(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Genice
Yah tix to melbourne is min 800 per pax. And that is provided there's promo. Else can cost close to 1000 (for SQ). Trade off the accomo cost w higher air tix. Still worth to go.

Pauline,
Enjoy your holiday! Try not to miss the girls too much and cherish your solo getaway with Hubby. You devoted so much time 24x7 as a mom so it's really ok to take a short break away from them

Silly question,
Those with girls, do you / will you let them wear bikinis to swim ah?

pauline
yup, have an enjoyable holiday.

pauline/garfield
i am feeling v guilty. i thought i will miss the kids a lot when i went italy w hubby in sep 10. end up, not as bad as i thought leh. yes, i did call them every day but didn't miss to the extent that i'll cry at night thinking of them. probably too busy surfing net/planning for next day's itinerary that i didn't have time to miss them. *bad mummy*

garfield
i won't mind letting my girl wear bikini on a hot and sunny day.

Gar,
Not for now - she's still in those full suits. Maybe when she's a little older - as in more able to ensure that attire stays on and more aware la.

i have pictures from my younger days - say about 5-8 years old i think - of me in 2-piece suits when I learnt swimming. I think it's ok in this time and age? (but it's not really bikini but just a 2-piece suit. Gone are the days we did not have to worry about a belly or a bum. sigh)

Thanks ok think I will buy a full suite reason I ask is cos afraid water cold and A catches a chill easily!

Stephie,
No you are not a bad mom la. There are pros and cons for travelling without kids, but not doing so definitely does not equate to being bad. It's all about balance. Occasional getaways, just like date nights, are healthy for our relationships with hubby

Hi moms,

I'm back from Bangkok and Chiangrai holiday with kids. Tired but fun
Nextyear, we gotta try going WITHOUT kids. haha. time for ourselves.

Lezy,
Where's yr BP? I need to order xmas gifts!

BX
I bought HappyBellies and thought it smelled chao yu too! I thot it's just the smell cos have not tried HB before. Now that you mention...but Sarah already ate half the tin.

HappyBaby cereal
Where can I find it? Healthy Times seem to be out of stock EVERYWHERE. It's so frustrating! Is HappyBaby good? Similar taste to Healthy Times?

eliaw/genice
I didn't think about SJCK being too academic or not too academic. For me, I wanted the girls to be in a Christian environment, learn good values and build foundation. I hope that SJCK could impart some of that. As for Pat's, yes they are good but I think it's teacher-dependent. K had a good teacher at first. She would always write me notes to tell me how she's doing etc but after this teacher left, the communication also stopped. Plus the class grew bigger, so maybe the teachers became more tied down with the children. We felt that Pat's became really a childcare childcare place for K. I didn't know what she learnt, what new things she did anymore. Maybe it's better in the upper level classes.

Grandma calls mum to scold her for letting granddaughter wear uncomfortable "bikini type panties"....why not let her wear comfortable "granny panties"

Guess who....

hahaha gar u are not alone!

mil scolds dil for buying all those 'tight, bikini style' underwear for grandson. "Wait you stifle the growth of his manhood then u know"

piglettail,
LOL...ok ok, let's make sure when we hv grandkids we won't give our kids a hard time for purchasing bikini-style undies hehe...

bkk...haha..BP cancelled.

No time. No demand. Can't meet MOQ. Also no resource to 'hang on' to spare stocks and wait for it to sell out over a longer period.
(partly also cuz very very occupied at work now).

Thanks for remembering

GAR, hAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

tight underwear

m one of the mummies guilty of buy g "sexy" underwear(no, i will not buy g-sting types, hate them to the core! so darn uncomfortable) for my son n forsee that will do so for my daughter too...good thing is no mil to nag at me....heh...

thks all mummies who feedback on how to tackle #1 when #2 arrives. glad to say i can finally see some "light" in the tunnel, jus don't knw how loooooooong the tunnel wld be leh....

ok, when is the nxt gathering, i wanna go leh, don't have it sooooooo far away fm northern side of s'pore can? when is the yakult thingy ah? yoohoooo! xiao yun, r u here? let me knw leh...i wanna go.

bkkgal,
how's ur new maid? good?

eliaw,
txt me ur hp no. again can? my hp died again n lost most of my contacts, sometimes i wld wish i use the old fashion way writing down nos.in an address book. btw, any other interesting course held by ur sch???

hihihi...

i am back in action again.
very tired at work. got to come in to rest rest a bit.

leila,
since start work, i seldom back home early enough to meet the yakult lady.
hence didn't check with her on the visit status.
let me find her number and call her again, ok?
paiseh paiseh.

re: baby food
i am going to join you all on the baby food talk again!
can't remember what kind of puree to give. probably, apple, avocado, peas. i was very gungho during big C's time as she's not too picky.
i think i need more effort for this little one - she's fussier..

for cereals, i just placed order for HappyBellies in the spree section cos i dun mind to wait! I am going for self collect @ Bedok, anyone wants to tumpang?
My favorite is still HappyBellies due to the pre/probiotics.
but nowadays Nestle cereal also consists of the items. just that it's not organic.

re: kids underwear
what's the differentiation between 'granny' and 'bikini' type undies?
is the granny type those loose loose one like bloomer?
then i am the guilty person too.. but so far everyone is very liberal about that leh. at least no one scold me. :p

bkkgal.. yar.. got the letter.. cant remember which class ... either 11 /12 will check.. how abt kate? Which class? Are they class mates? we still have time to buy uni right? Oops.. i am not a christian leh.. :p but nevertheless gd values are gd regardless of religion.

Re; bikini panty
i dunno what is the definition leh.. my ger wear very comfortable cotton panties.. my fren got from indonesia.. haha.. nowades i just buy those cheap cheap cotton ones 3 for $3.90 from neighbourhood shops..to me comfort more impt.. as long as not too tight and breathable material. .. what is bikini kind.. i thot all panties are bikini cut.. of coz not high cut.. normal kind i guess.. kids also got boy-leg?

But i never buy bikini swim wear for gwen cause i dun want her to get used to wearing bikini.. haha.. i prefer her to think of swim wear as 1 piece or covered up like tankini.. i am very conservative one.. :p

Definition of bikini vs granny panties

Bikini = cuts significantly below belly button
Granny = cuts above or at belly button

Genice
Ya i agree - I like the 7 in a pack ones from giant. Solid colours with a small animal print in front. Also cheap and good 10 bucks only

Re swimwear I am conservative too! So want her to wear one piece. But I think I will faint next time when she wears a bikini as a teenager

gar,
so grandma believe that it has to cover the belly button?

looks like we buy the similar undies for our kids.
mine has the strawberry shortcake print on it.
very cheap to get from pasar malam. 1 pack of 6 $4.5 or $4.
but the pasar malam @ bedok already gone, dun know where got pasar malam now?

for swimwear, i am very liberal too... those who went to Jacob Ballas last time already can see big C wearing a 2 piece - showing her big tummy. haha..

xy,
grandma believes must be BIG and LOOSE and worn HIGH up =)

A will be performing for the first time in school this evening. So fast grow up already .... *sniff sniff*

Bikini: My fren bought a tiny weeny bikini for Amanda and she has never worn it before. Cos it hardly cover much leh! somemore i worry she will catch a cold haha

Twin strollers: Do you all think I will need one if sometimes I am out alone with 2 kids?

Sigh.. How come all of ur kids are performing n mine never??
how big are ur schs ? I asked e teacher they say only k2 performing but not for e younger ones. So sad, I want to c my ger perform.

Apple, I got consider twin stroller but I think not easy to handle, too wide , I think single stroller plus carrier easier.

Apple
I have a double stroller (younger in front and elder behind). Now White elephant and cold storage. Agree with Genice, stroller plus carrier is easier. My A refuses to sit behind cos no view, but it's kid dependent cos Bkk's K is very happy in the back seat.

Genice,
My school not very big. Altogether 30 kids. But A's class alone has about 18 kids. Just came back from the performance. Very cute!! And I learn now that A has an ang mo "best friend" *gasp*

genice,
i was also looking forward to see A perform. but apparently her class is not involved in the grad concert.

bkk,
i always thought happybellies = happybaby. Small A still not taking his cereals well. sigh... already coming to 7 months but taking little solids.

hmm thanks i am also afraid that it will beCome white elephant. i wonder will number 1 wants to be carried if she sees u carrying baby in carrier?

amanda missed her actual day performance last mth cos she was down with fever. kind of disappointed.

Apple,
My no 1 wants everything that no 2 has. So for the stroller she wanted the front seat where Mei Mei sits, and Mei Mei can't take the back seat. And she wants to ne carried when Mei Mei is carried. We had a challenging time. Now it's a bit better

Bx,
Back from hkg already? How was the trip and has small A recovered?

Apple:
I will let Matt walk while #2 takes the pram. Hows your prep? 6-7 weeks more... v tired recently but then can't sleep. Often have insomnia or wake up in the middle of the night. Sigh...

Genice:
Wanna do lunch next week? Free bo?

gar,
yup, back on thur nite. it went quite ok except some hipcups like forgetting to bring half of the amt of the currency which we have changed as i left it in a red packet and totally forgot abt it. also brought the wrong credit card which cannot be used anymore. hb also brought only 1 credit card and that particular cc din have much avail balance left as he used it to pay for some down payment.

as for Ashlynn, she was quite ok. she enjoyed staying in the hotel most. most of the time she will pester us to return to the hotel. she turned cranky when we didn't let her have her meals on time.

hb and i found that it was too rush to do our shopping as a lot of time wasted on bring her to toilet, getting her to finish her meals, etc.

if given a choice, i think i will prefer to go on our own without the kids.

Gar: Aiyo, thats what I fear most esp if I am out alone with two.

Jass: sighhhh half done only. very tired everyday and Amanda is very sticky to me nowadays and wakes up often in the night. I cannot sleep well too.

hello mummies, I'm back from Taiwan! Had lots of fun shopping and eating. Surprisingly, didn't miss the gals much when I was away. Maybe because I did all the 'missing' while I was in Sg and I told myself since pay so much to travel, must enjoy myself and don't think about home liao.

Too busy the two days after coming back from Taiwan so never post in forum. Also, because too busy trying to watch online the Taiwanese drama series that I was watching in Taiwan. I posted about Taiwan in my blog if anyone is keen to know. http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Jass, I walked past Caesar Park Hotel, very nice, told hubby next time if we bring the gals, I want to stay there. Cosmos Hotel is very good in location but I find the rooms a bit small and got no wifi. :p

Leila - only time will tell whether maid good or not. For now, i'm just grateful someone is around to change the bedsheets, wash the dinner plates, keep the floor clean.

Genice - she's in 11. I bought the uni already last week. Will take leave on 10-11 Jan to "orientate" her and me. haha. hope to see you around!

Yr end performance - Pat's also dun have performance for prenurseries. So envious of you all who can see your kiddos perform

Panties - hmm...didn't know the definition of grandma vs non-GM types. I just bought those Giant 1o in a pack types. Cheap and comfy.

Swimwear - I bought 1 piece suits for them cos it seems ridiculous (to me) to put them in 2 piece when they got nothing to flaunt leh (sorry to offend anyone :p). Oh yeah, the temperature of water was also a concern, hence more to cover better right? I guess later on if they choose to wear bikini, what can I say but for now, my word rules!! muahahahaha.

pauline:
the inside of the rooms are quite comfortable but a bit dated and old too. Hahaha the outside looks better lah. but overall not bad

Pauline,

I'm going Taipei on 29th....! Originally booked Caesar Park but had to cancel cos rescheduled to a later date (29th) and couldn't get Caesar Park again.

Is it cold in Taipei? Not sure what 'level' of winter clothing I should prepare for... haven travelled for ages hence will need to go out and buy... ;p

Piglettail, the first 2 days when I reached Taipei was cold cos there was a cold front from China, about 10-12 deg, I appreciated my thick jacket and even put on gloves. But the next 2 days was hot 16-20 deg, just a light jacket and even just long sleeves and jeans was fine especially in the day. 29 Dec is 2 weeks later so I think the temperature should be around 10-12 deg by then. A thick padded jacket will be good. Otherwise, you can always buy at Taipei, they have such a good selection of winter wear that I was tempted to buy a long coat.

Hi Pauline,

Thanks! think i will try to get a pair of covered walking shoes in SG... all i have now are either work pumps or slippers to wear on weekends.

Apple,
i have always been using desitin creamy, find it good.

Thanks Bx and piglettail. I am trying to figure out which is the one that I have used last time.

Anyone wanted anything from drugstore?

hello mummies!! i am back from korea early this morning, only now had some time to log on. we bought lots of toys because they have a wider range of toys there and also E likes Pororo, which they have lots of stuff of. they also have a lot of Thomas stuff. luckily we didn't bring the boys, so we could enjoy ourselves more, heh.

bx
my A is similar, doesn't seem v interested in solids, the only thing he likes is when after the solids i put water into his bowl and feed him the water. then he'll open his mouth wide and keep wanting me to feed him! dunno what's up with that man!

prams
we got a buggy board for our pram, so #1 stands on that when i push #2. #1 loves it, it's v convenient when i bring them both out myself, but also it's v heavy so it's really hard to steer.

bkk/gar
do you guys have phil & teds double stroller? it looks so nice!

hi ya everyone.. sorry MIA again.. i just came back from my bali trip.. C fell ill again on the trip.. seems like almost falling sick whenever we travel..

hi bkk, i think christian environment is good too!

hi genice, to nurture a creative environment will be getting them to use a lot of open ended materials and not providing instructions in situations where there could be few ways to work around.. dramatic play is a way to allow them to be creative also..

re: mariott phuket
Gar, must pay for the activities or it's free? seems like not bad leh.. the next time i shall book there also..

hi leila,
i sent u an sms.. not sure if u received it.. currently no classes by my school.. will inform you if any coming up..

Eliaw
oh my, less than 2 months more to their birthdays!! I still haven't thought about what to do. have you thought of a venue and theme?

Iso, I'm still thinking should I do at home or outside.. N I have already decided on dinosaurs theme cos C's very into dinosaurs now.. Make my life easy..

iso
saw your FB post. 9 boxes....that's a huge achievement! did you do FIT or join group tour? i was told it's tough to travel in korea without a tour guide due to language. is it true?

yes I have it! it's damn cheo =) actually i may want to sell my phil and teds. very very lightly used. cos hubby wants to get another pram and i told him NO we already have 3 prams. if you want i can ask him if he wanna let go hehe...

eliaw,
hope C is well now. a lot of flu virus around. my two gals also sniffing.

not sure if need to pay for the activities. i didn't ask. can email them to check.

i want to join your spree. where to look at the stuff?

is dramatic play same as role play? A does it everyday. imaginary party, imaginary classroom (she is the fierce teacher), imaginary school bus (she is the bus driver)...quite hilarious!

gar, actually there are 2 sites..
www.partycity.com - can use Vpost
www.birthdaydirect.com - slightly cheaper but cannot use Vpost.. have to use other forwarders and need US credit card.. i do have US credit card.. but don't know which forwarder to use.. any to recommend?

i'm gonna buy ard US$50.. maximum to hit is US$220..

C's fever is bad.. shoot up to 39.4 last night n this morning.. took urgent leave today n working from h0ome.. bringing him to yuguo later..

Gar, yes role play is dramatic play or pretend play. It's
good cos it helps them make sense of the real world
n learn thru play. Also it promotes creativity during play.

eliaw
nice! i saw the dinosaurs sets on partycity, so nice! i think E will only want cars. when are you ordering? need to decide on venue and guest list first before buying... wonder where else can get cheap items, in korea i bought some thomas and pororo plastic cups for like $0.85, so cheap!!

wow, is C feeling better now? How come he got fever? (sorry if i missed something from previous posts)

gar
er, what's FIT? we actually went for a trip organised by one of his suppliers, so everything was catered for and most of the time we had a korean native around. i think we would have less bags/boxes if we didn't have to bring all the darn bulky winterwear, including ski clothes!

but otherwise, their trains all have english words and i get the feeling that more koreans can speak english than japanese can. also there are a lot of mainland chinese people working as sales assistants etc, so can also speak chinese to them!

P&T, i would love one but don't think my hubby would, think he would rather have a stokke!! does it fold easily/compactly? how about attaching a iphone/ipod at the back of the front seat like cars with tv screens, so that A would be more willing to sit at the back? heh...

eliaw, iso
re birthday supplies, there are some local blogshops selling. but not sure how cheap. maybe can compare - there's this babyterroronline.com

iso,
FIT = free independent traveller. basically anyone who doesn't travel in a group-based organized tour. so in your case, it's not FIT =)

ya my hubby also eyeing the stokke but i told him NO NO NO...now he wants a jogger pram so that he can blade with it. the P&T folds well and is very compact. if only A would sit in it, then it wouldn't be such a white elephant. nowadays i use my good old aprica. A just walks hehe...