(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

If there's anything I learnt about being a mom of 2 is that whenever there's offer of bbsitting help, hb and i are out of the door faster than bbsitter can say ''enjoy yourselves!'' LOL!

bkkgal, haha me too. But my hubby has a soft spot that the gals must wake up to a familiar face after their nap. Not that RaeAnne had any afternoon naps in the hotel room during the trip. But we tried... :p

bkkgal, haha me too. But my hubby has a soft spot that the gals must wake up to a familiar face after their nap. Not that RaeAnne had any afternoon naps in the hotel room during the trip. But at least we tried... :p

mummies - i dun mean to freak..but does ur maid kiss ur babies?!? i saw her kissing my baby boy on the cheeks..i told her straight..dun kiss him again!

bx - a little, but still i can never treat them as part of my family..as of now..not possible...and seriously i duno how clean their oral hygiene is!?

any1 knows the procedure for replacing a damaged passport? Do we have to go down in person or can apply for it via post?

ql, did u try online application?

ladies, any recommended books on discipline a toddler? my boy has been refusing his food and refusing to listen to our instructions. i'm so losing my patience with him.

we travelled up to kuantan during the weekend. it's a butt numbing 7 hrs ride both ways. we enjoyed ourselves despite A3 and I are not feeling well. he doesn't like the hotel food, not eating etc, and also has been vomitting out his milk every day since. geksim.

clover - i tink can do it by post..been tryiong to call ICA but their phone always engaged.

books - u may wish to read "positive discipline The first three years"..i also have yet to finish and i also desperately need to apply it to my daughter..haha

qingling,
i know its really weird, but at least u know ur maid loves ur boy.

bkkgal,
wah, SM is 6 mths already? Time flies.

Oh, got a question-- since babies drink so much more milk when they get older, will we produce enough breastmilk for them? I am asking this cos I latched Skylar since he was 2 mths, and didnt use bottle, so not sure how much he drank each time, but 150ml each feed sounds like a lot. Not sure if i can meet the demand.Or is it normal to supplement with formula if I pump out instead?

fairfield - for my first one, i had to partial feed probably due to incorrect latching and less frequent pumping. But second one, i managed to total breastfeed until now (except first month where was too tired so i fed partial FM), it seems i always managed to supply more than enough, in fact i managed to have around 400ml always in the fridge, so around 2-3 feeds available. Now each pump around 150ml, so i guess we should be able to meet their demand. Nevertheless, i also have a can of FM on standby
. i also realised my leaky boobs dun leak so much now, probably becuase these time i am more efficient in bf

ql,
wat is this SSO bb prom?

re: pumping
have u started to drag the interval? i am now doing 3.5 hrs. going on 4 hrs soon. starting work on 30 Aug. hope to drag to 5 hrs by then.

fairfield,
re: excess ss
pumping more than what A is drinking for now (ss sure drop when i start work). plus one more pump in the middle of the night to store as excess. in the middle of the night, A doesn't drink much. mostly latch for comfort only.

qingling
i have a gf who also disallow her maid to kiss her daughter. maybe they can't control kissing as babies are simply too adorable.

re replacement of damaged passport, i only know it cannot be done online. should be able to replaced via post since the application form include an option for damaged passport.

fairfield
i believe our boby will produce enuf bm to meet bb's demand as they grow older. i total bf shawn for about 1.5 yrs and had excess to store.

pauline
wanna ask you abt the shanghai ticket prize you won last year. how long did it take for the organiser to contact you for the prize collection, and for you to book your airtickets? did you book the tickets from a travel agency or directly from the airline (which one?).

Not Internet connection at my new place so got to use my phone to surf. Wish the forum had an iPhone app :p

Leila
I bought the pads when A was born.

Bkk
Wow! And u still bfing? I miss my coffees!

QL
Babies prom! I'm keen! For the tots and not for the babies. When is the next one, do u know? Sistic site is troublesome to surf from the phone.

ql,
my maid also wanted to kiss my boi on the lips n i stopped her. yikes!!! i was so so so horrified!!! told her that we wld rather she not kiss him. Also ask her not to read to him when she tried one day cos i really really cldn t understand her reading at all!!!

m also keen in sso babies prom, nxt one in dec???

iso,
where did u buy the pads fm?? strangely, they have removed all the stk fm woodlands and left wid the loop ones ard (which i hate).

Stephie, the prize was from 5 stars travel during mooncake festival lucky draw n for travel during off peak but I booked n topped up few hundred $ to travel during dec hols. Why? U won something too?

Pauline,
Did it take long fr the point organiser inform you of your winning to the point u redeem your tickets? Long as in more than a month's gap. Ya, won tickets to italy and hv been more than a mth and they said tavel agency hv nt confirm the details yet. Collected the other part of the prize though. Hence wanna find out if itz a norm for the prize redemption to b a long drawn process.

Iso
Yup, still bf-ing!
one cup a day should be fine lah.

QL
yup, i had this previous maid who tried to call K "darling" and even that, I said no. Definitely no hugging, kissing and other physical acts. It's good to be possessive over our children.

Bx-it's a orchestra for the tots below 6. I was told it's very nice so I was thinking of bringing Heidi.it seems that it's very popular n the tixs r usually snapped up very fast

Leila/iso-u can start booking the tics starting aug 25th and the bb prom is in nov,I tink 14th is the first day.I tink I will go..keke

bkk/Leila- was also a bit stunned when I see her kiss my boy so naturally that I told her curtly I mind,pls dun kiss him again.

Stephie-wa..so lucky..I never had such luck with contests lucky draws...haha

bx-pumping now n my last pump was 8pm,so its already been dragged more than 6hrs...I hope after this ss dun dipped but was feeling very sleepy today..

Caretaker woes-my mum seemed to have dizzy spells more often..n I m going back to work next wk!!feeling worried now..duno if she will managed with 2 kids..

re: pumping and bfing
really admire u guys for pumping at night. I am too tired to pump at night for #2, only latch.
And only pump in the day, and even then, i also dun pump regularly.

Fairfield
Me too didnt pump in middle of nite. Worse for me cos i din pump for both kids. Oni latch if bb cry for milk. Otherwise will slp til morning with v full breast.

Qingling
Plain lucky tis time. Somehow this winning brgs me "headache" cos hubby got v ltd window period for travelling fr now til end yr. And til now i dun knw the terms and conditions of the tickets. Somemore nov gg japan so the two trips must nt be consecutive. Well, i take it as a happy problem.

Stephie, WOW! Italy, congrats!
Nope, mine quite fast. Went to 5 stars travel immediately after collecting the travel voucher prize. But changing it to peak travel took some time cos need to go down to main branch. :p

pauline
lucky you, means the organiser had pre negotiated the travel voucher prize with 5 stars before conducting the draw. sigh, mine seems to be the other way round, started to negotiate only after the draw. my hubby very mad with the dilly dallying but i told him "no choice leh, we are at their mercy :p".

fairfield
i didn't pump in mid nite. day time got pump when shawn couldn't empty breast (during maternity leave). after returning to work, will pump 3 times a day (once in morning, once during work, once before go to bed).

anyone knows of cheap courier for the postage of parcel to indonesia? my maid wanna send some items back for hari raya.

re: Complain time!
i wanna complain! juz now everyone at home was bz doing something. i put A in the bouncer which was just next to fil who was watching tv. when he cried, fil din pick him up. have to wait for my mil who was preparing lunch to go carry him. when i went out of my room, i saw him sitting back, munching on nuts, and a can't be bothered look. c'mon leh, it's ur grandchild. when we go out for meals, sometimes the 2 kids are cranky, everyone will try to help. again he will be greedily savouring his food. Angry!!!

bx, my fil also the same thing with his kids (my hb n bils). men are more bochup and can turn a deaf ear to kids' cryings.

looking for a FT helper. I am embarking on a journey to find one! What requirements to give to the maid agencies huh? Pls advice me. TIA.

bx
is your FIL those MCP kind of man? when your hubby was young, ur FIL also bo chap when your hubby cries? if so, then that's the way your FIL behaves and will be difficult to change. hence, not worth getting angry over it (if your MIL also can't change your FIL behaviour). maybe discount him from the pool of pple whom will help take care of your kids so that you won't get mad over it? seldom see you so angry. hope you hv cooled down.

Stephie, hehe, cos the lucky draw was organised by Century Square and 5 stars is one of their tenants so don't dare to 乱乱来。

Bx, please lor, my own father and brother are like that. Always glued to the tv and computer. Don't expect them to help out with kids. They will only play with them if they are in the mood. Never engage them but always expect that RaeAnne must address them and must respond to them when they are in the mood to play. If not, all hell breaks loose. Come on, you are just slightly better than strangers to her, why would she give you face? Children can tell who is genuinely interested in them and who are just patronising. :/

What Stephie said is right. My dad is a MCP so my bro is also a MCP. Unless my mum goes overseas, they will not do anything in the house. Everything wait for my mum to do. :p

clover, stephie & pauline,
thanks for the feedback. luckily my hb dun take after him. still will help a bit. ya, i think last time my mil took care of hb all on her own. fil didn't even know how to bottle feed, bathe, etc.

i'm back from visit to dr.s for review. baby A is 6kg now, and 3 weeks ago he was 5kg! wah piangz. no wonder my back is getting tired from carrying him in the baby bjorn.

clover
me also looking. you can let them know nationality preference, experience or not, and how many kids u have, what kind of chores - look after elderly or young kids? for me i tell them i will be looking after the kids and she needs to do housework, but i want someone who is good with kids too.

iso, tks! i just called up 2 agencies and amazingly the first one already emailed me with some biodata.

do u prefer fresh or experienced maid?

QL
going back to work already? so fast, 16 weeks have flown by!

What happened to your mom? has she always had dizzy spells? maybe she needs to take more iron yar?

Iso
A is so cute! saw his pic in the bjorn. Love his hair, makes me wanna smell his head!!! hmm! :p

Bkk-yup my honeymoon ending..sniffs sobs...sigh..mum's health haven't been that gd since she crossed the 60 yes old mark(she already has high blood pressure n slight diabetes) I m worried the 2 grandchild will tired her out even if there is a helper ..sigh..touch wood but if she still having dizzy spells now n then, may really got to consider quitting the job for the time being.

Bx-yr fil sounds like my father previously until 1 day I got angry n told him, can u just carry the crying bb for a while when everyone's bx?!!since then he will auto carry the bb when the bb cries..haha..my father is too the typical MVP,never feed milk,change diaper b4..

Clover, I prefer those with kids so they know what to expect but some people prefer engaging the unmarried maids cos they tend to be less homesick. I engaged fresh one cos I am sahm so more time to train and change if maid is no good.

ql,
i guess the older generation men are mostly like this.

ask u regarding the dollar to dollar match for our kid's cda. if i deposited 1k on 9 jul, when will the govt deposit the money into the acct? if i make a withdrawl before the govt download the $, will i still get the full 1k?

bx
i never keep track when govt tops up. usually get the system generated mailer that top up has been done within a month though. I think the top up will be based on amount deposited into the account. maybe can call your bank or mcys to check out if you need confirmation.

pauline, we tot of getting a maid with experience n completed her contract b4 here in sg, so no risk of homesickness n less blood vomitting for us.

ladies, did anyone get a twin stroller? Is it useful? Saw in toysrus brochure, the esprit twin stroller for $300+, cheaper than maclaren technoxt twin.

Clover, I see. I was worried to get a maid with experience cos they have no loan to repay so tend to be more complacent. Not happy, want to change employer. Also, my agent advised me to get new one since I'm also a new employer. They said the experienced maids very 'jing' and often show 'face' to employer.

pauline/june, at first i tot of getting a no exp maid but had heard a few cases where the no exp maid missed home n wanted to go home, and left friends with new born stranded, so decided to get one with exp.

June, now my boy is either dun eat or eat n puke. Haiz. He's better tempered now coz i showered him with more love! Ha...

June, yup my vain maid is from iloi iloi. I go out too but only left the baby with the maid so far. Will usually get my mil to pick raeanne from school if I need to go out cos i live in walking distance from my mil. But I notice that raeanne acts up n rejects the maid when we r around. But if we r not around, the maid will give her ribena n cookies to get her to obey. But have told her to rely on toys instead. Most of her toys r in the storeroom now so the maid will take out 1 or 2 toys to get her to bathe or eat or play in the living room so that I can bf Mei Mei in peace. Raeanne used to have some finger print bruises on her thigh when she was 1 year plus but we analyzed n it was because the maid carries her at night n she will struggle so the prints gets left behind cos the maid holds her too tight. Have told her to hold her butt n not her thighs after that. And we did not see the marks again.

Apologies for posting in your thread.. but am..

1. Urgently in search of many tins of Enfapro A+..

If you've any to sell, pls pm me.. Budget's ard $10+- for the 400g tins..

2. Haenim Play Yard 6 panels (usu'd have 2 activity panels, 1 door, 3 plains with connectors) and ok with 4 panels too..

Budget's ard $100+- for the 6 panels

3. Steriliser
Looking for Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser

Budget's ard $20 to $30.. hopefully no rust..

4. Safety Gate needed to fit doorway of at least 118 cm..

Budget's $30++

5. Twin Stroller, just need one tt works, so on v tight budget constraint..

Pls pm me if you've any of the above tt ya letting go..

Thanks v much in advance! =)

Morning mummies..and regarding pds..does your pd entertain phones enquries or may call u back if he's bz at the moment?last time I brought Heidi to the pd at ssbc (now they changed name..) n he was very nice,willing to answer your questions when u have doubt even though he has tons of patients. However as the distance is too far,we we went to another pd who is nearer to us but accd to her nurse they do not answer
phone enquries..so anything must have to come down in
person n be reviewed by the doc..but I was thinking
sometimes I just wana affirmed the medicine she last
prescribed is ok to give again or check if baby has not poo
poo for last 4 days is cause for concern..the last time I
brought her she told me is still normal..so means it's not
necessary to go down?!? It's just these little things but I
wonder is ur pd like that too?or my first one us being super
nice?because I may consider changing pd

June-how abt installing a spy camera at home n u can check on her when u r out..for the benefit of the doubt first? Perhaps can try prompting ur boy questions/answers if the
maid did abuse him? sigh..my silly maid wipes the dining table without wetting the tablecloth(simply use a dry cloth n wipe table??)...duh..and I happened to realized it the day before...these little things which I assumed she knows...super duh..I really wonder where is their cow sense???

QL,
I can't comment on PDs. Ruth doesn't go to one.

I bring her to my GP whom I've been with for years. I seldom SMS her - usually I'll just make the decision to give meds myself cuz so far, only have nurofen (for fever) from her and some diarrhoea meds. Cold and cough we self-med via OTC pharmacy meds. We are the type that dun really like to give meds so as soon as she's slightly recovering liao, we will minimize/stop meds.

I've sms-ed her on occasion. Usually she'll not commit to a comment before seeing my girl personally cuz i think without seeing the patient, they do not want to be liable for any meds wrongly administered. Also, our understanding/interpretation of symptoms may be differnt from theirs so it can be quite serious if things are understood wrongly leh.

Unlike with our gynaes, where we can call up anytime on the appearance of symptoms and etc, I think for PDs/GPs, when it comes to children, I don't think they want to advice if you can give meds for certain condition over the phone.

Baby no poo erm...i recall one of the mummies here baby also never poo for almost a week and as long as still alert and eating should be ok? I can't remember who it was though!

I figure if they entertain, and if u call the PD/GP, they will ask u to bring baby down anything. They won't diagnose or advice over the phone.

For the one who entertained you, I would think it's a personal gesture. I think professionally, if I'm a doc, i also scared scared to give advice over the phone - unless maybe you are also in the med profession/are semi-trained in this field maybe can la.