(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Thanks piglettail n Artemis.

Bkkgal, tt n bx, thanks for sharing abt bf, so eveyone have their own problems as well. Bkkgal, u mean press the nipple and aerola and try to stuff inside their mouth? I feel so sad for him iike choking him, wonder their small mouth can take it or not.

Fairfield, got more grip on nipple lor but can't grip aerola whic means cants squeeze out e milk, I need to practice more. Btw, u r due soon right?

Tt, wow, after 3 mths still can latch? How u do it?So u keep trying to latch everyday? Cause I thot by this time they will be very used to bottles.

Bx, just curious, the cross cradle hold is trial n error or someone taught you. At least u found a suitable way for youself.

Re:sleeping arrangement
ql, we still finding a suitable timing but basically I will feed #2 one last time at abt 9 plus, 10 pm go in rm n pump milk plus read w g and I will sleep w g first.
At abt 4 pm, I will switch rm w Hubby who is w didi n feed him plus pump. This will be e arrangement till my Hubby starts work. He took leave till next fri to be my cl
n he isdoing a great job!

Bx, surprisingly, g is very receptive towards didi, except for e 1st day when hubby carried didi in hos, she din want. But other than that, she has beenvery caring, want to carry,sayang him but a bit rough, watch when papa bathe didi, so far so gd n j guess cause she hasn't been going to sch since I delivered so she is quite happy at hm. She din go cause had fever but I am thinking of dropping her already since she eats better n happier at hm. C how next wk when she goes.

O... Btw, didi is called Kieran xie yu zhe, we were thinking of Wayne as well so his initials can be wxyz.

Genice, I trial and error then realize there is really this cross cradle method.

U r lucky to have ur hb to help out. Mine first week at home very helpful. 2nd week started to surf net. Coz didi mostly taken care by me and Ashlynn go cc. When she come home, my mil take over. He is just hanging ard to accompany
me.

Good to hear that g is receptive. A will sayang and all that. Just that she will b emotional at times and get angry over trivial things. She also wanted me to carry her but she stopped already. Until now she doesn't allow my pils to carry didi. Only me and my hb can carry.

Keiran, nice! I guessed correctly in FB!

genice
the "wxyz' part is cute. ya, agree too keiran is a nice name.

piglettail
i have been using the seahorse foldable mattress for quite some time already. feel that for the price, it's value for money (think i paid < $50 for it). me and shawn sleep on the mattress on the floor. so far so good, no backache or what.

re self feeding, shawn will do it on and off when he feels like it. otherwise, i'll feed him. my hubby v lazy, every time when the kids (even my girl) ask him to feed them, he will say "no, must learn to eat on your own".

iso
hope A recovers soon! you take care too!

Genice, he started off latching well at night around 2 mths plus, then on the 3rd mth i dont need to warm EBM for him liao and he was latching very well. so it took him around 3 mths leh! also dunno why hehe. i dunno how i did it, just try and try, maybe at night my breast is fuller so he can suck more milk, as S is a very fast and big eater, he cant wait for my letdown during daytime and got frustrated. but at night it's fine! or early morning. from then on, he latches well liao, but i would make sure my breast was hard so that there was enuff ss for him. else i would still gave him ebm. he was not fussy with either breast or bottle , ok with both, so it made my life easier la. every bb is diff, hopefully your boy is not fussy like shaun! hehe

hey so if g is at home and not going to CC, you will take care of her?

Genice: Congrats! saw ur FB *live* update on vesak date. Let me know when u want to get your insert.

Bx; next time I must consult you on this cross cradle method. I have short nipple too and have problem latching on Amanda previously.

stephie/piglettail: I am using seahorse foldable mattress too, but do u find it hard?? I find it hard as stone intially. Only after much use, it gets softer

iso, u sound v positive. i salute u. the worst is over! atticus is a lovely name. i love the book even tho i had to study it for o level lit.

fairfield
ok thanks! cos sometimes it seems like the bleeding going to stop, then start again.. and i can't remember from first time. haha.

clover
he seems to be progressing well, so i guess that helps. last week when my milk just came in i think my hormones were all over the place, i was crying all the time!! jiat lat :D

genice
kieran is nice!!

kitsune
were u the one who dropped your iphone and cracked the screen? my hubby's phone dropped and the screen has a lot of dead pixels (lines) now, so have to go repair. wondering how much it will cost.

Genice, I like the Chinese name too. Sounds like the name of the lead in a Chinese serial I watched.

iso, no leh, faint cos I think iPhone screen not under warranty leh. :p

apple
i bought the cheapest range of the seahorse foldable mattress. don't find it hard even from the start. i think the firmness good for a foldable mattress - provides good support for the body.

iso,
it's me whose iPhone screen was smashed. No warranty for screen. they will replace with a refurbished iPhone for $350. thinking back, sim tia!!!!

Genice
Yes, hold the aerola area and stuff into the mouth. Dun be sad, they can take it one adn they will enjoy the makan session better too! hahaha.

Iso
Bleeding can take as long as 6 weeks. My lochia took quite long, more than 4 weeks to clear, which got me worried but gynae said no problems.

<font size="+1">All BF-ing mummies, JIA YOU!!</font>

Thanks mummies! Ql, yes bx is correct pronounced as KEE ren .

Clover, what a coincidence! My fil came up with the name cause my ger is 雨瞳 so we also wanted yu something then fil thot of this n we consulted geomancer, characters are 宇哲.

Pauline. I think both my kids name very tv serial haha.

Iso, Atticus is a special name, I never take lit so din Noe it's e characters name. Is that how u all got inspired?urboy went for op on day what. U r very strong must be quite upsetting for both of u to c him go under knife at a few days old. When I c my boy so skinny I already feel quite upset.

Fairfield,5 more wks? That is fast! Effectively I shlld have left 2 more wks, Kieran came out at wk 37.

Apple. Paiseh abt e insert, have to arrange w u again. Ugoing for term 3 lap book? But I going sun one.

Tt, I hope my boy like Shaun not as fussy, gona c lactation consultant later, hope will br better after.

Bkkgal, so c pd after 1 wk? Just now I called the pd, e nurse say dun nd to come for checkup but I am bribing him back to check his jaundice since when he was discharged he only 1.5 day old,jaundice not full blown yet.

Mummies, do u all bring bb back to check for jaundice, I can't remember abt g.

Genice
Oh I thot u were overdue, hence induced. What's the reason for inducing at 37 weeks then?

I was told to bring baby back after 3 days for jaundice prick test. It was a Sun so we had to go to the children's A&amp;E.

bx
yikes! sim tia! which operator are you with? my hubby bought apple care, not sure if that will cover anything.

bkk
ooh ok thanks! good to know.

apple, tubao
but no choice, have to be strong right? hopefully he will come through with flying colours and not have too many complications later in life..

also when i'm at the hospital, sometimes i see the other kids who are in worse condition, and think that we are actually quite lucky!!

genice
yah, hubby was inspired by the book. i was really v upset to see him attached to SO SO many machines, but the dr.s and nurses are quite reassuring, so these days feel better

genice, exact same characters! Yr hb's surname is 谢 Also? Haha. Can tell my boy tt's there's someone with the same name as him. When yr boy is older, we can hv playdate n confuse both of them. Haha.

I tot of the name myself. Havent decide whether no.2 will be XYZ again, coz dunno the gender yet.

Iso - hugz!! Praying for Baby A to recover fast and go home soon!

Genice - how heavy is K? for my #2, pd ask me to see him 3 days later for the jaundice check again. otherwise normally i tink we bring the babies back in a wk if i din rem wrongly for Heidi.

Genice: yah i am in sat class. I wonder if i can leave it with Shirley.we will see how.

Iso: Your boy will be fine with such a positive mummy!

bx: which pump are u using? I used Medela previously and I find it painful

hello mummies..

thanks for all your inputs on the mattress and self feeding
i'm going to start the self feeding this weekend, wish me luck!

SeaHorse matteress
I used to sleep on a SeaHorse myself (the 'softest' available), found it ok. but i find the foldable one harder than my previous regular SeaHorse. but then it could be well be just me - old liao can't take 'hardship', haha.

Iso,
hugs for you and Baby A!

Genice
I also took 2 months to latch no 1. This time I also can't get no 2 to latch. Suspect again - short nipples but big areola, so he can't get a good latch. Both my boys have small mouths..like me hehee. Hope no. 2 can latch on later like his kor kor. So on days when he is guai and qiet, I latch him to make sure he doesn't forget to latch. Another reason is also sometime when its time to feed, my breast will be too hard and engorged, so difficult to latch on. Sigh..anyway I will continue to try. This time supply is very good..but no latch. Keep trying ok!

Lochia - Mine just stopped this week - so almost 6 weeks of lochia,

morning!
going into the weekend...happy but also headache abt meal times...what to cook? i have very limited culinary skills and also have to cater to a somewhat critical hubs and my helper who is Muslim.
hmmm...*scratching my head*

Pigletail, buy half a chicken n those prepacked herbal chicken soup then make soup, steam fish or make baked miso cod then fry a vegetable with fresh or canned button mushroom. Done.
can also try one dish meals that r easy like fishball mee tai mak soup, fried rice, fried macaroni, butter chicken mushroom rice.

Hi Iso,
You're my inspiration for positive living! Baby A - be brave and strong!

Piglettail
How's yr maid? She recovered from H1N1?
that's the prob with indons - the food issue. MIL was super stressed out with the last indon as she had to crack her brains over what to cook (and my mil uses alot of pork in her cooking). And guess what, despite our best efforts to accom her, the maid told my mom she's not suitable to work for us because we eat alot of pork and she doesn't.

Quinoa salad
Since we're talking about food, I tried making quinoa salad. It's my own invention after reading many quinoa salad recipes. I just used what I have in the fridge. You can experiment with different things like cut oranges or grapes in place of tomatoes. It's a healthy side to accompany your meal

1/2 cup quinoa - boil with 1 cup water or stock until fluffy
1 tomato - diced (without the seeds - dun want it wet)
1 red onion - diced
1/2 cucumber - diced
Plain yoghurt
chopped parsley

Mix all and season with salt, pepper to taste and top with chopped parsley. Serve with fish or chicken mains.

NOTE: Bb SM was very gassy after this meal so I'm not sure whether quinoa caused gassiness through bf-ing? Quinoa was the only "new" food that I introduced to my diet. Or maybe different pp have different reactions to the foods. This is just a small afternote to let you know my experience.

Hi Kitsune,

Thanks! yeah the soup pack sounds like a good idea, will go NTUC and buy later.

bkkgal,
yes she recoeverd for her flu/cold after 10 days. we never found out if it's H1N1 cos the fever subsided after day 5 and didn't go back (supposed to go back after day 6 if still having fever) since then it's been business as usual...

yup we are a family of heavy pork eaters too. so far she's been ok, but of cos i'm not xpecting any nonsenc until the loan is finished (in 7 months time)
At mil's house mil cooks many dishes (3-4) so definately there's min 2 non pork dish she can eat. but back at my plc i always cook 2 dishes so if 1 is pork dish then she's only left with the vegetable liao... a bit sad hor. at least one of the weekend meals she'll end up eating fried egg/scrambled egg/steam egg + the veg dish cos it's the next fastest/easiest/available ingredient in my house. ;p

piggletail,
can try to cook chicken soup with carrot + potato + frency beans.. you can literally change the vegie content and it will give you slightly different taste ! then just fry some tofu as side dish
i think whatever dish you are cooking with pork you can probably try to change it using chicken. i find that chicken is very easy to cook, it cooks faster and doesn't smell as strong as pork :p I have a lot of recipees for chicken but mostly indon style cooking but i think you can find tons of recipes online
something which i find simple and nice is to stir fry chicken (with garlic + challots), season it and put in capsicum + onions cut in chunks... put in a bit of maggie sauce... it's yum !

Piggletail, yes, soup packs are the easiest way to cook nutritious n flavourful soups to make the hubby happy. I invested in a pressure cooker so can make bak ku teh, pork rib corn soup, chicken feet black bean soup, pig stomach pepper soup in less than 45 mins. And the meat is soft soft type, good for kids.

bkkgal and fairfield, i was induced cause water level low. abt 5 plus... At first i was quite upset abt been induced but when bb came out, i guess we made the right decision cause the umbilical cord was coiled 2 rounds round his neck, it wasnt tight but i guess we will not know.

Bx and QL, u both using medela pumps?? Using softfit or personalfir breastshields? can they be sterilised?? i read that we shld not sterilise the parts so i dun dare to, just boil with water or using hot water to sterilise leh.

Apple, yar, maybe can pass to shirley but i will only start in term 3. we c how it goes after my confinement k. THanks

sweetpea, u also took 2 months? But u succeeded, congrats!! I am sure u can do for #2 also.

Re: BF
Yesterday went to Mt A to see consultant, she said my nipple size ok maybe a bit longer, got others who are bigger. And she said i got a lot of milk ( prob cause i pump after every feed), she told me sometimes if milk flow too fast , babies dun like it and will movee away from nipples, asked me not to pump so much, just latch. She also helped me w latching and taught me the proper way to use breast friend pillow. I am glad that i went down to see her, much more confident of latching on the baby. Have started to use syringe to feed ebm and cut down pump to abt 4 times a day, latch more often and even try to lie down to latch. Hope everything goes smoothly.

thanks Tute for your cooking ideas

Qn: If i make chicken bone soup stock the night before, is it ok to keep it in the fridge (not freezer) and use it as soup base for lunch the next day?

Besides the chicken bones, do i need to add any other 'ingredients' to act as 'preservatives' to make the soup stock last longer? Have always heard of people making soup stock in bulk and freeze for future use but never knew the actually process and how to ensure no contamination in the storage process...

Genice,
ask u, what u do wif ur xtra milk? Give G? Besides pumping after every latch, what is ur recipe for the good supply?

Re: freezing ebm
when should we start freezing? Now seems to early for me to freeze right? I'm starting work first week of sep, juz in time for teachers' day

hi kitsune,
keke..my browser didn't refresh to show your post until after i posted.

what kind of pressure cooker did u buy and where can i get 1?
to be honest amongst all the domestic activities i like cooking least, esp chinese meals. i only like to bake but hub dun appreciate it. he says should learn/perfect cooking the proper meals first. whenever i think about weekend cooking i already 'sian-half' liao.
thinking of asking maid to cook which i think shes able to but also can't do this every weekend cos hubs is paranoid and still dun really trust her.

Genice,
I put in the sterilizer to sterilize. So far only my softfit beastshield a bit yellow and out of shape. But still can use. I standby 2 more pairs from overseas spree. So maybe every2 months change. Intend to pump for 6 months if possible. Unlikely will go longer than that.

piggletail,
definitely... stocks can survive 2-3 days at the very least. just make sure you cool it before you cover and put in fridge and don't stir before you put it in fridge. what i do usually is place it in the containers while it's hot and leave it to cool, after that put it in the fridge
no need to add preservatives. btw - you can always cook chick parts which has bones while cooking the dish itself, so that you don't have to prepare the stock separately, think it will take at most 15 min -20 to cook... but remember to season so the meat doesn't taste bland.

i am the opposite of you when it comes to cooking, prefer cooking meals as opposed to baking. because when cooking normal meals i can still fix the taste and add seasoning bit by bit, for baking you gotta get it right with measurement and follow recipes etc, once baked if fail you cannot fix it... :p

genice - yes using PISA,using softfit shields..already sterilise till warp liao...even though i dun sterilise after every pump (i rinse wit boil water only after every alt pump)..also warped very jiat lat. Did anywhere state cannot sterilise - heh i never study, i just assumed must sterilise..
bx - i already start storing (the reason why i can store is becos i feed FM at night :p)..just in case for emergency. how much are u all expressing now, i wonder if i am on the low ss
?

Piggletail, my hubby is a simple man with simple taste but he prefers chinese and hawker fare. I prefer western cos they cost so much to eat in restaurants. haha. I bought the Endo Pressure cooker during Isetan Private sale for $90+. Was very tempted by the WMF pressure cookers but it costs $300+, since I have a maid, no point buying such good stuff. I will only be 'sim tia' if she spoils it. :p

For chicken stock, I followed little gastronomy's recipe which I copied and pasted on my blog http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/2009/06/chicken-stock-and-abc-pasta.html. Got other recipes there labelled under cooking if you are keen.

Qingling/genice, I use Mumsfairy super shields instead of soft fit cos they don't warp nor turn yellow fast. If I latch Raelynn, I can only pump about 100ml after that. Used to pump out at least 130ml but supply dropped cos I only pump twice a day nowadays. :p

Wah pauline,after latch still can put pump 100ml,u have good ss too..so I m really on low ss..i only pump 100ml-110ml without latching. Am I taking my fenugreeks wrongly? Hmm..can Any1 share how much to consume for the fenugreeks?

morning bx-bb up for latching?..nowadays in the night,i keep missing the 3hrly pump..always doze off after press alarm to snooze..always drag 4-5 hrs..die..ss sure dip...

Is it normal for my 6 wk old to be constipated? He hasn't poor for 5 days liao..sigh

Ql,
yup latching almost every hour. Now latching again. Everytime I post or surf net is when latching, pumping or lunch.

U must b more disciplined. I think we can only drag the interval when ss is more established. U surf net while pumping. I may b ard, we can chat.

Btw, after hearing from u, I froze my 1st pack of ebm this morning. Coz I have been throwing away chilled ebm as they passed the 48 hours mark.

I think i read that after 1 mth, bf bb can dun poo up to a week as they absorb the nutrients. In fact Ashton at 3 weeks plus seems to poo less than 1st two weeks.