(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

qingling,
yeah agree with tongtong... maybe can get cash vouchers?
do you need to get from online shop or must be a gift shop type?

Ducktours
hmm... think now cannot go weekday because my hb cannot take leave so would probably go later on in may when both of us will be taking leave
unless it is decided 1 may then i can go as well...

as long can order online - but must be gifts..hmm..cos company's paying. separately the colleagues will share for vouchers

Re: tots sleeping alone

Looks like S is not the only one who can't sleep alone at night. These nights, its been terrible. He would wake up after 1-2 hrs and walk into our rm, and want me/hb to sleep with him, otherwise cry till vomit.

Is this something they will soon outgrow?

Seems like this is common in singapore where space is limited, but over here, pple are shocked when they hear that S can't sleep alone, and they react like there is something seriously wrong, and that i HAVE to do something abt it. Sigh!

fairline/pauline: s is like that too. guess he still feels insecure, must have mummy beside him then he will continue zz.

fairfield,
A sleeps with us when she is at home. when she is at mil's pl, she also sleeps with my in laws. every night without fail she will sure wake up to cry and needs to be pat. no way she sleeps through without disturbing us. sigh...

bx,
sleeping arrangement for me is hb and i each sleep with #1 and #2 separately. so like either i sleep with A hb sleeps with J or vice versa. A still sleeps on our bed.

fairfield,
i think western and eastern values towards child-rearing v different. my take is - the ang mohs will mould the child to fit their lifestyle (like gina ford style), whereas asians tend to change their lifestyles to suit their kids. different priorities.

J,
has been crying frantically non stop since monday. like a koala round the clock the whole day. thought it's wind cos she keeps arching her back - gave ridwind, gripe, apply ruyi oil still no use. finally i decided to bring her to yuguo to see what's up - doc says shes overfed!!! so indigestion and tummy discomfort

so angry, wanna tell my mom/mil - see? i told you she's not hungry...but everytime bb cries they will say she's hungry and ask me to feed. poor gal is practically struggling when it comes to feeding.

i feel so vindicated!!!

pauline,
does raelynn sleep through already? what is her feeding pattern like?

PEELING GRAPES

super time consuming, and gobbled up within 1 minute. so frustrating!!! =P

anyone has any tips on easier way to peel grapes????

Poor Jane, I tended to overfeed raelynn in the early days too cos she will just keep latching then vomit milk later. After that I only feed when she cries or after at least 3 hrs. She weird weird one, sometimes wake up at 2, 3 or even 5am. Last feed usually 9+pm.

mine can eat with the skin. but sometimes if the skin is tough, then i peel. i peel with my teeth. hee... so gross right?

Garfield, so the yuguo’s doc got da3 mai4?

Gar, I always buy organic grapes, so never peel the skin one. S always eat the whole grapes, no problem. Maybe you can try buying organic one cuz the skin is more tender, so maybe A will swallow it without knowing it. And organic one is really nice and sweet.

me just back.
low morale here. but still busy.

but calculate my annual leave + child care leave + MC + maternity leave + public holiday, i can afford to work 4 day week till end of this year!!
woohooo.. after that sayonara! find new job during maternity leave!

tong,
low morale cos the increment is only 25% of other teams increment. not even 1 person in my team got promoted.
it's even the worse than the worst scenario that we predicted.
remember told you about the biased treatment that we got?

ql,
dun care liao. wanted to claim anything is available. thinking about hospitalisation leave as well.
probably go gynae say i too stressed about work. need bedrest? :p

iso,
depressed when filing tax. is it income too high - high tax incurred or income too low? :p
(i actually know the answer).
looking at the bright side, don't need to pay much tax to government loh. lol.

XY, increment is so P&C how come you know about other teams’ increment? Yeh, I think it’s time for u to look for new job hehe.

BX, u went to the Universal studio hor. How issit?

I just had the goodwoodpark hotel's durian roll. Gooddddddd! first time eating that, it's frozen, like eating ice cream wor haha

pauline,
dun feel bad. how i wish i can be a sahm like u.

tomorrow going for gynae checkup. hope bb has grown bigger and hope to hear from doc that i will deliver earlier. feeling quite uncomfortable already. can't imagine i still have 5 more weeks to go. arrghhh!!!

pauline,
dun send them to cc lah. just continue with playgroup lor. sometimes i think of A in cc i feel bad. like abandon her there.

XY
haha. actually with kids now i think i hardly pay tax cos of all the rebates! i claim parents, grandparent caregiver, WMCR, dunno what else..

bx, I'm more worried of them falling sick at CC lor. RaeAnne is down with cold and cough, her PG class getting bigger and bigger, now got 18 kids, they got to increase from 2 to 3 teachers cos max teacher to child ratio is 1:8. I don't even know who spread to her. :p

Anyway, I have decided to be kiasu and register her for PCF Nursery 1 to reserve a place for Jan2011. The advantage of PCF N1 is that a lot of her PG classmates will be going there too so she will have company. But if in the end, don't want to send her to PCF, then let go of the slot lor.

xiaoyun
when i read your yday's post. i also thought the no. of increased headcount your team got is only 1/4 of other team. now then realised you were talking about pay increment.

if really feel let down by your coy, then seriously should consider a change.

iso
i headache about the parenthood tax relief, can't remember if i had claimed last year. scared if claim wrongly IRAS comes after me.

bx
i also went to take picture outside universal studio when i was at sentosa for my coy's family day few weeks back. ya, tickets sold out even at 1pm. think their tickets quota is very low. don't seem to see lots of pple inside.

pauline,
ya, get sick very easily. For the 1 month A is there, she was sick for 3 weeks!! started with cough, then runny nose. now her cough still there. and on off she has slight fever. sigh...

u mean if i wan to send A to PCF N1, i got to start registration already? so u let go of the slot because u wan to send RaeAnne to cc izit?

Bx, no I mean I will register first but IF I decided to send her to CC next year then I will just forego the slot that i reserved for her lor. No loss mah.

garfield
my kids tend to fall sick easier when they have indigestion due to overeat. after we control their diet, it seems better. i keep reminding my in-law about it so that they don't have 'excuse' that they forget. :p

stephie
if you claim PTR before, you should have a letter from IRAS telling you the balance of PTR. it should be around the same time when IRAS sent you the notice of assessment for last YA. from the online portal, you can see it as well. else, you can call and check.

help!
poor A after recovering from her bouts of runny nose and fever suddenly develops red patches on her body. dunno is it feng mo?

anyone got any advice? need see pd or let it subside on its own?

Bx, was her fever high? Maybe rosella?her fever gone? If fever gone shld be fine, normally it takes 1-2 days for e rash to go off. But if she is scratching n complaining of itch then may be feng mo. U wait till tmr n c how.

Sianz, g cc hot 1 hfmd from her class, 1 chicken pox from her next door class ( rather next partition) . And e hfmd case is her "bf" lor, they always hang out in class n play w each other. Even go home, she also wanted to kiss him thru e windows till I stopped her n told her can only do flying kiss! Jia lat now I am worried that
1) she will get hfmd or chickenpox( she got no appetite for dinner)
2) she will 早熟。

Hope A gets well soon!

gar,
ya lor, western values so diff from asian ones when it comes to raising children. Even those asians who have been here too long also kenna brainwashed liao.

Fairfield.. u expecting ger or boy? Like what gar says, western and asian values are different lor, i think most impt do what u are comfortable and what suits u and ur hubby's lifestyle. cant please e pp ard u.

sunny
thanks for the info on PTR. die lah, i claim for PTR this year cos last year i think i didn't split with hubby. so this year share the benefits with him. hope IRAS won't penalise me.

genice
re the blender, think the promoter probably change location every now and then. the last i saw was at isetan scotts.

fairfield
as long as you are happy, kids are happy, don't care what others say

tong/stephie,
ha. looking back at my previos post, it really seems i am talking about the increase in headcount ho? :p
i think i am just too angry that point.

tong,
although it's P&C, we do share the percentage information among a few very close colleagues.

stephie,
yes. planning to leave - definitely.
but got to take my maternity leave then do so.

genice,
so fast G got 'bf' already. ha..
my colleague (male) also worry about the same thing, his gal is about 6 months older than ours. and she has got 2 bfs in the school. lol.

fairfield,
westerners will move away from home after 18 yo.
but we asians don't right?
so, that's the value difference loh. no matter what, we are still asians. just tell them that that's the difference in the culture. i think they will respect that.

some chinese treatment for cough:
(pardon me that's in chinese words)

因咳嗽有外感咳嗽和内伤咳嗽之分,而外感咳嗽又分风寒咳嗽和风热咳嗽,不同类型的咳嗽在用药上是完全不同的,食疗的方法也就不同。在这里教家长一个简单的区分方法,就是观察孩子的舌苔。如果舌苔是白的,则是风寒咳嗽,说明孩子寒重,咳嗽的痰也较稀、白黏,并兼有鼻塞流涕,这时应吃一些温热、化痰止咳的食品。如果孩子的舌苔是黄、红,则是风热咳嗽,说明孩子内热较大,咳嗽的痰黄、稠、不易咳出,并有咽痛,这时应吃一些清肺、化痰止咳的食物。内伤咳嗽多为久咳、反复发作的咳嗽,这时家长应注意给孩子吃一些调理脾胃、补肾、补肺气的食物,具体方法如下: