(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal,
I have one suggestion, use nappy instead of disposable diapers. I used to "recycle" the diaper for my son cos so wasted to throw away since it's not soiled but it caused him rashes. I remembered I had some nappy covers since DD1's time so I switched him to that, more economical and hygenic.

Lezy,
About the maid's story, you know what, that happened to my ex-collg's relative in Msia. Maid's a great baker and she had been baking alot throughout her several years stay with her employer. She requested to bake a cake to bring home but forgot and was crying on her way to the airport. Employer didn't know there were hidden jewelries in the cake and bought her a cake from the airport to bring home. When they got home and sliced the cake, they were horrified to see their jewelries inside!

XY,
I just use kids body wash to wash the backside after poo. But if I'm at my inlaws, I just use water, will still be smelly lor...

re: maid's horror story
time to contribute.
my sis's temporary phil maid dance in front of my nieces and nephew with only underwear on. she's practicing her dance movement as she was planning to runaway and be a nude dancer.
there was a time she purposely touched the p* of my nephew and told him that it will turn hard when he grows up.
>.<

luckily she's only the temp one. but it's so terrible..

XY
omg!! maybe her other job is working in one of the bars. i'm not being mean, there are a lot of them around tanjong pagar area.

Club med offers
i think some mummies were q interested in this last time? they're having 1 for 1 adults to Cherating, Bali, Bintan (i think?) and Phuket again for Natas fair.

tongtong, yah my boy also same..he can fall asleep easily in the car/pram but when he's on his own, he just seems to have a lot of energy.
We bring him outdoors very often and he still doesn't really get tired..too much energy. Many times I fall asleep beside him while he still talks and sings to himself before he finally gives in to the zzzz monster.

Dunno wtih no. 2 how..he's used to me sleeping beside him as he falls asleep.

XY
That's so horrible, your sis' temp maid! Maybe she has a sideline. Goodness.

Reena
If accident, I think nappy cannot hold all her pee leh. I tried 2 inserts in the bumwear but it's so thick she refused to wear.

Iso
The 1 for 1 offer is for Cherating, Phuket and Bali only. For Bintan, it's free stay for kids. But not worth it for ours. Have you used the Petit Club Med service for 2-3 yos before? How much must we pay?

xy,
That maid is horrible! How did your sister find out? And how old are your nieces and nephew?

Iso,
Rgdg cloth diapering, since she can keep her diapers dry most of the time, even got accident also should be once and not twice right? Then I think should be able to hold cos for my son (who's coming 5 and I'm assuming his urine is definitely more than a 2 yo), when he has accidents, the bed not wet leh. I find inserts uncomfortable, I used it once on my son and he refused to wear it, now left with so many inserts and some even brand new! Nothing beats the old traditional cloth nappies ;-)

sweetpea
2 mths before i popped, i insisted on hb putting No. 1 to bed. She was used to falling asleep with me as well. Now, the 2 of them hv a bedtime routine together while i spend time nursing No.2. Try to get someone else to put ur No1 to bed. Also good to let No 1 spend some time away from home. I let mine sleep overnight with grandparents before popping. The first weekend home from hosp, I was so grateful for my parents who offered to take her for the weekend and she didn't miss us!

bkk,
ya. that's the most terrible maid that we have encountered.
reena,
my niece told the other family member that auntie dance without wearing clothes..

good morning!!
shopping time.
anyone still interested to get the usborne phonics reader set?
gar/bkk,
how much shipping you paid to get from overseas?

couldn't remember if the booklist that genice have last time consists of this? how much selling at CCC?

XY
You have to ask Gar - she's the one who ordered.
If I recall, the CCC booklist does not have the usborne phonics reader set.

hi ladies!

Brushing teeth
G likes to play with the toothbrush but always gag when i try to brush...am i using a wrong tooth brush?am using the OralB tods toothbrush for 2 yo. should i switch to a smaller one (pigeon?)
paiseh...me tried to follow the exchange on toothpaste but really lost. what's is this First Teeth toothpaste and why is it so popoluar? kids really like it? where can i get it besides from the overseas spree? how about other kids toothpaste available in supermarkets like Kodomo/Lion (im not too sure, saw some kiddy packaging along this line...)

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Nepia Diapers - anyone interested?</font></font>
Since K not using diapers anymore, am letting go of 1 pack Nepia Pull Up Pants and 1 pack Nepia L42s to make space for NB diapers. Anyone?

Also lelong-ing some stuff on WTS. If anyone interested, PM me, I let go at friendly price to Feb 08 moms.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/3666915.html?1267150414

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/3654519.html?1267150453

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/3654500.html?1267150484

Xy, thanks, let me know when stocks arrive.

bkkgal, okie I'll try it out in March. Just stockpile L size diapers recently. :p

Tute, RaeAnne loves to play with her cup of water than to brush teeth. :p You can try to teach to gargle with a cup of boiled water first in case Cayleb swallows it, it's still ok. Once you can see that he can gargle and spit then change to tap water.

Genice, nowadays I only 'date' mummies who understand my need for flexible timing cos I BF. Usually I meet them for lunch but can only sms them a few hrs before on time to meet after my morning feed. ;P

piglettail,
i am using the kodomo pro 18 months toothbrush for her.
the first teeth toothpaste is safe to swallow. can be purchased at guardian too.
there are also kodomo/lion that can be used for 2yo kids. not sure if they contain fluoride.

gar, not sure if you have ordered from babymallonline yet? Read from Dec09 thread that there is 25% discount now including sale items.

bkk
i haven't tried leh, because E wasn't 2 when we went the last 2 times, so i dunno how much it costs. next month we're going to maldives (also 1 for 1, booked at the last NATAS) but they don't have any petit clubs there. so looking forward to it!!

morning to all!

XY,
thanks for letting me know regarding toothpaste! is First Teeth also the ones that u recently ordered with the mummies? If yes and there's spare, can i get one from u? any flavour is fine as long as a 2yo can use.

Ordering books online/reading to kids
Need some advices here...i'vent been a diligent mummy in reading to G. was very zealous in the initial days and bought a number of those "items-identifying" board books (vs. those 'story books' with some story line). but G don't seem to be keen and prefer those 'story books' with story line. Problem is, i can't seem to find suitable story books to read to him... all seems too wordy and the pictures don't illustrate much. He can't understand and requires more visual stimulation i think. any recomendations? is it possible to remind me again the few online book websites that have been mentioned a couple of times here?

time for me to buy books....no time to go to the shops think i should order online and not put this off any longer ;p

Maid
I have also recently hired an Indon maid, seems ok but to be honest i haven't been keeping close watch on what she does. my instructions are often to wash this and that, pick up after the men cos hb and kiddo are major mess makers. She can't understand English so more than often got resort to body language = i m doing it. e.g ask her to fetch the soy sauce(i said "xi you" -teochew, she came back with a pair of scissors). sighs. also rather slow in doing things. to be fair she is diligent but sloooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww lor. dunno how to train her also cos i've told her so many times to finish a certain task by a certain timming but she simply can't do it. when i speak to her, she will always nod her head and say "yes", but the result is not what was desired (e.g the soy sauce example)

today surprisingly not too busy.

tute
np! safe travels!

piglettail
recently i bought quite a lot of "step into reading" books, mostly on Thomas, some from Disney's Cars. I bought from acmamall.com and booksdepository.co.uk, but I learnt of it from one of the BPs. I find level 1 and 2 are suitable for them at this age. You can search "step into reading" on amazon to see the range. but I find that i like the content of some books better than others, some i don't quite like their writing style.

maids
mummies do you buy groceries for her to cook or ask her what she wants to cook then go and buy?

Clover, yea at home he doesn’t wanna sleep, but at nanny’s place he will sleep on his own without nanny at his side, strange right! I think that he just wanna play and disturb me when he is at home lor. Yesterday he din nap for whole day. Ended up he KO while eating dinner ( so hilarious!!) at 7pm. Woke up 730 this morning. Result is his total zz hours is longer than days where he naps.

Piglettail, I have been getting books from pelangi. So your maid is looking after your boy?

Hi Iso,

Will check it out

Maids
Mine doesn't cook (can't even communicate, what to do) but from what i know, it usually starts with us making the decisions (we buy groceries and tell her what to cook), after sometime when the maid has been with the family long enough, the maid will almost auto tell u what to buy cos she feels like cooking particular dishes.

Hi Iso

Maldives! That's so nice. Are you bringing E? He'll love the marine life. I went during my 2nd trim with K. Managed to snorkel with my bump. hehe. Very relaxing.

Am considering ClubMed but wonder if doable with 1 tod+1 bb. Will hubs and me peng san from 4 days with them ALONE??

Maid/cooking
You should buy the food and tell her what to cook. If you let them decide, they will cook all kinds of wierd stuff for you. The maid's duty is to keep track of everyday essentials that are running out e.g. toilet paper, detergent, rice, sugar, sauces etc and let me have a list of what needs replenishing. I am a dictator when it comes to food. haha.

Tute
Saw ur fb mesg yday. is C better? Dun worry too much.

Tong
I read a book abt how our kids "act up" when we are around to get our attention. Because they dun see us around often, so whenever we are with them, they tend up fuss/tantrum/act up more in order to get us to notice them. K is like S - when we are at home on weekends, she would rather forgo her naps. But with mom/mil, she will happily nap long long. Almost as if she can't miss a minute with us. Take it as a compliment

tong, A has the same behaviour over the weekend too coz daddy is around. I'm abt to retrain him to sleep in his cot during the day if this goes on. Now he sleeps on me on my bed during the day!

Mummies, i need to find cheap =p n good chinese books for my boy. Any recommendation?

The weather is too hot!

Bkkgal, yea I guess what you said was right! Perhaps it’s good that he doesn’t nap too, so that he can go to bed at 730pm! Hehe.

Clover, cheap Chinese books – dangdang spree or pelangi

Tongtong,

MIL still taking care of G, maid will help out on the housework. of cos maid will help to 'jaga' when we all need a break (go supermarket, toilet, etc) my boy likes the maid very much thou, cos she never scold/beat him mah. nowadays when we scold him he will quickly run to her and hide behind her.
so mummies considering maids have to be mentally prepared for this 'competition'. for me i've gotten over it, for i think i really do need a maid to ease my burden. no point having a child's full attention but being frustrated all the time becos im over-stretched with work and housework.

Chinese books from Pelangi
how to order? can you let me know the website?

Iso, bkkgal, Maldives, that's one of my dream holiday without the kids. LOL

bkkgal, I didn't know it is possible to snorkel while preggie or I would have insisted on going there when I was preggie with RaeAnne during 2nd trimester too. Being the first baby, the grandparents were quite gan cheong esp my mum and didn't want me to fly anywhere. So, I ended up going for star cruise only. :p

Pauline
Go to the Maldives on your wedding anniversary without the kiddos! Stay in a villa and just indulge in couple time. Very romantic.

Snorkelling is like swimming except that you put on the snorkel mask. I didn't put on the flippers cos just our villa stands over the ocean, so it was easy to just go down from the steps with the gear and float ard looking at the fish.

Piglettail
Dun worry, at the end of the day, our children are our children. The maid(s) will come and go. Research by the Singapore Children's Society shows that children who are not shown parental discipline feel something amiss in their growing years because they feel that parents did not care enough to tell them right from wrong. Good thing that you have a healthy perspective.

bkk
yes! bringing E this time. it'll be our 2nd time to the club med - first time on our honeymoon, 2nd time on liveaboard, and hubby's 4th time since i didn't go on one LOB since i was expecting E), we love the maldives!

maybe if K can join the petit club then might be more do-able for 4 of you? at least got a break during the day, hee.

re maid, ooh ok makes sense. i think Q3 or 4 i will need to get one, so just wondering how all the logistics go.

kitsune
aiyo, so sayang! i think E went to more places when he was in my tummy (cos i had to travel a bit for work) than after he was born, lol.

hello mummies..

iso.. wow.. Maldives.. my dream place to visit too before it 'disappears". U going club med there? can i just check with you how much is the total fare price inclusive accom per pax? I was just wondering whether the prices have dipped slightly cause in all honesty, i always find it a bit ex to go there.

Pauline! Go without the kids and u may come back with a 3rd one.. haha.. i will probably not bring them if i am going..hehe.. must enjoy the romantic trip once in a while.

Re: Something happy to share
Yesterday, we went to IKEA and bought a very simple table and chair set for Gwen. I think she was quite surprised and dun mention it, super excited when she saw us fixing it at home. And we taped a plastic sheet over it to prevent her from scribbling. After we are done with it , we told her "Ok, we are done."Then, surprisingly,Gwen said something when we least expected it. She looked at us in the eyes and told us " xie xie papa" " "xie xie mama" and happily sit on the chairs.. We were shocked and very touched.. haha cause we never expected her to say thank you to us ( normally she requires some prompting) and honestly speaking i din even think of telling her to say thank you cause to us it just such a normal thing .My hubby was saying that made all the sweat worth it when fixing up the table and chairs..

tong, ok have to join the dang dang spree. Any recommendations for ch books?

genice, she is so sweet. u hv a thoughtful girl there. =)

jeannie
we going to club med cos the last NATAS fair they had 1 for 1 offer, so it's less than $1.8k for TWO adults for 4N, not including air fare, but all meals provided. Flights on SQ can vary between $600 to about $1 - 1.3k which is the current price but we using our miles for that. there are also other resorts which are cheaper than club med, and IMHO it's such a great destination because it's only 4.5hrs away by flight (you can't even get to say, Redang in such a short time), sometimes got pretty reasonable deals, and the waters are JUST amazing.

G is so sweet!!! really melts your heart when they say such things hor?

re: brushing teeth
thanks to all ur advice. managed to brush A's teeth and tongue over the weekend

just to share. i feel a little guilty for what i did to A ytd. she was suppose to take her nap but refused to. was very "high" and kept moving ard in the room. we had the door closed as we switched on the aircon. in the end i got fed up and pushed her out of the room and closed the door on her. she cried so pitifully. when i let her in, she slept within minutes. now i think back i feel very bad

Bkk/tong,
thanks, he's better now... Fever gone and just left wih cough due to his continuous screaming and crying. Hopefully appetite will return soon because when he was sick he didn't want to eat or drink milk... Theonly thing he wants is water. Was worried because i'mgoing away forthe first time leaving c behind and then he fell sick.

Iso,
thanks... Very cold here, hope I don't get sick. Listening you talk about the beach makes me wish i'mthere now! Haha...

Re: sleeping
tong/ sweetpea, c is the same... Night time willtake us 1-2 hrs to keep himcompany untilhe falls asleep then naptime usually have to becarried in sling

Tute
Think of the heat in Singapore and enjoy the cold! Gonna kena heatstroke liao - really so hot can die!!!

Good that C is getting better.

Iso, bkkgal, I definitely plan to go Maldives one day but sigh, got to target the child friendly places first.

Iso, I didn't know it's only 4.5 hrs by flight, similar to HK then.

Genice, haha, no. 3? Don't think so leh. My hubby not the romantic type and we are not sure about no. 3 yet. ;)

Gwen so sweet. Makes you want to hug and kiss her hor. ;) I love it when RaeAnne comes forward to kiss me when I pucker up my lips or make lip smacking sounds.

bkkgal,

Info of research by Singapore child society is helpful.

I am puzzled recently on that job of disciplining E falls on me alone.

Just told DH "if you all(DH, ILs and helper) don't pamper E so much, I may relax a lot and can pamper instead of disciplining our little girl.".

Hehe.......luckily, my girl still hugs and kisses me much when she and I are playing alone....

Tubao my hubby is the strict one but it does not seem to work on our gal. I try n sweet talk her instead. But dun know if it will work in long term.