(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

XY, speedy recovery to carrie!! I dunno about the scientific proof of the salt lamp really. But I got it from msia, cuz my mum was crazy with it and bought many pieces, so I brought back 2 to SG :p Think is the –ve ion thingy ba. Anyway, I think it serves more as a décor piece in my house, cuz quite nice ma hehe. I think your hubby got sinus problem like my dad. I had sinus problem too since young, but I think I had outgrown it somehow. What about taking multivits? Not sure whether it helps though.

XY/ Genice: S got irritating throat yesterday night so coughed a few times. Hai, I hope I din pass my coughing germs to him, which I had tried to avoid hard… but he still came to hugged me and touched my mask.. aiks… if later nanny tells me that he starts to cough, I got to make zhi ke tang for him liao…. Genice, hope you recover from your cough soon, as what I’m having now, I know it’s very irritating!

XY, BP for hand and face towel made from bamboo fibre, baby’s blanket/hood towel, men’s boxer/brief, ladies’ underwear, and socks. All made from bamboo fibre + cotton la. As for books, maybe start another one in aug. see how the first BP goes first. Eh, support hor, not buying also nevermind, just create some traffic in the BP ok? Hehe.

Congrats to qingling, bx & Iso who delivered already!^_^

Hehe…..I am just 3month pregnant with twins, don't know boy or girl yet.

tough for me, lost 6.5kg and bed rest since 6week. still vomiting, and nearly faint every day until now.

Luckily since last week, weight seems not dropping any more, with better energy, occasional get up /surf net.
Now thinking of how to recover 6.5kg I lost, Haiz, I was not fat to start with.

E adjust childcare life(half day) well, and is quite active and talkative now.

Thanks mummies!

tubao, pity you, but you have been doing great! it's like striking toto hor, to have twins!! so are you still at home, on hospitalisation leave.is your MS getting better now? can eat well already?

congrats tubao!!! i also read the blog - got write abt twins ma??? aiyo must be i cock eye..keke..so exciting to have twins, please take good care.

another mystery mum..who who?keke

help - for BM that is warmed up (not drink yet), how long can it stay outside? cos i went to heat up the milk at 3, Hayden went back to sleep..now its 5.30 liao..zzz..shld i pour it away?

Ql,
I think within 1 hr still ok. 2.5 hr seems long. Do u rbr how much he drinking when he is 2 weeks old?

Pauline,
I have already bought the nuk bottle before I saw ur post. Ashton managed to finish the milk from the new bottle! Now I no need to worry about him hungry while I have my postnatal massage.

Tubao,
congrats! U got family history of twins? Take care. Ren awhile more and the MS will be gone.

bx-hayden is drinking 80ml at 2wks.3rd week increase to 90,sometimes 100. at night he drink a lot! Drank 100ml,still cry for more, give another 45ml...Aiyo...sometimes I tink I overfed.

Congrats Tubao! Must take good care...hope the MS goes away soon

Genice - the condition should be croup, not coup..try searching again?

tubao, congrats! I hv a hunch is u! Hope u get over the MS soon. I'm 15wks+ now. How abt u? Also a nov bb?

Tong, my boy also has that itchy cough thing going on now. I bought him a drink from hock hwa today n it seems he was better when he drank it. Was going to make red date/lotus root powder, but the hh branch i went dun carry it. Otherwise i will cook apple n pear soup tml. Do u hv any remedy?

I hv a bamboo fiber blanket for alex n we all love it! Actually thinking of buying for no.2 or a bigger one for alex. Let me know when u start the bp.

qingling, for heated up BM, can only stay max 1 hour outside. Dont pour away your bm, use it as milk bath for bb!
very moisturising okay, i had been doing that when S was a bb.

Clover, nanny told me that S did not cough yesterday, but he had a little runny nose with mucus yesterday. So i think he coughed in the middle of the night before was due to the backflow of mucus into his throat.
Yesterday night, i let his head lie high up on big pillow, and he din cough at all. As for his runny nose, I gave him half a lemon(freshly squeeze)+ manuka honey, mix and feed, without water. Yeah, this S can take sour very much.
and i also fed him camu camu, 1/4 teaspooon, which is rich in vit C. This morning, made milk for him with added 10 drops of echinacea, while asking the nanny to make him another half lemon with honey. See how it goes tonight then.
For Alex's itchy throat, can still sooth his throat with honey too. My remedies are always the same leh, i read new ones but never tried before, so i din blog it down. Have you tried the onions+honey which i mentioned a while ago?

Clover, which brand and where did you get the bamboo fibre blanket from? Yeah, they are very soft and cooling, my hubby is wearing the boxer, he said very comfy and soft. My BP will start next Monday! hehe

tong, yah hor, i forgot abt the lemon n honey remedy. Keep thinking to try new remedy. Silly me. His cough is much better today! Yay! Shld be the zhi ke tang i bot fr hock hww tt helps.

The bamboo fiber blanket was a gift fr thai friends. I love it coz it's light, so i can use it when A was young n dun worry abt suffocation. Yet it also kept him warm. I even brought it to japan.

clover, glad to hear that alex is better! you know what, just now i stopped by a shop and got something great for my family - it's the almond lotus root milk with white fungus! i think it's good for cough also lor.

my girl is also having flu and cough.... the last round was in april then now end may come again.... i guess cos in child care it comes and goes....

my PD advise
- to start cough treatment once it affects her sleep
- put her on neub is better than oral med cos outcome is greater and lesser side effects. oral med is in smaller quantity after digested. and my worry is she will grow over reliant on the machine, he says this will not be the case...

the above is for sharing only on PD opinion.

tong, where did u buy the drink from? It sounds delish.

Winnie, i guess it depends on the seriousness of e cough. Whe n our kid is older, they can learn swimming to build up their lung.

sweetpea, thanks.. found the explanation for croup.

clover.. so fast recover?? Ur zhi ke tang must cooked with meat one har?

Re:stocks
TT, u have any opinion on the stock mkt?? Recently seems to be fluatuating, yesteday i decided to buy DBS since saw that it dropped quite a bit dunno gd decision but i am happy that today things seema bit bullish!!

genice, zhi ke tang all herbs only , no meat one.

stockmkt - uncertain. hey yea, DBS dropped quite a lot, good buy good buy. if you saw some profits, just cash out la! then enter again hehe. i cant wait to end my job here soon, cuz i cant trade so easily in office, bounded by lots of policies and must hold position for long long one.

TT, zhi ke tang , is it the same as the one with nanbei xin ,chuan bei, ji bin and u boil by yourself one?

How long more do u need to stay here??

Yar, i also saw it dropped quite a lot , quickly go in and buy but super volatile, swinging up and down now, got anymore bad news or not?? haha.. tips tips..

genice, yea the zhi ke tang is those you mentioned! i will be on leave next week, then 7june back to office for a week to help handover cuz the new guy will be here.

genice, good catch leh! i jumped in earlier than u leh hehe, so worse price than u. i think today's up was due to short covering la. lots of ppl shorted the market ma, So they covered back to avoid the long weekends. You got $300 to $400 profit can cash out liao la.

genice, i just got those bottled drink (they brewed n bottled e drink). A drank 2/3 of it b4 he slept. Last night he woke up, coughed n cldnt sleep for an hr n this morn he's ok. I'm just astounded with e progress.

tong, aiyah never heard of e shop. heh.

wonder if genice is delivering now?? jia you!!

BFing
mummies, is it ok if i add milk together from 2 pumping sessions?
also any tips for engorgement?

Iso, it's ok as long as the milk collected is within 24 hours. But if you are adding warm milk to chilled milk, make sure the warm milk amount is less than chilled milk. Otherwise, chill the second bottle of milk before mixing with 1st bottle of milk.

Eh... how do you know genice is delivering now? I didn't see any posts that she is in delivery. :p

I'm here too. Pumping milk now. More like pumping air now. Just latched Ashton. These 2 days dunno y ss dropped. Can't seem to get much after latching. Sigh...

Thanks, mummies!

tongtong,

Now on MC & annual leave, didn't drop weight further, but didn't recover weight either. When I had E, I stopped vomiting and gained weight at 17week.

bx,
No family history at my side. Quite surprising! haha…..maybe I am too old at my family for pregnant women. Going to 33 at end of year.

Clover,
Yah….14week, End Nov baby. See you around!

Bx, maybe you are tired or not drinking enough soups/fluids. Jia you!

Tubao, I would love to have twins but don't think I can manage taking care of both of them. :p

I'm back from the short holiday with 2 kiddos! must say it was not as bad as I anticipated and we did enjoy ourselves quite alot. I also managed to squeeze in a massage at the last night *bliss*

Tubao
<font color="ff0000">CONGRATS!!</font> How exciting! Emma will have not 1 but 2 playmates

BX
I had an episode of really low ss too, about2nd month after confinement, worried me so I quickly took goat's rue to up my ss. You may wanna try fenugreek or goat's rue?

Bkkgal where did u go? I am going to Penang next fri. Wanna plan for dec holiday too but dun know which place is kids friendly n does not require driving n not too exp. :p

Bkk,
was all ready and confident for my bf journey this time round. Wasn't expecting to use any supplement and first 2 weeks was quite successful. Ya, think will go get fenugreek soon.

Hi Pauline
We went to Phuket, Caron beach. Stayed at Movenpick resort. Highly recommend this resort cos it's very kid friendly. There's a kids playzone, indoor and outdoor playgrounds, 3 large pools with slide, poolbar. For kids under 4, they require u to pay 200 baht ($8) to play inside the playzone and they give u a nanny to look after your kid. For older kids, you can pay 100 baht extra to play Wii and they have staff to challenge the kid on the games. Inside the playzone, there's a medical room, beds and cots for them to sleep in and toys, lots of toys. Can stay there the whole day. You can also hire nanny for inroom service, 200 baht for 1st kid, 100baht for subsequent kid. We discovered this nanny service too late but i think if we go back, sure will use the service. haha. The nanny will bathe, feed, and play with the kids as per your instructions. The other nice thing about Thailand is that wherever we ate at, there are willing service staff to hold and play with SM. keke. That freed us to eat in peace. Even in the plane, the AirAsia staff also played with my fren's 7mo.

We didn't go out of the resort at all (except to buy food to eat in the room). Every day just play in the pool, beach, sand play and playground for K. Room had a kitchen so we could tapao from outside the good and cheap thai food and eat inside. Wonderful, all in all.

Btw, when I went to Penang last month, I found the traffic jams there very jialat. Can spend up to an hour in the car getting from point to point and Penang is not very big :p so you can imagine how restless the kids will be in the car. Bring lots of car toys and distractions for them.

BX,
I oso thot the same as you but still standby 2 bottles of goat's rue cos I knew that once go back to work, the stress will cause ss to drop again. Meantime, I'm busy storing milk like a squirrel and trying to get bb used to frozen. She's getting smarter nowadays, prefers the boob to the bottle.

tubao,
congrats! hope your MS is over soon! is E excited to have playmates soon?

BX,
jia you with the BFing. great to hear that you are doing great!

acc to the baby whisperer, do not delay the introduction of bottle beyond the 3rd/4th week cos bb's develop preference for the breast and may totally reject the bottle. so it may be a good idea to intro the bottle (one feed a day) soon. also gives you a 2 to 3 hr break in the day to run errands or enjoy some me time cos your PILs can feed ashton.

bkk,
sounds like a great holiday! haha...now you can plan for more!

bkk,
u going back to work soon? ask u, if u r latching, how do u manage to store milk? initially i pump after latch. these days due to ss drop, couldn't even get 10ml after latch. and many times i very unlucky. after i latch, i pump, then he wants milk again! then my boobs like got no more milk for him. he drink a bit. pek chek. sleep. then wake up very soon to latch again. whole day like keep latching.

gar,
thanks for the little tip. luckily i intro the bottle a few days ago. now thinking if i wanna switch to giving total ebm instead of latching.

BX
In the beginning, I latched all the time like what you are doing now, also timing quite bad, sometimes pump already she will be hungry again but nvm just latch her to stimulate the boobs and let your body manufacture more milk. If still hungry, mom/mil will give the bottle 20-30 ml to take off the hunger. I did not pump much at that time. After abt 3 months then I could pump more because SM could not clear the boobs, esp the midnight feed, she will feed until so sleepy cannot finish. No choice but to pump otherwise will leak. The 7am feed also will be so playful, refuse to finish, I have to pump. I just store about 160 ml from these 2 feeds lor.

Yup, going back to work next FRiday.

bx,
that's great! hmm...think you start with the end with mind, that is - what routine you want when you return to work and work backwards from there.

if upon return to work, you want to give total EBM, then you can slowly increase the number of EBM till you completely feed via bottle.

just to share - i intend to latch when i am at home when ML is over, so currently i feed EBM for all the daytime feeds and only latch for J's first feed early in the mng (before i go to work), evening (before she goes to bed) and middle of the night if she wakes up. rest of the time i pump

Bkk,
wah, u pump in the middle of the night ah? I'm too lazy to do it. Mayb when he sleeps longer at night then I can pump. Now he's waking up every 2 hours. By the time he finish latching, I gotta change diaper. I even skip the burping coz a few tiMes I nearly drop him as I dozed off. I'm left with 1 hour before he wakes up again. So fast going back to work.
Looking forward?

Gar,
should be total ebm after I return to work. I always have this feeling that breast cannot be emptied when I latch. So end up gotta pump also. Like double work. Such a lazy mum here. Hee...

Re: bb's weight
roughly how much should the newborn gain when they hit first mth. Juz weighed myself carrying the bb. Seems like he only gained few hundred grams at 2 weeks 5 days.

bx,
i also lazy hehe...bb never empty breast i also dun pump one. after a while body will adjust the ss so won't get blocked ducts also.

for weight gain it's average 150 to 250g per week. for newborns, they may lose up to 10% of birth weight during the first week. so A's weight gain sounds normal to me.

bx, maybe ashton has cleared your breast, so not much ss after latch! last round i had goat's rue and lots of soup, papaya soup really boost my ss. drink lots of fluid /milk and take nutritious food. last round i had lots of black sesame powder ( added into oatmilk) becuase they can boost supply. My ss was very good when i reached 3 mths ( total express) because shaun doest take my breast well in the day ( he was a big eater, so always fed him expressed milk in bottle which he finished in 1 or 2 min)

pauline, enjoy your penang trip!bringing raelynn too?

Garfield , yea my BP is up!! 多多捧场ok hhee. not buying also nevermind! hehe, just want some traffic la! keke http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4042018.html?1275248805

I just finished hanging my laundry clothes, going to make soup stock now! tedious process but it's a must!

Tong,
where to get black sesame powder n oatmilk?

Gar,
thks for the info. I seem like a first-time mummy. Forgot many things.

BX
yar, looking forward v v much! so bad to say this but I'm so sick of all the maid troubles that I'm trying to escape it all by gg to work.