(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi dorothy, the shop name is "The Maternity House". Outlets - vivo city, marina, raffles place, parkway parade.

I went to the one at parkway. Service there is excellent! When I went in, my first reaction was - hah...manned by a guy?! so paiseh!! but before i could step out he started to ask me what i'm looking for, and show me the top sellers, what is my preference.

Very patient, introduce and let me try many many styles and then base on what i like / what i look nice in, will filter out for me. In the end i bought 8 pieces!!

There's a sale on now for tops/dresses. 1st piece 15%, 2nd piece 25%, 3rd piece 25% and so on. New stock coming in next week.

Happy shopping!

bkkgal, my SIL's 1st is a boy, 2nd is a girl & 3rd is a boy. For the 1st, she had bad water retention. 2nd, she looked fantastic & 3rd was the ms throughout 9 mths of pregnancy. So looks like she has bucked the trend??

Garfield, don't worry so much about your weight now. Heard of mothers putting on 15-20 kgs for their pregnancy. So 1.5-2 kgs is alright.

is it?
ok ok... will work hard!!!

cheryl, how's yr weekend?

hi pj, you asked fairfield the same question i asked her before
so are you from fmss? anyway, i also dun have much m/s symptons so quite happy to hear that you dun have much too...cos like you i also worried when i dun feel much of the symptoms...

Hi, I am a new member. I am a 31 years old first time mum to be. Need advice for my morning sickness and gastric pain.

My morning sickness is usually very bad at night, usually around 4/5 pm in the evening, I will like throw up 4/5 times then after dinner it will be worse. I could never keep my dinner down and I will get this acute pain in my gastric area while I am throwing up. After that the discomfort will last the entire night with non stop throwing up and thus sleeping also become difficult. My GP gave me gastric medicine but it did not work and I also did not dare take regularly as afraid will affect baby. My Gynae told me its ok, just try to eat more for breakfast and lunch! I have also lost about 2kg in weight but I read that its ok to lose some weight during 1st trimester for people with morning sickness. The gastric medicine given by my GP is supposed to be taken after food but with all my food out all the time.... so maybe thats why it did not work. Is there anyone who has the same night sickness like me? Also any advice on how to relieve gastric pain without hurting the baby. Thank you!

JD when ur EDD? how many weeks u in now??? so that they can update... i dun have gastric pain so cant help... i only have uncomfy at my upper stomach.. i think is gastric problem but no pain...

Hee hee...i m also one of those who is super curious of the gender of our little one...I wonder how some people can choose not to knw the gender all the way...i will soooo "die" from curiousity. Hee hee...my mum n sis are guessing our little one is a girl while I have a feeling it is a boy. Hahahaa...let's start an additional column in the table n put in wat mummies feel..then when we know we add in the factual one n see our accurate mummies are? ON?

Blurfairy,
So i m not the only one who asked Fairfield..then let me ask you..are you from Fairfield? LOL! Cos i was..

Hi Snoopy,
Jus wonderin when the gyane checked you then n saw only the sac and later see the heart rate which weeks pregnant were u on these two occasions?

Hi Garfield,
I m sure u look great in those new fitting clothes. U see la after reading your posts,i was so inspired i went shopping too...hee hee..but refuse to go shops tat specialises in maternity clothes cos it seems they like to "chop".
I went to Far East n saw alot of clothes tat can last us til 9mths (unless you get really really big),i used n still am a M size but as you ladies said,bottoms are getting tight,there a few shops in basement n on 3rd floor tat sells nice tops tat has plenty of space.
As for bottoms,you can always get those exercise tights/leotards tat are super stretchy (at BHG)or those 3/4 flare pants sold at bugis village...which costs less than $20! Hee hee i m jus gonna wear my gym leotards...just bought a mini skirt before pregnancy..just tried this mornin...cannot even button without suckin in...aiyo how to eat...hee hee so i named the skirt-post pregnancy motivation to lose weight skirt!

Hi Cheryl,
Where is ur cramps? Oki..read all these from the book :
-If it is at the left n right abdomen,it may be due to the uterus expanding.
-As long as not accompanied by bleeding,it shd be ok.
-However if the pain is persistent for few days) n is quite intense,you have to see a gynae cos it could be due to ectopic pregnancy.
-If the discomfort is below your belly button,where the baby is,then you have to monitor very closely.
-Try to get out of bed by rollin to your side n then push yourself up with your arms n not use your abdomen muscles to get up.
-Stomach crunches,leg rises,cycling in the air or any exercise tat target the abdomen is a no no for us now.
I was all ready to do some of these sort when i read n quickly did not do it.

i believe as long as you are born and conceive in the same time zone, it shouldn't matter.

i told my hb about the prediction that he's going to get a minnie mouse, he's face is like

then say, what to do?
asked him if he wants to chase for another boy, he said one is enough...
however, i do want a boy as my hb was really cute when he's a kid..

PJ, on!!! in fact, there a mummy(jan mtb) who managed to know the gender of her baby at week 14 scan....

ectopic- usually by 6-7 weeks will know already... i had one few yrs ago..

chery, yes... me also veri hairy...how much did u pay for yr 3/4 pant?

I just went for my 1st appointment with Dr Jocelyn Wong yesterday. She's a very nice person. Her nurse, Judy, is very nice too. It's a very different experience compared to my 1st gynae. She told me a lot of information and does not rush me at all, and I don't have to wait more than an hour to wait for my turn too. Glad that I went to see her.

I checked with her about my 1st ultrasound picture too... it was taken at 6 weeks but it indicated 2.3cm... quite worried initially coz everyone else is less than 1cm... She told me that's the waterbag, not the baby... hehee... very blur hor... So, I'm now at 10weeks, baby size is 3.8cm... and we saw her moved too!
Btw, my edd has changed to 17th Feb...

Currently, I have to decide whether to go for triple test or oscar test... not sure which one to go for... any advise?

Hi PJ,
Thanks for your dressing tips! I'll try to find some 3/4 flares to buy.

Hi Cheryl,
I thought quite fashionable leh, why your hubby say auntie =P I think at our stage can still put on a low hipster belt to make us look a bit more hip.

Hi Snowbelle,
I am going for all the tests cos I'm 34 this year. Going for the Down Syndrome one in two weeks' time. Wah...you can see your baby move....I did my scan two days ago and my baby is only 2.7cm so much smaller.

Re bottoms getting tight for some of us....I just discovered that this could be due to bloating/flatulence/constipation. I went on a super high fibre diet over the weekend and the bulge of my tummy actually went down by 2 inches *GRIN*

Anyone having problem with your digestion also?? May want to take lots of prunes and apricots. Oh, and Yakult or Vitagen is good too for the intestinal tract too.

Hi MTBs, I feel so comforted that I am not the only one who need new clothes. I just bought 3 working bottoms two weekends ago and another 4 casual bottoms last weekend. All my bottoms cannot fit liao. Think I really put on weight, the salesgirl was surprise to learn that I am only in my 9 weeks when my tummy is so big. So pai sei.... I bought all at Spring (suntec). Like the cutting there and also with DBS ladies, you get 10% discount. But hor, maternity stuff really ex, these few pieces already cost me about $350. So heart pain.

Cheryl, my gynae ask me to go for 1st trim test. I ask if its triple test but he says its more accurate than triple test, measure the bb's neck and coupled with blood test to see the probability of risk. Is this the oscar test? I am going for it in 3 weeks time. And I am 31 years old.

Hi PJ,
Thanks for your dressing tips! I'll try to find some 3/4 flares to buy.

Hi Cheryl,
I thought quite fashionable leh, why your hubby say auntie =P I think at our stage can still put on a low hipster belt to make us look a bit more hip.

Hi Snowbelle,
I am going for all the tests cos I'm 34 this year. Going for the Down Syndrome one in two weeks' time. Wah...you can see your baby move....I did my scan two days ago and my baby is only 2.7cm so much smaller.

Re bottoms getting tight for some of us....I just discovered that this could be due to bloating/flatulence/constipation. I went on a super high fibre diet over the weekend and the bulge of my tummy actually went down by 2 inches *GRIN*

Anyone having problem with your digestion also?? May want to take lots of prunes and apricots. Oh, and Yakult or Vitagen is good for the intestinal tract too.

Hi Cheryl, thanks for the pic! Its definitely not auntie at all!! I think Bugis is selling similar one at $20++ but one-size type!

snowbelle- Your EDD is same as mine! that great. I also need to consider which test to take up (oscar or triple) by the way do you know the charge for other tests (eg: HIV, Hep B) Dr Wong told me before and i forget already. Thanks

my stupid hb say auntie -.-" i think it is nice leh... hmm. maybe i shd go bugis and see. as i need to buy a few more tis kind of 3/4... hee..

i duno hw oscar test is like. but i hear it is much more exp.. like 300 plus.. but if u are higher risk den go for it...or go according wat gynae say..

snowbelle, WS, we have the same EDD. Snowbelle, I have my last gyna visit last wed. Bb is around 9 weeks 3 days and abt 2.5cm. Your bb is already 3.8? Mine seems much smaller leh.

I just got the price list from KKH for Down Syndrome 1st trimester screening tests :

1. Ultrasound scan only @11-14weeks (to measure nuchal translucency only) - $157.50

2. Ultrasound scan + Blood test both @11-14 weeks (also known as OSCAR) - $315.00

3. Ultrasound scan @11-14weeks + Blood test @15-20weeks - $245.40

The above are SCREENING tests only - that is, only estimate the risk of DS, and are not conclusive.

To be absolutely certain, need to go for DIAGNOSTIC tests which means that it can tell you with almost complete certainty whether or not your baby has got a particular condition. The procedure Eg. amniocentesis (which involves taking a sample of amniotic fluid from your womb and examining it in the laboratory to see whether your baby has any serious abnormalities)

I'm 31 this year... I guess I better go for the Oscar test... at least it's 90% correct...

Seems like my bb quite big leh... hopefully I won't have a big bb, I don't want to go for c-sect

Actually, I quite surprised when the nurse took my weight measurement leh... I keep feeling hungry and eat a lot... so I expect to gain a few kilos... but hor... my weight remains the same as 6 weeks ago... confused...

I saw the bb moved up then later her hand moved too... really a very diff feeling when we saw the bb moved... I smile whenever I think of it

I only know Oscar test is $300 and triple test is $100... the rest I don't know coz I have done body checkup before... so I guess no need to do again.

Nowadays, very reluctant to wear pants... too tight... but still haven't gotten the courage to walk into a maternity shop... and no energy to shop around yet...

what's the difference of #2 and #3? why does blood test @11-14 weeks together with ultrasound scan is more expensive than separate ultrasound scan and blood test @15-20 weeks?

btw, i think raffles hospital charge more expensive for test similar to #1, around $300.

just curious, does your gynae ask you all to test for HIV? i thought it's compulsory for pregnant women to test HIV in singapore?
my gynae didn't.

xiaoyun, i see that you are from Raffles too. Did your gynae talk to you abt the 1st trim test yet? Think I am going to burn another big hole in my pocket.

Snowbelle, we are of the same age too. What a coincidence. No worries lar, if your gynae never say anything, then the size should be ok. Also show that your bb is growing and absorbing nutrients well. At least u did not put on weight. I have put on abt 2 kg since my first weight measurement abt a month ago. Sigh.... I am worried that I am putting on weight too fast even though I did not eat a lot.

babyhope, you know hor... My hb and I really can't believe that I did not put on any weight... I weighed myself again once I got home... stilll the same... now I'm wondering is there any problem with the weighing machine in the 1st gynae's clinic coz all my pants have became really tight... :p

Dear Cheryl,
My EDD is 15/02/2008 and I am in my 11th week now. My weight is also taken each visit.

Dear Xiao Yun,
My Gynae did do an HIV test for me as he told me its compulsory.

WS, i had my test for thalasymia, normal blood test like hep b, hiv, blood cell counts, urine test.. the lab test costs me $130.

Cheryl,

Yes, I do have clear discharge too. Does it itch? Well, my mum told me its ok and normal to have discharge even if it itch a bit. However if the itch does not go away for a while and you feel sore at the vaginal area, then do see your gynae as it may be yeast infection. I heard Pregnant women quite prone to yeast infection.

just an udate after gynea visit on 18th July
7wk1day:1.07cm

Mummy: Emily Chua
EDD: 4th March 2008(prefer to stay in Feb thread, have feeling might be feb baby)
Baby #2
Gynae: Dr Koh Cheng Huat
Hospital: either Mount A or Thomson
ADD: will know when getting near
Baby's Name: will find one after knowing the gender.

babyhope,
my gynae asked me consider the nuchal translucency test to test for down's syndrome. since i am less than 30, he said it's not compulsory. however, my hb said no harm doing the scan as long as it's not cause any harm to bb. i will go for it.

i didn't take hiv test leh. i am wondering if my gynae forget about it. :s

long time never post message here...dad just passed away..now trying to pick up my selve..need to be a strong mummies...n i know i can do that
a gentle reminder to all mummies too...this is a very interesting + exciting experience to all of us but let us not forget our loves one as well(especially our parent)...share our pregnancy details wif them..im sure they will be please..

this week will be my 11 week peggy ..going to c doc this sat. any mummies hv done any test during the 11weeks ? take care