(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

lezy
ooh ok, maybe will give it another go. the times i've been there have been rather noisy, think maybe it was some indie bands or something.

i'm more keen on classical music because he quite likes Little Einsteins, and we usu listen to classical in the car so i think it would be nice for him to see an orchestra in action!

i'll go for the 18th nov show if possible!

anyone interested to go to Walking with Dinosaurs?? Am tempted to bring E

http://bit.ly/cb6x9f

Pauline - u here? sorry dun have ur hp no..so got to find u here..hee...wana ask if its advisable to visit TMC LC with baby along? (my fren has block duct like a golf ball size!?! but she has no one to help her to take care of bb for the moment)

QL, went out, just came back not long ago. Yes, definitely bring the baby along, baby is the best pump. I bring my baby along whenever I go and see LC.

Err... for those playing FB restaurant city, do you have a problem when the game freezes when starting up? It happened since yesterday, not sure if it's because of my laptop or the game is having problems? :/

Pauline - my fren's bb dun latch, 3 months old already, dun like to latch, so she can't count on the bb to help..hee..

FB games - i seldom play now, so can't help :p

tods - are most of your tods toilet trained? Heidi is still wearing diapers..but sometimes at home i let her be diaperless,but she doesn't say she wana pee unless i prompt..hmm..i think she is holding back her bladder..and there were accidents a few times when she can't tolerate..and then she go "oh oh oh...

QL, Iso, no leh, our kiddos are still so young. But somehow this thread is always quiet. I log in at night most of the time but no posts to reply too. Is it because most of us are too busy from handling two kids to post? hee...

QL, hehe, Jan thread has quite a few ftwm who have easy access to forum at work. Also die down a bit liao, before that, more active.

i'm around.

ql,
A still wearing diapers. her training halted because she simply refuse to let us bring her to the toilet. only on certain occasion she told me she wanna pee. eg. when she saw me going to the toilet at my muu's place and she wanted to imitate me.

u started work right? how's your pumping coming along. managed to express at regular intervals?

hello,
me just log on!
no school for #1 on teacher's day. busy till now and finally #1 is watching okto cartoon and #2 is sleeping..

#1 is not toilet trained at all. refuse to take off diaper. bought potty for girls book for her but she still doesn't want to follow.. even initiated to take a new piece of diaper when she shee shee inside. *faint*

#2 not as easy as #1. torture me with funny sounds whole last night. like lots of gas and phlegm like that. how come?

bx - ya worked started since 19th aug..so far ok..yes..pumping 3 times in the office..hahaha..so far ss dipped but a little bit only, so still enough. how about u? teaching is more hectic ya.

XY - my #2 also a lot of funnie sounds initially but after 1.5 months more silent, probably because they are still small, so airway very narrow, so can hear the "sounds" quite distinctly.

ql,
wow, 3 times a day!! u got long working hours isit? so far i managed to leave sch early these few days so i pumped twice. work is not hectic yet as teachers' day happen to fall on this week.

Hello2...

I'm here as well... just that have been a silent reader not sure what to contribute on the baby talk actually.. :p

Tots talk...

We finally put C into partial toilet training (partial because he do it in my shower area - he still doesn't want to use the toilet bowl but well at least it's a start) and to my surprise he actually adapt quite fast. Big busines he still do it in his pants. There has been a few occasion when he got into accident. Initially i tried putting on training pants but it seems he always pee in his training pants. Once we take off - then he will tell us when he wants to pee so starting this week, we forego the training pants and I just buy underwear for him... Must say it is so cute to see tots wearing underwear, particularly for C since his is sooo small (had to buy size 1.5 yr old from Mothercare since the ones at Kiddy Palace are all too big)! My mom says that it looks like those they put on soft toys.. :p But he really like to wear his underwear now because of the cute pictures on it

Re shows, we are bringing C to the Sesame Street show next Saturday. We could not decide initially whether to bring him to see Sesame or Barney since he loves both but finally decided on Sesame... hope he will enjoy it

Pauline,
Me the opposite! FTWM but hardly have time to reply in forum coz it has been v crazy at work... :S

bx - i pumped at 10am(sometimes 11), then 2(somtimes 3 or 4pm),then last pump at 630pm (before go home)..reached home b4 8.
...tired.

kitsune
ya man, sometimes no time to breathe when u have to look after 2!!

btw are you the one who is a tupperware rep? i recently saw the catalogue, everything looks so nice! but not sure what i need yet..

Tute, I opted for Barney cos closer to home while Gar went for Sesame street cos got discount for OCBC credit card. ;)

XY, maybe cos she is still very young bah. Raelynn used to vomit/regurgitate milk until she was almost 3 months old. Got to keep changing her clothes.

Iso, haha, I'm a tupperware member but not 'dealer' cos I never sell tupperware, only buy for myself cos I got no time to go and distribute the goodies. New catalogue nice ah? So sad, I'm a member but no one sends me catalogue. Must go online and see.
If you don't mind to collect from Tampines, I can help you order though.

I'm going for the sesame st show

too busy with 2 kids to log in..plus work is more hectic now can't really log in except when pumping.

milk ss dipped but am stuggling to ensure enough ss for baby coz he's allergic to cow's milk and lactose intolerant.

qingling,
i am counting down to 1.5 months which is next week. can't tahan the 'noise' that she makes. i remember Gar's Jane also makes some kind of sound right?

pauline,
i guess most mums here are busy chionging to finish work so that can go home earlier. economy is picking up, more work to do now.

some 'ME' time now...
#1 goes CC. #2 sleeping..
can't tahan #1 yesterday, keep whining and crying. perhaps is attention seeking and not feeling comfortable because of her cough. nearly wanted to beat her backside. i must 'ren3 ren3 ren3'.

hello mummies..

bz to log in.. i also dunno what i am bz with since not working yet but taking care of a baby alone got alot of things to do leh... a lot of cleaning, washing, pumping, rocking him to sleep and blah blah.. plus have to do HH chores,send and fetch 31 to school, entertain #1 whenever got free time so really no time to post, can only scan thru the posts while feeding #2.

It has really been very quite.. haha. ..nvm lah.. as long as ocassionally got pp ard , we can still keep this alive till they reach kindy.. i am sure. more things to discuss then.

Re:toilet training
Gwen also regressed a bit when she is sick now, both of us have been coughing for 1 week plus.. sianz.. really hate it, i wanna kiss my boy also cannot. I think toilet training really depend on the kids willingness, i guess just have to be patient, when its the right time, it can be a matter of a few days to br trained.

QL and BX, maybe u cna check with the schools whether kids of their age are trained, if Heidi and Ashlynn are ok as in sometimes can go pee in the toilet, is it possible to get the teachers to remind and bring them to the toilet, i think it works better when the teachers tell them. That time when gwen was learning, i removed her diapers when she goes to school and told teacher that she is almost trained ( which is true), ask them to bring her to toilet, of coz nap times she still wears but i think with the school's combined efforts, it helps. maybe can check with the school?

Bx, btw, happy Teacher's day.. hehe not bad leh, 1 st week back to work, got holiday, next week , 1 week break.. u taking back ur former classes har cause ur term quite short, the students already taking exams soon.

XY.. wah.. ur ger is coming to 6 weeks already?? aiyoh time really flies... my boy also 3 plus mths liao.. scary man...post pics of cammie.. she must be growing chubby now..

re: toilet training
i am taking it slow now as #1 got to adjust to her new role as jie jie. she has been quite moody recently..

genice,
yes. she's now 5 weeks liao. really fast.
seldom take picture of her because she will normally has 2 expressions - eyes close (sleeping), frowns, face red, mouth big big (crying). for the second case, we are too busy carrying, rocking...
hai.. not as easy as #1. :p

time really flies, i totally do not look forward to go back to work like last time.

XY, yup, I only started toilet training RaeAnne when she showed her willingness. Much easier when she is ready. Jia you! RaeAnne also a difficult baby, and now she is a difficult toddler. Definitely think difficult toddler is worse. :p

Sweetpea, how old is your baby now? Jia you with BF!

XY
jia you! i know what it's like, me still trying to ren, although he is better these days, much less crying and whining. but sometimes when he asks for things he still whines a lot, sometimes i really can't stand!

today i've been having a bad day with him, scold him dunno how many times already. went to PCF just now, hopefully they can let him start nursery ASAP because he's bored at home.

kitsune
must order from member is it? cannot buy from outside hor?

kitsune
oh ok, i didn't know got pple sell in BP
wonder if i can sell to pple in my estate, haha! but then again, i q lazy one. haha.

Hi hi ladies,

Just got back from Batam to celebrate my birthday with a spa retreat with HB and play with Danica and the maid. Bought 3 sets of Wacoal bra and bottom there got 50% off :p Long overdue R & R for me.

RE: toilet training

Danica only poops in her potty now. During our 3D2N in Batam, she did not poop at all and ended up eating very little.

When she wants to pee, she will say cause she prefers to pee in her potty or the toilet now. Doesn't like her diaper to be wet. Sometimes problem also cause we outside and the toilet miles away but she will insist on going to the toilet even though she is wearing her pull up pants.

At home, she has been wearing underwear for quite some time now.
I bought her Strawberry Shortcake, Little Miss and Pooh and friends ones.

Artemis, I'm keen to go Batam with my kiddos and maid. Which hotel did you stay at? Is it kids friendly? Is the room big enough for 3 adults and 2 kids. My maid can sleep on sofa or couch one. hee.

Hi Pauline,

I stayed in Holiday Inn Batam. There's a kid's pool with lots of small balls to play with that Danica loved. There was also a water slide but have to be careful cause Danica swallowed a lot of water coming down it :p.

I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. 3D2N only SGD307 in total including breakfast for 4. My maid shared the bedroom with Danica. It had 2 single beds. I believe should be enough for your 2 kiddos and your maid no problem one. No need to sleep on the couch lah.

I would recommend going from Sunday to Tuesday or Wednesday to Friday cause they have free shuttle buses on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays to the shopping mall.

The spa also has 20% discount on weekdays as long as your treatment starts before 3 p.m.

Book online through the holiday inn website to get the free shuttle. Otherwise it's SGD4 per pax per way bo hua. Also to get the special rate must book at least 7 (or was it 14?) days in advance.

All the staff there very friendly and loves children. Danica made many friends. :p

Holiday inn batam is nice. I last went when I was still Breastfeeding my no.1. Went for spa, and they made arrangement for us to be at the penthouse, a day bed for no.1 to sleep on n helped me to take care of him.

Thanks, Artemis. I was thinking of Harris Batam but have not heard of anyone who stayed there yet. Holiday inn batam sounds good, I'll ask hubby if he is keen to go in Dec. Does the price you paid include ferry tickets and insurance?

Clover, did you book direct from holiday inn website too?

Any idea if Dec is rainy season for Batam? :p

kitsune
dec should be same as for us, monsoon season, but these days the weather is so crazy it doesn't seem to matter whether it's monsoon season or not! maybe seas more choppy, that's all..

toilet training
E has been going to poo in the toilet bowl (we dont use a potty), and pee in a container, altho most of the time i'll bring the container to him to ask him to pee. have to thank my MIL for always asking if he wants to poo in the toilet bowl for the last few months!

Hi Pauline,

If you are going there for spa and R&R, I highly recommend Holiday Inn. If going for shopping or you don't mind the hotel a bit lok kok, then Harris should be fine.

Nope, I paid seperately for the ferry tickets. SGD40 for adults and SGD31 for children not sure if infant need ticket a not. You have to take some SGD with you to pay for the SGD7 per pax terminal fee on Batam side.

No idea about the rainy season wor.

When we arrived, it was raining heavily. We checked in and immediately boarded the shuttle bus to makan and shopping. Came back around 5 p.m. and had a quick swim before going for dinner.

The next day also rained around 10/11 a.m. So maybe that is the timing for their rain?

Artemis, thanks, I love spa and R&R but not sure if I can make it cos RaeAnne is so sticky. Seems like everytime I can only plan to go spa during her afternoon nap cos she won't sleep without me. Then I try for 1 hour plus and she doesn't sleep cos it's new environment. Sigh...

Pauline, no idea coz it's my friend who organized the trip. I think dec is the monsoon n rainy season.

I stayed at Harris b4 I hv kids. They renovated last yr. Think the place is kids friendly too. Spa not as gd as holiday inn's.
I went to bintan in dec 07 n suffered during the rides, but batam is nearer.

Clover, thanks. Bintan's ferry terminal is nearer to me but think it's even more costly than going to Malaysia. That's why I'm hesistant. :p

Hi Pauline,

I woke Danica up very early on my birthday and exhausted her by letting her play in the pool and the playground for 2 hours plus. Then after her bath and lunch, she knocked out for 3 hours while my HB and I went for spa. :p

When we returned, she was happily eating a donut with my maid and watching TV.

Artemis, good idea. Problem is RaeAnne sleeps very late at night, despite our best efforts. She is more likely to be cranky when she is tired. Then when she is in new environment, she takes long time to fall asleep (too excited, wanna touch and examine everything in the hotel room plus too many people in the room with Daddy, maid and Mei Mei). But luckily or unluckily, Daddy does not enjoy spa so I can go on my own as long as he is willing to look after her alone. Hee.

hello ladies!

Monday blues....
Artemis, I was just thinking of you! would like to seek your advise regarding maid rules and agreement matters, I will pm you?

Holiday
Yeah I need one too...wanted Bintan but the prices are horrible. Is holiday Inn Batam the best option for Batam?

Pauline, Josh is now 4.5 mths liao. no more latching. hiaz. so trying to pump and pump.

Holiday inn - was there few years back. the food at the restaurant was quite good. However we booked the spa at Harris instead - no frills.

Mummies who still let bb latch n pump after.. Do u encounter that after latching on 1 side and try to pump after on the other side,u cannot pump anything out even when it's still full? Sigh dunno why this "problem" started recently n I cannot barely pump anything out from the unlatch side after a latch feed.

ql,
i also have this problem. because when u r latching, u got letdown already. so when u pump, there is no letdown so no milk flow out. what i do is to let the boobs rest for awhile before i pump.