(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkk
dun have petit club, this village is not kids oriented...

tute
with our blistering heat, i wish i was at the beach too instead of out on the roads! haha.

bx
i think we are all learning to have patience, it's not easy hor. recently E was throwing a lot of tantrums, i think because he was sick, a few times i lose my patience and smack his bum quite hard, bad mummy :S

kitsune
yah, v close by!

iso/bx/tongtong
i also almost did the same thing to C for a no of times too. i did not closed the door on her, i screamed at her and smacked her hands instead. hais, sometimes i feel so lousy upon thinking abt it and wonder will i have more patience towards her if we do not have didi. hais. i tink it's all my fault, seems to be abit biased now. maybe because didi is still at the baby stage so not so much of naughtiness.

xiaoyun,
my boy only indicates that he pooped after he did it.

brushing teeth
He has never liked brushing his teeth and will struggle and cry. Sigh!

tute,
u in NY liao?

Thanks mummies, tots can be quite sweet. It's gd to noe they are appreciative of what u have done and best of all show it to u.

bx, it feels bad but sometimes have to show them that they have to listen to certain instructions. Just a few nights ago we were eating dinner at in laws place. She kept playing w food, took very long to chew and move head left n right to avoid the spoon n worst still spit out. I was very angry and pushed her high chair to e corner and til her she dun need to eat, just sit there alone. Oops , I think I shocked her, she was startled by my reaction, think cause my in laws were using comforting words n tell her must eat then we do this n that. I also tried that until I pek Chek. She thinks that we will tolerate her behaviour n keep on trying to please her to eat so when I pushed her ard. She cried pitifully also and wants to join us at the table. So I told her if u join us, u must eat properly n then she really did. Erm, for this I totally dun feel guilty :p

but for 1 instance I felt very bad , I had to go work in e morn n she was still sleeping so I prepared everything then woke her up n changed her. She was still a bit groggy n din want to go school, at first I was quite patient but she took so long to wear her shoes and din want to move pretending never hear my words. I was already sweating like mad, outside e Hse holdind onto 4 bags and she still stand there n look at me , ignore what I told her.so I just slammed the door n tell her to stay at . She cried so loudly n banged e door. I felt really bad for this though cause she just woke up n I am leaving her in cc n still treat her like that.

Pauline , wow time really flies! Raelynn already 3 months n getting chubbier. So cute!

Hi Pauline,
wanna pinch raelynn's cheeks!! so chubby, hehe.

Genice/BX/Crystal
I believe in "shock and awe" tactics with our tods. I did that once too. Made me so fed up, I shut her in the toilet. She cried and banged the door to be let out. I let her cry for 2 mins (every min for 1 yr of age). After that, she was ok, came out, apologise to us and then we explain to her why she cannot behave like that, next time no no, she understood and never did it again. Important to explain to them why you did what you did and include a future warning not to do again. After that initial "shock", she learnt her lesson.

We also institute a "naughty corner" with K. If she misbehaves e.g dun eat, misbehave, we will bring her aside and put her in a safe room/corner where she can't hurt herself (if at home, we use the shower in the toilet) and put her there for 2 mins (again, 1 min per yr). After that, go in, and ask her will she behave, if yes she can get out and resume normal activities, if no, another 2 mins. Normally, she is sobbing but she understands that the behaviour is not desirable, she will change. This punishment is reserved for severe misbehaviour only. Now, she knows how to tell her grandparents that "dada, mama punish K" but we prep the grandparents ahead not to disagree with us, always must support our disciplinary actions or else, she will learn to play 2 sides. It's very hard for the gramps to see us do it, so usually, we have to bring her aside or else they will be softhearted and ruin our efforts.

Dun feel bad - part and parcel of parenting is discipline. I believe our kids will thank us for showing them right from wrong in future.

piglettail,

Before we go out grocery shopping at weekends, we asked our helper what's needed and we also check fridge ourselves.

At weekdays, we let helper to buy misc needed such as bread, spring onion, chilli at nearby mini-mart. We prepared some changes and notebook for her to write down items/price/receipts.

Everyday after work, I will look at one notebook which helper records down E's feeding/sleeping/poo, and look at another notebook of misc grocery shopping. For misc grocery shopping notebook, I will do account balance. It takes <2 mins, usually while waiting for dinner.

Last time when we didn't have helper around, we asked MIL about E's feeding/sleeping at night, and need to do second major grocery shopping&amp; misc shopping at weekdays, after checking stock every night. Now MIL will bring E and helper for second major grocery shopping at wet market nearby at one of weekdays( we buy most of groceries at weekends ourselves), and helper do misc grocery shopping. It relieves us a lot of work.

i'm glad to hear that a few of u have also done similar punishments before. however, i still can't help feeling bad. i even told myself i will not do it again.

hmm...not sure abt biting nails..it wld seem rather unfair to punish and shock her. i oso doubt it would work because nailbiters do it unconsciously sometimes. based on my observations, it does seem that children/teens bite their nails without being conscious of themselves, you know what i mean? adults dun do it maybe because their sense of self/beauty won over the urge to bite, hence the exercise of self control. My 2 cents worth. Have heard of the old practice of smearing fingers with chili paste or something similar to deter children from biting nails but it could have other repercussions e.g tummy ache.

Bx, I almost beat RaeAnne today too but she was screaming non stop when hubby and I were trying to have dinner. She insisted for me to be 'present' when the maid is showering her. :p Guess my patience wore very thin after 2 days of looking after her esp when she is not napping well. :p

bkkgal, I was thinking of those nail biting solution from pharmacy. She is 2 years old now so can use. But I'm sure she will ingest some of the solution. So not sure if it's ok for 'consumption'. :p

been bz at work :p, lucky finally got a contract staff in to hand over to when i go over on ML..now i am counting down, 42 working days to go!!

morning ladies!

Tongtong,
thanks for the pelangi link!

bkkgal
Thanks for your encouragement re: maid affection vs. parents' affection. yes, i think my personal well-being/happines is important to a happy family/child/husband rs.

Disciplining kids
If there's one thing that i really want to impose and discipline G on now, it will be to get him to sit still in the car. now he will move around and alternative between sitting on my lap for 2 mins, sliding off, stand and jump around the "foot area" where the child seat is, i'll pull him back to the child seat, he'll slide off, i'll pull him to sit on my lap, he'll slide off after 2 mins...and the cycle repeats until we reach our destination.

makes me very very frustrated not to mention dizzy and feel like vomitting at the end of any car trip. tried to smack him hard but guess what? he has this tactic of crying out very loud and will vomit within 2-3 cries!! (and if this happens hb will get really angry as well) i know it's G's tactic, goodness knows where he learnt it from and he sure knows it works.
How should I 'severely shock and punish' him once for him to learn? i can't possibily push him out of the car and leave him by the roadside even for a couple of minutes...

Sleeping hours
How many hours are your todds sleeping in 24 hours? Mine only sleeps for 10 - 11 hours, inclusive of 1 or 2 short naps (max 1 hour) in the day. I've heard old folks saying, sleep less = grow slow. Maybe that explains why she's still only 9kg?

Just to share the simple cake I made for DD3's birthday - tiramisu

3687881.jpg

Reena - Heidi sleeps at 1030 latest, wakes up at 730. nap once in noon for 1.5 to 2 hrs. so also 10-11 hrs only. Her weight around 10.5kg.

Btw, nice cake!! yummy.

If interested, pl PM me.

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

Qingling..I also started counting my work days - it was 40 work days to go since I started counting on Monday! Expect to start leave 26 Apr. EDD 29 Apr.

Reena, my boy also sleeps 10-11 hrs per day inclusive of nap. 8-9 hrs at night and and about 2-3 hrs in the day. He sleeps average 11pm-7am and naps 2-4pm

Child punishment
Don't know why but DD3 loves to test my patience. Ask her to wear diaper, she will play on the bed and ignores me. When I'm pressed for time, I told her no need to wear, then she will carry her diaper and come running after me. Similar to bx's situation, I did shut her outside the bedroom cos she refused to go in. But after that shut out, it never happen again. I always explain to my kids, you have only 1 mother and I have tonnes of work to do, if I ask you to do it now, I mean NOW. Else, I have to do my other chores and you will have to wait. They understand, even DD3.

Just yday, I was punishing DD1 and DD3 came to disturb. I scolded her and turned back to DD1. At the corner of my eyes, I saw DD3 walked to the Time-Out corner, sat there for a few seconds facing the wall, then came back to apologise, hahaha!

reena, i think the sleep = growth statement is true. My fren's aug 08 bb sleep trained since 2m, weighs 11.6kg now. He's all packed solid.

Oh.. and I thought mine sleeps very little. Looks like the todds here also don't sleep much. For mine, even if she takes 1 nap, it's only 45 mins - 1 hour, never 2 - 3 hours. That's why I still try to give her 2 naps daily.

Piglettail - Your car seat buckle should be able to restrain him?

My prob is getting my boy INTO the car seat. Once he's in, its fine coz he can't get out. But we can easily spend 20 mins trying to coax him into sitting in the seat. So we try all kinds of bribes, especially food, to get him in. But we are fast running out of new bribes

On teh day of our reuniion dinner, he just refused to sit in..and keep struggling and sliding down. The whole thing took 30 mins before we could drive off and was late for the dinner. Made me so mad, and what a start for the new year. I was soo angry - scold him, stare at him, force him down, slam car door, etc . Dunno what worked finally.

Hi..

Car seat
G is considered on the big side (15kg). Anyways, we had a car seat for him with the buckles (for this age group) but he simply refused to get in. (cry, scream, vomit) In the end we used a booster seat meant for an older child (those which is just a 'base' and we buckle the seat belt over). He stayed in that seat for a few times but reverted back to his old ways since...sigh.

My boy also doesnt like to sleep. So now weekends he doesnt nap but will go to bed early. His weight has been stagnant for quite some time at 13+ kg, although he eats a lot.

<font color="0000ff">SLEEP:
Ruth sleeps about 9/10pm till 7+am. Takes 2-3hr nap in the afternoon.

Sleeping Habit:
Nighttime NEVER a problem. She will go to sleep on her own after awhile. NO need a lot of coaxing.

NAP always a problem. The closer she is to sleeping, the more pattern she will chut.

Nap duration:
Ruth has standard habit. FIrst hour o fher nap, nothing in the world can wake her up. You can go do housework and etc. But after the first hour, caregiver (mum-weekdays or I-weekends) will go into room and sleep with her/lie with her. The littlest stir, we will pat her and she will go back to sleep.

If we don't do that, her nap will be only 1 hr usually.

If we are out and she's sleeping in pram..also will mostly last 1-1.5hrs max.

Weight:
Ruth on the heavyweight side - almost 14kg.

Car seat:
Ruth is professional. If with me alone, she will sit in the seat, buckled in and entertain herself/stone.

If with hubby in front, may chut abit of pattern on n off, but if we ignore, she'll be fine. (THANKS GAR FOR SUGGESTING THAT!!!! INSPIRED WHEN I SAW A sitting alone behind!)

If with grandparents in car, CONFIRM WILL NOT SIT.

If with Hubby Behind, CONFIRM WILL NOT SIT.

You see the pattern? Not that I'm fierce...but we've noticed this trend...that she can be well-behaved if she's just 1-on-1 with 1 caregiver. Once there are more people around, she knows she can take turns trying everyone's patience. After all when mummy gives up, granny will take over or daddy will take over or grandpa will take over.

Sigh.

Why children nowadays so schmart?</font>

lezy,

wow i'm impressed! but i'm seldom alone with G in car - i have license but NEVER drove. nowadays always go out with hb and maid in tow, so...
yup agree the more ppl around, the 'worse' the behavior. G also most uncontrollable when grandparents, parents and maid all around. will have all sorts of pattern.

piglettail,
no need to be impressed. mine only work when i'm alone.

i think bkk's K and gar's A can sit on their own even with family around. those went thru 'proper' training.

Mine..since young, granny always say poor thing sit in car seat and carry....so grow up she find no need to sit in car seat.

everytime we go JB, will have to bluff until dunno like what to get her to sit in the car seat while going thru customs.

You know what really nailed the coffin for K re: sitting in car seat?

It was that day when we stopped by the curbside in Melbourne. Zhoon zhoon a policeman came by and ask hb to take a breatherlyzer test. He looked into the car and saw Kate OUT OF HER CAR SEAT. You know how strict Aussie police are abt children in car seats? It's like penal offence strict ok! He spoke in a loud booming voice to K and said: "Little girl, get into your car seat."

WAAAHHHH, that did it man. From that day onwards, all we had to do was remind her of that fierce policeman.

Get your friends to dress up as policeman and do the same!

I agree that the more pp around, the more patterns they have.

Before the policeman incident, she was being spoiled silly left right center by my ILs who couldn't bear to let her cry in the car seat. Every opportnity, they will take her out and sayang sayang. Hb and I were SO EXASPERATED cos when we travelled alone with her in PErth, we had no such probs. Haha, I was so happy that incident taught young and old a lesson!!!

Agree with Lezy - the more people there are, the more misbehaves and monkeying around.

Mine also has a pattern - when I drive, he will usually quai guai sit down. But when daddy drives, he will ask to "drive" as well - All the males in my family and extended family have this soft spot of letting the little boy play with the controls of their car. It has now become a SOP that when gong gong or shu-shu is taking care of him, they will bring him to their car for a "drive".

BKK - the policeman idea sounds effective. Good idea.

oh sweetpea, mine has the same "driving" issue too! Her ye ye and grandpa allows her to play with the controls. She started to ask her dad to let her "drive" the car too but we ignored her and asked, where's yr license? NOw, I noticed that she stopped trying her luck with us (the parents) but in her grandparents' car, she will insist on driving.

They know who to bully lor. But the grandparents are also willing victims lah.

Sleeptimes

K sleeps from 9.30 pm to 7am and naps in the afternoon from 2-4pm. Roughly 11-12 hrs of sleep a day. She just crossed the 11 kg mark.

good evening,
busy day. busy week.

no one beats my light weight champion who sleeps a lot though.
8:30/9pm ~ 7/7:30am. weekday day time nap 2 hrs. weekend day time nap 2x, 1-2 hrs each, sometimes 3 hrs.
yet, she's only 10.1 kg.

Sleeptime
A sleeps from abt 10pm to 7+am and naps for abt 1.5 to 2 hrs in the afternoon. abt 11 hours. just hit 12kg.

i foresee her weight may drop when she goes to CC in 2 weeks time.

I think no one else has my car seat problem. RaeAnne will insist for me to hold her leg if not she will keep pulling on her car seat crotch securing fastener and cry/whine throughout the trip. I always end up with a cramped arm after the car ride cos nowadays I'm in the front passenger seat.

Clover, I don’t have problem accessing dang dang from office. Maybe u just need to wait for the loading?

Car seat problem: I think I might go get booster seat now, since he just want to sit beside his daddy during the car ride. Time to keep the car seat in storeroom liao.

Car Seat
bkkgal, good idea! but i dun have any policeman friends...

Driving the Car
Mine also used to want to drive the car at the end of each trip, until i got so angry with his car seat that i told hb if G didn't sit in the car seat, he doesn't get to drive. Initially he kept whinning but still refused to get into the car seat...hence now he doesn't 'drive' cos he's not in the seat during the trip. seems like he'll rather forego driving than to sit in car seat.

Pauline, oh, is their min weight requirement for booster seat? I tot should get 1 since he doesnt want his car seat anymore. I havent gone to look for booster seat yet..

piglettail,
dun have first teeth.
only orajel training toothpaste. do you still interested?

i guess i need to get a carseat suitable for #2 or #1 end of this year.
anyone wants to sell yours?

Talk abt car seat.. erm i feel so guilty lor.. at least u all are still trying. I totally gave up liao. cant remember when but probably 2 months ago just ONE FINE DAY, gwen decided that she doesnt wnat to sit in the car seat and kept struggling and crying. We were sweating like mad , standing outside trying to put her on the seat and she refused , kept sliding off the seat or arch her body so we cant put her down. So no choice , we have to carry her cause we were running late.

From then onwards, we kept on trying but she still refused until we pek chek decided to bring the car seat back cause it doesnt make much sense when we fetch our inlaws, the car is already so squeezy and the car seat is unoccupied and takes up so much space. So she has been seating in between me and my mil since then for weekends.

i think its a bad habit but dunno what to do, tried to make her sit at home but when we want to buckle , she gets so scared. At times , when i have to drive alone cause hubby is busy, we will still bring the car seat down, she needed a lot of coaxing and i must hold her hands thruout the journey than she will sit. Pauline, gwen a bit like raeannae, feel quite insecure in the car seat.

XY, i thot u have a car seat for carrie? What kind of seat u using now? Urs is from infant all the way till now? cause i have 2 car seats, 1 is infant and 1 is for abt 8 mths onwards.. so can still tahan for 7-8 more months after #2 comes.... I think what we need now is upgrade our car.. gonna look for a 2nd hand wish.. else our weekends will be super squeezy..with my in laws and if ever we gonna get a helper..

been busy at work and other stuff recently...

piglettail
wow! 15kg! he must be the biggest around at the moment, haha.

car seats
i sometimes have the problem with keeping E in his seat, but at times he'll watch videos on one of my old iphone. once in a while he'll not want to sit in his seat at all, but just have to force. I'm not really keen to move him to the booster seat unless it has a 5 point harness otherwise with the normal seat belts they're bound to climb out of it easily!

but i think i will try sitting in the front more often from now..

Reena
what a lovely cake!! aiyo your DD3 so cute! know how to self punish!!

kitsune
is there a particular trigger to her biting her nails or just on and off during the day? E will do certain things when he is shy or nervous around strangers, he used to play with his tongue, recently he's taken to clinging to me and saying "dig mummy" and pretending to be an excavator. odd, but i guess it's just his way!

genice,
we don't have car so do not have a carseat for C. you also looking for a 2nd hand car?
we still indicisive if to get a MPV or just a sedan as in laws seldom go out with us on weekends nowadays.