(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jeannie...
dun feel too bad. try to leave the car seat around and i dunno. I can be quite drama when i bring her to carseat with my hub. we will tell her in advance:

Ruth...we going where-n-where now. Daddy sitting in front so Ruth will sit in her special seat ok?
(when we reach the car...we will go...)
"WAH! THERE"S YOUR CAR!!!!" (right....)
"YEAHHHHH!!!! Ruth's special seat!!!!!!"
"ok...let's put on the belt and we're READY TO GO!!!!!"

we look a couple of clowns but she's mostly compliment that way...and only if we both sit in front.

Nowadays we just buckle the lower part since she will wiggle her arms out of the top part. Then when i start engine, i'll always ask her - ARE YOU READY! She will reply YAY!

THen I will not speak to her unnecessarily anymroe. Surprisingly, usually she will entertain herself. SOmetimes she fuss abit, i also bo chup. SOmetimes I will give her a toy.

WHen we get off, she will always ask me to turn off everything. Lights, radio etc.

Then she will wait, i tell her i go and get her. Get outta car, walk round to her door and wave like a maniac at her with a monkey face....(maintaining the FUN atmosphere) and tell her "WOW We're hERE!!! Ruth was a GOOD GIRL!!!! YIPPEEEEeeeee!!"

when i'm drama, she usually will laugh.

she'll also ask me to take out the buckle....cuz my hubby once tried to pick her up without removing the buckle!!!!!!

ruth was pretty intrigued by the seat belt actually...but still wil lnot sit if my parents are around

best is one-on-one still for me.

or me and hubs in front, she alone behind

as long as behind got people...there's hardly any possibility of her sitting in it.

and yes..i need to see if i got any policeman friends.....or maybe just get one of my 'customers' to tell her in a BOOMING voice in their uniform - LITTLE GIRL! GET BACK INTO YOUR SEAT!

hee hee hee.

Tongtong
Booster seats have a height requirement too cos if the child is too short, the seat belt may not adequately strap him in safely.

Piglettail
How abt getting a real policeman to do you the favour? or go to that traffic safety park in east coast (if it's still there) haha. Sometimes in the restaurants, if K doesn't want to eat, we will ask the waitress to admonish her and she will guai guai eat. External influence works best with mine.

Pauline
You mean you have to reach behind to hold Raeanne's leg? That's very straining on your back/waist.

Genice
You still can train G. Next time when you have No.2 and G is not in car seat, she may kacheow the No.2. At least if No. 1 is strapped in, we all can have a peaceful car ride. Better put up with the crying/whining/tantrums now and train her or you may face a more difficult time in future with 2 in the car.

XY
Actually, I think a sedan with 2 car seats + 1 driver + 1 adult is doable. I haven't changed mine yet - still tahaning with my sedan. I don't bring maid out, so it's ok. The only issue I foresee is the prams. Sedan boot is small, can only put 1 pram. If No. 1 and 2 both want to sit pram, then I need to get MPV cos even if I buy the tandem prams (can sit 2 kids) are too big to fit in sedan boot.

Lezy.. u all really very kuai zhang.. haha.. maybe i will try that too.. i think all parents have to act as 'clowns' somehow in our kids stage of life. :p

reena.. forgot to comment.. yar agree with iso.. ur DD3 very cute leh.,.. very sensible!!

Iso.. u settle all ur stuffs already.. counting down to ML!!!

bkkgal, lezy.. in such hot weather.. very difficult to find pp to wear uniforms.. haha

Xy..i always ur hubby drives .I think 2nd hand wish quite a good buy and we will probably use it only for weekends so its gonna be a weekend car, hopefully will not incur too much expenses in a month..if u dun really travel with ur in laws, a sedan is good enuff but like what bkkgal says.. boot space is a problem.. u might want to consider getting a weekend car also since u are staying quite near ur in laws, the difference will not be too high for a weekend car and will be more comfortable if all of u have to go out.

bkkgal.. so u managed to put both kids behind by themselves?? Wow... i must learn to do that.. i think gwen will scaream like mad if i leave her alone behind.. remember.. she needs to hold my hands while on the car seat.. :x.. must think how......

bkkgal
me too surviving with sedan with 2 car seats, 1 driver and 1 adult. sometimes add on another 1 adult. the boot of current sedan is smaller than our previous sedan. thankfully still can fit in 2 strollers.

jeannie
i can't wait for ML!! last day at work is april 20th!

bkk
what if either of them need milk or something? i think there's no way i can squeeze inbetween 2 kids (in seats) at the back.

E is a backseat driver, he will say "go faster!" or "slow down, too fast!" (and once i was at a stop?? lol. hubbs said that day he was driving E was talking to him all the way.

genice,
hb is taking bus 11 (walk) while I am in BMW (bus - MRT - walk) to work.
the reason for us to get a car is to fetch #1 to CCC and #2 to PIL in the morning, and both of them back home in the evening.
current arrangement is hb bring #1 to CCC with bus 11 then he proceed to workplace. for evening, we walk home from PIL place and most of the time need to carry C.
if #2 comes along, I dun think we have the strength to walk home with #1, #2 and my pump & fridge-to-go.
weekend car (OPC) is not an option cos we can only send #1 to CCC after 7 am. unless hb drives to PIL place bringing #1 & 2 before 7am. bring #1 to CCC by foot after 7am. after that park the car at PIL place and drive it home after 7pm. whereas, I still take BMW to work leave home at 630am and reach home after 730pm. getting a car to drive before 7am and 7pm is just too troublesome for us.

bkk,
does the normal MPV has a proper boot? for what i know, WISH/Stream do not have it. got to convert the 2 backseat into a boot.
that's one of the reason that I still not very convinced getting WISH/stream until now.

I have upgraded H to booster seat since 1 months ago, so far H has been sitting quite ok. The daddy bought the maxi cosi one Rodi XR. there r times she refuse to sit in the seat too, but luckily with the iphone, we can bargain with her.

Iso - u r planning to go on ML even earlier than me..keke..i am still thinking to work until 23rd April, then last week of April ask for MC..hohoho

helper - i finally managed to view 4 bio-data of myanmar maids, hopefully can settle on one soon.

iso/genice
my config is K in front with driver and bb with me at the back. There are benefits to sitting K in front cos she can see more things, i can pass milk to her from behind, sometimes entertain with a hand puppet. And K doesnt get to kacheow bb.

erm...not poss to squeeze btw 2 car seats lah, how to bf the small one?

stephie
2 small prams can still fit in sedan boot but my pram is quite big. I think I will sling bb for now and wait for K to outgrow the pram, then maybe by then bb can take cheh cheh's pram.

qingling, I rem the rodi xr is for 3.5yo or min 15kg and above cos I just upgraded DS2 when he turned 4yo last year (but not 15kg yet).

We drive a Honda Edix, 6 seater with ample boot space, can take my family of 2A + 3 car seats and 1 extra passenger.

Reena - hmm, hubby went to buy, so i duno what did the salesperson advised him, but H seems quite safely tug in the car seat, and with the buckle on, she can't slide out, so i tot was ok.

any kids having motion sickness so far?
C has it. after about 1 hr in the car, she will quieten down. then after a while, she will throw up!!
this happened in my last 2 trips back to malaysia.

qingling,
did you take MC before ML?
just found out from a colleague that his wife's 1 month MC before ML is considered as ML.
in the end she can only enjoy 3 months of ML after bb born.

bkk,
converting the back seats to boot, not very nice right?
as in you can hide your valuables e.g;, laptop in your car anymore.

reena,
i am aiming only mini-mpvs as do not anticipate so many passengers.
most of the time will be 1 driver only when i drive to work.

hooray, i am done with my part of work for this week!!
now, what to do for tomorrow and saturday leh? :p

btw, the drugstore stuff has been shipped from US to Singapore.
will tabulate the shipping when i know the weight of individual items.

anyone interested in thebookpeople.co.uk spree?
currently VPOST Europe has promotion on the base charge for shipping.

also, intended to order this book from bookdepository but it's OOS now.
Amazon has it, anyone interested to share the Amazon international shipping charge?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1409509230/ref=s9_simh_gw_p14_i1?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=center-1&pf_rd_r=1GARD8BWX41YNWS4GWRR&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=467198433&pf_rd_i=468294

qingling,
think should check it out with HR.
they can modify the information in the system. later rugi 1 week then not good liao.

XY - i think only big companies has this issue, my company small small..haha..somemore we apply our own MC in the system. so the HR can only approve but not change it to ML, but the thing is it just dun seem so nice when its more like a "planned" MC. haha

by the way, the usborne series - i order from this tokomama b4. i tot the prices are quite reasonable, u might want to take a look. http://www.tokomama.com/usborne-phonics-reader-phonics-stories-volume-two-p-3424.html

qingling,
i guess it doesn't matter about the size of company (i dun know which company my colleague's wife from). it depends whether the HR is ngiao or not.

the phonics reader/stories in volume 1/2 doesn't come with a CD.
that's why am actually looking at the one with 12 stories + CD.

bkkgal
i also have plans for the same config. big guy in front, little guy at back with me.

I've already bot the new car sear for him at the front, so that he can get used to it. But hor, the times he is at the front, my hubby seems quite distracted cos my boy will ask for this and that, drop this and drop that. And I can't really help him from the back.

Tongtong yup the minimum I heard is 13.5kg but raeanne is no where near that.

Bkkgal yup my arm will cramp up. Luckily we dun bring the kids to faraway places. :p

bkk
so K is in booster? not toddler seat?

qingling
hee.. when r u due again?

HR
i was actually thinking of taking as much MC as possible, but luckily my hubby say not so nice, cos now i know my HR is super ngiao and kaypoh. my dad has been in hospital for close to a month, and on Tues my mum asked me to go to see him in ICU urgently, so i left office around 3+. Then HR send a message to my boss to say she heard i left office, if it's true, i should take compassionate leave. he was a bit pissed off and told them he can manage his own team members' time. i was pissed off that she wants me to take compassionate leave cos my dad is still alive lor. so angry. lucky i'm going on ML soon!!!

iso.. ur HR very bad.. sk u to take compassionate leave!! Touchwood!!

Re:books

Finally the books are here and i just finished sorting and packing it.Mummies,u can collect from my place this weekend.

Sat: Between 3pm to 8 pm
Sun: Between 9 am to 1030 am and from 8 pm onwards till night

i should be at home during these timings but it will be good to drop me an sms to confirm again when u are coming to collect. Mummies who do not have my hp can pm me. I will send u my add after receiving your sms. BTW, i may have to trouble u all to come to my place to collect as Gwen will be with me ( hubby will not be hm) and she definitely will want me to carry her all the way down to the dropoff pt.I dun think i can tahan..

iso
aiyo, how come your hr is so well-informed. u leave early they also know. it could just be time off given by ur boss mah. eldercare leave would be more approriate.

Re: booster seat
there's a kind that can also be considered as booster seat, just that it comes with backing. so there's harness. my girl is using that now. perhaps mummy considering the usual booster seat can consider this version. i see it as a hybrid btw the usual car seat and booster seat.

iso,
I'm so sorry to hear that. Hope your father is out of ICU now.

HR,
It doesn't matter big or small company, it matters on the HR policy and the HR dept head. If the head is fussy, they will pick on minor things, as if nothing better to do. Then the poor staff suffers cos benefits all so pathetic and every movement also kena monitored.

I rem my ex company, small company then but HR head very good, we can change AL to MC and vice versa. And since the precedence was already set, those came after her also followed suit the policy. But for DH's company, consider big but once you apply for AL, but you fall sick on that day, you can't change it to MC.

reena,
'once you apply for AL, but you fall sick on that day, you can't change it to MC' is the same for both me and my hb's company.

qingling
wah i'm going on ML so much earlier than you, haha! my EDD 4 June but i want to spend some time at home and to clear up some stuff before bb arrives..

Reena/stephie
you are right, the HR here got nothing better to do...

jeannie
yay! books finally here! i think i can come sunday morning if we are awake, heheh. will SMS u.

qingling
in theory, yes, cos i'm taking 1 month ML before i'm due. but the current plan is not to come back after that unless they can give me shorter hours, which i highly doubt

Iso - envy..but how does it work, no need to serve notice after come back from ML?

Robinson sales - what's the good bargains?

tong, i think my broadband is ultra slow at night

iso, sorry to hear abt yr dad. Hope he will e fine. Yr hr is truly ngiaow n "uncompassionate".

Ladies, i was given a pre-loved cosco car seat. It's alpha-omega series. I want to give it away coz i didnt realise i hv to attach it to the back of car seat. The person also didnt give me the hook.
If anyone wants this car seat, pls pm me. However pls note:
condition is 7/10, abt 4yo
self collect at amk
do yr own research of getting the accesories
google up the car seat model

dun bring home a white elephant.

iso,
at my co, you can't tender during your ML.
so still need to serve notice after you come back from ML.

clover,
what are the accesorries need to get? and what do you mean by attach to the back of car seat?
anyway, i don't think i can collect from you until end of the year as haven't got a car yet. :p

*yawn* very tired. C and me still coughing at night. C woke up crying a few times because of the phlegm. how to get rid of phlegm?

XY, made the chinese soup zhi3 ke4 tang, but give song1 bei4, instead of chuan1 bei4 mu3. it helps to expel phlegm.

mummies, i wanna quit my job. but din get supportive votes from many of my friends. only got supportive votes from mummy friends. hubby not supportive also, i'm very sian.

Thanks Iso! I'd be there on Sat! This time only received the John Little sale catalogue..think Robinsons have given up sending to me lately.

Gonna stock up wipes, nappies, detergent hehehe.

I am currently using Nuk bottles for no. 1. Still contemplating changing to another brand like avent. But hor, Avent is Wide Neck bottle, cannot fit into the Allerhand diaperbag bottle holders.

tong,
go medicine hall to request for zhi3 ke4 tang package and replace chuan1 bei4 mu3 with song1 bei4?
i boiled nan xing bei xing with pear soup for her a few days ago. she doesn't like it. took a few sips.
not possible to do anything for her till this Sunday, hope it won't be too late.

what's the reason that your hb not supportive? financial?
what's the reason for you to quit your job? sian about the job nature? or want to spend more time with shaun?
read your post on blog that you would like to go into the health food industry. any idea that you would like to go about?
the fruit stall owner in my co. canteen also doing her health food business while selling fruits here. she will boil some special soup everyday for ppl here. and teach ppl how to 'yang3 shen1'.
she seems pretty enjoy doing that. is that something similar you would like to do.

sweetpea,
robinsons do not have wide range of nappies to choose from leh.
btw, the ABD detergent at Giant is quite cheap too. the last few times i went it's only $5.95 per box.

for NB bottles, i also use NUK wide neck. later than change to Avent but continue using NUK teat. your NUK bottle is the standard neck?

XY, yea replace the chuan bei mu with song bei. Nan xing bei xing with pear is nourishing for the lungs, but maybe not enuff to expel phlegm. You can boil and use that to make her milk. last time I did that, shaun happily drink the milk wor. actually very quick one. u can boil tonight liao. Last time I boil in the morning, bring to nanny’s house and ask her to make milk with that. Or tonight you go back, cuz broil for 45 mins max only.

XY, 1, yea financial. I think $$ is quite important hor? 2. doesn’t like backoffice job, I prefer front line. 3. I felt very exhausted, mentally stressed at work and physically stressed at home. 4. Food business- dunno how to go about it yet hehe. I like to run a stall but if it’s a failure, it will incur lots of $ wor. yeh, I like to do something like your canteen fruit stall owner. i have many other more ideas, for the kids. but i am not sure whether it will materialise..

tong,
won't the milk taste weird?
this evening go ZTP as if they have or not.

regarding quitting the job,
- for feeling exhausted/mentally stressed at work and hate the job nature i think can try to change job - although market still not very good.
it's important to find something that you enjoy doing.
- for feeling physically stressed at home, is because you are too stressed up about the cleaning part or shaun? do you think you can solve this problem by quitting?
or get a job that it's less demanding during office hour so that you can have some energy left after work.

for starting a business,
it's really risky to just rent a stall and try out. got to prepare a certain amount of $ to survive the overhead + own expenses for the next 1/2 years. on the other hand, it's still very difficult to do online business in singapore. there are too many competitors around that are just doing it for fun/on part time basis and willing to earn for very little per transaction. if you are really interested into venturing into business, my bet is to do it on part time basis. find a less demanding job and start doing it.

My gf asks me to help her sell this infant car seat (she has relocated to taiwan), not sure if anyone is interested? I'll offer to Feb & Mar mommies first before posting in To Sell.

Brand Chicco, she used it when her child was 3 months till 9 months old. She's willing to sell at $35. Self collect from Simei St 1.

3697439.jpg
3697440.jpg

3697441.jpg

tong, so song bei is better in expelling phlegm? I just cooked papaya soup with some nan xing bei xing and dried figs for my son as he just started coughing. Hopefully it helps to clear some of his phlegm as he started coughing since CNY.