more breath nowadays.... guess that's normal right....

regarding delivery, i am very scared too, I dont know if I can tahan the pain... but hor, operation also have risk.... cutting through the skin, the muscles etc, so i learnt that if you want to do operatin, can at most have 3 kids.

piglettail, thanks for the suggestion("look at it for too long when i look into the mirror")

i go search search for classes then i update u ok?

"my bloat discomfort is serious today...serious scale 7.5/10." how u measure?

ya, cheryl, ya come here to "complain" lah....

hi sunny, welcome!!!! how old is yr no1?

hi winne, u veri cute leh... now thinking abt no.4?

Have a nice lunch? I took Yong Tau Foo.. at last a healthier lunch for me. Feel so guilty about not being able to take nutritional food. & Come to think of baby can taste what i eat, I kind of start to be a bit paraniod.

Hi Tut & piglettail,
I share the same fear on the delivery part.
I told my mum that maybe I would opt for natural with epidural. But she mentioned that epidural only gained its popularity in our generation. At her time, usually it is natural without epi but only this anesthetic jab on the thigh to relieve pain. She also warns me abt the back problem in years to come. Hmm If my mom can do it, it shldnt be too difficult for me?? but my threshold for pain is very low leh. hai. In dilemma.
I read somewhere saying the cut is quite common esp for first time mom. This is to prevent bad tear into the rectum which will lead to worse consequence. Well, I am terrified abt this "little" cut, really.

Gender issue
My hubby also prefer boy. Hmm probably so that during all the premier leagues or watever, when it comes to selection of TV channels, the majority will win. 2-1. =)

Winnie,
U planning for 4? A round of applause...
I hope i can stop at one. the delivery part seems so scary. But i doubt my hubby will approve to that.