(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xy
ya, you are right about the usage of the patch. hmmm... when's the BP closed?

fairfield
we teach my boy to pull down his pants and aim at the potty to pee. my mil better still, she teaches my boy to pull up the pants (short), hold his penis and pee.

tong
thanks, i will try not giving my kids medicine when they sick and try your natural healing method. though they are only taking chinese medicine which is milder than western med, i feel that no medicine is still better.

hoho, looks like I have been using time in on RaeAnne all this time. Nice to know there is a name to my post bad behaviour 'pep talk'. ;)

sunny
when your boy pee, will he wet his legs? if we don't hold his penis, will always wet his legs. hence i don't know how i can bring him to public toilet (unless i hold his penis).

xiaoyun
can check out taka babyfair for carseat.

re: time in vs time out
fairfield,
i agree. think time out is not really suitable for defiant child.

pauline,
it feels great to know that there are ppl advocating your method right?

re: mozzie patch
sunny,
the promotion ends next wednesday (end of the month).

re: car seat
stephie,
i took out the old car seat at home.
think i can do some fixing on the belt, should be able to work for a short while.

taka babyfair till this weekend? try to squeeze some time this sunday to go there see see.

tute, great to hear that C has recovered.

Clover, tot you can still take care of A till you have delivered #2 then send him to CC.

fairfield, my boy doesnt pee and poo in potty because he just rejects them eventhough i bought 3 different potties! he started off peeing and pooing on the toilet floor because he doesnt like to sit and poo. Just recently I'm glad that he finally agrees to poo in the toilet bowl, but still refused to sit because the bowl is too big for him, but he will stand on the tolet bowl and poo. at least save me from cleaning his poo on the floor everytime la.

sunny, yea, self healing is the best. sooner you will realise that they will always recover by themselves without any med! but you must be patient, it takes time to build up the body to have resistance against all the virus attack.

stephie, my boy will hold his penis himself, think he saw the gor gor at nanny's house doing that. even if he doesnt hold, i saw that he din wet his legs too leh.

tong/clover,
i think should send A to cc earlier so that he will not think that u r sending him away because of #2's arrival. also to let him get used to cc first.

Crystal: Yah my girl is at Cambridge. AMK and admiral hill one are different owners. But i have read positive things abt the one at admiral hill too. My girl is enjoying school now. C will get used to it soon! Yah my girl class is super small when she join, only 2 ahahha but some activties they join the N1. Its becos they have a new branch in Serangoon there so i think some went over that side.

Clover: My mil feed my girl food too at night. haizz lucky u never stay with them.

Potty training : do u all use potty or bring to toilet?

re: potty training
at home - with potty: she will go potty
outside - without potty (e.g., my parents house): she will go toilet, need me to support her.
still not able to get her pee in potty. poo no problem.

XY
ok CC ratio, actually it's 40 in the entire place (she never say properly, wah liao.. haha), but 10 in his class for the mornings, only in the afternoon got another teacher to help. last time the boy was at the CC at Alexandra Hospital, and the ratio was abt 10 kids to 2-3 teachers, and the fees there are much much lower than Cherie Hearts, so she q disappointed.. but this Cherie Hearts is just next to her workplace, so v convenient.

toilet training
recently E doesn't seem to want to even tell me when he has to pee, and MIL like no interest to potty train (even though she did for my nephew, 1 yr older), so bo bian, will just have to try when i stop work i guess.. last time he will sometimes tell me he wants to sit on the toilet bowl or pee into a container - boys easier, i think!

mummies whose boys are toilet trained, do they wear briefs? or just wear shorts without anything inside??

Thanks Qing Ling and Tute

Ice is a new idea...shall try

Agree with tute about using different cups..sometime run out of new ideas and cups! big ones, small ones, all kinds of water bottles and containers also tried.
He will drink a bit from here and there. But so far the best motivation is when he sees other kids drinking. Yesterday my mom told me he managed to drink some water because he saw a cat lapping up a puddle.

Potty Training - Think me, my MIL and my mom are all quite inconsistent with our practises. My MIL will let he wee at the toilet bathing area where the drainhole is. For me, I wee him standing on the toilet bowl. For my mom, she will carry him to the sink or potty. Think they are confusin him. I must try to make us all consistent.

Iso, we just let him wear short without briefs. Think too many layers to take out lah.

apple
yup. her class only has 6 kids now. 2 will go home at abt 12.30pm so the 2 teachers only need to tend to 4 kids for the time being. but next term, they are forming another grp which have 4 kids coming in. but would be at another area so got 2 other teachers for that. i like the ratio of 2 teachers:6 kids. not too overwhelmed. but they somtimes join the N1 classes for activities too. the other 3 kids who stayed with her during the noon time are from april thread. so the age gap is really close.

tongtong
maybe he didn't open his leg wide enuf. when i carry him to pee while standing on the toilet bowl, not that bad.

bx
actually this week is then her 'proper' week. because last week i stayed with her for 3 days and bring her home before their nap time because she dont want to nap there when im around. then last friday she skipped school because she was having fever.

i left her there to nap since monday. according to the teacher, she cries softly in her sleep area while drinking milk then fell asleep eventually. she napped for only 1hr plus unlike other kids. but yesterday she suddenly woke up from her nap and vomitted all the things out. i believe it's over-eating. because i gave her a bottle of milk before i send her to school each morning, then she go there have some breakfast at about 8.30am. then they have lunch at 11am, then milk feed at 12.30pm. so i tink it's over-eating. so from today onwards, i never give her milk in the morning before i send her off.

she never finished her lunch. always only took 3/4 or teacher indicated 'little' on her log book everyday. i still attributes this to her being too full since morning had so much. so i see how today when i did not give her the milk this morning.

crystal,
my mil keep complaining why they drink milk after their lunch. I keep explaining to her that all cc are like that. If only she can read english then i can show her your post.

i think c adjusting quite well hor. mine so far only finish her lunch once. the rest of the time her log book says 1/4 or 1/2 bowl. and she refused to drink the milk before she sleeps. Last mon to wed was zero ml. thur was 30ml. fri quite good. was 100ml. this mon was 50ml and ytd she skipped school coz she had fever.

I start letting A nap there last fri and this mon. both days she only slept for 1 hr. same as u, the other kids slept longer.

as for breakfast, my mil or I will feed her before she goes. coz we thought her lunch she eat so little, so breakfast we better feed her till she full.

i can't wait to go on leave from 26th April onwards..woo hoo..haha..so exciting, we have quite some babies popping in May and June.

haha, labour day?

mine is 24th may. i hope before 21st may. coz 21st may is my birthday. then i can tell ppl i am a mother of 2 before i rch 30 years old. haha. silly thinking right?

bx,
i think you will be early. just like A's time?

i can afford to work till last minute cos my job nature is desk bound. most probably will be overdue too cos i really don't walk much.

qingling
haha my due date 2 june, but i'm aiming for 28 may. public holidays the hospital is v nice and empty and quiet, so easier for visitors, haha. plus it's vesak day, not a bad day to be born on same day as buddha? haha.

i'm going on annual leave then ML starting from 21st April, so i can spend some ME time doing things before another dependent comes along. woo hoo!!!

clover
aiyo.. that's problematic. only happen once or v often they will keep trying to feed too much milk?

iso,
wow. 1 month+ of ME time!!
i think my boss will kill me if i am going to go off earlier. now important projects are going on and the crucial time is from June onwards. :p

hmm speaking of ML, do docs usually give hospital leave to let u rest before your EDD? For mine no such luxury for no. 1 since he was out 15 days early..just wondering if I can get some leave before I pop. Now already so xinku..still got 36 days to EDD!

XY

I'm so looking forward!! I figure bb can come anytime from mid May so it might be only 1 month break.

sweetpea
my gynae said can have hospitalisation leave, but he warned that it also depends on your HR. If they're ngiao, better not take and take regular MC.

i think bkk or another mummy also said that she got some hospitalisation leave for the last ML.

stephie
if he initiates to go pee, it's usually quite urgent already. the penis is hard enough to aim the potty without holding. ehe.... sorry that if it sounded a bit err....
if we initiate, we usually have to hold. but he knows that he needs to arch his lower back to pee..

tong
you can buy those kids toilet seat and put onto the adult toilet bowl, so the surface area is smaller for the kid to sit.
can get from dpt stores or any stores selling kids stuff.
for self healing, i always can't bear to see my kids cough esp my gal for the whole day. whenever she starts to cough, we will bring her to see doc straight away even it's just one or twice cough in the day. 'cos her cough record was not good. she can cough every few seconds/minutes if she doesn't take medicine. and perspires a lot. in this case, i am not sure if self healing works for her leh... 'cos i scare throat infection.

Sunny, think u brot ur gal to tcm right? What did the sinseh say to strengthen her lungs? U can try to build her body resistance to enable her achieve self recuperation by giving lotus root soup, or black bean ginger soup

another day of mc for me so i'll be hanging around to chat.

sweetpea,
our birthdays are so close!! and our kids' age are close too
so qiao.

xy,
i think will be ard 1 week early like A bah. but some ppl told me their 2nd one are overdue coz the body so used and comfy to having bb inside that bb dun wanna come out. so for the last mth, our visits will be weekly, I will see how's my dilation. that time 1 started dilating as early as 2-3 weeks before edd.

sunny
agree, when it's urgent, no problem of wetting legs. think i need to teach him to arch when peeing. tks.

bx
most of the time i heard that 2nd one will be early. weekly visit will be good enough to detect any early delivery.

have a good rest at home

sunny
my hubby will ask me to give medicine when the kids start to cough/start having fever. being an anti-medicine person, i am rather reluctant to do so. sometimes kana scolded for not giving the kids medicine when the condition got worse.

recent few days, there were newspaper reports on pple who died due to cough (these people didn't seek medical help until the cough got worse. by then it's too late). scare me. i think i'll not hesitate to bring the kids to see doctor in future. better be safe then sorry.

Cheap Huggies for Sale. Drop me a PM if interested,

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings & sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)

tong
the sinseh usually will give the medicine to bu her lung. occasionally, we do boil lotus root soup or black bean soup for her. the black been soup with ginger need to add other ingredients?

stephie
that's so scary. maybe those people got lung infection after coughing for quite some time.

bx,
me here.

sunny
yalor, scary. probably got infection loh. to think sometimes when my hubby cough badly, i can tell him 'see doctor also no use one lah, cough usually take long time to get well'. he is those that will keep going to doc when his cough doesn't get well. next time i will just shut my mouth.

halo stephie and xy!!

regarding medicine, i dun dare to try letting A go without it to let body build resistance. I am a typical kiasi/kiasu mother.

bx,
me here..

re taking medicine,
i think have to see... the only reason why i let C continue without gg to doctor is because his cough/flu is mild... doesn't give him problem during his sleep i.e. not coughing in his sleep, doesn't have blocked nose causing him to loose sleep... but if i see him with heavy cough, i usually bring him to doctor because he has a history of bronchitis before so just make sure he doesn't have any wheezing... so i guess have to see the severity as well.

re: mediine vs natural remedy
agree with tute. it depends..
i will see if the symptom cause any disruption in the sleep/rest such that might affect her recovery. if she's still active and can sleep well, i will let her heal by herself with supplements of natural remedy. if she shows signs of lethargic, can't sleep well. i will give medicine/bring to doc.

meeting cancelled!! hoho..

<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to share the mosquito patch?
buy 12 get 3 free.
$60 for 15 boxes.
postage $1 + $2.25 (registered)</font>

Sunny, yea, other than ginger, got brown sugar too.

Stephie, usually TCM can cure long term coughing which couldn’t be cured by western med, you can ask ur hubby to try .

Xiaoyun, I get mine from lapis lazuli Singpaore. Main content of the pure aussie sea mineral r magnesium, sodium, potassium, calcium and sulphur. It’s recommended to give children 5 drops, but I only give S 1 to 2 drops, which I think is good enough, since it’s a supplement anyway.

Bx, yea, I know it’s tough to let the kid recover themselves without medication cuz we are all gancheong parents, hehe.

Agree with tute, have to see how’s the condition, assess the necessity whether to visit the doc.

tong,
thanks. i am now particularly looking for elements like Se, etc. (can't remember the rest).
they are said to help on the immunity.

the sea minerals is said to have greater help on teeth and bone. probably not really suitable for my need.

tong,
yes. selenium.
i need as a supplement for C. cos i think she does not have enough veg/nuts intake daily.
there are other elements too. but can't remember right now.

tongtong
my hubby will see chinese sinseh when he has bad cough. still, it will take a while before he recovers.

xiaoyun/tute
my hubby is kan chiong spider. a little bit only he will ask me to feed medicine.