(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 11am, 230pm or 430pm
Estimated Cost = $9 per child, Food for Adult excluded
Activities = 1.5 hour party hosted by Mac's staff

2) Marina Barrage / Gallery Cafe 16 Jan 2011 1030am
Estimated Cost = $3~5 per child (Cake & Balloons), $15~20 for Adult
Activities = Water play, lunch & cake cutting at Gallery Cafe

1) Garfield ( Anything, Y)
2) Leila (Mac 2.30 pm or 4.30 pm, Y)(or if hit 30 pple ie plus daddies,grandparents,helpers etc etc prefer YCK)
3) Genice ( Mac 11 am, Y)
4) Bkkgal (Mac cos the staff can entertain the kids while we relak one corner!, 11 am)
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw ( Anything, Y)
8) bx

Leila,
oh it's a nice name
That spelling was my first choice for K but people told me what if other pp can't pronounce it properly? like pronounce it as "chait leen" "chat lin", in the end, I gave up. Nonetheless, I commend you on your good choice of names!

Prof ah...she likes to eat salads...I have baked cakes, cookies and cooked a thai one dish meal for her before but she expressed most appreciation for my pomelo salad. Usually, she has no time to eat lunch so packing a light lunch for her is best.

just went to register for the real
estate exam prep course at hdb hub just now. poorer by $880. n got to go for class mon, wed n fri 10-1pm starting 17 Jan 11. Not used to the idea of studying then working again, cannot slack anymore, Kekeke.

So sad that I missed out the last gathering. Lost track in time with courses, work and family.

1) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 11am, 230pm or 430pm

2) Marina Barrage / Gallery Cafe 16 Jan 2011 1030am
Estimated Cost = $3~5 per child (Cake & Balloons), $15~20 for Adult
Activities = Water play, lunch & cake cutting at Gallery Cafe

1) Garfield ( Anything, Y)
2) Leila (Mac 2.30 pm or 4.30 pm, Y)(or if hit 30 pple ie plus daddies,grandparents,helpers etc etc prefer YCK)
3) Genice ( Mac 11 am, Y)
4) Bkkgal (Mac cos the staff can entertain the kids while we relak one corner!, 11 am)
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw ( Anything, Y)
8) bx
9) Thankful

Thankful, nice to see you again.

bkkgal, Leila, wa, you two so sweet, will pack food for your gynae.
My gynae, Dr Joycelyn Wong doesn't eat lunch leh. She so slim still on diet. :p

gar,
thks for the pr list. will go chk it out n decide. i live in woodlands (shd not be that far fm cck lah hor?) if the tod's party doesn't go thru or is later than cny, it wld be v v v gd if u cld swing by n pass me the goodies. when r u suppose to deliver to cck?

brw, do u still have my hp no.? if u do, cld u txt me cos i lost almost all my contact nos.

pauline,
ummmmm....this is the first time i m attempt g to make my gynae lunch lor....so the "sweet n thoughtful" award goes to bbkgal

bkk,
HELP!! gimme the receipe for the thai pomelo salad n let me try it out before present g it to prof can?? or will this receipe do??

http://rasamalaysia.com/thai-pomelo-salad-recipe-yam-som-o/

btw, where can i find thai pomelos? can i subsitute it wid m'sia ones or use grapefruits instead? wld the taste differ so much if i don't use the thai pomelos??

If all else fails, shd i :
(a) go to s'pore's little thailand (what's that plc call where all the tour buses pick up passengers before heading to m'sis, the one near concourse building) and buy the pomelo salad fm one of the thai restaurants for prof

OR

(b) go to ur home n collect the pomelo salad??? :p

must have back up plan mah....help lah...m a sahm wid 2 monsters in disguise...

CNY price list,
sent out to those interested liao!

pauline,
wa seh...you really took the plunge! wish you all the best and a roaring successful career

thankful,
welcome back! seldom see you here, come visit more often leh

bkk,
wah...your gynae doesn't know what she is missing out! yums....

leila,
should be ok to deliver to you. is 21Jan ok for you? cos have a few big orders at jurong and CCK so far. i think woodlands is nearby. need to collate orders else hubby will nag me to death about driving all the way to that part of the island to drop one parcel hehe.... i'll PM you my mobile number as well.

Anyone staying CCK, Jurong, Woodlands thereabouts wanna order CNY goodies let me know okie! Delivery 21 Jan

Leila,

I think pomelos not in season now dear, dunno if you can find or not at golden mile...grapefruit may be a little bitter (to me). How about a fruit salad? Doesn't have to be thai...you can make the fruit salad with fresh strawberries, blueberries, peaches, watermelon, rock melon, bananas. Your dressing can be as light as just lime juice+brown sugar+cinnamon+ginger or heavier with creamcheese+mayo+brownsugar. You can get L to help you put the salad together.

Pls send my warmest regards to Prof when you see her yar? Miss seeing her....(but no! no more kids for me!)

Pauline,
My gynae is like my mummy. She saved me and K. When I came back from bkk, no gynae wanted to take me cos I was so advanced, almost 3rd trimester already but she's so nice, she came back from leave to see me. So I'm indebted to her forever more.

Pauline, all the best for your course and exams!

Gar
send me the list lehhhh....i been waiting...

Gar, thanks. I had to keep psyching myself to go for it. Feel so lazy sometimes, keke. Yes, I will jia you! Hope I don't fall asleep during class. :p

I haven't gotten the list yet too. When you have big orders in the east and can on the way, deliver to me, let me know, then I'll send in my orders

Bkkgal, oic. Actually, I don't understand why gynaes don't want to see you in advanced stage. They still make money out of the delivery fee right? But yes, caesarean make more $ bah. :p

Pauline,
ya i know what you mean. i can't imagine myself studying again after so many years. that's why i admire all those who can do it!

i PMed you liao leh...i even got a copy of it for myself. maybe wait a while more, or i'll resend again.

i was suggesting that i could drop off at your hubby's school if he is still teaching there. in case no other east side order come in (so far you are the only one, the rest all stay in the west). is that ok?

Gar, sounds good but my hubby having reservist for 3 weeks starting 11 Jan. 21 Jan is RaeAnne's birthday party in school cos her birthday is 22 Jan (Sat) plus hubby still having reservist then so won't be in school. Got to drop off at his school either before or after his reservist. got the list, will look through first then. Maybe other Eastern mummies will order. I remember Feb08 mummies got quite a few easterners leh. hee.

Pauline,
wait a minute. i have a big order in the east. so blur. my ex company. so i think can swing by your place! delivery should be on 28Jan.

B'Dae Bash Updates

Just called up Macs to book 27 Feb 430pm.. Sorry i made a mistake previously, they don't have 11am slot.. so i blocked the 430pm slot.. N since some of you chose Macs over Marina Barrage, i shall just confirm the venue as Macs.. So here goes.. i need to place a $15 deposit.. i need to get a headcount.. so pls indicate for me below.. #A #C..

Pauline, hope you can make it at 430pm..

1) Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 430pm

1) Garfield
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful

LONG long time no see. Was busied with my new work.
I'm gng to engage a maid, she is coming this sat. Must we state our requirement before she starts work?
I know there are a lot of comments from all of you who have maids and many woes and weals. but
I'm too lazy to read the archives. In case, you might know. Can provide the details or the links?
Cheers thanks in adv.

B'Dae Bash Updates

Just called up Macs to book 27 Feb 430pm.. Sorry i made a mistake previously, they don't have 11am slot.. so i blocked the 430pm slot.. N since some of you chose Macs over Marina Barrage, i shall just confirm the venue as Macs.. So here goes.. i need to place a $15 deposit.. i need to get a headcount.. so pls indicate for me below.. #A #C..

1) Garfield
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful
10)Bluegin (2A 1C 1B-baby don't take big M food Hee.)

bluegin,
wah super long time no see! hope all is well!

B'Dae Bash Updates

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful

gar, 28 jan sounds good. what is the kueh lapis clover was mentioning. think i didn't see it on the list. i am still in search of the perfect soft buttery pineapple tarts (open face type). anyone knows which one is good?

thanks Eliaw but as mentioned before, Sundays whole day r out for me cos hubby has tuition. The gals n the maid will be at ils house cos it's nap time. No point me going alone without the kids also. So Mummies, enjoy yourselves.

blueginger, long time no see. how r your gals? why decide to get maid now? thought the gal's r bigger, no. 2 can go playgroup or cc in a few months time right?

Garfield & Pauline,
Ya. Real super long time din log into Singaporemotherhood forum.

Just a quick update after I found a job near XY's place. My entire family went on a vacation from Brisbane all the way to Sydney. The trip was fun and my girls enjoyed it. Too bad we din get to see whale during their migrating season.

No. 2 already one yo. Learning to walk. It is fun to spend time with them. Long story on the maid... If you stll rem, I talked abt my MIL wanted to engage a maid. She cannot handle a kid while cooking for dinner at the same time. Since she always think that a maid is good for her, den we give her a maid.
Guess there will be more stories after engaging a maid. Hahahah.... Stay tune...
no. 2 we wanna put her in school when she is 3yo, not so early.
How are your gals?

Kueh lapis,
Last year was a logistics nightmare esp with my big tum tum
so not thinking of doing this year except for my office.

For mummies keen, can order but need to self collect either from my house, my office at beach road, or my in laws place at serangoon. Not convenient to tag on to the cookie
delivery as it is perishable so cannot deliver early lor...

B'Dae Bash Updates

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful
11) XY (2A 1C 1B)

gar,
i forget that i need pineapple tarts!
send me the list please.

for the kueh lapis, may i know when can it be collected normally? how long it can last?
i can go and collect from you before i go back malaysia for CNY.

gar, oic, never mind about the kueh lapis then. was curious to try since clover raved about it.

blueginger, haha, your MIL didn't know what she was asking for. A good maid really helps but a bad maid will drive her up the wall. :p

xy, wa u going back to malaysia for cny? your parents must be so happy, when?

Bluegin,
Yes, have, I pm you the price list already

Clover,
Ok sure. But this year my MIL doesn't want to order small ones, they will be large size (slightly bigger than the ones sold at bengawan solo but cheaper). Will send you the price list later.

XY,
Sorry no pp tarts this year cos MIL no time with my #2. the lapis can last a few days in the open and up to two weeks in the fridge. Usually these are collected 1 or 2 days before the CNY eve.

pauline,
we always spend CNY in malaysia cos my PIL always go on tour during that period of time.
1 year exception is 2008 that 2 of us stayed in singapore to celebrate CNY ourselves cos waiting for the arrival of big C while PIL were enjoying themselves somewhere in China.

gar,
so sad can get to try your MIL's pineapple tarts.
realised that CNY is on Thur and Fri. haven't decide when to go back malaysia. let me check with my PIL's touring schedule and let you know, ok?

Pauline,
No prob, if ur hubby is ok to swing by my place can still order to try
it's good and my office colleagues love it! But not the healthy type.... The seriously moist and sinful ones

I m interested to join in the birthday bash!

Been super bz long time never follow the forum.

Posted on Wednesday, December 29, 2010 - 9:53 am:       

B'Dae Bash Updates

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful
11) XY (2A 1C 1B)
12) qingling 3A 1C 1B

Gar, thanks but it's ok, think the timing won't coincide cos he usually reaches home by 630pm to relieve me from the kids. And you won't be home by 6pm. :p

XY, wa, so your ILs every year also 避年, very modern hor, can save on AP too. kekeke.

QL,
Wah long time no see!

Pauline,
Totally understand...hehe....

Clover, XY, Leila,
For the kueh lapis, I asked my MIL already. The size this year is 22cm x 22cm and costs $43. This is about 50% bigger area than the large bengawan solo lapis which costs $45. So you can say the savings is about 50%

Taste wise, it's really a traditional kueh lapis - moist, heavy, dense type. I ordered from some BP threads before, the lapis ended up more like sponge cake. So depends on what kind of taste you are going for.

Gar - ya..haha...really need to catch up :D. work's crazy..sigh..2011 coming..i have a lot of things not done for 2010..haha

QL,
Time to look for another job that has better work life balance?
I recently passed on a promotion opportunity. First time in my career. If I go for the promotion it would mean a lot more travelling and night calls. Struggled a bit internally, but eventually gave it up. So now feeling quite zen about work in general. There is a time and place for everything.

Thankful,
No prob will pm you too. Thanks for the support in advance!

garfield,
i want the kueh lapis. collect from you 31 Jan or 1 Feb.
got choices of flavors? was looking for the one with prune. if not, the traditional one will do.

gar,
i also very 'maodun' if should get posted overseas for a few months.
it's an opportunity that i always looking for, but difficult to throw the 2 behind especially small C is still bf.

Gar - i also wish for that, that i can "pass" on any further responsibilities that require heavy travelling, but then my company is very small, so my boss consider each of us his pillar
, cannot siam..unless i quit..but then i have the resistant as well, since new job may not have the flexibility..my fren working in IBM is dam lucky, her boss allows her to work full time from home, only need to report to work once a month!

Garfield ok with me. Tks

Pauline I found the powder already. Using it for 2 days n his neck area has improved. Dunno why weather so cool., he can stil hv rashes.

XY,
Is bringing the girls an option?

QL,
Ya it's tough to find the perfect job. It helps if you know what factors are impt to you.

Clover,
Cos babies usually have a lot of chubby fats around the neck so that part doesn't get aired
I think....

Kueh lapis,
Only the original flavour available. Have taken in clover and XY's orders. Collection at my place can be anytime cos someone will be home all day. Collection at my in laws I will advise closer to the date. Thanks gals!

gar,
if need to bring the girls, need 1 caregiver to tag along too.
MIL is not keen. HB not possible to be idling for few months there.

Hi Elicia,

Thanks for organising. Hope not too late.

B'Dae Bash Updates

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal (2A, 1C, 1B)
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful
11) XY (2A 1C 1B)
12) qingling 3A 1C 1B

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal (2A, 1C, 1B)
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx
9) Thankful
11) XY (2A 1C 1B)
12) qingling 3A 1C 1B
13) lezy (1A, 1C)

Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 430pm

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal (2A, 1C, 1B)
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw 2A 1C
8) bx (2A 1C 1B - bb not eating)
9) Thankful
11) XY (2A 1C 1B)
12) qingling 3A 1C 1B
13) lezy (1A, 1C)

hey wanna ask those of you who send your babes to cc...do they allow the boys and girls to be together during toilet break or do they separate them by gender?

cos A came by telling me that "i'm not a boy, boys pee pee standing up". ok personally i didn't think anything about it at all, but grandpa is concerned that she has seen boys in the act
so i told him i'll ask around what is the usual practice in other ccs

can mummies share pls?

Gar,

K also said the same to me.."dada pee standing up". I don't know what they do at cc. I asked the teachers, they said usually girls go first and then the boys. At the cc, they don't shower the kids or anything. But K saw a fren's boy in the buff before (her first time) so she was curious. My fren (German) was amazed that she had never seen the male genitalia as she had thought that it was common for families to shower together which we said no, erm, not us in Spore! hehe.

But I think it's ok. You can explain to A that yes, boys pee standing up like Papa and Gong gong. Girls sit down. That;s what I told K.

gar, Kekeke, Raeanne also knows that boys pee standing up long ago. I think she may have seen her pg teachers helping little boys to go to the toilet before they go to the playground. but I am not concerned, after all they will learn that boys n girls r different, is it that bad? :p

kids peeing
i don't thk it is detrimental to the young mind to c other genders' kids peeing. it's better that they knw now than be shy abt it later lor... my son used to watch me pee n of course has seen my hubs pee. In the past, he wld get v v curious why i don't stand up and pee. I jus explain to him as a matter of fact that i m not a boy or man so don't have a p****. Now, he boh chap me when i pee and he knws his mei mei does not have a p**** like him. But his question is : when mei mei grows bigger, will she grow a p****...alamak! looks like i gotto do another round of explain g again ...

gar,
how abt pineapple tarts huh? can be delivered earlier wid the other goodies??

bkkgal,
ok, will try out the fruit salad receipe. u sure it is a fool proof receipe hor??
promise to send doc ur warmest regards. u wannt me to top it up wid a kiss? :p

Macdonald's Ridout 27 Feb 2011, 430pm

1) Garfield (2A 1C 1B)
2) Leila (3A 1C 1B)
3) Genice
4) Bkkgal (2A, 1C, 1B)
5) Iso
6) Tute
7) Eliaw (2A 1C)
8) bx (2A 1C 1B - bb not eating)
9) Thankful
11) XY (2A 1C 1B)
12) qingling (3A 1C 1B)
13) lezy (1A, 1C)

It's been a long while since I am here. Hope you gals have a merry christmas.

RE: new year goodies

:p Is there some way I can still taste test?

RE: Mass Birthday Party

Is it too late to join? But I will need to check with my HB first, think his ICT around that time.