(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Naughty kids....
my girl is one of them.
Now my husband implements time-out for serious mishap for example keep putting glue stick at craft session into mouth in spite of several explanations.

My helper also declares her pattern to E---every meal need to be finished at high chair. After 2 weeks' implementation, her meal time drops from 45 mins to 10 mins.

I feel her style of naughty at this phase is much better and funny, compared to unreasonable long whining last time. E seems much flexible than 3 month ago.

RE: Terrible Twos

When Danica has too much free time on her hands (read school holiday), she tends to be more disruptive and disobedient. Instead of nagging at her, I just look at her and tell her very firmly that she has no choice in the matter at hand. Surprising this has worked many times. For other stuff that is more negotiable, I normally give her at least 2 choices and respect her wishes, even if it means taking a little extra time to complete a simple task.

RE: food intake

Danica has her good days and her bad days. She loves soupy stuff. Noodles, bee hoon, bee tai mak. Rice she will take if there is soup or steamed egg. She loves eggs and egg tofu too.

I seriously find that if I don't make a big deal when she doesn't want to eat and cheer when she does, she gets a kick out of eating well. Sometimes, when she really no mood, is super distracted or the food just doesn't suit her taste, I will bargain with her. "10 spoons and you can go ... (whatever is distracting her)" Normally 10 spoons is already pretty filling. :p

Of course, she loves fries and potato chips. I brought her to watch Toy Story 3 over the weekend and between the 2 of us we finished 2 small packs. :p So I told her quota reached for this month.

RE: FM promotion

By the way, mummies whose children are taking Mamil Gold. You may want to check out this promotion: http://www.dumexonline.com/dumex_delivery2/index.php?campaign=imailglobal.

Jus wanna include my experiences too :

Food intake
I also have my fair share of eating issues wid L too. But recently, i've been giving him choices to decide what to eat, so it is much much better. For eg, if m intend g to feed him noodles, i give him a choice of deciding between eat g quinoa noodles or millet noodles. Or between rice or porridge, or between fried or hard boiled egg so he gets to decide for himself. Think it helps cos it gives him some form of control.

vege/fruits intake
Use to have an issue wid that but ever since he had an episode wid v hard poo till his anus hurts, i told him that it was bcos he didn't eat enuf veges, fruits n water that s why his poo was so hard. And it worked like a charm!!! now everytime he rejects green leafy veges, i will remind him of his once painful anus :p n on top of that he can now tell my hubs to eat up his veges too...hahaha!!!

junk food intake
i've always avoided(which means poor me also no junk food lor or eat only when he s zzzzzz ). But at times i also want him to try so that he doesn't grow up feel g deprived. So, i try to give in moderation. i do tell him that everything cannot be eaten too much in qty but in moderation and i linked it to the Hungry Caterpillar book. The part where the caterpillar had a stomachache aftr eating too much junk food. Seems to wk so far....

Tod's Behaviour
L's behaviour is difficult to manage these days too. Resorted to smack g n timeout. not sure whether izit bcos i don t have the patience n energy these days to talk n entertain him cos m really too tired n m really SLOW at doing ALL chores....

good morning mummies!
so tired, watched WC for 73 mins and went to zz, buay tahan the zz monster liao..keke..

leila -how have u been, how many weeks le? By the way, where to buy quinoa noodles and millet noodles (i dinno it exist?heh)

Eating - sigh, this week Heidi has stomach flu, her appetite literally dropped to zero (always not hungry) and diarrhea from last friday to Tuesday, she from chubby chub chub when i first send her in to childcare,now left skin and bone, i wonder did i make the wrong choice..sigh..unfortunately my mum can't cope with 2, otherwise would like to keep her at home in the morning.

Artemis!
Thanks for sharing that link. THey very weird, how come i'm on dumex mailing list they also dun 'publicize'.

PLAYGROUP and Sickness
I can't complain too much. Ruth fell sick with fever and flu on-and-off for about 2 months maybe. Also dropped in weight a little and abit skin and bones. Now ok liao. I was getting really tired of blowing her nose every few minutes.

THen again, she's never been very chubby so it perhaps isn't so obvious. But also didn't eat well but we're consoled that at least she still loves her milk.

QL,
m at 28 wks so tonging lor....millet n quinoa noodles can be bought fm organic stores or some medical halls in housing estates also sells.

can i knw if a toddler's booster seat can be placed in the front passenger seat???

i have accepted the fact that they will be sick.. G has been coughing for 4 mths and she is still coughing at night now. Nothing seems to help and i am also couhing now so prob we transmit to each other. I even have to go pharmacy and buy some med for allergic reactions , doc says maybe she is sensitive to allergens, a little will stimulate cough, med so ex.. sian.

Ql, is heidi better now?? U said Hayden din poo for 13 days? what was the reason?? Quite scary leh 13 days...

Anyone on ML/ on leave keen to meet up for coffee maybe next week, QL Bx?? Edlyn? I will be bringing #2 along.

genice,
do u take TCM?? if u do, why don't try?? L also on cough meds n antibiotics for 1 whole mth but doesn't seem to end the cough at all. Went to TCM, and within 1 wk of meds, he is now cleared...hope it stay that way. But have to warn u, i had difficulty feed g the TCM meds (the powder fform mix wid water) cos it is really an "acquired" taste. First time i gave, he cried so bitterly n threw up everything but later in the wk, he cld finish up everything without taking a drop of water.

genice - Heidi's stomach flu seems to have recovered..harder poo since thursday, not watery type, but appetite still very poor. Anyway, let her go to school to mingle with her frens today, i suppose it should liven her up a little. Ya dunno why Hayden din poo, so brought him to PD too, insert the suppository to poo, now 3 days le, everyday got a little poo,so ok for now, PD was worried if the suppository din work,have to send him to NUH for scan le..luckily ok for now. Perhaps becos i have also constipation problem and now he's on full BM, he caught it too..but i been eating a lot of fibre,eat fruits,drink fruit juice prev,hmm...even tried to massage his tummy everyday but for 13 days still no poo..so weird

Heidi's 1.5 mth old cough eventually stopped after she took the medication from KKH (during her fever spike n fit episode), was given antibiotics and promethazine.
genice - coffee/lunch also ok, but central area can..i have to manage the pram alone and the barang barang(i doubt will bring maid)

Genice! Have been wanting to jio u gals out but shy... Haha... I on! Yup yup will bring #2 coz needa bf. So boring to stay at home everyday. Esp wif in laws ard.

leila
if i'm not wrong it can. only can't put rear facing seats in the front if the air bag deploys it's q dangerous for the baby.

genice
when when?? have to see schedule cos i'm like hubby's maid/personal assistant/employee now that i'm on ML. lol.

hello mummies.. din have time to log in yester.

Re: meetup

How abt next tuesday or thursday?In town ( since ql staying in west and bx staying in east)..coffee club/ tcc/or any other coffee joints ( preferably at some shopping malls with nursing room? paragon is gd but they only have starbucks i think) maybe we can meet abt 2pm?

How will u all go? u all intend to bring pram? I was thinking of using carrier but it means i have to carry him thru out. If bring pram troublesome.. haha then i will take cab lor.

Leila.. i dun really noe what is tcm leh, i went chinese medicinal shop to get cough herbs and brwed for her.. doesnt work.

went to see the sinseh at toa payoh, they gave a big bottle of cough syrup which wasnt bitter and doesnt work too.

Erm.. so what is exactly TCM..? where did u see ur sinseh?

good morning!!
today on leave to attend parent-teacher session.
C half day at MIL place and I suppose to meet ppl from SCBB for the donation of cord blood near my place.
and now they want to meet at MRT station instead. super inconvenient time and location for me as I got to bring along C if meet in the afternoon.
don't know why they are so ngiao about the meet up this time. too many donations already?
- can't meet away from MRT lines
- can't meet off office hours

my last donation was a pleasant experience, they meet me in the evening during my gynae visit. and now they don't do it anymore....

hai... want to donate also nobody wants.

one question, i've got 4 more days of childcare leave to clear this year.

if I clear the 4 days CCL before #2 is born, will i get 6 more days of CCL again when I am back to work in Nov?
(btw, my CCL is renewed every year on 1 Jan)

genice,
we brought C for the sinseh in the TCM.
but the medicine is not to her liking. difficult to feed too.

bobian then cook the 'zhi ke tang' for her in replacement of her water intake. then i will then boil soup with nan xing bei xing for her to drink or cook her meals. hope that they will help in her cough.

XY
SCBB wanted to meet me at my gynae's, then they never show up! or maybe miscommunication with them cos I wasn't so keen to meet them there/then also, in case i got to rush off or something.

in the end i just went to them myself at KK, easier for me cos on my own time.

genice
i was just at paragon that day! and needed to pump but they only have TWO nursing rooms in the whole place. end up i pump in the disabled toilet, standing up. lucky freestyle is convenient. haha.

Hi lezy,

No problem!
Always good to share promos.

Hi genice,

I personally find 苦口良药 (hope I got the chinese characters right :p). Those TCM that is sweet really no effect one.

Like leila says, it's really an acquired taste. Danica also fought me tooth and nails at first but by end of the week she knows to ask for it when I forget. :p

Not sure if you would be interested in the TCM that I brought Danica to. I personally feel that he is very experienced (over 40 years of TCM experience plus a TCM hospital in Bangkok).

RE: outing

Not that I can make it but a good place would be TCC at Takashimaya. There is a place to "park" strollers and the nursing room inside Takashimaya department is spacious and very nice too.

Hi Xiao Yun,

For SCBB, the other time they were also very accomodating.

Unfortunately, :p we are only entitled to 6 days of childcare leave no matter how many children we have.

Paragon ok. I thnk weekdays nursing rooms should be more easily avail right? I dun mind nursing at the coffee joint itself if really Bo bian. Either tue or thur 2pm ok with me. I will bring pram coz I dun wanna carry thru out unless he refuse to cooperate and is cranky.

genice - tue is good for me. thur i got the photoshoot with dreamsgardern (by the way, they say promotion package so no free photos for recommended frens). I will bring pram, but hor up the taxi also difficult for me (i tink mrt easiest for me), cos my pram Heavy!!
, 1 hand bb, no hand fold the pram (can ask taxi driver carry bb??haha..i was tinking eat my lunch there too (starbucks or opp taka TCC also can)..keke

Okie.. onz.. we meet next tues, 13th July 130 pm ( can eat lunch too) at taka k. TCC= coffee club har on the 3rd level, u all wanna meet there?? So we are all bringing our boyz hor.. haha..Yeh.. can put our boyz side by side and take photos..
u all got each other's hp? I think i still have all ur no.s Edlyn can join us??

Pauline/ TT sand other sahm.. wanna join us too?

QL, i think u can ask driver to fold ur pram.. hehe. Wah take mrt.. challenging leh.. i scared.. somemore my pram one of the wheels seem to have prob and i scared to push bb up escalator.

genice, i just wonder how to settle #1 when we are having coffee? dont think mine will sit still wor. at most he can sit for 15 mins, then will run away liao hehe. so i still wonder whether to meet up?

re: SCBB
managed to meet the person at McD near my place just now. *phew*
probably the coordinators are protecting their staffs so that they don't need to travel too far. but the person who met me is very nice. finally no need to waste the cord blood liao.

Xy, i think SCBB lacks of staff too, that's why sometimes they couldnt accomodate to our request. i also fed up last round so went to KK instead to do the donation.

ok onz - i have have genice's hp. my mobile is 97854097 - sms me bx
, meet at TCC 1.30pm is ok.. ask driver fold my pram..my pram chiem ah..even my maid i got to teach her 15 mins..i doubt the taxi driver have this patience with me..haha..i tink if i manage to be early, will take mrt...if late then bo pian taxi..haha

tong - keke..can entertain him with coloring? i hope its not too bored for him with 3 baby boys though..haha..we love to catch up with you

Erm.. tt, true lor but maybe he can entertain the babies? or bring colouting books for him?

Bx.. 130-2 pm? we can eat lunch.

SCBB is like that on, when i donated for #2 also a bit ma fan in terms of timing cause they relaly short of manpower but they are quite nice lah.. I also last min, only sign the forms 2 day before i dleiver but then i din noe i was going to deliver at 37 wks .. :p

genice
will have to let u know sometime on monday? i think tuesday my hubby might not be working, so if he's not working i won't be able to make it...

aiya....just forgot i need to go gynae on 13th..hmm..timing is 11pm at glen e..haha..so got to go down taka after..but means i have to travel a fair bit..

re: childcare leave
artemis,
really? i was hoping that the CCL will be reset after #2 is born this year. means total 6 x 2 CCL. :p
but i know next year i sure only get 6 x 1 CCL. (i'm having fat hope i think... )

genice,
aiyoh.. deliver at 37 weeks..
i dun wish to think about it. i am 37 wk coming Sunday..
still not able to finish the project and so many ppl from office keep calling me even though i am on leave..
hai...

ql, where's gleneagle?

genice/ql - er, dont have a coloring book for him leh oops. got to think of other things to entertain him liao. but anyway, i might go out early with him too then join u all at 2pm ok

qingling
haha no, means must spend quality time together mah, since he works whole day on saturday. so tues if he's not working likely we will go to ikea sale.

NURSING ROOM:

I came across nice nursing rooms in the following places -

ION

RAFFLES CITY

SUNTEC CITY (inconvenient as only on level 3)

VIVOCITY (all over but biggest and best is next to playground on level 2)

My idea of nice is:
- spacious
- microwave oven (some)
- hot water (most)
- toddler toilet bowl (most)
- nursing room WITHIN nursing room

THe one at 313 even has separate cubicle from the baby changing area which has 2 toilet bowls - one for adult, one for kid!!!

Genice
I read your blog abt your day as a sahm, sounds so much like me on a daily basis! Even tho sometimes I'm not alone w the 2, I find I'm really short tempered, and scold E easily. Sometimes at ILs place it isn't better cos the 2 boys are v v naughty together and ILs whole day scolding them, so a lot of negative vibes. And like today they were playing w a blanket for the Nth time, I buay tahan and beat both.

And I always feel so so gulity for losing patience. Sigh!

Iso..so true need to spend some quality time with hub..now me n hub sleeping separate rm with not much time to even have meaningful conversations..the 2 darlings take up all our time n energy too..ha..poor him...keke...has been a monk for many many months n prob many more months to go...ha

Lezy..until now I haven't even step into 313 b4..ha n even ion I was also briefly there..But I like the foodcourt at ion

Genice, wa wish I can join but 130pm is RaeAnne's nap time. Cannot leh. :p Too bad, the gathering is not during the recent June hols, if not, I can dump the kids with maid and hubby and go. ;P

xy,
re child care leave, it is true that you get 6 days no matter how many kids you have... so don't clear them all, you might need them when you return to work in nov !

Morning everyone!! Hate mondays as hb leaves for work as he will work late for the weekdays.

re: Maid
previously some of u were recommending some good agency right? can share wif me the contacts?

those with maid can email me [email protected] your work schedule for your maids for reference? please send me the house rules if u have one too. thanks in advance!!

finally decided to get a maid for two years to help out while the kids are still young. right now mil and I are quite burnt out. or rather i decided to have some time to breathe for ourselves. really look up to those of u who can juggle with 2 or more kids on your own and some without help even.

Bx if your maid will be at mil house most of the time, best to choose one that your mil likes. If not if they dun get along, she will keep complaining to you. Mine got no schedule since Bb born. :p

Anyone wanna go for <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Free Trial</font></font> at MYGYM?

Let me know! I can refer you for free trial! mygym got 2 locations - tampines or marine parade.

pauline,
u go no schedule ah? meaning u want her to do what then just tell her? i thought got schedule more organised.

thanks for the reminder. yup, will definitely choose with mil

Hi morning mummies!

Been quite a while since i pop in here. Hw's every1 &amp; their little tots?

Re : "Notti" tots

I hv 1 @ home! &amp; #2 is slowly showing his "notti" actions 2! Haha...

Iso, i agree wif u! I feel so guilty 4 scolding my Cayenne when she drives me "crazy".

Tong/Genice,

Thanks 4 jio-ing me for tomorrow's outing. M interested! But most likely will oni bring Cayenne. Who else is gg ah?