QL,
I can't comment on PDs. Ruth doesn't go to one.
I bring her to my GP whom I've been with for years. I seldom SMS her - usually I'll just make the decision to give meds myself cuz so far, only have nurofen (for fever) from her and some diarrhoea meds. Cold and cough we self-med via OTC pharmacy meds. We are the type that dun really like to give meds so as soon as she's slightly recovering liao, we will minimize/stop meds.
I've sms-ed her on occasion. Usually she'll not commit to a comment before seeing my girl personally cuz i think without seeing the patient, they do not want to be liable for any meds wrongly administered. Also, our understanding/interpretation of symptoms may be differnt from theirs so it can be quite serious if things are understood wrongly leh.
Unlike with our gynaes, where we can call up anytime on the appearance of symptoms and etc, I think for PDs/GPs, when it comes to children, I don't think they want to advice if you can give meds for certain condition over the phone.
Baby no poo erm...i recall one of the mummies here baby also never poo for almost a week and as long as still alert and eating should be ok? I can't remember who it was though!
I figure if they entertain, and if u call the PD/GP, they will ask u to bring baby down anything. They won't diagnose or advice over the phone.
For the one who entertained you, I would think it's a personal gesture. I think professionally, if I'm a doc, i also scared scared to give advice over the phone - unless maybe you are also in the med profession/are semi-trained in this field maybe can la.