(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx- I feed him ebm since his fm ran out..since milk got more than sufficient for now..so procrastinating to open the can first.. First month was very tired so no choice feed him fm..now me quite used to the routine liao..so at night can warm milk for him so I give him ebm..now morning I nap with him to catch a wink...ok I will feed on demand...i think with Heidi I also feed on demand,but she woke up only once in the night..so much easier..whereas didi wake up 1,4....zzz...

Bkk-i sometimes latch,then sometimes he dun wake up and I already pump half way then he ngek ngek..Aiyo..timing is so tough to catch..then while latching, the other side leaking badly(can leak to 50ml),i tried to use bottle to hold, but end up bottle not in position properly cos I holding didi..then my bra n t shirt all wet..Aiyo...very messy...

xy-i still haven't find the position using the nursing bra to hold the bottle in place le..how u do that ah?maybe I need to buy ur type of bra..Haha.. I have the front hook one and open snap type..both cannot hold bottle properly leh...

qingling,
let me try to take some picture of it this weekend and post here for you - since it's about time i take out the pump to test if it still works.

bx - i express now 4 hrly (sometimes 5hrs), can fill a medela bottle full (i tink 180ml?), or sometimes 150ml. if got chance to pump 3 hrs, its ard 130ml..my pump timing is dependent on when i am free..haha..seldom latch liao (only sometimes when bb finish the bottle and still want some more)..

i think it's $60+. yup, u buy a tube and cut 2 circls. haha...

so u managed to improve ur ss after that time it dipped due to irregular pumping. hope mine can improve further :p now quite hard coz i latching and i starting to get lazy to pump after latch.

Clover,
Yes, stayed over @ Afamosa as we've got a very good deal, $110 for 2 nites in 3 bedroom villa.

qingling,
Just to share what I did during DD1's time. I latch direct and pump after latch cos during that time, I haven't learnt how to nurse lying down. If you nurse direct, you can go back to sleep and wait for his next feed, no need to pump if you don't want to, unless you want to build up your stash of ebm.

Hands-free pumping
I just use the normal nursing bra, also can hands-free. Save me alot of money ;-)

bx
so do you stretch the hole to put the funnels into the hands free thing?

i have the pumpin pals, or i did, lent to my sis and she lost it in the house, roll eyes. the only thing i didn;t like about it is that it's q uncomfortable at the neck, the strings cut into the neck - they really should enhance the design! otherwise it's pretty good

Iso,
I put on the tube, zip halfway, insert and position the shields at my breasts, zip all the way up, attach the connectors + attached bottles to the shields. Can visualize?

arg...back from doc again! #1 having stomach flu..vomit n diarrhea...#2 never poo for 13 days...zzz.....how contradicting.....

I got 3 sets of mumsfairy pumping pals handsfree. Works well, until now I never bothered to learn how to use the pumping free that came with the Medela freestyle. :p

goodmorning!!!

why am i here? cos C adjusted my alarm clock and I woke up 1 hr earlier!
only realise that after I took my shower. >.<

as promised, I took some picture on how to transfer nursing bra to handsfree:
(1) slot the funnel in:
4184792.jpg

(2) 'clip' it up"
4184793.jpg

XY
ooh q clever!

kitsune
3?? how come u need 3? do you find that the neck part gets "cut" by the string? i always found it uncomfortable..

do you find your tots these days won't listen to instructions? v pek chek..

iso,
A's behaviour is so bad and weird till i even thought of bringing her to child psychologist. but then i told myself it just a passing phase. terrible2 + didi contribute to all these bah.

hey hey gals,
from your experience, may i know how long bb can tahan in your tummy after they engaged?
i feel that #2 is moving down. only can know if she's engaged on the next gynae visit next week.

btw, fairfield should be anytime to pop.
any good news?

iso/bx,
C takes instructions much better than 1-2 month ago.
previosly answer is all 'No' 'don't want', she now says 'Yes' or just do what we instructed (of course got to repeat a few times).

it sure is a phase.

XY, no 1 was engaged at early at week 34 and came out end of week 37.
For no 2, doc didn't exactly tell me I was engaged, just that at week 34, 35 even 36, baby was still pretty up the pelvis and not in the v area. he came out at end of week 38.

also dun like the pumpin pal. i used it quite frequently during no. 1's time but this i dun even bother. can't get the right position always, dunno y.

Xy - thanks i will try again to see if it works. i think i was engaged at 37 weeks, so around 3 weeks.
Iso - yes, i have #1 crying day and night as long as she's with me,demand this demand that, instructions make her cry louder.. sigh.

bx,
do you still cook for A?
C was rejecting porridge from around 1 month back. we then switched from porridge to noodle/pasta.
at the same time, started to add soya sauce, oyster sauce, tomato sauce. and now she eats better.
but i also notice that she's a very texture person. if i mix 2 different textures in her food, she will reject. means, noodle is noodle. if mix meat/mushroom inside that requires more chewing, she will reject. got to feed meat or mushroom separately.
it's frustrating sometimes because got to help her separate food from different texture to feed her. hence, i blend all the meat/mushroom/vege and add into her noodle/pasta yesterday. at least the noodle/pasta now coated with some meat/mushroom/vege and glad that she still take in 1 bowl of it.
worst come to worst, i let her drink the soup boiled with meat/vege to ensure that she has some nutrition intake.
when she still doesn't want to eat, no choice - feed her with multi vit sweet liao..

Iso, I had one for office n one for home cos I kept forgetting to bring it back from office. Then the office set got a bit frayed so I bought another set thinking to replace it but I never did it in the end. So still got 1 new set.

Xy, I lasted one month too, the last leg was very uncomfortable cos baby so low. :p

My gal is worse, difficult to make her eat, sleep n listen. And she will beat, push n bite when angry. Aiyoh !

thanks all for the info.
good that can last for at most 1 month.. i am now in 36 weeks. so hopefully will still tahan till edd. :D

XY, so fast that you are going to due, time really flies!!

bx, A always have problem eating hor? did you try the si shen powder ? else you can add enzyme drinks to enhance her appetite such as pineapple and apple juice, maltose with raddish.

karihome goat's milk sweeties

I'm getting at 16.50 per can for 200sweets -mixed flavour. Normal price at supermarkets is 19.90,

Anybody want?

lezy - the sweets stated only for 1 month consumption is it? last time i bought but we cannot finish within a month.

XY
i hope it's a phase that will pass soon!

looks like a lot of mummies have the same problems. tots all testing our patience! aiyo, headache.

XY
my gynae said that for #2, the bb might be engaged only at the v last minute before delivery. so, hard to tell when they will come.

sweet pea
which pump did you use it with?

xy,
mil is the one doing the cooking. ever since she moved in, i have surrendered the kitchen to her. i dun even know where things are kept now. we tried giving her rice but too hard to feed. we find porridge easier to feed. mil not in favour of giving noodles/pasta.

tong,
yes. from drinking milk last time to eating. sigh.. always gotta struggle with her. my mil also mention si shen powder. get from chinese medical hall?

drink apple juice can help enhance appetite. sounds easy. not sure about the maltose and radish. sounds too chim for me to prepare.

happymum2b,
r u ard? i read from ur blog that u bring #1 to tui na for his appetite. did it help? is ashlynn too young for it? can PM me the contacts?

gar,
how's the consultation with the dietician? u think useful?

desperate mummy here... just today, her teacher told me that she is eating little for lunch when i picked her up in the evening. i think her problem getting bad. we managed to feed her porridge for dinner. but gotta trick her into eating when she is distracted.

NESTLE NAN PRO 3 MILK POWDER

12 PACKS OF 1 SERVING EACH

For 10 Months onwards

Selling at $12. (Retail Price $16)

Self Pickup at East/Central Location

Direct Bank Deposit OR cash-and-carry accepted

Contact [email protected]

4189010.jpg

bx, si shen powder can get from eu yan seng. But I think hock hua sells too, probably cheaper. My MIL was also pro rice and porridge whereas I believe in giving her anything that she will eat eg. pasta, fried rice, bread. Everyday, eat rice also sian lar, that's why I find that RaeAnne eats fastest when she is oustide cos of the novelty. ;P

i'm suddenly having blocked ducts! can feel a few v obvious lumps. painful siah! any advice??

bx
is there anything that she will eat?

tong,
yes. time flies..
when's ur turn? how's life as SAHM?

bx,
si shen powder can get from most TCM hall.
mil always add into C's porridge last time, not sure if it has any effect. now since she's not taking porridge anymore, so stop giving her that liao.

good choice of surrendering the kitchen to mil. less trouble.. :p

is she snacking a lot other than the meal time? i can tell that C will lose all the apetite if she snacks a lot at in-law's place. so, i always make sure that she has her meal before all the snacks appear.

how about giving her sandwich? can put cheese, tuna, etc. will she like it?

iso,
my #1 didn't engage till the last minute. i was induced then.
can still remember that i was very mobile even till 1 day before edd.

qingling,
hmm..i dunno leh. we never really keep track - as long as we keep in a cool, dry place. She can wallop 8 sweets at one sitting....so i think 200 in a month is do-able for us.

I"m thinking u can put some in the fridge if u can't finish??

BX,
Aiyoh...i hope ashlynn eats well soon?

Ruth used to take semi-melted cheese sandwich (and it's without the 'skin'), cut into small cubes. Need to semi-melt (with microwave) so that can 'glue' the bread together and cut into cubes.

Then suddenly she decided she dun like bread and reject all bread. For the past year we have been feeding her pancakes, cake, for breakfast. She dun take cereal too. Weekends, we sometimes give her chwee kway (plain).

Then last week i dunno why we decided to go Modestos. They give a basket of bread. She eat everything!

then give her pasta, she eat. Pizza (softer parts) she also eat.

Porridge at home - now my mum doesn't cook porridge. She steams the rice so it's quite soft and steams the ingredients separately. Then feeding time, she will pour the ingredient into rice (usually abit watery so rice will become a little mashy)

Ruth doesn't take veggie in the strands. she takes spinach every meal and it's all cut-up/mashed-up with the rice and fish.

At one point, i dunno what she was going through but feeding her was like fighting a war. have to turn on tv, wait until she's quite engrossed and subtlely just put spoon to mouth and she will auto-open her mouth and eat.

If u tell her to sit down, and eat..no way. Lucky now pass that stage. plus she doesn't seem to like the tv these days.

Go out sometimes i order bee-tai-mak, put a little ketchup with fishballs. She likes. (She also likes chicken rice but i try not to order that too often cuz oily la).

FRENCH FRIES! if there's french fries...die liao...she won't eat ANYTHING else! *Faint* So we have to be careful.

Also, cannot order cold drinks - or else she only wanna drink, dun wanna eat liao.

sometimes, during weekends, secretly without telling my mother, my way to make her eat is to erm...make her hungry...that is....dun keep feeding her every hour. at my mnum's place on weekdays, she eats round the clock one! She can finish her full bowl of porridge, then ask for snacks and apple etc! *facepalm*

having a kid is like jailtime...

lezy
omg, your mum is really like my MIL! 1 hr (or sometimes less??) before mealtime also can feed snacks. then complain that the boys don't want to eat their meals. hello??
same with baby A, she keeps trying to feed him every hour. sigh! guess they help us look after, cant complain.

bx,

i m still around...
Yes, big E appetite has improved already, he seldom pui his food out (most relieved!) and we r slowly increasing the quantity of his rice.

yi shi's advice is to regulate his bowel movement as big E often has constipation problem, then "attack" his appetite problem.. The tui na really help to improve his bowel, as for appetite we were told to be patience to see d result.

U can bring ashlynn there. I will PM u the contact.

bx.. when u give rice, u got put gravy or soup? G is also not eating well previously and even now feeding her is so difficult!!! Just like all tots have to trick her, i have resorted to using cane already to "threaten" her. On good days, she is ok with eating rice and will self feed but towards the end we have to force feed Like going after her, threaten her.. super sian.. feeding always take at least 40 mins.

She prefers biscuits and cakes to rice but she seems to like noodles too. Maybe u can try giving her noodles in the weekends and when u bring her hm after CCC, dun give her snacks if she is taking. G always ask for biscuits when she come hm from ccc abt 4 plus, sigh but very difficult to stop her.

During dinner time, a bit difficult for u to give her pasta/noodles since u already "surrender" the kitchen liao.BTw, is she feeling unwell that is why her appetite is so bad? G went thru a period of not eating also, din eat lunch in sch, din take milk for nap come hm also dun wnat to eat ( that was the clingy/cranky period b4 didi came).
But now her appetite is better cause she is not that sick (still coughing) and happier. U can monitor awhile and at the ame time buy the si shen fen to "kai wei". Like pauline, i wouldtry to give her anything to eat as long as it doesnt aggravate her cough.

Yesterday, i was HOME ALONE with 2 kids!!! Darn... the school was closed for staff training and i din even noe, went down with G and K and got a shock when i saw CCC closed. Wasnt mentally prepare to cope with 2 kids, super tired... cant even go down and buy food so i cooked instant noodles with mushroom meatballs and sausages. I noe its bad for her but its her 2nd time taking instant noodles and guess what, she like it!. She even self feed while i was changing didi diaper in the room.

Lezy..will eating too much sweets cause tooth decay?? :p i'm keen to order but worried too.

"having a kid is like jailtime" Agree and i am serving DOUBLE the sentence now!!

anybody knows whether it's ok if toddler's fever comes and go, off and on? S is not on medication, fever on Friday afternoon, off at night, Saturday no fever, Sunday fever came back, Monday no fever, night fever back. Today no fever, yet.

Any problem? or should i consult doc.

Happy! So glad u r ard
thx

Thanks everyone for ur advice and suggestions. I hope it's a passing phase. She is really weird these days. Last fri, dun wanna come home from ccc. Today refuse to go ccc. Last nite refuse to let us wash her buttocks as she pooed. She has not gone diaperless yet although she can tell us when she wants to wee wee. At night sleep also keep screaming like got nightmare.

With a toddler like her and a demanding baby who wants to be carried and refuse to nap, I think I have been pronounced lifetime imprisonment.

XY, not thinking to have #2 now because i'm not working, dont think can afford hehe. Great to be sahm because i managed to have my desired "home" which is what i long wanted, and also cook lots of food for the family.

genice
wow! good job on surviving the day with the 2, so far i only spent a few hours with both of them, i think tough to do any cooking unless one is sleeping and the other can occupy him/herself.

if she dun eat, can she go hungry? maybe she will be more hungry for the next meals?

iso...my ruth is a machine. she can eat dinner (i full bowl of porridge with fish/tomato/spinach/scallop/toufu) and then continue with an apple and biscuits/chips/cake.

only thing my mum holds back is giving milk - cuz somehow milk fills her up for at least 2 hours.

Weekeneds sometimes i dun even give milk in the afternoon if she wakes up too close to dinner time. we'll just rush out for dinner.

I'm happier that we can now go hawker centre and order noodles for her instead of always going restaurant. at least she will more or less sit down and eat.

Ruth doesn't self-feed yet. My mum sees no hurry in rushing that...plus...she doesn't want Ruth meddling and playing with her food.

I can tell sometimes Ruth wants to handle her food so when that happens, we just let her play play abit by 'helping us' to feed her. after awhile (she's very very impatient), she will give up and want us to feed.

BUt things like chips/biscuits/bread, we will let her pick it up herself and feed herself. SHe will look DAMN smug and happy with herself and we will clap for her like she just danced the macarena.

Sigh.

tongtong!

i borrowed OYY's bilingual book, diet therapy for infants, thanks for the recommendation! are there any other bilingual books?

Iso, yea it's tough to do cooking when the kid doesnt want to occupy himself. So now i have to let mine wash the veggie or dishes if i want to do cooking. HOpe you find the books useful, any other bilingual books by OY or ?? i think it's good enough to digest the OYY's book first leh.

Lezy, why sigh when ruth has no problem eating? or you mean you dont want ruth to eat so much chips bis or bread?

talk about rebellious tots and difficulty to eat...

General food (lunch/dinner) - C is still difficult, resorted to keep giving him porridge.. he still takes porridge well. some people asked me to phase it out, but i'm still hesitant - i think to me i'd rather see him eat porridge than not eating at all.

Milk - Now apparently he is ok to drink pediasure choc flavor but yeah all milks must be choc flavored for him to drink so options when he goes is the Smoo Dutch Lady packet milk. Weekend he will at most drink 1 packet.

Breakfast - C sometimes asked for cereal and milk, when i say cereal it is either milo or koko crunch, sometimes (very seldom) he will take honey stars. Most of the time however, he will eat porridge (same for lunch + dinner). There's a period of 2 days where he wanted to eat bread with melted ice cream (i.e. you have to spread a thin layer of vanila ice cream, let it melt a bit so that it's not cold and serve). One thing i learn, C is not fond of cold drinks/food.

Snacks - C enjoys eating cereals, honey sticks and puddings... he loves his pudding, so I try to make pudding using his formula milk so that it is more nutritious, but these days i buy the marigold pudding custard, he loves those stuff. We also offered anything we eat but he hardly takes it.

French Fries - Evil food which i think all kids LOVE.. C also loves this and this lazy parents sometimes will just go to McD for snacks outside, knowingly that he will eat this happily... I try not to do that now though..

Fruits - Big headache now! He used to eat papaya quite well, but now he doesn't want. Anyway, I told my helper if he is passing motion on a regular basis, then no need to worry so he literally stop taking fruits this past 1 month.

Saying no and being difficult - Yes, he has his moments so we try to distract him or negotiate with him. The most effective method for me is to use his soft toys or hand puppet to talk to him and ask him to follow the instruction (almost always works!). He seems to listen to his toys more than us! :p