(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

RE: TCM

No, the one I went to is at 317 Outram Rd #01-31 Singapore 169075 (Holiday Inn Atrium Singapore Hotel). Tel: 6235 1938 Please call before going cause the doctor may not be in Singapore. He has a TCM hospital in Bangkok and flies there frequently.

The clinic, Ang Lye Hock @ Ang Teck Chuan, is a little small and unposh looking. :p At least that was my mum's comment. But it was recommended by my MIL's church friend whose daughter also had a coughing problem. When Danica was fine, I also recommended my SIL to go cause my niece was also coughing.

RE: Taking of powder medicine

I believe it is a matter of attitude in approaching them. At first, Danica was also very resistent to taking the powder medicine. I mix it with some water and stringe her. She was struggling and fighting me all the way. Then, while my husband and I were away, my MIL took over and very matter of factly told her to open her mouth and take medicine. She took it without any complaints. My MIL gave her in 2 ml portions with water in between. In fact, after a few times, she started associating taking the medicine with feeling better and no longer fought us anymore.

Do not mix the powder with too much water, there should only be 3 portions of 2 ml to feed or they get restless and refuse to cooperate.

RE: Air Con or Fan

In fact, the sinseh told me that air con is not as bad as fan. Fan should never blow directly at the child. Air con as long as the blower is not directly blowing at the child is fine. The air con should be set to cool and not cold.

Children should not be bundled up too warm and should wear cotton clothing to prevent excessive prespiration while sleeping.

xy,
maybe can try diluting her milk a bit? milk do have a tendency to enhance the phelgm production so they tend to cough more after drinking milk...

bkk,
hmm... i think C has been on anti C more than 3 times since he was born... usually my PD will not give anti B on first visit, unless his cough/flu is really bad.

tongtong: I am not sure. I brought A to a TCM. Twice. The first time she took the powder - 3 days all her serious phlegm and cough gone. Quite amazing. 2nd round did not work anymore. I feel uneasy after GP told me about the steroids thing.

Congrats ISo!

to those with maids - what does ur maid do during the noon when she has nothing to do? mine sometime reads her bible, but lately she falls asleep..is this ok ( i wonder if i shld let her be, cos there's nothing much to do in the noon...hmm...)

haha Pauline - can share to me ur schedule for her work for the day? she like super fast hand fast leg, afternoon not much to do...hmm..only morning night she has chores..afternoon children sleep, i also limit to no-sound work..now i ask her to help me paste my flashcards..wahhaha

haha yes, baby A was delivered last night, barely an hour after we got to the hospital! He came all of a sudden that the midwives had to deliver him and gynae came 5 mins after! so funny..

All is well, and I feel better than #1, which was already v good. Think I could have gone home today but now enjoying some time alone, and w baby.

TCM
yesterday i managed to get E to drink his medication, i mixed it with quite a lot of honey, so it was pretty ok to drink. not sure if MIL managed to get him to drink it today. the TCM dr said can put it into milk, but I can't imagine how disgusting that might taste!!

Hi qingling,

My maid normally does not sleep during the day unless Danica takan her at night. To me, if they took the night shift then should let them rest. Not enough rest = not enough energy = not enough concentration = job not well done.

When Danica sleeps, I think earthquake also cannot wake her up. :p So she will normally still do housework when Danica is at school or sleeping. Other times, she is entertaining / looking after her.

Hi Isobellies,

Congrats! Wow! All of you such smooth and short deliveries. So envious. :p

RE: TCM

My sinseh actually told me not good to put in milk as if they don't finish the milk then the dosage would not be enough to cure the disease.

His assistant also told me not to mix with anything. Can give glucose afterwards but don't mix.

tong,
i dun have serious cough now - only once in a while when my nose get stucked.
anyway, went to work this morning and cannot tahan. in-house doc gave me another day of mc.
came back took 2 cups of honey + 1 cup of vit C (1000mg) + medicine. felt much better after sleep.
but but but weather is just so so HOT.. cannot tahan.

apple,
steroid in TCM? have you specifically ask the sinseh if they put steroid? mm... must go to reputable ones..

artemis,
outram road.. very far from me..
i came across the Teck Whye one from here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449169/3979533.html?1274400923

the sinseh also not recommend mix in milk. but if without doing that, she struggled like hell. what do you mean by giving glucose? glucose water?

regarding air con/fan. i am now experimenting setting the on/off timer. i really hope to on aircon to sleep as i am already in my 7.5 months and feeling so so hot.
my gal can't sleep very well in both air con (cos will cough more) and non-air con (cos too hot and she will get rashes).
hb can't sleep well in air con as he's got sensitive nose. i've done the chemical clean yet he's still sneeze away once i on air con. hai...

tute,
how come i never think about diluting milk? :p
well should try too..

iso,
congrates! so fast?! no sign at all?

TCM powder with honey water? my sinseh very funny one, honey also cannot take...

Iso, congrats!!! fast delivery!!

XY, yea weather was crazy, i felt very hot, plus heaty inside too. wah so fast 7.5 months liao. regarding ur hubby's sinus, you ever tried the salt lamp? i saw BP on that. I had salt lamp for many years already, dunno that it got the function of purifying air till i read from the BP :p

I'm counting down to my last day in office. struggled to pass my day. maybe i was too kind to agree to extend my last day to help the hand-over. hai.

tong - she dun need to cook cos she dunno how to, she only help mum with simple frying..

our maid need not take night shift cos not comfortable for us for her to handle our bb, i prefer myself to take care.

my mum's hse basically quite a simple setup, also not much to do in the afternoon, plus H sleeps in living room (my mum's arrangement, dun ask me why, even though i prefer them to nap in rooms..in my hse, they sleep in room,aircon,closed doors). H is a super light sleeper, so also cannot do much hsework that is noisy (plus there isn't any housework - all floors r sweep, r mopped, table top wipe..) now i change her sechedule a little, wash toilets in the afternoon, handwashed the kids clothes but that's also it (she will finish abt an hr?)..hmm..plus my mum's home no clothes to iron..

all above is at my mum's place..at my place she has loads of things to do..(wahahaha..)

XY,
there was a period my nose also very sensitive and kept either clogging up or making me sneeze with aircon.

I did a few things.

1. sleep with a small face towel (i use it to cover my nose)

2. point the vents away from the 'floor' so nothing gets BLOWN into my face

3. use a nasal spray - just a few days and ok liao.

YAYA, ISO POPPED SO FAST!!
Congrats!!!

Qingling,
That happens usually when i'm on leave and at home coz my maid's main responsibility is to care for my son... so, i'll task her to clean C's toys (wash etc). Then wash curtains, clean the window pane (she usually initiate this herself), ironing + laundry, clean fan, wash the fan's cover or clean the fridge... those things you cannot do daily of course but can alternate... when does your maid do the laundry + ironing ? can she finish everything in the morning? Maybe can get her to sweep + mop twice a day too...

Hi Xiao Yun,

:p Very far for us too. I live in Punggol. But my HB drives lah.

Glucose (½ to 1 teaspoon mixed with 1 cup of water)

Danica also coughs with the air con on. However, she cannot sleep without. :p I find that burning Vicks with water in those aromatherapy dishes helps.

Danica started coughing quite soon after her playgroup started. Within 3 months, she got 3 episodes. The first 2 episodes, took her to PD and was prescribed with 3 bottles of medicine each time. Finish still not okay.
Have to go repeat visit and on neubuliser. Then fine for 1 week plus, again kana. The 3rd time I put my foot down and told my HB I am bringing Danica to a sinseh. That was after she coughed for 1 month liao. She took the medicine was fine within a week and it lasted 2 weeks. The 4th time, the sinseh prescribed not just the powder for the cough but also tonic pills for her spleen which he told me was weak and, thus, affecting her resistence to coughs. Those Danica took after 1 week from her visit (when her cough was gone) and until now (touch wood) she has not had a coughing episode again.

tute - she does washing in the morning with washing machine deps on my mum(no ironing at my mum's place now) only our place she has ironing to do.

not much toys at my mum's place for her to wipe too..haha..

she cleans all tt u mentioned in the morning already. mop and sweep she will do mornning and after dinner. cannot think of tasks for her in the afternoon really..hahaha..besides washing toilets and handwash bb clothes.

Congrats! Isobellies, so sudden, how many weeks were u when u popped?

Ql, my maid also nothing to do at mil house when we go over on Sunday. Same reason cos ils let the kids sleep in living room n does not let her do anything so she falls asleep in balcony.

At my house, morning, she sweeps the floor n cleans the bumper mat before the kids wake up. Then, she helps to get raeanne ready for school. Around 930am, she showers raelynn then prepare our lunch. After lunch, shower raeanne then look after raelynn while I put raeanne to sleep. When the kids nap, she washes the dishes then prepare dinner. 5pm, shower raelynn n 530-6pm, cook dinner while I look after the kids.

hi mummies! thanks thanks

it was a short delivery from time of intense contractions and getting to hospital, but actually the whole day for about 10 hours i had mild contractions on and off. so not like now start, 2 hours later deliver lah.

i was already 9 days to due date, so quite expecting it already, although hoping that he would delay for as long as possible! heh.

hee, thread has been so quiet... just wanna create some excitement here.

one of the mummies here is preggy with #2!!! congrats!!

clover, lol, of course not me la! let's hope the mystery mum will announce it here herself! hehe. i got to know abt it after i read her blog

i know who liao!!!
twins somemore!!! wow.. congratulations.
hope your MS better too...

hoho.. there's another one i know.. but also never announce. :p

pauline,
haha. u same as me. missed out the twin part. only saw the 14 weeks. i also 14 weeks still vomiting.

re: Teats
is NUK the most similar to our nipple? my bb reject bottle. currently giving him Avent bottle + teat. thinking of going out later to buy the NUK wan for him to try. otherwise i can't leave the hse to run errands.

bx/pauline,
i missed on the twins part as well ! just saw the subject hahaha... coz checking in office :p

xy,
wah... got another one huh? hmm... play guessing game again... :p

congrats to new MTBs!!! wow... twin!!

re: coughing
my kids are seeing sinsehs at JE and Bukit batok since they were small. #1 coughs every month after she joined the playgroup. After reading tong's blog, i usually give natural remedies to them unless their cough is very serious type. I can see that the kids recover faster now. Maybe it's also because they are going to out-grow from this already. *cross finger*

regarding the steroid, i checked with the sinseh before. he mentioned that nowadays, the gov controls the medicine very strictly so the steroid given to the patients are at approved level. for the medicine that he/she gv to the kids, no steroid...

tongtong
after resign, what's the plan?

Bx, I got a few nuk stage 1 latex n a few silicon teats N nuk bps free bottle with stage 2 teat to let go if u r keen? My maid lar, keep telling me raelynn rejects avent teats so bo bian I bought a lot of nuk cos latex teats tend to tear if u sterilize often. Then end up my ils fed her using avent teat one day n she happily drink. Duh...

re: aircon
tong,
no scientific proof for the salt lamp right? you tried for what purpose? the -ve ion thingy?
anyway, i have already got a air purifier in the room.
i doesn't seem to help my hb.
i on the air con for the past 2 nights. hb covered his face with blanket (so poorthing), but he still sneeze...
i woke up in the morning felt very dry although i already put a box of water for it to evaporate...
dun tell me i really need to invest in a air humidifier..
endless problem with the hot weather.

lezy,
ya. currently the fan only blow at 1 angle - not pointing to the floor.
what nasal spray? aromatherapy kind? or for the sinus one?

re: cough
artemis,
1 tsp glucos with 1 cup water. not very sweet leh. still can make danica eat the tcm. not bad not bad.

C is picky about her medicine. only likes the one for running nose - orange flavor and paracetamol - strawberry flavor.
once she took the cofen (pink color - cherry flavor), she complained till she wanted to pull her tongue out. *haha*

update for C, we didn't bring her to 2nd round of TCM as hb is not supportive of feeding her TCM powder. boiled the 'zhi ke tang' last night and let her drink with milk.
surprisingly she didn't cough last night. hope she's recovering.. *pray hard*

re: mystery mum
no hint for the other one lah. let her appear by herself.

tong,
what BP you organising? book or healthy food?

Congrats Iso!!!Ur delivery is also pretty fast envy!!

As for me, my water level is low so got to see gynae this thurs and if remains low, got to be induced.. sianz... i want to go natural ( i mean to experience the contractions)

Re: cough
Thanks for sharing all the remedies.

TCM: Decided to bring her to see sinseh also on sat, went to the toa payoh one cause i dunno where else have. Actually what does TCM sinseh do? He uses stethoscope to check her breathing. As for me and hubby, he did feel our pulse then he prescibed some blackish cough syrup, told me to bring her back 1 week later to deal with her poor appetite. I gave her the cough syrup for 4 days but still haven recover so todayi switched back to western.

Can anyone advice what does tcm sinseh normally do? Massage?

After i took the tcm cough syrup, actually i find that my cough became worse.. erm.. i also dunno why but everytime i take tcm med it seems to be that way. Anyone experience it?

Nebuliser/ Antibio

Bkkgal, she only took ant-bi once , that was last mth for her cough. Actually when do we need to use nebuliser, so far the doc din say anything. And how do we use it? Is it get the medicine from doc and plus in into some machine then let them breathe in? So the effect is better than taking the ventolin med har? I think the doc did prescriped ventolin before ( oral one)

BTW, ql and xy, what is coup? I googled but cant find. very ignorant mummy...

Sigh, find it so tough to treat the cough and everytime i cough will leak urine , imagine i have to wear pads lor.. i think its a joke leh.. heavily pregnant and wearing pads . Also very scared of passing to nb.

Re: pregnant mummies

Haha.. i only noe the one with twins leh.. the other one i also dunno..