(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

LOL Lezy
Sure sure will definitely support wan. I Nuovi, if I rem correct, is mainly makeup right? Or are you bringing in skincare?

XY
HA dun have bb cream leh...u think bb cream will be popular?

bkk,
i think BB cream is the 'in' thing now - for lazy/busy ppl like us who wants to look pretty yet don't want to spend more time to 'ICI' up the face.
have not tried any others as it seems all those require makeup removal to remove it at night - too lazy/busy to do that. :p

bkk,
yes. with RH. last time too.
same gynae. the incident in the court happened on 18 Oct 2008.
feel sad for my gynae loh. cos he's soft spoken type one, not very authorative kind. so probably when he advise ppl, ppl also treat his advise as 'er bian feng'.
don't know who's correct, who's wrong though.
my experience with him so far so good - very accomodative.

bkk
ya, everyday is very shiong for us. luckily, i don't need to cook dinner 'cos my mil will do it for us. after converting to part time, i feel less stressed.
my kids don't sleep with us in the same room since day 1. and we always put them in bed, say goodnight and walk away. sometimes they will negotiate and ask us to accompany them to sleep. i will tell them that, i will count to 100. after 100, i will leave the room. if not, i will tell them that i need to go to prepare the food for the next day and will come back to them after i settle my stuff. usually after i settle my stuff, they have already zzz. :p

fairfield
i am lucky that my kids love vegie, all sorts of them, even capsicum, bitter gourd.
some people chop the vegie into small piece and mix into the porridge or noodle. some made vegie patties for the kids. if you have time, you can try it.

gar
part time arrangement is not as easy as i thought initially, i mean for work. boss can't seem to adjust her expectation on the turnaround time for me to submit her work. it's kind of frustrated.
but, my kids love this arrangement very much as they can see me more frequently.

diana/XY: thanks

bkk
wah what kind of chores can you do while pumping?? i'm imagining you mopping the floor or something, haha..

BB cream
I've been looking to buy one actually! I got a sample of one that I thought was quite nice, just haven't had the time to go search for a good one.

I NUOVI:

Yes mostly makeup. I love their eyebrow pencil (LIQUID PENCIL). It's very easy to apply compared to other pencils but it's not liquid. Named such just cuz it glides-on like liquid.

Their eye shadow colours, lipsticks are all very good too.
I can't survive without lipstick cuz I look damn sickly and sallow without any!

THey have a skincare range too but not BB cream in particular.

They do have a product called UNDERCOVER. I am hoping to test it before bringing it in. If good, will let u know.

I will be testing out a 20minute whitening product which is totally new in Singapore. If it's good, I may bring that in as well. It is currently only sold in spas and salons in Middle East so my BP will be the first local 'place' that stocks it.

HA - YEUX:
So far i'm not very regular in using the YEUX that bkk/gar brought in. Maybe about 1-2 times a week - more if i can remember. Seems pretty ok leh. I never take before and after picture (damn) but sometimes i see like not so dark liao, sometimes i see still damn ah-soh. So pretty confused. haha.

Shud have taken before-after picture so I will know. Now a bit late.

bkk/lezy,
HA-YEUX. does yours turn very liquid now?
mine becomes like oil - no more gel like when i first got it. is it due the hot weather?

Iso
hahaha, so zhai ah? no lah, just simple stuff like sit on bed folding clothes or walk around and tidy my room or organise SM's clothes cabinet. keke.

Lezy
ooh, whitening product sounds promising! I didn't know Middle Eastern women into whitening..keke. Im keen cos I see so many post preggy pigmentation spots on my face, so sad
lao liao lah..

XY
Did you shake the tube well? Sometimes the gel settles at the bottom of the tube.

The truth is, I didn't use the Yeux faithfully too :p cos I try to save by using up the samples and I'm also one of those lazy pp. If I put on moisturiser at night and sunscreen in the day, considered very good liao. I haven't had a facial for a looong time. sigh, becoming yellow face aunty. Such a bad advertisement for my own BP right :p Luckily there's Gar whose skin always looks good! keke

XY, oh your sis also has bamboo fibre stuff, yea they are really pretty good. but i cant gather enough orders to get BP price leh. cuz my hubby actually wants another 5 boxer, but not large enuff although i have a few orders hehe. so i cancelled the BP liao.

QL,
if u know of any simple cookie cutter cookie recepie, can share with me?
i also bought a lot of cookie cutter during 1 period (dun ask me why...) but never ever used them. tot i could cut the veges into the cute shapes but realised the cutter size is bigger that the veg. also lazy when the meal time comes around. haha.

XY:
erm..my YEUX has never been very 'gel-like'. Instead it's SLIGHTLy on the watery side and i have to SHAKE IT before use everytime or else only the 'oil' comes out.

bkk:
ha...Middle Eastern women probably have to cover up so much, only the face can 'shine' so kekeke. I sms-ed u about it.

Genice
I have offered but he doesn't seem to like it. And also its keeps dropping out.
Argh..today I was home alone with baby..had to carry him from 5pm - 9.30pm...each time his backside touched the cot or the boucer, he wakes up..and screams for "carry me! carry me!". Now got backache from bending down so often to take him in and out of the cot..arms also aching. Ate dinner at 9.30..and pumped only 6 hours later. Feel so sad for myself.

Vege - J loves and loves veggie. His favourite is brocolli, and then cabbage, lady fingers (yucks). But I have BIG problem with him about water - he hates to drink water.

re: veg
sunny, wah ur kids eat capsicum and bitter gourd? Thats very good!! Even most adults dun like those veg.

gar, wah urs eat tomato? i think thats quite rare too.

hopefully this "not eating greens" is just a phase, although it seems like its a pretty long phase liao. CHopping up the veg also no use, he will just spit out the entire mouthful of food instead, or if he spies something green in his food, he will not open his mouth at all.

genice,
my boy was given the pacifier when he was just born at the hospital. I was worried then that he might get hooked on it, but after 2 mths, he auto dun want pacifier.

sweetpea,
haha, u are not a fan of ladies fingers? I love them.
I also have a problem with making my boy drink water. Just got to keep offering him sips every now and then.

sweetpea, jia you, not easy to look after a baby alone with no support. This phase will pass, now they are still young, so can only 'ren'... :p

cry-baby ngek ngek from 10 to 12am..sigh..dunno what he wants..drink milk,change pampers,apply ruyi oil..i got so fed up I shouted at him to shut out otherwise I will throw him into the dusting...then he really quiet for half an hr...only to start again..
..my mum buy tahan help me carry him...lucky he fell asleep in her arms...sigh..

Genice-me too offer pacified at 2 wks old...he sometimes take it sometimes dun..

bx-ashton demands milk every hr? Hayden 2hrs schedule at night I already cannot tahan...this wk, hub travels for work..i still have to send #1 to school...super sleepy now

sweetpea, you can try putting ur bb on his chest , ie facing down when he has fallen asleep, then he will feel more secured and wont scream for u to carry him.

sweetpea, wow, ur boy likes lady fingers! what did you cook with them? i have yet to cook lady fingers though for my boy hehe.

qingling, jiayou!

piglettail - i found this, maybe u wana try? i will perhaps try it next week.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Animal-Crackers/Detail.aspx

Original Recipe Yield 2 dozen
Ingredients
1/2 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter
2 teaspoons honey
1/4 cup buttermilk
Directions
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grind oats until fine using a blender or food processor.
In a medium bowl, stir together the blended oats, flour, baking soda and salt.
Cut in the butter using a pastry blender or your fingers until the butter lumps are smaller than peas.
Stir in the buttermilk and honey to form a stiff dough.
On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough out to 1/8 inch in thickness.
Cut into desired shapes with cookie cutters. Place cookies 1 inch apart onto cookie sheets.
Bake for 5 to 7 minutes in the preheated oven, until edges are lightly browned. Remove from cookie sheets to cool on wire racks.

sweetpea, hang in there. How abt using a bb carrier? At least can free yr hand?

Vege
my boy eats celery, w i'm quite amazed with that.

Farfield, how abt give yr boy v diluted fruit juice? I c the show, john n kate + 8, they do that, albeit no diluted.

I've been up n doing chores since 8am, finally got time to sit down n rest/fee my boy. Whew. I'm caffeine powered today. Haha.

ql,
ya lor. suck a bit then fall asleep. then wake up again. today whole day from morning until now didn't sleep well. dunno isit colic.

then jie jie didn't go sch today coz sch closed for spring cleaning. and she is so naughty these days!

thanks QL!
need quite a bit of ingredients which i dun have ready at home...will buy and try next week

will keep you posted of the results!

piglettail - ok
, i never seen butter milk before.so i duno if NTUC have, or only those branded supermarkets have it (Jasons etc..)...i found a substitute for buttermilk..

Ingredients:
Milk (just under one cup)
1 Tablespoon white vinegar or lemon juice
Preparation:
1. Place a Tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup.

2. Add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the one-cup line.

QL/Piglet
LOL, I see you just wanna use your cookie cutters ah? I also one stage crazy buying cookie cutters, during xmas period I think, but never got round to baking cut out cookies.

In the end, I used the cookie cutters to cut cheese and bread for K to entice her to eat breakfast. Sometimes it works, sometimes she just eats the cheese.

QL
*pat pat* it's ok, after first 2-3 weeks, newborns become more alert/awake and tends to cry more. Compared to when they are first born, it would seem that they cry alot. It's also because their digestive systems are immature, alot of gas/wind, hence causing discomfort. SM cried alot from week 5 all the way until week 12, everything I did was not right, I even screamed and shouted like a crazy woman in the middle of night, telling SM that I will throw her against the wall. My mom was alarmed, thot i was going through postnatal blues, she quickly took baby from me and pacify her. Actually, it was because I was so tired from lack of sleep and constant latching that I lost my temper. And then suddenly around week 12, it was like yu3 guo4 tian1 qing2. The sun shone again and she was crying much less. She was also burping less.

Actually, before the age of 3 months, babies cannot be spoilt, they dunno how to manipulate us yet. They only know they are hungry, tired or uncomfortable. After 3 months, they begin to recognise things/people and then they start to associate crying with picking up. So, it's ok to carry them, snuggle and pacify them. After 3 months, dun do it too often or they will start to associate.

The first 3 months will be very tough but after that, things DO get better. So hang in there ok?

Pacifier
I intro-ed pacifier to SM from week 3 cos I cannot tahan her constant crying. Anything that can shut her up I will try but she simply REFUSED it. I bought all kinds of pacifiers, Avent, Puku, Nuk. All spat out. But last week, suddenly she accepted the paci. HAHAHAHA! So happy cos now putting to bed is usually lie her in the cot, pop in the paci and off she goes. Just before she drops off to zzz, she will let it fall out.

bkkgal... its so scary.. i cant imagine him crying so much in the next few weeks..

Re:pacifer
Yar, some babies auto stop the pacifier.. G was like that too previously, bkkgal i was like u super happy that G took pacifier and fell asleep so easily but she stopped at 3 mths old and i had a hard time putting her to bed, was quite upset for a while.. haha but gd in the sense that i dun need to try ways to make her stop taking it as she grew older.

bx.. i have been trying to hold it off too.. c when i cannot tahan.. sometimes he negk/grunt too much at night gets a bit irritating.

Ql.. mine like urs... dunno ngek what also... he hasnt come to the crying stage yet.. hopefully he will not reach that stage.

Sweetpea.. must be tough man.. to keep on carrying him..did u all carry him a lot previously??

RE: #1

How? i think #1 is extremely 'notti' and extremely temperamental, sometimes he wants papa, sometimes mama and after 10 mins can be yeye or popo.. dunno what she wants, everything wants her way otherwise scream and scream and the worst thing is ,,, i think she doesnt like me now cause i am always latching or pumping milk.. Haven been spending much time with her, now she doesnt even want to colour or play puzzle with me.. everything also dun want.. how?? She only wants other pp to carry other than me.. i really dunno how to find 'ectra' time for her, everyday so bz with miscellaneous stuffs.. i feel quite bad that our 'relationship' is straining.. and everytime when she does something wrong, i am always the bad person scolding think she dislkie me even more.. sigh.. how??? Anyone faces the same prob???

This is very bad but even though i feel guilty, i am happier when she is not at home ( staying at por por place cause i will have free time and peace cause K is still smalll.. still quite easy to cope.)

bkk- ya i tink i am in the same situation..i was shouting at Hayden to shout up yesterday night..just like a lunatic
..now i feel so bad..perhaps he is just uncomfortable (he hasn't poo for3 days again)...but like u said..the fatigue is straining
..somemore now hub overseas..night duty only me alone..

cookies - haha..yaya..i want to use my cookies cutters!! but i always like to bake something..haha.and i have not bake cut out cookies b4..keke..

genice - my #1 sticks to me like glue becos i spent so much time with her..i always play with her, even when i pumped milk she is beside me sometimes..watching care bears on youtube and lying beside me. she wants no one to carry but me when i am ard..G is the opp ya? Perhaps becos i intro bottle most of the time, so my mum has chance to take care of #2 while i bond with #1. Anyway, #2 sleeps with me, so lots of time to bond in the "night"..haha..strangely #1 seems to behave better and understand better these few days, not so emo (still some occasional tantrums..but so much better), so i hope she's really growing more mature(but how i miss her babyish-ness)

maternity leave - it seems silly to count down now, but i am so resistant to go back to work..haha..now i am thinking how to stretch my ML..whether i should go back earlier so that i can spread the rest of the maternity leave longer (4 days of 0.5 day work and 1 full day per week)..keke..so that i can stretch my ML till Sept..any comments mummies?

Thanks Pauline...yah I also keep telling myself its only a phase...

Qingling and BX..*pat back*...u gals r not alone. Also went scolding no. 2 yesterday and even just now. Wanna be carried again..lucky my mom is back..so thankful for her. No. 2 is quite fussy, needs to be carried, and must be carried in the position he likes. he also demans milk 2 hourly, then must burp, then put him to sleep...whole day gone just like dat. BX, quite shiong for you to latch every hourly...jia you. Growth spurt coming up at 6 weeks.

Tongtong..yah..I put him on my chest..dats his fav position but also shiong, coz must lean back and cannot do anything else.

Clover..now I tot of getting a sling. I have a carrier but haven't take out and use...scared too hot.

Mummies who use sling - is it very warm to sling your babes at home? Any good materials for the sling?

Qingling, for no 1, I took a shorter maternity leave and spread out 1 month of leave over 2 months by taking halfdays everyday.

For my job then, it was quite ideal coz
- it allowed be to wake up late (good coz still need to do the baby night shift)
- Didn't have to waste time in the morning traffic
- Allowed time for adjustment back to office life with kids
- Had time to pump/latch

This time, I am taking 3.5 months, leaving only 2 weeks flexi coz my boss will prefer me to come back by Aug (another colleague leaving), plus my current job scope will mean I might tend to stay longer to clear work, coz even though it half day but the workload will prob be almost full day's work load. Not worth taking half days.

Genice,
*hugs* G sounds totally like A. Very naughty. Sometimes really dunno what she wants. Her tears like tap water. Though she does like her lil bro, her behaviour tells me that she is still adjusting to the changes. Her refusal to eat, bathe, comply frustrates us so much. I'm also not her fav person anymore. However, I find chance to bring her out with Hubby and this is the time we bond with her and I can see that she enjoys it. She is well behave when we bring her out without didi. When she reach home. She is back to her terror self.

I also find relief when she goes to childcare where everyone can gain our sanity.

sweetpea,can I ask u..now our ml includes weekends also..so does it mean if I go back to work earlier, the balance leave I can consider weekdays only or have to include weekend?

re: infant poo
qingling,
C ever has the record of 10 days never poo when she's still on breastmilk.
it's not constipation because in the end her poo is still watery/paste like. PD says breastmilk digest better, so it's ok not to poo everyday.

but Hayden is mix bm and formula, i dun know if the theory still holds.

XY- the last 2 weeks he also poo every 3-4 days..but the poo is still watery type and super smelly..hmm..i suppose its still not consider constipated hor. and he farts a lot!!

Didn't check out this forum for a long time.

Clover, you preg now? CONGRATS!!! So happy for you!

And congrats to all moms expecting #2/3 too!

sweetpea, no leh, i dont mean to ask u put him on your chest, but let him lie on bed on his chest, ie face down position. his face can either face left or right side.

reena, yea din see u for a long time, busy with ur kids and family i supposed?

tongtong..oh i see hehe paiseh misread your post. yes...i also do that. it works 50% of the time. When he is super sleepy he will continue to zzz once I turn him over, but if he has not really fallen into a deep sleep, he knows when he is on the bed. But it really is a good solution.

This week gonna get the MIM sling..now got promo $20 only

Qing Ling - I can't rem what my HR replied me..I think count by 2 months + 2 months, which is 8 weeks + 8 weeks. Hmm..gotta log in and check my office PC again. I only know I need to be back 2 Aug! Now that u reminded me, lemme go check.

qingling - i may go on tuesday. r u going? actually my dad works quite near the place tot of asking him to buy for me but i think a bit strange for him.