(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Blueginger, how much is channet's cc? I am kiving for raeanne next year. Full day or half day? got Chinese lessons or not, any additional enrichment lessons in the afternoons?

hi blueginger,
thanks for sharing~
think i've heard of little skool house, fees are not cheap - so in your opinion what sets it apart from the other schools/cc?
for me, it's a bit of a hassle 'cos i have to put my boy on schoolbus 'cos there's no decent cc/school in my neighbourhood so i'm a bit concerned over the logistics too.
pretty stressed over this... sigh

pauline,
fee $600 inclusive GST for full day after subsidy. definitely have chinese class, include enrichment lesson. btw like wat lesson? i refer to phonic class, etc.

pinkie,
hmm... i think the schoolbus not cheap cos i stay nearby so not worth take schoolbus.
yes. I know. I used to be stressed by her school selection, esp when parents are super kiasu nowadays. this is a new school, opened only in Mar this year. It occupied half of level 4 of the bldg, so it is very spacious, enough for the kids to run ard. meals are all healthy-certified. there are rules for teachers to well-treated children. curriculum are open for imagine. they took photo of kids activities so tt you know wat is gng on in school. they will inform you on weekly programme. For more details, call the principal.

Blueginger, thanks, I mean like music or gym classes in the afternoons. Phonics is good too.
but yup after subsidy $600, a bit steep. :p

Haven't logged on for a long time.
Just wanted to let u gals know that I delivered on 9 July!!
Super busy and tired now, but luckily my parents are here to help out for another few weeks.
Skylar has been naughtier than ever though, so very straining on everyone.. sian!

Apple,

xiaoyun,
excited abt the big day?

Congrats Fairfield!
Bear with it. Ashlynn was also very very naughty. Still naughty now, but we are getting used already. Wat's #2's name?

blueginger, mygym will contact u to arrange for the trial. I dont really teach at home. I do story telling, doing finger work, doing housechores, cooking, baking, washing, going gardening, farming, outdoor activities like sandplay, waterplay or playground..

XY, i dont know whther there's remedies but i think there should be something to eat to ease your heartburn one.. got to do some google search first.

XY, thanks! yea think i will get the locklock wor hehe

fairfield, congrats!!!!!!! rest well ya!

Bx,
got another mystery mummy ah? Who leh? Looks like one after another is preggy again. Excitement never stop in this thread. Keke

Fairfield

Xiaoyun,
Feel excited?

Tongtong,
I feel great satisfaction when teaching E, now I didn't do much being tired, hopefully I can catch up after delivery.

fairfield,
congrates. bb is now 2 weeks old liao.
my turn in 10 days time.

fairfield/tubao,
not feeling really excited cos not the first time liao mah. just that will wake up at night at 'admiring' my C and hope that she will be a good jie jie.

bluegin,
little skool house is quite ex. btw, you've got a full time job already? $300 subsidy for you?
from what you describe, it's pretty good. got teach phonics too.
C's CC not so good as in taking pictures to let you know what's happening in the school.

Farfield,
Congrats on ur delivery!!!!

Apple,
Gong xi gong xi!!! looks like this thread's 2nd kids age gaps are not too far ya? nxt time can have playdates for #1 and #2 together

bx,
u went to beauty world to source for a maid? i went to one in bukit timah shopping centre, jus nxt to beauty world. The whole plc is filled wid maid agenciess!!! i finally got an indon trf maid aftr so many ding dongs trying to get one fm indonesia itself. she's jus been wid me for a wk and so far she is ok. Slow but steady. And bcos she is a freshie, she really does things like what the agency taught her. m ok wid that cos, the ways taught were quite clean but of course i tweak here n there according to my liking. Cooking wise, gotto train according to our style. Basically willing to learn but language is an issue, must really speak slowly and ask her to repeat what i said. Also i emphasize that if don't understand, must ask me else i wld scold her instead if she makes mistakes when she doesn't ask.

What i realise abt trf maids is that u can go there n interview them urself face to face. It may be gd cos u have a feel of how what the person is like. Unlike the phone interviews we did, half the time can't even communicate well wid bad phone lines and language.

xy, i have no prob with the smell. =p yr turn to give birth soon. =DDD

farfield, congrats!

maid
i called up this agency at beauty for a short term helper (3mths contract) n the person quoted me $388, incl of airfare for their handling fee. is this expensive? then he said smthg abt insurance for the maid. it sounds like high cost for a short term contract.

Leila,
In the end din get from beauty world agencies. Also chose a trf maid coz I got to interview her. She should b coming in next week. U r lucky that ur maid is ok hor? Hope mine will b like urs. Slow nevermind. We r willing to train.

pauline,
OIC.ya. All classes in the afternoon included. Ya steep. But no hidden costs.

XY,
Ya. I almost wanna join C's CC, but no regret.
NO I din. Actually part-time enough. I entered Channet when I'm still working. They nv check, I din tell them too. =P

Blueginger, when u say all classes in afternoon included, is it just phonics? Any music appreciation or gym or speech n drama enrichment classes in the afternoon?

genice

read your post about G and K being sick, q interesting to see what meds they're on!

E also has been having an on and off cough for the last maybe 3 months? but that cough is mostly at night, and sometimes he'll throw up after milk because of it. he went to dr. twice and had 1 round of antibiotics, even had TCM medication, but it never really went away. now he's got a really bad cough and runny nose, not sure if it's linked to the persistent cough. sigh!

Iso.. I decided to document the med they are on so I can track which are effective n which are not, got to get the medical history from the docs for G. She is still coughing now.. I really dunno what to do wanna go tcm but she is still taking the allergen med so I have to wait first.I am really sick of her not recovering forever!!!

Bx my little k also coughing very badly n I think he got very bad sore throat too, he lost his voice! When he cries he got no voice n he seems to have difficulty breathing, I am pumping now gonna bring him to kkh later. Feel so upset n frustrated!!

genice
yah when they get sick, i feel so sian hor? oh dear, k is so bad have to bring to KKH?? hope he will be ok :S
btw i think NUH PD services are not bad too, if u want to consider since it's closer to your place?

Genice, raeanne has a big bottle of ketotifen that is barely touched. After her second review with pd for her cough, she prescribed that but we sought second opinion with tcm, she finished two bottles of cough syrup n her cough stopped. We didn't give ketotifen anymore. It's pretty steep, $38 per bottle. :p

pauline.. yar.. ex.. i bough a bottle for $90 plus from guardian phamacy.. quite shocked that its so expensive.BTW, which tcm did u go??

Iso..NUH pd? open on sunday hor? so just walk in har? or must go A&E first? I went straight to KKH A&E.$85 str... din get any med in the e nd cause doc says his nose and lungs are clear just that he is coughing badly, cna take the med that pd prescribed.. but paying for the reassurance is still worth it.

RE:med for babies
Any idea what med do babie sgenerally take for cough? Do they take antibiotics aat such young age? what do docs do if babies have phelegm... i forgot to ask the doc can suck out the phelgm or not.. is there such a thing?

genice
actually the Children's A&E is a dedicated section of the "normal" A&E, but so far i havent been yet *touch wood*. the regular clinics must have appointment, they dont entertain walk-ins. let me ask abt the clinics more, in case i need next time also

I know for cough they can take prospan/abrilar, even pregnant ladies can take it, but its not v strong.

anyone use those nose mucus sucking things? any idea which are good? not even sure if E will let me use it, but his nose q runny and it's light green :S

Genice : Amanda is the same as G. My colleague and a PD told me it will get better when they reach abt 3 yrs old. Bo bian they need to build up immunity. As for your #2 falling sick, its becos there is an older sibling at home (who will pass the *virus* to them).

I brought Amanda to KKH *A&E* several times to see doc when she din get better after seeing Gp and pd or when its like PH or sunday (where clinics are not opened) and strangely she always gets better after going KKH. and I usually get to stock up on the fever medicine from KKH who are quite generous in dispensing them to us.

BX, oh, did you go to TMC? hospitalised due to bronchiolitis? Be strong and Bf him as soon as u can or when he is hungry.. jiayou!

genice, speedy recovery to your boy boy too! and also ur gal ok...

sorry to hear about the small darlings fall sick! Hope they recover soon.

My boy is prone to cough coz he has sensitibe airways. When he's coughing badly while he's younger, i brought him to c dr terence tan at mt a kinderclinic. He's good n v popular. V long wait but worth a try.

Now i will take him to c tcm when he coughs so not to let it get worse.

Apple, Amanda also coughing for long term?just like urs n clover,think g got sensitive airways too , Is it hereditery? Cause my hb n myself dun have or we not aware?

O.. Dear bx what happened?Hope nothing too serious, u jia you n go hand express first, must be very upsetting for u. Update us when possible.

Thanks mummies but k Iis still coughing badly, frequency increased, I cringe everytime I hear him cough. His cough is a few times n very forceful one, i wonder whether his small body can take it. Called pd but he super bz waiting for him to return call takes so long! If he doesn't get better by tmr, have to bring him go check again.

seems like a lot of babies falling sick or got lots prob , sad...

Ql, 5 days already ? He is on total bm rite ? Too heaty? Pp say my milk too heaty n passed to him.

Genice: ya she has been coughing plus running nose on and off since Feb this yr.(she joined CC in Jan) The week before was more serious and she has to skipped sch for 1 week.She seemed better last few days but this morning heard her coughing a bit and starting having a bit of running nose again!
Dunno if its hereditery leh but her daddy has asthma.

Isobellies : yah dunno whats wrong leh?

Thanks everyone. Baby is resting in the ward now. Took blood test and drew some phlegm to be sent for testing. Also given the neubaliser. He looks more alert now compared to morning.

Tong,
Yup we r at tmc. Doc wrote broncholitis in the admssion form.

genice - i also think i am perhaps the heaty one
i try to drink a lot of water and chrysanthemum tea (but too liang also no good ya..)...but nowadays i dun have much constipation prob leh..but anyway gona go for 3rd mth jab soon, will ask PD for further advise, last time she commented may need to go NUH for scan, so see how.

sensitive airway - H also has it too! how come every kid now also sensitive airway. genice - the ketotifen H was also drinking but no effect, so i stopped it..also 80plus (so ex!)..now she's still got a phglemy cough..

the dad is planning to get a air humidifier & purifier (SHARP brand) soon, hopefully it helps?

ql, I think generally the health of our kids are not as good as the olden days due to the polluted environment, so much radiation and the micro-wave around us , like the wireless wave.. and dont forget about the food that the kids take now.. plus the lifestyle everything.. we cant do anything on the radiation part - unless we dont use pc , wireless internet or handphone. impossible. so we tackle from the other angle - the food and the environment. just my 2 cents worth la.

tong - i agree..somehow kids now r not as healthy like us previously. HFMD, sensitive airways dun seem to exist that commonly in our era.

sensitive airways
for alex, it's hereditary. I hv mild asthma, n hb has rhinithis.

Now if weather change sudd, or if he had the fan blowing at him constantly, he will cough.

all the cough problem.
C just started her cough on Friday night. it's like night and morning cough. brought her to see PD this evening cos i've got Gynae appointment too.
so coincidentally, PD said she's got sensitive airway (hb has sensitive nose), lung is clear. She prescribed ketotifen too!!
but how come her ketotifen is so cheap? $10 per bottle?

bx,
good that small A is in good hands now. I actually felt better to leave C hospitalised so that can be monitored by the professionals rather than stay at home and make us worry.
continue bf him as this will really help him feel comfort and give him antibody too.

jia you!!

<font color="ff0000">SALES:

BookDepository is giving out 10% discount if I refer your email address.
anyone wanted to order, please give me your email so that I can refer you.</font>

hi moms
K and baby SM also runny nose and coughing for a week already. finally can't tahan brt them into see the PD yesterday. What is Ketotifen? Is it a lung tonic? PD put K on dhatifen and flixotide (puff) for long term cos of her airways as well. Previously, she had a case of broncholitis too. PD also gave Singulair which is very good for opening airways, reduces her cough. It's $1 per tab. pretty ex but it works....SM also got singulair in dissolvable powder form to open her airways. SM hates the tissue paper nowadays. When she sees it coming towards her, she will siam ah!!! poor thing, wipe her nose until so raw her nose area.

Why can't our kids get well? This year, have been to PD so so so many times! Can't count already. My bills each time more than $200. Estimated to have spent $1500? dunno...they get well after seeing doctor but before long, they catch another bug and the cycle starts all over again! aarrgghh.

Avent teats
Can i ask any moms here using Avent airflex teats? Can you tell me #2 is for how many months old? cos I found some loose ones in the cupboard but I can't find the grading to tell me whether it's for 0+, 3+, 6+? Appreciate your help!