(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tong,
yeah - we brought him out sat afternoon for leisure shopping coz we think he was better, maybe he caught it then. it's his 3rd fever in the last 1 month and he's not even in school yet! hope that his immune system can improve. good thing is that he is still active - so i am not overly worried.

bkk,
wish i can say he's better but still the same today, i'm hoping the peak will be over soon. if till wed he's not well, gotta bring back to pd to borrow nebuliser to help him clear his phlegm. i just hope his fever will subside entirely by today.

leila,

ql,
a funny question... will the playdoh smells like tartar sauce?

hello mummies!!!

long time no see =) been busy with a whole host of things and silently reading the thread. way too much trouble to post with iphone until finally decided that i need to resume activity here so posting with laptop while pumping hehe!

leila,
CONGRATS again
jia you jia you!!

bkk,
poor K...don't feel bad these things completely unforeseen esp since school declared no more outbreaks. hope lil miss K is just having a normal fever and nothing more serious.

re maid - hehe....can imagine! but err, how does the cat manifests "rebound" syndrome ah?

tute,
oh dear, hope C gets better. actually my household practices same philosophy except hb. so i can understand why you made that decision. hope he recovers soon!

genice,
good to see you at carrefour over the weekend! you poor thing! thank goodness you didn't fall on tummy. you must have gotten quite a scare....do take care and walk extra carefully. i also stumbled a few times when i was preggie, somehow this pregnancy my sense of balance not as good.

pauline, bkk,
officially you long zi declared that jane is a moo moo cow (he actually quizzed hb and i - is jane a cow or tiger...and we got a huge scolding for replying tiger cos after li chun)

well, according to him - this li chun thingy is only meant for geomancers when they do "calculations" of ba1 zi4. for laymen, the horoscope does not follow li chun, it follows first day of CNY. hence, jane is supposed to be a cow. damn funny - sat there pay $$ to be scolded haha

Genice u r so lucky!!! 黄俊雄 my idol leh!!! Drool....

Gar haha so another moo moo cow to the family.
err... Took so long for your hubby to decide on Jane?

Bkkgal that's why i got no courage to change maid. Scared I will regret. Anyway yesterday raeanne said love aunty (maid) she was so touched that she hugged raeanne. Haha.

tute - not tar tar sauce!! its tar tar for making pastries/cakes one

genice - o dear, pls be careful!

leila - congrats!! no wonder i din hear from u, ur scholastic books still with me.

elvin ng - i was in the first 3 months JC as him, same class..wahaha

pauline,
in fact, that day at you long zi, we got "scolded" twice (once re J's horoscope, the other re cheh cheh's chinese name). v fierce ah, this you long zi's son.

actually we kind of both like the name jane, but hor - wanted to shortlist another one. in the end, couldn't decide on any to shortlist so jane it is

wah....so sweet - am sure your maid will lagi sayang raeanne!!

shucks...keep forgetting to override username!!

bkk....oh nooooooooo....waaaaaaaay too farneeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

actually, any chance for old maid to return ah?

Garfield, how do you manage your TTT business + managing 2 kids at home? You are really good ! must learn from u hehe.

Qingling, wah same sch with elvin!! Is he very popular back then?

tong,
no lah...nothing to learn from me....i have plenty of help

for ttt i tag team with bkk, and at home A goes to school in mng. my mom is also around to help in the afternoon when she is back. hb is also super hands on daddy.

plus J is still small, so i hold her in one arm and multi-task with the other arm lor.

tong - he was a hwa chong boy, very rowdy 16 yr old, eh, popularity wise ok la, that time still so immature..haha..so "kee na"..

grunting baby

got a question - anyone recall your #1 or #2 grunting a lot (the kind of sound like trying to poo)

j grunts a lot. and i mean A LOT...it can be non stop for a few hours at night (with intervals in between). i asked PD and he said it's normal. but hor, err....it definitely sounds like she is in discomfort leh.

so wondering if any of your babes make such sounds?

bx: hope A and yr cough's getting better !

bbkgal: our new maid (filipino) also came last week. am going thru all the training woes too. was telling my mum n hubby. if this one doesn't work out. NO MORE MAID !!

My EDD end May, #1 ger, expecting boy for #2 :)

Erm...actually the new maid told my mom that old maid regreted quitting. Then the old maid SMS-ed me twice to ask me how's everything at home. But hor, i dunno lah, old maid got medical issues. If she comes back, I have to take care of her medical leh. I've already done that for 1.5 yrs, instead of being thankful by staying on, she chose to leave. But then, I see the old maid really sayang my K, very patient and creative with her and can cook well. Whereas new one not so patient, can clean very well but no interest in cooking. Hai...cannot have perfect maid.

DianA
Sheila just came to "counsel" my new maid. First day of work, I saw her wear g-string and powder. I too paiseh to say so I told Sheila. haha. And maid time management quite poor despite giving her a timetable and telling her to prioritise. So Sheila came to review her at 1 week. Ask her to counsel yours too.

bbkgal: wah ! gstring and powder !

sheila did tell me she will come "counsel" the new maid - esp during the 1st 3 mths.

my new maid called sheila on sat when we were all out (she was alone at home) and told sheila she was worried cos not sure what to do if any emergency happened as she was alone at hm....

then i called back hm, she was crying... saying she home sick... sigh... problem with filipinos are they get homesick easily...

*GASP*...such an unlady like way of self-soothing!!!

err...sometimes she does poo, after grunting for a long time.....dunno leh i can't figure this out! i'm just worried she's in pain or discomfort

Gar
my fren's dd has an ugly bald patch at the back of her head cos the way she self soothes is to shake her head vigorously left, right, left right on the bed until she falls asleep. lagi jialat right? keke

Gar, oic, glad it's a name both of you like.
Aiyah, me also lor. Ended up changing RaeAnne's chinese name. English/dialect name not allowed to change anymore unless do deed poll. Luckily now her chinese name is more inline with her dialect name.

Today, RaeAnne's PG teacher praised her for talking a lot and wearing her own shoes. But told me that she's biting her nails. I noticed that too esp when she's trying to fall asleep. Just now, I keep pulling her hands out. End up she took 1 hr to fall asleep. :p

Anyone's toddler still waking up for no reason in the middle of the night? Don't know why RaeAnne does that even though I 'sleep' with her on her cot until she falls asleep then leave. End up 1 night I got to wake up 3-4 times because of RA and RL. Hiaz...

bkkgal, LOL at your cat. Guess it'll take some time to adjust too. ;)

Pauline, s. Woke up at 430 this morning, maybe just like r too. He only got bc to zz around 530 plus. I am waiting for my last day at work, must endure for another month before I can really rest

Hi morning,
it's midweek. after a conference call this morning, decided to relax a bit today.

re: boy vs girl
my family definitely in favor of X chromosome. myself come from a family of 4 girls + 1 boy.
then my parents have got 7 granddaughters + 1 grandson.
it's a 'nv3 er2 guo2' for my side. :p

bkk,
don't feel so bad about sending K to school.
another reason that we send them to school cos we want them to have more playmates right? K likes school too, doesn't she?

getting sick is part and parcel of life.

tute,
don't feel guilty about C's cough. who knows his body immunity already build up a little during the time that he recovered from his 1st round of coughing?
you do observe that he's recovering that time right?

my C got a 2nd round of fever due to throat inflammation 1 week after discharge from hospital. I admitted her to hospital for treatment, and she still ends up with 2nd round of fever. It might be due to the weather and the poor air quality that we are having now. we have done our best. and good news is that she has recovered!! I am sure cayleb will recover very soon too.

genice,
walk slowly next time. take care...

leila,
congrates!! your serious mood swing is due to pregnancy?

gar,
we went to 'you long zi' during C's time. kena 'scolded' by him (i think is the disciple) too but it's because I asked him on the meaning of the word, name, etc.
personally, dun like their attitude. pay $ yet kena scolded.

re: CC
i went to parent-teacher meet session on monday.
it's interesting to know how they access the development of the kids., e.g., social development, physical skills...
and learned that C has a 'shun3 you3' a.k.a. bad influenced buddy in the school. when the girl throw things, go and push other kids, C will follow. :p
but glad that at least she has got friends there.

there's 1 problem, the mother of her 'buddy' always prepare extra snack before breakfast and after tea-time for her buddy cos she's among the first few to reach school and last few to go home. afraid that she will be hungry during that time. teacher actually allow her to do so although the school rules forbid that. being in the same class as buddy, C always will 'kacau' her for the food when she's eating. now, the teacher asked me to prepare some snacks for C too.
now headache liao,
1) afraid that she will be too full for dinner if she takes extra snacks ~ 5 pm.
2) got to prepare food for her. (everyday take honey star also no good right?)

hoho... getting my car this weekend!!
can go 'eat wind' liao.

question:
1) how often do you wash your car?
2) how do you wash your car? (maid? petrol station? self?...)

Morning Mummies,

Elvin Ng..
Pauline.. wah u like him? I am fine with him not super like but he is indeed goodlooking.

QL, so he was from HCJC? Which year was he borned? KPO a bit..

Tots sleeping thru night
Pauline.. G also...She will wake up 2-3 x and climb over us for us to carry and whine a bit before she returns to sleep. Yesterday night worst still, she woke up at 3 plus and merlioned over the father and the bed... SIANZ...vomited really a lot and we had to wake up and remove all the mattress cover, wash up and stuffs , only went back to sleep at 4 plus. G kept wanting me to carry and i couldnt help hubby, that really make me think abt how things will be like if i dun have a helper and my #2 is already here.. how to cope with situations like this and with 2 kids..
This morning before she went to sch.. she merlioned again... wish i can call someone to help me clean up...

Vitamins
Anyone ordered the childlife liquid vitamins supplement thru XY? Have u all started giving to ur tots. The recommendations says add to their fav juice or drink.. but i seriously cant think of anything to add into. How did u all feed them?? can advise?

Garfield.. nice to meet u too.. u reagined ur figure pretty fast leh!!
And ur hubby looks so comfy handling 2 kids!! Good help u have there.

U should video J's grunting sound.. haha.. actually quite cute lah, perhaps just a phase, a form of self-expression.

Bkkgal.. wow.. g string, sexy leh..

genice,
the enchinacea you mean? i put 10 drops in her plain water.
problem is, she never ever manage to finish her bottle of plain water.
recommended dose is 10 drops 4x daily - for early treatment.
note that cannot take for long term. i think got to stop a while after 10 days.

i am also giving sambucus for maintenance, this one can be given daily. taste like ribena. wonder will it be too sweet for their teeth.

hello...

thanks for all the encouragement mummies... i'm hoping C will get well soon, very boring just to stay at home during the weekend for the past 1 month - because he's not been completely fit, we only bring him out to his class and sunday school. Apart from that, will just stay at home...

xy,
congrats on getting the car! for me, my hb found this guy who does some car cleaning in our hdb parking lot, so we pay $40/month and he will wipe it every 1-2 days... if you diligently wipe the car, no need to wash very often... last time during my high school when i drive, my father always make me wipe the car before i put the car in the garage... :p

re enchinacea, i usually just give directly, mixed with a bit of water on a teaspoon... wanna make sure that C takes all 10 drops :p

gar,
*wave*.. good to hear from you again... sounds like you're enjoying time with the 2 girls and coping well too...

genice,
just read again about you falling down... do be careful.. how come G throw up so often? is she not well? must be tough on you...

bkk,
how's miss K? hope her fever is not due to HFMD again... and just normal fever...

diana,
i ok le. A still has a mild cough. thanks

leila,
congrattttssss!!!
anyone else reporting good news?

re: iPhone
juz dropped my iPhone on the floor and it's cover smashed to many pieces. sob sob... no mood to do work. so slacking now.

Genice, why did G merlion? Is she sick? S insists to switch on the light when sleeping. Jialat also lor.

Genice, are you referring to the echinacea? U can add that to juice or plain water. Yea there’s research which said that it’s not recommended for kids. Anyway, maybe it’s good for early treatment.

S caught flu last Sunday , maybe from the splashpark I brought him on saturday. Sunday he started having runny nose but was still very active. His mucus became thick with yellow/greenish type. So I think it’s virus infection. Very quickly I gave him lots of fruits like kiwi. I gave him Manuka active 12, blended apple and blueberry, + lemon for him, and gave him echinaccea (added into his milk) for 3 times. Then on that same day, he was a bit feverish. Measured and it was only 37.3. So I thought ok, he started to fight the virus liao. Gave him some Korean bamboo salt diluted in his plain water. And also lemon juice. Also sponged him when he was sleeping and made green bean soup and Chinese big barley, to substitute water for his milk. At night, he pooped. Very black and hard poo and smelly!! I think he was damn heaty!! Next day on Monday, fever is gone. Runny nose is gone. So he actually recovered within 2 days. i was quite amazed too because the runny nose has yellowish mucus means he has infection liao. Glad that S fight the virus well.

So I think echinaccea played a part too for early treatment?? Other than the other natural remedies that I imposed on.

Xiaoyun, congrats! Are you getting a brand new wish? As for snack, fruits n yoghurt will be a good choice. Trust that the sch has a fridge. As for car, I don’t wash often, it’s always “washed” by the rain :p will wash when I go back to msia. Sambucol – you can feed C water after she takes it right?

hello mummies!
sooo glad this week is a short week. can't wait to go on long leave before delivering!

XY
congrats on the car!! most HDB car parks also have "uncles" who will go around and wash the cars? about $20 a month, and they will wash for you every day if you at home every day. even if u not at home every day it's still a good deal, since petrol station already $5-7 each time. for us we will sometimes get the uncle at my mum's place to wash for us, one time is i think $4, but otherwise we got a wash and polish package at groomworks, but it's not v convenient..

leila
congrats!! must have "courage" to announce one meh?

jeannie
i haven't started giving yet, hee.. but think i should start soon cos my nephew not well, better give some echinacea just in case..

genice,
thanks for your kind words - but i still have 7kg to lose....chum....

echinacea,
sorry, never follow earlier posts on this topic previously. can some kind mummy advise me on what this is good for?

HFMD,
seems to have an outbreak going around. any way of preventing ah? apart from practising good hygiene.

tong,
wow your natural therapy very powerful
i also wanna improve my knowledge in this area - is there any website or book that can give me a good foundation in what natural foods to give to address illnesses or improve general health / immunity?

XY,
car - hmm....when i can see a thick thick layer of dust then we bring the car to those petrol station car wash

Garfield, got!! Infant diet theraphy by Ou Yang Yin. Can visit my blog too cuz I compiled all that I had read from the web too. Agree with Iso, Echinacea – according to some of the research, it’s not recommended for kids. So I just give on the onset of cold/flu, but not for daily consumption. My practice is to give whole natural food , that’s the best nutrients for our tods.

Echinacea: can give eventhough no cold or flu meh?

HFMD: yea I think outbreak now. heard lots of cases in cc liao. other than practising good hygiene, dont think got other methods to prevent it. but we can boost the kid's immune system so that they can handle it better, and got some diet therapy for them if they have HFMD too.

re: car washing
tute/iso,
my friend also hire bangla $40/month to wash the car in the HDB carpark.
my hb commented that don't know if they use the same cloth through out without washing and how often they change water from car to car?
probably i should try it out.

gar,
so bo chap ah. :p

bx,
iphone cover can easily change to a new one right?

tong,
good that S willing to take whatever you feed.
C doesn't like barley/green bean drink. and only like a few kinds of fruits only - each one just took a few mouthful.

we got a brandnew sedan. lucky no need top up for the increase in COE.

for snack, we ordered yakult for her in CC 2x a week. i don't pin my hope for the teacher to remember putting her snack in the fridge. better get something that will not spoilt at room temperature.

for sambucus, she will refuse plain water on the day that i add sambucus into her water. sigh.. start being choosy already.

XY, he doesn’t like the barley green bean drink too. But I used it to make his milk, and he happily take it lor. Actually you can try to blend the fruits (add water to make it more watery like juice) or if you have a juicer, extract the juice. Think kids like to drink sweet stuff? Then can get her to eat the fruits liao.
As for snack, maybe get a bun or bread for her? Fruits also can what, no need to be kept in the fridge. She rejected sambucol, eventhough it’s sweet?

tong,
i put sambucol in her water. so she will just drink it when i ask her to drink water.
if offer her another bottle of plain water, she will reject.
probably i shouldn't add sambucol in plain water? should just feed it directly? then let her drink water after that?
will explore other methods this weekend.

i've got no juicer at home. only blender.
aiyah.. my gal very gentle one. even take water also sip by sip kind. never see her finish 1/2 cup of water at one go.
cut fruits got to be kept in fridge to be fresh right?

XY, oh, very gentle hor. Yea Carrie really looks like princess like that leh, like ur zhang3 shang4 ming2 zhu1, hehe. You got blender, good enough! Blend the fruits, and add water in it. as for fruits, give those no need to be cut one. like blueberry, kiwiberry, strawberry, grapes. OK, maybe my boy very chor lor, always pop the whole kiwiberry or grapes inside his mouth. Or can ask the teacher to help cut? They should be helpful wor.

HELLO EVERYBODY!!!!! (WARNING: Long POst Ahead!!!)

Aiyah, i'm so sorry to miss out on so much news/excitement/sob stories etc. I HAVE been reading on (to destress) but simply no energy to post. Work has been so crazy I get so fed-up but I know I should be thankful for a job that allows me (if i choose to...) to go home on time. Though that often means i either have to work from home, or work much later on other days, or suffer a not-so-good appraisal. Sometimes abit too proud to admit I can't do it...but sometimes so fed up that extra work put in is...valued only by my immediate superior - but taken lightly by higher management. Though my immediate boss appreciates me...i know there's only that much he can do to 'fight' for my bonus and etc.

Still, i should be thankful.

Just to share...I wanna share so many things so everytime i see you all post something...i go "oh ya...i must tell them..." but end of the day....abit sian to post. either just wanna nuah around and relax/watch tv etc, and dun wanna type anymore.

PLAYGROUP
RUth is starting playgroup tomorrow. I can finally share some of the excitement though it's really no big deal - cuz it's only 2 hours a day (9.15 to 11.15) at the community centre. It's the Talent-Plus one - cheapest possible in case she doesn't want to continue. haha.

I was tempted at first...cuz when i was going to see see the Talent-Plus, I stumbled on ANOTHER group at the same level! Area much bigger (about 4 times more space) and a lot of activities. Kids of all ages from 18 months to about 4/5 yrs. Place is called Arts Junior Montessori. BUt it's $500 per month (no further subsidy due to inability to meet the 'school-like' curriculum that MCYS sets apparently) for 4 hours (9am to 1pm) but includes lunch. FUnny thing is their full day is $650 but only until 3pm! GOod thing is their group is pretty small...about 4-5 kids to a teacher and there are at least 5-6 teachers plus assistants around.

I like the AJM but it's 2 times of what we intended to spend - not that we want to stinge though. Hubby is partial - anything also can. But my parents are SO against it!!!!

I like it cuz it's got Chinese and Japanese language, music and movement, english language, arts and crafts and also have a little toilet area. The teachers look pretty good and the japanese kids are so cute! hee. ok that last point was TOTALLY irrelevant.

Anyway, well, i guess we will always be tempted and in some sense, i feel like i'm short-changing her in some sense....sigh...

but well, in the end everyone else (hub + parents) all choose the Talent-Plus one...so i'm out-voted. Everyone heart-pain to let their precious go for 4 hours with none of their pampering care! Sigh.

I will go in with her tomorrow...and am SO excited. Actually i only started feeling excited when i went in to talk to the teacher and get instructions for preparing and what to bring etc. I went back to my mum's during lunch with her 'school bag' (same one for all kids) and yell like a mad woman with excitement until she also went YAY! ha.

And I'm so happy. She seems more comfy with speaking mandarin and actually (after all this while of asking her to say bye bye) mutter a very vague 再见 to me just now. Heart melt man.

FEVER:
Recently Ruth also got fever...but just fever and nothing else. Went away after about 3 days. I wanted to post then (about 1 week back) but well...lazy again lor....

Basically fed her panadol kids, lots of water, and also Nurofen (i think) that was given by the GP the last time we had some jab. (cannot remember which one it was) Her fever went up to 38.8....but after one night went down to normal..then up abit the next day...then after that normal liao.

My mum's quite kiasu and will feed her lots of water so i'm really fortunate. Ruth doesn't really wake up at night so I'm quite spared...but I do wake up every now and then to make sure she doesn't catch a cold etc.

Jeannie! CAREFUL AH! Take it easy!!

LEila! Congrats!

BX! Shattered?! Oh dear, I think I'd be shattered if my iTouch drop too! But dun let it get to you. Cuz it's nothing that money cannot settle. Must take care.

ISO/XY - ur two families in future know where to look for the guys/girls! LOL! My side abit biased to girls leh. SO far all the 'current batch' ALL GIRLS! my 2 cousins all ahve girls. Altogether 4 girls, 2yo, 3yo, 4yo, and one baby - think about 6-8months...cannot remember!!

XY - Car washing
When i had my Renault, i washed and polished every Sat. Of course i was single then la. Nowadays the family car...erm....suffers much abuse. Got a dent from my dad's misjudgment at a car park...and a lot of internal scratches from Ruth's boisterous playing/tossing of things, banging of things and patches from her putting stickers here and eh, my friend say my current car should breakdown on me the way I treat it! But it's only cuz I feel it's pretty rugged and I've suffered enough being overly attached to my old car. (i cried when I sold it off to the scrapyard lor. purely an economic decision. more worth it to scrap and get rid of it, than to keep at that point...)

If you are likely to treat the car very precious, then you may want to get it washed at petrol stations. Those downstairs one....usually is one cloth for everything. FOr people who wash cars themselves will know, usually shud be separate clothes from the windows/body/tires/rims. And so far for those 20/40 per month type, is just wipe with water. Not say like station got soap. I think for 20/40 you can't expect much also lah.

Genice, glad to know I am not alone. Starting to think raeanne must be weird to be not sleeping through. Tonight her turn to merlion.

xy just bought childlife echinacea n childlife liquid vit c from gnc today cos raeanne was sneezing the whole day n we finished all her echinacea sweets. But she insisted on drinking a lot of water after taking the liquid vit c, maybe cos too sweet. End up she cough n puke out her milk feed plus dinner n the echinacea was mixed with the milk.
waste my money, she refused to drink any more milk after that so I have no choice but to give her ribena instead so that I can add another 10 drops of echinacea. :p

Thks tong, gar, bkk, tute, qingling, xy, diana, bx, iso, lezy

bkk,
ok, will send ur regards to prof
u really luv her don't u?? knw what, she jus told me that she wld be gg away for a vacation ard my EDD!!! *SOBS* do u thk i cld request to be "passed on" to another gynae of my choice if she is really absent on my EDD???

qingling,
yalor...been feeling extreme "sickness" on n off n furthermore hubs was out of twn till wed, so see if today can ask him to collect fm ur mom ya? paiseh, park at ur home for so long.

xy,
no leh...no extreme mood swing during 1st trim, only the v bothersome ms....so bothersome till no energy to have mood swings. hahaha!

iso,
no lah i meant no physical strength to "report" my good news, didn't mean mental courage lah. so sian, this time round, my ms even more jialat. Jus yestr my mil asks me if #2 is a boi , wld i wanna try again?? i thk she must be out of her mind cos she was ard on most occassions when i had to jus lie in bed n do absolutely nothing!!

Leila-no worries,rest well for now,if I pass by cck will let u know too.
Lezy-can sense ur excitement,heh,have fun in school
today will go n see gynae again,hopefully bb is making it's way down cos I really have prob sleeping past 3am after the going to the toilet.everyday wake up feeling so so tired
. This time rd not so anxious,ha,haven't even pack bag even though less than 5 wks.bb clothes only wash half,so laid back for this rd.

Help!!
A just got rejected by cc as she was found having 2 red patches in her mouth. mil is not sure if she might have accidentally scratched her while cleaning her tongue. as A always struggles when we clean her tongue. she has no fever though. could it b HFMD? does the red patches appear before fever comes? or concurrently?

hello mummies - any idea if chicken essence with Tangkwei reduces BM ss?

bx - i suppose have to monitor for a day or so?