(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Re: poliiwogs

also have to let gwen pontank sch if i go .. but fri i got access to car so dunno shld go or not.

Isob
K also not drinking a lot max 150 ml per 3 hrs but usually abt 130 ml cause he always never finish.. i wish i cna put him at 4 hrs but the problem is he cant finish even 150 ml so difficult to make him drink 180 ml if i change to 4 hrs. U started A on solids? BTW, A is a few days younger than K har? Though his edd is earlier.. he was borned on 3rd june?

genice
actually A is older - may 23rd, altho EDD is 2 June. i only recently started on solids because he is pooing 3-4 times a day since he had stomach flu mid Oct and I was hoping that it would be lesser before starting solids. but looks like he's going to continue to poo 3-4 times a day. definitely not as much solids as u cos i not so hardworking, haha.

genice, iso, qingling,
our #2 birthdays are quite near. how's ur lil ones taking their solids? Ashton giving me a headache by not being cooperative during his cereal feed. feed a few mouthfuls then throw tantrums. like not interested to eat. i cheanged so many types of cereal still like this. puree feeds he is better.

So, Genice, since you have car on Fri, on or not?

XY, u keen? Can bring Cammie? ;)

Anyone else can take leave and join?

Polliwogs, 1020 East Coast Parkway
3 Dec 10 (Fri), 1030am
http://www.thepolliwogs.com/
Admission price:
$16 per kid 2 and above for weekdays (unlimited play)
50% off for kids below 2.
* Value play package - $110 for 7 kids (unlimited play)
* POSB everyday card holders can present their welcome pack promotion coupon for 1-for-1 free play.
* PARENTS DON'T NEED TO PAY. SOCKS REQUIRED FOR KIDS AND ADULTS.
1) kitsune
2) Bx
3) Genice?

Pauline,
Have fun at Polliwogs! Can't join in..

Lezy,
Wah so serious, did you spam a lot of threads? How come kena remove siah?

Iso!
wah so happening! Tell us more when you come back.. I always wanted to go but don't know if can really fully enjoy skiing when they are still so young..

re: The Big Draw
Yeah, i enjoyed it.. we reached abt 1015, packed mac's breakfast, ate while walking around.. They had different types of art activities.. we did a weaving activity there n C did some painting too.. SOme of the activities he didn't really want to participate.. Cos this boy of mine is an observer.. not really a chiongster..
A lot of pp at the indoor drawing area Hort Park's a nice place to bring the kids.. there's a lot of nice plants.. n 3 playgrounds.. mini butterfly park too.. Next time we can go to the cafe there n playdate or we can even book the function room and plan some activities for birthday bash or some events la..

regarding R's destroying art.. anyway, it's just the little ones expressing themselves.. just let them be.. that's nurturing creativity..

XY,

Seriously, i'm not sure.. Actually i'm very supportive of 'T'.. they have a lot of funds and organise activities (even overseas ones).. My little sis had a chance to join in during P5 and went to Pahang.. they even held etiquette classes for them.. so it's not just fully academics.. cos they had a change of principal when she was in P2.. that's about 10 years ago liao.. not sure if stil applicable now..

stressful yes, but then again, it's also how we as parents manage the stress for our children.. They themselves might self-stress but a lot of support must be given..

I hope to be the type of parent where i don't have to send my kid to enrichment at all n we just enjoy the weekend.. n that he learns from school and it must be enjoyable.. Of course swimming or sports enrichment i will definitely send..
but then again, i will still need to assess if C can suit the culture when he's older..

RE: SJCK
bkk, wanted to post this sometime back, but no time to write properly.. actually when i went on my placement at this kindie at Farrer Rd, i heard some comments from 2 kids who attend PM session that they hate going to SJCK n enjoy going to this kindie.. I'm not trying to say anything bad becos i have also heard good things about the school.. but i still think it's the teacher that's important as well as school culture..

To me, the early years are foundation years.. build the roots strong, the tree will be sturdy.. If we start restricting or putting them into structure and focus on academics, we might lose the creativity part in them.. As we know, creativity cannot be taught, but can be nurtured.. by allowing them to have freedom of expression we let them start thinking from a young age..

During the early years, most important for me to build a healthy self esteem, creative thinking, problem solving, enjoy learning.. These will be the important skills to bring them through life..

To me, sometimes we try to hurry our children too much.. want them to walk fast, talk fast, etc.. For example: research shows that children should start writing at the age of 7.. but in SG, most children start writing at 3! All the cc/kindies have writing worksheets.. If they are ready, it's fine.. but if they are not, they shouldn't be forced into it..

In view of this, that's why i like C's school curriculum because they don't have this kind of thing.. Art is an empty piece of paper given to them and not a printed piece of worksheet.. so indirectly i'm saying that i do prefer pat's if compared to SJCK..

As for integrating into P1, i feel it's not too late to start academics in K2. about half a year of getting them used to local curriculum.. international school is a bit too far fetch for me becos of fees.. n i feel that we don't have to go to that extent.. besides some of the schools like ACS n RGS also have similar IB programs..

then again, i will like to stress that as parents what we value and how we will like our children to grow up is crucial in the early years until adolescence..

Paiseh, Bx and other mummies who may be keen, I got to <font color="ff0000">cancel on Polliwogs gathering this Fri</font>.
Cos the PD clinic called and the 2 gals' jabs are due on Sat, Raeanne's jab is overdue in fact cos we kept postponing cos of her cough/cold. But hubby wants to bring them on Fri so that we have the weekend to take care of them if there is fever cos we are flying off early next Tues. Don't want ILs to end up looking after 2 sick kids when we are away at Taipei. Tom is Raelynn's birthday so I don't want to jab her on her special day. So bo bian got to bring them in on Fri. :p

pauline.. i dun think i can join in on fri.. i think gwen is down with chicken pox.. my hb too.. they got it from me.
hope my little K is not affected.

Iso.. A is older than K! .. I kept thinking he is younger. I am running out of ideas for puree.. not keen to try feeding him spinach/ carrot cause i think very yucky.. only tried avocado, sweet potato, pumkin, apple.. what else cna i try?

Bx.. My sumo K is ok with cereal/ puree but he doesnt take much and towards the end he can be quite frustrated and he will shut his mouth tight or start to blow bubbles when i am feeding him, turn head left and right then try to stuff his foot into his mouth. Sigh.. he is not easy to handle.. basically i have to carry him like the whole day.. he cannot self entertain .. how?? Is little A a easy boy?

eliaw.. just curious kindy at farrer road? Not queens road rite? Is it kids empire? Actually i heard comments that SJCK is not very academically focused which worries me also ( haha.. KS parents) but since now u say they do focus on academics.. i guess perhaps there is a balance...
. To be honest, i wish i can send my kids to full day programme at Pats.. but $$ wise its impossible for me. I really think they have pretty gd programmes. As for creative thinking.. sometimes i do think its "in the genes".. i feel tat Gwen is more of a logical and mathematical person. She dislikes colouring, dislikes doing things out of the norm, dislike being adventurous.. she is totally like an accountant/engineering person.. definitely not an Arts person..I dunno whether that means she has no sense of creativity... haha.. how to instill?? I also dunno wat to do as long as she is happy and healthy and picking up things w/o being stressed then shld be fine i guess.On my part, i am just trying to expose her to differnt things so that i can better grasp what she is really interested in and bring her for outdoor activites every week ( swimming, cycling).. the only thing that i have been constantly doing is bringing them swimmingg.. haha.. thats abt it. O.. recently gwen started to cycle on her tricycle by herslef.. quite happy with it.. next up.. will be a scooter for her.. Hope she dares to try..

pauline,
no prob. Ashlynn having hives since tue. still not recovered yet. also dunno she will be well by fri onot. Sun we r leaving S'pore le. argh...

genice,
u din give G the chicken pox vaccine? mayb u wanna keep G and K separated.

so far lil A prone to cough and phlegm, so i have not given fruits. i have given peas, pumpkin, sweet potato, carrot and cauliflower. cauliflower is his fav.

i like the name sumo k. how heavy is he now? my also doesnt eat much. now still on 1x cereal and 1x puree. and not even replacing milk feed yet. as to whether he is easy onot, i will say he is manageable bah. of coz there will be times of the day when he demands to be carried and wants attention.

Genice, Bx, in the end no one can make it. Also good lar, I feel less guilty for cancelling.

Bx, where are you flying off to this Sunday? Whole family or just you and hubby?

Genice, oic, you didn't give chickenpox vaccine? That's one of the first ones I gave. Too bad my time no chix pox vaccine, if not, I'll surely go for it. :p

Gwen is still young, sure cannot control the itch and will scratch but luckily since she's young, even if she scratches, the scars shouldn't be permanent. You take care too.

Posting from JW Marriott Phuket cos gate crash hubby's conference here
hubby paid for unlimited roaming so I can post to my hearts content n shop on BP!!

Mummies who are headed here.... The place is gorgeous with plenty of kids activities! But I didn't bring the kiddos so can't make use of them.

Anything mummies want me to check out?

There's a fantastic 1for1 promo with the hotel spa (mandate spa) with the Citibank dividend world master card which ends 31dec10.

Genice
Oh no, hope G and all of you recover from cpox soon!

My J also very sticky so I know what you mean. I encourage her to play by herself every day, eg play together and when she is engrossed I will tell her mummy needs to do stuff you play by yourself ok? Mummy will be back soon. Results 50-50, sometimes she will wail the minute I move away, sometimes she happily continues to play.

Re G's traits.... Don't worry I am also not the adventurous type but I turned out pretty ok, I think
exposing her to more activities is a good idea to find out what she likes. Every kid has different attributes, and every attribute can be built into a strength which is our role as parents.

Like A is a very independent and strong willed child. She wants to do everything herself. Used to have huge struggles and think to myself why can't she be more compliant. But now I appreciate this quality as she is super outgoing and can even attend lessons unaccompanied two months back.

Hubby does a much better job at being non-judgemental and objective. And counsels me very now and then not to have expectations of how my kids should be, but to guide them based on who they are and not change them ( like how wives always try to change hubbies hahahah....)

genice:
oh no cpox! poor girl! hope all of you recover soon. btw i saw your blog that you cooked dinner for the family, well done!! jia you!!

for solids, almost all fruits, pear, banana, papaya? for apple do you steam? carrots, broccoli?

and also i think A is a bit more difficult than E. E was easier in that he would always be happy to play by himself. But both boys are pretty good natured.

eliaw
not bringing the kids skiing, haha! i think that might be challenging.

bx
i'm a bit behind on solids, so so far he only takes it once or twice a day. cereal and something else, either papaya or sweet potato so far. i'm quite lazy this time round!!

Hello mummies! Super bz cos on leave at home with 2 kids( mum went msia).

Hayden started on happybaby cereals, brown rice rice then oats (only)... I m a lazy mum, only yesterday had the chance to make avocado puree for him. He had it with cereals n quite like it. He seems to enjoy eating a lot
but also mot drinking much milk( 130 to 150ml every 3.5hrs)

I will start introducing more.. Sweet potato..banana... Pumpkin..butternut squash?seems like all orangey yellow fruits..hmm.. Genice i suppose need to steam if its those roots type but avocado i just blend it m mix into cereal n milk.

Genice- dear now it must b tough on u to take care of 2 with chicken pox. Better let k stay with ur inlaws then.

gar, I am hoping to go but yours is the more high class resort right? the one that Genice n I are aiming for is the Marriott Mai khao resort. :p can u please help me get the price n some contacts on hiring a driver to bring us around for 1 day? also, how many pax can they take if including 2 kids? thanks.

paiseh..ok liao. something was wrong and it disappeared. they reinstated it.

*sweat*

i thought i did somethign wrong again! This BP thing not going well...sigh.

lezy
hmm lotsa pple spam the threads to publicise, maybe just need to be a bit selective and/or do it randomly? heehee...

you're right, it's not on the main BP page! i dun see it there (i just did a Find, i didn't go and scroll hor..)

QL
happybaby cereals! that reminds me i should go and get some of those organic ones, healthy times? can't remember the name. LOL.

Iso - ya, the funny thing is this is my first time buying happybaby cereals, i used to buy healthy times for heidi,but i find happy baby cereals much tastier. :D

ql,
dunno y this time round i bought the happybellies cereal, both brown rice and oats, smell "chao you". and Ashton seems to reject them. i dun rbr it smelled liked that during Ashlynn's time.

Pauline,
i gg Hong Kong with hb and ashlynn. not bringing Ashton along.

Thanks, gar.

QL, Iso, Bx, yup, common complaint among the jan10 mummies about the smell. But Raelynn surprisingly loves the HB multigrain cereals lor so I got no choice but to keep buying from NTUC finest and Agapebabies. I just ordered another 4 tins cos we are going away and HB cereals are not easy to get. In case she cannot adapt to the Nestle cereals, better stock up more HB cereals at home. Bought 6 bottles of HB puffs too cos RaeAnne wants to eat the HB puffs whenever she sees Mei Mei eating and she takes more than Mei Mei. Plus got to buy more then the courier charge from Agapebabies is worth it. :p

Bx, oic. Although my Taipei trip is next Tues, normally I'll be so excited and start buying things and packing liao. But this time, I'm really leaving things till the last minute cos I'm really bu she de the gals leh. Today, I ask hubby will he miss the gals when we go. He said no wor. For me, I just imagine RL going keh keh keh and crying for me when she wants to latch and sleep, I'll feel 'xin suan' liao. Too attached to the kids. Maybe too emotional also cos RL is 1 year old liao. My baby has changed into a toddler before I knew it. :p

Pauline,
I am at the JW Marriott mai khao, same one that you will be staying

I checked the rates at hotel front desk - 400 baht per hour to rent a taxi (if you rent 10hrs a day 10% disc so 3600 baht).
Seems cheap cos taxi to Phuket is 900 baht for a 1 HR trip.

Btw I emailed you our group outing photo finally ...

Iso - from the business thread, from agape babies

bx - mine smell ok leh, i took some n taste, quite nice somemore. u check the expiry?

kitsune, qingling
thanks!! i happen to go to NTUC finest today and found it there. Will try! now boiling apples to puree. lazy to steam. heh.

----primary school.
My Husband nagged how good it will be for E to go to good primary school, Haiz......Got to do PV then.

thanks, gar, it's the same one. so qiao. i heard that it is more exp to book cab from resort cos they make commission. wonder if there r any 'private' cabs that r cheaper. if convenient, can u help me check what kind of fresh produce the supermarket stocks n r they open everyday n opening hours? thinking of cooking a few meals there to save on restaurant costs since they have a full kitchen. thanks for the pic too, i got it.

Pauline the one I checked out is the one I use to get to patong beach. Marriott is about one hour away (one direction). It's a car rental coy, not taxi. The cars are very clean and the driver good in english.

You should be able to get cheaper options, but language could be a struggle.

Haven't seen any supermarkets so will help you ask the recep tmw.

garfield.. can u also advise us on the rates for the restaurants /eateries there. Since the resort is quite far from town are there any other dining places other than in the hotel itself? I will prefer to try more local food rather than just restaurants food and it is more economical too.Patong beach got a lot of zi char thai food thats yi still thinkign shld stay at patong or not.

Is this marriot really gd? got things to do?

Yes.. do check out the supermarkets k..

U mentioned there are kids activities? So will it be suitable for K who will be 1 yr and G 3.5 at that time. Got elephants? haha..

As for the transport to Phuket, i wilol be travelling in a grpo of 4A and 2C so can fit into their car? got 7 seater? rental?

Paiseh for bombarding u with qns.. its ok if u cant dig out the info.. haha.. just enjoy ur trip, i am more concerned abt the food/dining there plus activities at the beach resort. If can then help me check k.

Re: chicken pox
Pauline.. me lor.. procrastinating.. din don anything.. will bring G to get vaccinated if she confirm hasnt got it.. so far still seems ok.. e 3 spots she had faded away so prob not chix pox.

I got some pockmarks on my face.. super sianz.. my face wasnt perfect/smooth but at least no scara to begin with and now i got 4! 1 extremely big one..

Re:2010
I hope this year can end soon.. super suay year as mentioned on my fb. Today 4th dec is my wedding anniv.. booked hotel stay but cant go cause hb is down w chix pox.. now dunno can postpone or not.. or have to forfeit it..sigh.. eveything seems to be in a mess for me.. i think "wo Fan Tai Sui"

Gar, oic, car rental with driver sounds good. how many seater? Can u pass the contact to me when u come back? Do they have an email address?

Genice, aiyoh, most people who go through chix pox won't want their children ESP gals to go through it lor. But never mind, it'll be over soon. Jia you!

oh regarding food, the coffee club at turtle village has a lot of good reviews (esp the tom yam soup) n price is similar to prices in sg.

genice,
hope the 4 scars will fade away...
i same age as u. ya, this year we fan tai sui. i also quite suai. dunno isit also becoz i suai, my kids take turn to fall sick
also things not so smooth at work.

ql,
the cereal not pass expiry date leh. maybe i got the "inferior" goods. anyway, other cereals he also have problems. will try porridge when i am back from my trip.

bx.. i just guess only.. u mean this year we really fan tai sui??? OMG.. that explains why..?? Better go pai pai at the temple when yr ends and welcome the new year man! All eveything will go well for all of us.BTW, enjoy ur hk trip!! Eat and shop.. yipee.. *envy* but i cant go anywhere now.. must tighten our belts.. cant spend too much.. take more pics and have fun...think u will miss ur little A.

Not smooth @ wk har.. just take it easy.. difficult to conc 100% when have kids i think.. or other issues? Just try to do own work and ignore the rest if possible.. keep low profile.. haha.. i did that after i had gwen.. super slack.. i think w 2 kids now i will be a BIG SLACKER in sch.. :p

Pauline.. coz i yaya ,ah.. thot i so old will not get it.. an who noes.. sigh.. actually i am ok w her going thru it.. dun think there will be scars when they are young ( i think)... but i hate it when we got thru it one by one.. first me then hubby.. hope it will stop spreading else 1 week one.. that means 1 mth plus we cant go out! Its very sian.. :p

Genice, oic, I was lucky, took some anti viral med early enough so not a lot of pocs. but my hubby not as lucky n he has poc scars on the face. if not his face really very smooth. But guy not as bad lar, gals more scared of 破相。Hee.

genice,
yup, really fan tai sui. i think i might go pai pai too when i'm back from the trip. have been looking forward to this trip for months... big A is so excited that she keeps coming to check on the luggage and adding her stuff to the load, like snacks, her toy camera, etc. and refuse to go to sleep! will definitely miss small A especially he is not well again. i think due to teething. his fever keeps coming.

as for work, ya i think really not enough time to finish my work. go home totally no time to do work. and now hols wanna do some planning but difficult to tell mil that i wanna do work. if i go sch, she will wonder y holiday muz go sch. stay at home she expects me to take care of the kids and she keeps coming to talk to me when the kids are napping and finally i find time to do my work. think she really enjoys talking to me. haha... can't afford to slack anymore coz there are expectations for me to meet and i have yet to meet them. so i must really buck up and work harder next year.

Bx, jiayou! my hubby has given up doing work at home so he rather go back to school once or twice a week to clear his work. plus sometimes he needs the intranet so must go back. of course, I prefer if he doesn't need to go back to school n can chit chat with me (like your mil). Adult company is much appreciated when looking after kids. I think your mil needs someone to chat with, I guess your fil is not the chatty sort cos u shared that he is not the hands on type n loves to watch tv. Kekeke.

Genice,
Hotel dining there is about SG hotel prices. 380 bht for fish n chips, 1,000 bht for dinner buffet etc. When I went to Patong the zi char prices were not cheap... 1400 bht for 4 adults incl beer and drinks. And we didnt have seafood apart from one fish. They charged 90bht per 100g for crab. But I went to a more proper restaurant visited by tourists so maybe ken a chop lor.

Turtle village is supposed to be good and cheaper than the hotel. So you can check out.

The locals say should go to Phuket town and not patong for cheaper food and shopping.

For activities, more suitable for gwen than Kieran. They have stuff like Face painting, cookie making etc. There's a time table you can check out here http://www.marriott.co.uk/hotelwebsites/us/h/hktjw/hktjw_pdf/HKTJW_Resort%20Activities%20Oct-Dec%202010.pdf

This time of the year is quite cold (26degrees) and I can shiver on the deck chair. Better bring some warm clothing for the kids. As a result water is cold too cos the pools are not heated.

I will pass you the contacts of the local car rental coy you can email the guy to check. The one I quoted was a normal 4 door sedan like corolla Altis type.

It's a nice and peaceful place if you wanna chill. But if you like action and shopping then patong may be a better idea. The road is very windy hubby and I kena car sickness so we only made one trip to town rest of time just relax in resort.

gar
wow! so many activities! do you have to pay to join? the thing i don't like about club med is that the kids activities are mostly all or nothing - meaning if you don't join them full day you can't join them at all, which i think is silly and really under utilising their facilities.

oh well next time i'll persuade hubby to go somewhere else cos i'm getting a bit sick of the club meds liao, haha..

Bx.. jia you.. got expectations of u means u got potential to do well so think positively k. U can do it! I noe this snds so weird but now that i am stucked at hm with e kids sometimes i do feel "incompetent".. no earning power plus cannot wear nice clothes, carry nice bags.. and no spending power.. sianz.. The +ve things are spending time with my kids and no Monday blues.. haha.. i still coming to terms with the adjustment.. sigh.. very conflicting decision.. i want to spend time w them, i want $, i wnat self worth.. i wnat everything.. haha.

BTW, my MIL also like that.. basically if i am @ their hse, i have to take care of the kids and do almost everything.. of coz they do help me but i think they expect me to do everything since i am not working... actually SAH can be quite tiring too.. sigh..

GARFILED!!! WOW! So much activities!! I saw the KIDS PAVILION!! Haha.. i am so going to "DUMP" them there man!!! Thanks for the information, now i dun mind being stucked in the resort already.. haha.. since got so many activties to do.. as long as got pp to take care of e kids i will be SOOO.. happpy.

Genice, I also went thru the same stage for quite sometime. My inlaws are not at all keen to help out n I have no confidence in mil taking care of kids so better I take care myself. That's why we gotten a helper. Suspect your mil same thinking as mine. They thought that last time they can take care of > 1 kids themselves n we can do it ourselves too, but last time n now are different coz kids are more active.

Not much spending on myself is ok but once in a while i will still splurge, like when my hb crossed me. :p

Genice, eh, dun be happy so fast. I just checked n for kids under 4 years old, parent must accompany. which means cannot 'dump n go'. Keke.

anyway, I just attended the talk yesterday, trying to book for march holidays but they took my dates n alternate dates n got to wait for them to call back. the gal said hervreservation colleague is on the line so cannot confirm. Almost 1 hr Liao, I think they dun have many reservation staff. :p

hmm... still no response from MVC. Wonder if their booking response time for prepaid members also like this. Wanted to settle the hotel booking then book airtickets before I go to Taipei but looks like chances quite slim Liao. :p

Pauline .. Maybe I can "deposit" my in laws there too?? Haha.

I only going for talk in march cause my trip is confirmed in aug. Hopefully can "sui sui" book on the dates that i want.
How long u going Taipei?

Btw, anyone noes what is the lowest fares to Melbourne.. Nowadaes tics to aust very ex. My bil is stationed there till mar we thinking if bunking in for a few days but e air tics are so ex...All seems to be at least 800 per pax

Genice, I've called MVC again and told them I need an answer asap cos flying off tom for Taipei. So, I still need to book airtickets by today if the hotel room is confirmed. Then finally someone called back. So, now all booked liao, going there from 14-17 Mar (Mon - Thurs) cos that's the cheapest airtickets I can find via Jetstar. Just need to go to 7-11 or Sams machine to make payment. Booked for both maid (take it as an incentive trip since she'll going for home leave in June11) and MIL to go so there'll be 6 of us in the resort room. keke.

Oic, ya, take your time cos your flight and other details are confirmed. Mine bo bian got to do early cos I'm flying off during peak March school hols and in just 3 months time (this time with my kids, YEAH!!!). Hubby said he'll have to bring all his exam scripts to Phuket to mark liao. Haha.

Eliaw, once again, thanks for the referral.

Genice, I'm also thinking of Australia but that one more difficult to plan lar cos hubby not keen on self drive. :p

Haha, bu she de my gals so came back to ILs place at 9+pm to latch Raelynn. Raeanne until now still refuse to sleep so we r stuck in a dark balcony feeding mosquitoes n can't leave n we haven't packed my luggage yet. looks like it will be a long long night today. Kekeke, 自找麻烦. :p