(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiaoyun I want to order but i also already a member and I have got the email too. I wonder if it still works if u send to me ha.

BKK : ya I cannot agree more. All my $$ goes to seeing doc.... sighhh its been quite terrible this year for me as well.

XY
the prices look not bad, i ordered from BP recently organised by this person:
http://kidzo-galore.blogspot.com
definitely cheaper than in the stores.

booksdepository
i was also wondering if it would work if we referred each other even though we have bought before! shall we try??

bkk
i think PDs are making lots these days, just like vets, haha. MIL this morning just said that at this age they get sick q a lot, only after they go pri school then it gets better, which i guess is true..

i know my PD is not keen on giving strong medication, so usually it takes longer for them to get well, which is both good and bad.

bx
how is A2 now? is he improving? take care of yourself ok, being a mummy is so tough..

Iso,
A2 not getting better. This morning PD came to check on him. Called for X-ray to be done coz he still hear a lot of phlegm. A2 also can't drink much milk. Sigh...

re: cough
bkk,
Dhatifen is written on the packaging of the Ketotifen prescribed by PD. She said can take for 3-6 months with no problems too. is it lung tonic?
don't know if can get it at the pharmacy next time.
C's cough gets worse early this morning and developed low grade fever of 38.1 C. and she woke up at 4 am to play and requested for milk. decided not to send her to CC so that she can rest better.
can't afford her cough to drag any longer as mei mei is coming out and don't wish to take the risk.

bx,
when C was admitted to hospital, she got to take x-ray too.
please allow some time for small A to recover. take care...

re: teat
bkk,
i dun trust the teat # for which month.
C is forever using the smallest NUK teat. tried to change for bigger and she refused to drink from it as the flow is too big and she doesn't like the size of the teat.

re: bookdepository
shall we try?
let me start: littlecloud9 at yahoo.com.sg

re: crayola
iso,
so it's a norm for 20% from retail.
thanks for the info.

hi mommies - seems like every kiddies down with cough & running nose..mine too! sensitive airways - is this a common diagnosis now (seems like all our PD says that). Ketotifen is a lung tonic.

XY - apparently there r different brands of ketitofen around, i also have the cheaper one from the gp compared to the one i got from the PD.

Isobellies: My mum also say that. I remember my youngest sis falling sick often too. I remember cos we have a age gap of 9 years. I think if its too strong medication, will they get immune to them in future? I want to try too for the 10%? my email is [email protected]
Thankie.

BX: I guess when sick their appetite is not good. Like XY says,allow him time to get well.

qingling: at least now we know its common since almost everyone have the same dianogsis.

Amanda is on long term nose spray which doc say is mild. I usually see the same GP cos when I brought her to PD, PD told me the drugs prescribed by my GP is good. so I guess I stick back to my GP (less costly) hhaa.I must go back and check the drug name.

Aiyoh, so many kids have sensitive airways, how come? No wonder hubby thinks my pd was not very professional when she diagnose mild bronchioasthma after second review n prescribed ketotifen. He insist ti bring raeanne to tcm instead. Tcm sinseh said whenever the dr fail to see improvement for cough, they will say it's asthma. Dun know who is right. :p

sorry to hear all your kiddos seem to be down. Ruth was down for awhile (1-2 months) a few months back..but not very serious.

We don't go PD, just GP. Meds also take abit then stop and let her running nose run its course.

When she has running nose, we always help her blow out all the mucus. Use hand or wet hankie. Tissue use too much will cause abrasion.

Will also not let her bath at most once a day and keep her away from playgroup. Becuz of that bout that time, we haven't brought her swimming cuz if weather abit 'cold', we dun wanna risk her getting sick again.

Now everytime go shopping centre (aka aircon place), we'll make her wear a jacket to reduce risk of catching a cold.

Hope all your kids get well soon.

My brother & I had childhood asthma/bronchitis. Saw a lot of specialist (in those days per session 60-70 bucks is very expensive). But never had nebuliser or spray. Only medication like syrups etc.

oh, so many kids are down with flu and cough.. take care and hope they get well soon!

and all mummies must jiayou in boosting their immune system ok!

let me join in the crowd with kids always sick =(

when A first started CC, she fell sick once every month, then it became once every 2 weeks, then it became every other week. the usual works - runny nose, then cough, then fever.

i was desperate for a long term cure. my PD, is anti medicine. and perhaps rightly so. in the USA, they have taken cough medicine off the shelves for those younger than 2 i think. he will listen to the lungs to make sure it's not a "lung problem". then he will prescribe minimal medication (mainly for fever, and for the cough). his theroy - i give you med, also take 7 days to recover. i don't give you med, also take 7 days to recover. so you decide whether you wanna give the child med. of course the answer is no.

and true enough, regardless of med or not, it does take approx 7 days to get well. and i don't see taking med making her improve faster. it just makes me feel better that i am relieving her of the symptoms.

i've tired TCM, but haven't persevered long enough to see the results. i have given multi-vits but also no use. now giving her scotts emulsion (many moms i come across swear by this, they say after two months of consistent consumption daily, can see the results). also reading the ouyang ying book that tong recommended to adjust her diet. hopefully this will help.

my tolerance is falling sick once a month. any more often than that is a strain on her and the family too.

Garfield: u gave her the orignal scotts emulsion or orange flavoured. I tried giving Amanda the original the day before and her face turned GREEN! I smelled and its really stinky (wonder how come i can take it when I was young). Now, when she see the bottle on the table, she will tell me its not nice, she don't want.

Xiaoyun
PD told me Dhatifen/Ketotifen is a lung tonic - can be used to build up the lungs.

Gar
me too - once a month is about what i can take, esp with 2 kids. thankfully SM is a more tolerant baby - she endures the blocked nose, the coughs, doesn't cry as much as cheh cheh would when cheh cheh was sick. She will hack hack hack and then go back to sleep. Whereas cheh cheh will cough and cry miserably and then cannot sleep.

Usually, i will tong3 for a week by self-medicating with whatever is in the fridge. AFter 1 week, if still unwell, then i get desperate and decide to bring them in.

booksdepository
apple, XY, i put your emails on the website already, did you receive any mails?
mine is isobellies at gmail.com
tongtong, what is your email?

sick kids
maybe some kids seem to perpetually be sick becuase when they're recovering they get another bug from someone else?

pauline,

The school follow literature-based curriculum. Meaning they teach based on a story-book for a month. Dancing, singing, learning all based on the book, so they don't always do the same things everyday. Did I ans your qns?

apple, i gave the orange flavoured one. she loves it. it's like concentrated orange squash and she will always ask for more. i figured better that she wants to eat than having to struggle and force feed her.

bkk, lucky you. SM is really a sweet child. my J is spirited just like her cheh cheh. i am in for a tough time *muahahahaha*

Gar: Oic, sighh i shld have been smarter to get the orange flavoured one.

Iso: Thanks I got it! but i am not sure if they will allow me to use it or not. Try later and update.

BX
thanks for double checking for me!

Gar
dun say that. spirited also got positive attributes. actually i was just remarking to hb the other day, the 2 kids have got such different personalities but i really enjoy their differences and learning ways to bring out the best in them. K is also spirited but there are parts of her spiritedness that are esp enjoyable e.g. her enthusiasm for singing, her sharp sense perception, her imagination. She could even tell her classmate Alex who has been hitting other kids in class that he's a good boy because he did not beat anyone today.

bkk,
yup agree there are positives in all personalities. the only thing is that spirited kids require more energy from their parents. and hence my comment on the "tough" bit lor - coming from a sleep deprived mummy =P

i guess i could save some energy cos largely one parenting style will do...

scotts emulsion
does it help to boost immunity? Wat's the diff with fish oil?

I give my boy vit c n fish oil. The vit c actually helps in stopping his running nose.

my family's sick as well..started off with daddy with a slight cough, then me with flu and fever, then big J, then little J and back to daddy. Everyone still has blocked nose. Josh also has diarrhea for 1 plus week, which pd say is allergy to cow's milk. no more milk and dairy products for me boohoo...

Bx, i got my maid from Budgetmaid; she's indonesian coming in 4 weeks later. Decided to employ under MIL cos she will stay there and do the work there. Tempted to put under my name to enjoy the discounted levy but doesn't sound right.

Bx,
Baby's name is Rykel. Hope your little one is better now!

Re: cough/runny nose
No meds recommended in the US for babies and young children too. Esp since docs always say colds are from viruses, and no use taking medicine.
Now Baby R also having stuffy nose passed from Skylar.. sian. According to PD, as long as congestion stays in nose and doesnt go to the lungs, its ok. Just wait for it to go away on its own.

Iso,
u can use saline nose drops for babies to clear their noses to help them breathe better. Just 1-2 drops each nostril. Then if u want, can use the suction bulb to try to suck mucus out.

Tongtong, yup, I've ordered from bookdepository a few times. It comes with free shipping. Most books are cheaper than Amazon (and even better, shipping is free). But for the thick and heavy books, the price may be higher than Amazon since shipping is included in the price tag for book depository. :p

Cover
it's looks the same as cod liver oil but tcm doc insisted I get scotts. Was giving Nordic naturals previously. Oh well, save money I guess.

Update: small A still can't go home. I'm still stuck in the hospital. My BM filling up the fridge in the nursery coz he is drinking very little.. The nurses thought why this mummy just delivered got so much milk. I gotta explain my bb already 2.5 months.

pauline, if amazon is $11.55 while book depository is $15.48. is book depository still cheaper than amazon? also, do you think edition 2000 and 2006 got lots of difference or not?

Hi ladies!!!

bx,
how's small A? wow!! u managed to hand squeeze out ur BM??

kids' illness
now L also like that aftr he started playgp
Now i ve become kiasu, as soon as i c that L starts wid any symtptoms of illness, i ll bring him to TMC n will stop sch for a while to let him recover. So scared now aftr previous episode, sick for 2 mths, pass to me, also 2mths to recover, then pass to hubs, 1 mth to recover. Thk will take L to go "tiao" his body nxt wkend.

genice,
why don't u call n ask TCM if u can use western n chinese meds together, show the tcm what western meds u r giving. i knw adults can cos i myself use to do that. Jus take meds certain hrs apart. Jus that wid tods, it may be difficult to get them to eat so much meds in one day.

pauline,
can u share wid me how u segregate ur house wk load between your CL and helper. Do u jus let ur CL do solely chores that r related to BB and also whole family's lunch and dinner responsibilty to be left wid CL??

Came back from kkh at 2plus this morning cause #1 had fever of 39 degrees and persistent coughing, i din think it was as serious since she has been coughing for so long and the day before i actually brought her to Yu Guo for massage and got the tcm med.

But she refused to take the med after trying once and her cough seems to worsened, she is like coughing every 20 s.Fever also never subside after 2 days of paracetamol.

I went down to our usual GP and he said she got wheezing, seems to have some lung infection, told us to bring her to KKH immediately since there is no pd already at that time. It was already 9.30 pm when we finished seeing him, had to go home get ebm,pump out milk, deposit #2 at in laws place and go to KKH. She really had broncholitis. given nebuliser, took X ray as well..seems worse than #2.Sigh.. so mentally and physically drained..

I have never been to KKH for many yrs, din expect to go 2x within 3 days.. got a lot med for #1 and #2 still hasnt recover too, still needs to bring him back to pd..

This is the ultimate suay period for me and hubby, i think both of us are going to collapse soon.

Re:TCM
Leila.. i dunno why everytime i give tcm med, she seems to get worse than before. Is it normal??

i tried to brew the cough soup from medicinal halls and we seem to cough more the day after? Can anyine tell me why is it like that, a few times already... so abit no confidence with tcm liao.

CLover, where did u get u Vit C and fish oil? what brand?Is it tablet form?? will the tots eat?

Apple, i also giving scotts emulsion orange but stopped giving recently cause she was coughing, dunno will affect or not.

BX.. hope A recovers soon. My #2 still hasnt recover too, got to go pd and review..i am so tired and i am falling sick too with not enuff rest..

genice, *hugs* and jiayou! understand that it's very straining on u .. the tcm med, i think the purpose of coughing is to cough out the phlegm and to expel unwanted stuff. it's fine if she coughs in the day. but it's not good if she coughs when she rests or sleeps. dunno what we can help at the moment...but we definitely can give you 100% mental support ok.. or maybe next time i give you the daily menu which i made for shaun and you follow.. see whether can help improve her immune system or not..

Leila,
My hb brought bottle warmer, sterilizer and pump here. It's almost like home here

Genice,
Hope ur kids get well soon. So heartbroken to see them sick.

Tong,
No suction done as the phlegm is in the lungs. Only physio to dislodge the phlegm.

genice, bx,
take care of yourselves and hope everyone recovers soon!

re cough / cold,
want to share that using vicks rub seems to help, especially at night. rub on their chest, back, soles of feet and wear socks. i try not to give medication, so only rely on this method to relieve their symptoms.

gar
does A protest with the vicks rub since it's "hot"? do you use kids one (is there even a kids vicks rub??)? i've tried putting it on his soles + socks, but so far it's not like a miracle worker, altho doesn't seem to cough too badly at night.

bx
take care, hope baby A gets well soon.. can imagine it must be very tiring for you.
what kind of physio can help with phlegm? wonder if it can work for our tots?

iso,
i tried different variations
- chest only
- back only
- chest + back
- chest + soles of feet (with / without socks)
- soles of feet only (with / without socks)

and so far, i realize the only combination that "works" is chest + back + soles of feet (and MUST wear socks)

yes, there is a baby version of the rub. it's actually called vicks baby rub. or you can get snuffle rub (different brand, but same thing).

A doesn't really struggle. but she always try to take off her socks. So sometimes I have to wait till she's asleep to put it back on for her.

no harm trying

iso,
there is a baby vicks being sold on the BPs. i use that on L but frankly find the adult one more effective on him though.

i use a eucalyptus rub for kids bot from Australia - Eukybear Rub. its not hot but i think the eucalyptus oil penetrates the thick mucous to provide breathing relief.

genice,
do u c a TCM physician or u jus buy the cough soup? one thing i realise, tcm on my son takes a while to c the effect.

n the other thing i learnt fm my PD when L was having serious flu was that there is a cycle. When i ask him how to monitor L s cough. He cld tell me fm say, this date to this date, aftr meds, he wld be better, then aftr xx days the cough wld worsen n he actually estimated the dates for me. Also, he estimated when L wld be more phlegmy and has to take what meds. This really put my mind to at ease cos previous times when i didn't ask him how to monitor, i wld feel so confused why in xx days he wld be better n then seem to worsen aftr xx days. And it does help if u tell the PD when when u notice what symptoms starting. My PD seem to be able to have the cycle quite accurately drawn up.

gar,
can i knw wid socks on, do u use the air con?? n how do u usu dress unwell kids? cos i tried put g L in non air con room but the nxt day, he wld have heat rash. but put g in air con room wld somewhat worsen the cough.

Iso,
The physiotherapist pound on the bb's back to loosen the phlegm so that it can be more easily expel out. Yup, it's done on tots too. The diff is that babies will guai guai let them spank the back but the tots will scream their heads off and struggle. Told by the therapist.