(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Mummies with heartburn, you may get anti-acid liquid medication from any GP (remember to tell them you are pregnant) or your gynae. These anti-acid liquid is quite effective and helps to curb heartburn and burping of stomach acids...do try, it really helps lots for me.

heartburn is actually rising of acids up your throat...very burning feeling at throat and chest level...some mummies only get it in 3rd trimester...but some get it early too.

Btw - I jus want to correct that i made a mistake..the actual cost of my anti-nausea pills is $16/- and not $40/-...blur me.

just nw, suddenly i feel a pulling pain on my left tummy. u all knw is it normal?? i having weird problem... i can feel my stomach stirring. and have pain. like wan to have big s*it kind... normal???

cheryl, i think the pulling pain is normal as the uterus is expanding? but i dont have those wanna go toilet that kind..

Hi tongtong - yup, i think burp is normal.

The heartburn is really difficult to bear - like a sensation in the throat which is so much worse then feeling nauseous..sigh..

No, I havent started looking for confinement nanny.. like still early leh...

I sometimes experience "stomach muscle ache" when I stretch myself... I like stretching myself when i wake up but these days, dare not stretch cos can feel the "muscle ache"..also wonder if normal.

Btw, yesterday i went to perfect mum at Arcade and bought 3 pants for S$152 (after disct)... expensive...I thot too early but the sales person says these pants can even be worn by non-pregnant ladies as they are expandable...

apple79, me and the husband chose not to do any tests except blood test for our first baby and for this pregnancy too .. i am 27 and the husband 33. we decided not to do it because the gynae mentioned that because of our age, the risks are small but in any case, me and the husband believe that our child is a gift and we will accept him/her in any form .. plus we didn't want to worry ourselves silly waiting for the results so it's up to the individual.

oh, becuae my EDD is on first day of CNY, so my mum is afraid that confinement lady might be fully booked early... that's why i dunno whether to start searching for 1 now..

Thanks for the explanation beauty seet.

I think i need to get pants soon. My skirt and pants are getting tight. Although i can still wear them but i feel a bit uncomfortable when sitting down.

You r welcome. One suggestion is to get wrap dresses...I have a couple of them and plan to continue wearing until tummy too big to wrap....more economical, i thot...

Cuclainne - Is it necessary to go for triple or oscar test? What I understand from my gynae is, there will be symptom during 1st trimester should the baby have down syndrome? the rest of the blood test are actually a must.

The gynae told me and the husband that due to our age, the risk of the baby having Down's is low but we can still do the test if we want but the husband was adamant that he doesn't want to do the test because no matter what, we were still going to keep the baby. So it is up to you to decide if you want to go for the tests or not. The blood test is to check if either parents have thalassaemia (blood disorder) because this can be passed down to the child but neither me and the husband are carriers so this pregnancy the gynae didn't tell us to do the blood test.

MTB's: pls advise, if by week 7 cannot see bb heartbeat, does it most likely mean preg fails??

everyone's pregnancy progresses differently so please confirm this with your gynae .. some ladies can see/ hear heartbeat as early as 5 weeks .. others have to wait slightly longer but it's better to confirm with your gynae on this, he/ she would know better ..

Im asking for my fren, her gynae said may do d&c, but i just thot maybe too early to detect... so perhaps a second opinion better?

some ladies will experience less MS as their pregnancy progresses and eventually will experience no MS at all .. others will continue having MS for the rest of their pregnancy .. so lucky that your MS is disappearing .. now is the time to eat! :D

thks, culcainne...i now instead feel hungry...kekeke...

I was a little worried that whether everything still ok.... was mentally prepared to fight MS till week 14...

actually this few days ms is not so bad. yes. i m like u beauty seet cos scare duno is it anything wrong or wat.. but den i m feeling really hungry very easily nowadays... within 3 hrs+ i m hungry again... duh....

Beauty, my ms also going!!!! just feeling hungry all the time....

except that i think i need to change my toothpaste as it always make me wan to puke....

i am also waiting for MS to subside soon..sigh..its getting worse actually..hmm..still praying hard..although having MS is a good sign right?

My MS still here but i am always hungry too. But eating too full makes me extremely bloated and uncomfortable.

Dorothy, I had the same problem with toothpaste as well intially. I wanna puke and i forbit my husband to talk to me after brushing his teeth haha. Then I bought those kids'toothpaste in strawberry flavour to use but after sometime I find the normal toothpaste alright again and the strawberry toothpaste not so nice! so funny.

starry70, don't worry if you're still having MS .. that means that your body is still reacting to the hormonal changes going on ..

that doesn't mean the other mommies whose MS is going should be worried .. it just means that they're moving on to the next phase - EATING FOR TWO! :D

apple79, be prepared .. the feeling of bloatedness will continue and may get worse .. i remember that for my first pregnancy, i was having heartburn and was finding it quite difficult even to sleep towards the end ..

Hello cuclainne - Tks!! Jia you. 4 more weeks hopefully..:p

p/s: i just puked..haha..eww..but feels better after puking

lol... btw, do anyone feel heartheart ard ur tummy?? i knw i sound silly... it could be my heartbeat, but it seem like my bb heartbeat lah... :p

helo cheryl - i think most probably is ur heartbeat la..hee..i did felt the pulse near my tummy too, but i think its too strong to be felt if its the fetus(still small le)..haha..just now view the Jan thread, wow some mummy already know the gender!! so exciting.

can i share my version? when i lay flat on my back... i can feel a lump somewhere near the panty line... do u think that the baby?

yea starry, i also got pulse on my tummy but i think its my own heartbeat instead of bb's one.. can we feel bb's heartbeat on our tummy?

i already gained 400g for past 1 month although i ate so litle!! in 10 week now.. dunno will get very fat or not during 2nd trimester..

I have little light brown stains since sunday. yday went to see gynae, luckily from scan bb doing fine, with heartbeat and even doubled in size since my last scan 10 days ago. Wat a relieve! Gynae gave me MC till fri to rest at home, so just told my bosses to let work from home these few days lor..this morning still got a little stain, so hopefully can stop soon...

i think the staining came about because i over exert abit on weekend...doc said prob broke some blood vessels around the womb in the process...gave me some hormone pills to stablise also...

so ladies, dun try to be gungho and overexert urselves hor, esp if you feel better as M/S reducing...i went to do some packing of clothes and shifted about 2 boxes lor, so regret now...

bluefairy - thks for reminding. I also keh kiang... thot MS disappears.. wah, quickly go buy 2 curry puffs thot now can eat liao.. end up feeling very bloated and uneasy stomach again...so shld still go easy and plain with food even tho' MS improving hor....

Hi Cheryl,
Aiyo..better see the Dr,stomach flu is very xin ku.

Hi Celynlee,
So sorry to hear about the news...pls take some time to overcome the feelings you feel ok?

Hi Dinoltan,
I guess we are in the somewhat same predicament..we just saw the gynae this morn,n baby's heartbeat is weak so has been scheduled to see him in two weeks time.Was very sad and cried in the hawker centre while waiting for my food..after tat i did some research..
From wat i read on the net (so take it with a pinch of salt),it is not a good sign...if the heartrate improves,it is good if not....
For now,wat we can do is hope & pray hard for the best.Talk to your baby..soothe its little soul.
Also read in a book tat if the baby feels unwanted,the little one will "go away" so let's assure the little one of our love and that he/she is wanted and loved.
There are adults who "were rejected in the womb" and grew up facing personal struggles.So all mothers to be,pls assure your baby of your love oki? Will also pray for you..
After praying,I can sense the peace tat all is taken care of so has promised myself not to let anxiety or negative thots cloud my mind which will in turn affect the baby.

Meanwhile all healthy mothers,
Pls do not let the above trouble you but instead take joy tat your baby is well.
Been reading this book "What to expect when you are expecting?" It is fantastic,some of your questions asked are answered in tat book.

Mothers to be...stay positive oki? We are here for each other...

hi pj,
how many weeks are u in now? if u are ard beginning of week 6, baby's heartbeat is usually weaker than eg week 8 when baby is much stronger. so dun need to worry.

hi tongtong,
400g weight gain in 1 mth is ok lah.. I gained 0.5kg in 3 weeks even though my appetite is not as good as before pregnancy. also, if u are slim before pregnancy, u actually need to gain more weight than if u started out being normal or slightly overweight.

btw, anyone of u feels like ur stomach is very tight each time u sneeze? like there is something very hard in the stomach that is in the way.

Thanks cuclainne for your advice. Will consider if I will take Oscar. Gynae did not advise us anything except letting know whats our risk like.(Maybe I din ask for her opinion).

U girls can only take plain food? Recently despite MS, I ate laksa, mee siam, tibits, fried stuffs and whatever i think of at that moment. Although i felt bloated after eating but I felt I have to eat them sighhhhhhh.

i think it better for me to take light food for time being, cos having stomach flu/wind... so even abit spicy food i oso can feel the burning feeling in my stomach....

yes, my fren keep urging me to be positive ....she said it is not easy to conceive and so it is not that easy to misc also...our babies will be strong fighters so we must be strong fighters also...so i sayang and pat pat my tummy everynight telling junior that he or she will be strong and stay healthy to let mummy kiss kiss :p

yes... everyone oso tell me to be positive.... it is not easy to conceive. but of cos not easy to m/c oso, but it all up to god. if it urs it will be urs...

i oso alway sayang bb ask bb to be guai n grow healthy, so that next time i can see him/her healthy... hehe

my ms has subside as well, which is kinda confusing since i'm now almost at the end of my 9th week and gynae said that 9th week is normally the peak of ms stage so if by then our ms is not bad then it should be better subsequently? well, should in most cases that is

I'm also trying to be positive minded nowadays, was so worried last week before my checkup about my bb's growth but luckily when we saw the heartbeat, gynae said it's quite strong..

my clothes are all super tight now...can only wear skirt. last weekend went zara and found some shirt which i can wear i think till around 4-5 months and it's quite affordable :p also went to see some maternity clothes and they all look very big so decided not to buy yet. anybody saw the pants that they are selling at topshop's maternity section ? i think it's quite nice since they don't make all waist portion elastic, just near the pockets but not sure if it's going to be comfortable :p

cheryl, starry,

me also felt like small pulse like that..but my husband said can't be the baby so probably some vein that is getting pressure from the growing uterus ? but it's quite a funny and amusing feeling...somehow can't wait till baby grows bigger so that we can feel that we are actually pregnant ! :p

blurfairy,

do take care...and rest well
realise that our due date and our doc is the same ! maybe i'll get to see you someday in dr. wong's clinic :p

i saw my gynae 2 weeks in a row. This is because last week's check up, gynae could see the gestation sac, but couldn't see the foetus. This week, gynae showed me the baby's heart beat. Thank God everything is fine.

However, based on baby's size now, my EDD may be in Mar. Gynae wants to see me again in 2 week's time to look at baby's size to confirm the EDD date again. But even if I have a March baby, I will still continue to drop in here, since I started my journey here. Hope the mummies here will still continue to welcome me.

Today's table!

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Mummy</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Baby's Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>becky_cat</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr A L Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>dorothy</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>fairfield</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Yen</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>cuclainne</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>kellie</TD><TD>6-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>stefni</TD><TD>6-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>tongtong</TD><TD>7-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>hweiz</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>calbee</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>angelin teo</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>maruko ting</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>mimi</TD><TD>10-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Starry70</TD><TD>10-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan K H</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>newnewmum</TD><TD>12-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Ang</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>apple79</TD><TD>12-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>anne</TD><TD>13-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>bx</TD><TD>15-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>yvonne tan</TD><TD>15-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Kel</TD><TD>16-Feb</TD><TD>#3</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Esther</TD><TD>16-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Winter Sonata</TD><TD>17-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>tyx</TD><TD>19-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>blurfairy</TD><TD>20-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>babyhope</TD><TD>20-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan Yew Ghee</TD><TD>RSH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>-tute</TD><TD>20-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Julie Lim</TD><TD>20-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Julinda Lee</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Xiao Yun</TD><TD>21-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Koh Gim Hwee</TD><TD>RSH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Heavenly</TD><TD>21-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Beauty Seet</TD><TD>23-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>24-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian B Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>bkkgal</TD><TD>24-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Yen</TD><TD>25-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Juddy</TD><TD>25-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Ling0</TD><TD>25-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lim Yuin Wen</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>snowbelle</TD><TD>25-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>snoopy</TD><TD>26-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Kylie Choong</TD><TD>26-Feb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Cin29</TD><TD>26-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr KH Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>PJ</TD><TD>28-Feb</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>beautiful</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>jusmom</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>abcdisney</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>suriyani</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>jas</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>emily chua</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>citybank</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>