(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Sharing good deals....

Just went to mph raffles city again and they are having major sale. Books between 10 to 25 dol is being priced as 6 dol. But not a lot of board books left. Still have quite a few paperback like dr Seuss though. I also bought 2 Thomas train book at 3 dol each, regular price is 7.38. Good deal?

stephie,
the room in Sunroute was tiny!! But supposedly can take 2 adults and an infant/toddler. So no choice, squeeze lor, 3 person on 1 double bed.

genice,
that's a very nice pic of Gwen. Now i wish i had taken the cruise. Ur pic is beautiful, i must go again liao.

bkkgal,
congrats! and i love her name.

bx,
i think preggy with bb boys, usu the tummy is pointed and the weight gain is more centred at the tummy, so from the direct front view and back view, cant really tell u are pregnant, but sideview, will see a big tummy.

xiaoyun,
wow, 8 kg!! I put on 9kg and already considered very little, but i think this time around, i will put on more, cos the first week after i got back to US, i already put on 1 kg in 1 week. Havent weighed myself since. Hhehe. But not sure if its due to preggy hormones, my entire body is so itchy, i scratch till everywhere looks terrible leh. Anyone with the same problem?

fairfield
thanks. if i m not wrong, the room you had is the economy double room and it's abt 15/16sqm. i will have to book their standard twin room which is bigger at 23/24sqm.

me also put on 9kg during 1st pregnancy. second time abt 8kg. for both, i think pple can't tell i'm preggy from the back. and shape wise almost same. that's why i don't believe the shape theory.

tongtong
mar period is nice for taiwan. spring time if i'm not wrong. i went in mar last year. weather is cooling. at nite will be cold due to the breeze.

stephie,
i lost about 3 kg immediately after birth, 2 kg after 1 month, 2 kg for the next 5 months, and 1 kg for the next 6 months. a slow process but i think it's good.

fairfield,
i hope can keep the record this time round.

sweetpea,
C do lots of things in the CC. got cookery class, art and craft, english/chinese/japanese class, sing song, dance movement. daily outdoor play, weekly water play.
they do wander around sometimes. but normally they will monkey see monkey do when other kids are doing the same thing.
i see that she learns quite a bit and more extrovert after attending CC.

pauline,
take care.
echinacea got in powder form? i don't mean the one in sweet.

tute,
for japan trip, it's not that costly actually.
ticket is about $900 pax. accomodation is about $100-200 per night for a decent one.
i went there when i was a student and everything is on budget. took subway. per trip like $1-2, everyday will be about $10-20 transport per person. food wise take those roadside shop ramen, $7-8 per bowl. very yummy too.
i guess i will cost a bomb if go hokkaido because of the transport (bullet train/internal flight) and hot spring, etc.
but i always dream of going to hokkaido and japan again.

tong,
taiwan in march? must go Yang Ming Shan to see Calla Lily!

Good morning Mummies!

Thank you all for your well wishes! Sarah Mae and I are doing great - I managed to sleep a good 4 hrs last night and she is latching on well.

Don't know how to post a picture up in the thread...sorry :p will figure that out hopefully..

<font color="0000ff">Sarah Mae's Birth Story</font>

3 Feb 10
2.30 am
Felt minor contractions, couldn't sleep, got up, checked email, surfed internet, opened mail. Mental note to get a pedi done tmr.

3.30 am
Noticed contractions getting more regular -=10-12 mins. Checked on K, looked in at snoring hb. Felt need to, and actually pooed. Wondering whether this is body's way of prepping for birth. Wondered who taught Eve to birth since she most certainly would have birthed outside the Garden of Eden. Did she learn from the animals? Was Adam her birth attendant?

4.30 am
K woke up and cried. As hb rushed to attend to K, I mention contractions, which ilicit a flash of panic across his face. haha. He returns from K's room 10 mins later and we start timing contractions. 10 mins and then 8. We debate when to go into NUH. I didn't want to go in too early and get strapped up in the bed for no good reason. Also wanted to wait for dawn so that ILs can come over to take over from us. Don't want K to wake up and find us gone. Decided to wait. Meantime, I took a long, warm shower (who knows when my next shower will be?), dressed up, plucked my brows, packed things, made sure K's things are ready for school. Hb packed his stuff, took his shower too.

5.30 am
We ate some breakfast - bak chang and rice cake. With K's birth, I had to go without food and drink for more than 12 hrs and was too hungry to push! Didn't want that to happen again :p Contractions getting more uncomfortable but walking around helps. ILs arrive abt 5.45 am, I went to the loo and notice some leaking. Thot waterbag may be leaking. Put on a sanitary napkin and decide we should go into the hospital NOW.

6.00 am
Went through a few contractions in the car. Manageable if I think of each contraction as bringing me 1 min closer to seeing Sarah Mae. Imagined Sarah Mae like Thumbelina emerging from a little flower bud. Arrived at NUH. Parked and walked a rather long way to the delivery suite. Felt a strong contraction in the lift, sudden panic, wonder if I can do this. At the delivery ward, we got into the same Suite we had 2 years ago. Changed into hospital garb, CTG strapped up, BP was on the high side. Convinced nurses no VE until Prof arrives.

6.30 am
2 Housemen tried to take my history. I let hb answer them while I dealt with increasingly strong contractions. Contractions now 5 mins apart and getting stronger. Keep wanting to poo but nothing. Convinced nurses to let me off the CTG machine so I can walk. I pace around, try to get on fours, crouch, hang on to hb for support. All these helped to ease the pains. I am in despair. I tell hb that I'm weak, I wanna do this without medication but I can't.

7.30 am
Contractions strong. Each surge makes me despair and wonder how much stronger will contractions be at 10 cm? Prof comes in, we discuss the fast closing window for epidural. Hb roots for epi - 5 cm to go, medically 1 cm per hour, who knows how long this could go on was his argument. I secretly think that's cos he doesn't want me to rip off his arm during contractions! hah! By now, I am tired and sleepy. I decide to go for epi since 2 medical professionals by my side strongly urge me to. Fearing a long labour like the last time, I also wanted to conserve energy and take a rest so that I can push later.

The anesthesiologist does her work in between contractions. I am in despair why it's taking so long and worried that window may be closed.

8.30 am
Blissful sleep. Prof comes in at near 9am to break my water bag. She is a little concerned with meconium staining.

9.30 am
Start feeling the contractions again. Toes able to wriggle, epi wearing off. Tell the nurse I have urge to poo. Nurse checks - 10 cm dilated! tells me to hold on and wait for prof. I shiver uncontrollably everytime I have to lie down. I insist on sitting up. Hb argues that CTG readings will be lost. I argue back that bb is FINE. I can feel her kick each time contractions come. He lets me be.

10 am
Everyone starts prepping the suite for delivery. Prof comes in, asks to get a neonatologist on standby becos the mec. staining. I want to push sitting up or on fours. Prof positions me semi-inclined so that she can help me. First try - pushed abt 4 times. Second try - another 5-6 times before I felt Sarah Mae's head slip out. Prof says stop stop, wait. Soon the shoulders and then the rest of SM slides out.

10.35am
Sarah Mae is born. The experience is beautiful. With K, I didn't feel anything, heck, didn't know what was going on. No episiotomy - just a slight tear. While Prof stitches me, the neonate works on Sarah Mae. I joke with Prof that I was worried SM may have been a boy in disguise since everyone kept predicting a boy based on my belly shape. SM is 3.290g, 100g heavier than K. The foiegras at Forlino the night before may have done the job in getting her out - SM has a double chin! She is also extremely alert, eyes checking out everyone, everything. SM does not sleep until past 1 pm in the afternoon. All that adrenaline rush I suppose.

xiaoyun
agree, slow process in wt loss is better and easier to maintain the wt too i feel. after i stop bfg and started to take medicine, my wt went up liao. sob.

Stephie
eh how come i got the email alert for your post on gain IQ but now i don't see it here on the thread?

bx
agree with stephie that the theory isn't entirely true, esp in early stages, but in later stages it tends to be true maybe 80% or more of the time! also i think if by 5 months the mother is very rounded, and still dunno the sex of the baby, it's likely it's a girl, haha.
my first trimester i was quite bloated and tummy was quite big quite fast, thought i would be having a girl! but alas.. hahah..

bkk
congrats again! what an interesting (and very entertaining!) birth story. rest well yah

tong,
still on till 25th but most children books are wiped out... can still go down to see if you have time...there are still quite a bit of novels. i bought around 3 usborne boardbooks, usual price around 15-18 dol so i feel v worth it

xy,
good that C has benefited from the CC that she is attending. yeah, now i regret not travelling initially when i got married.

bkk,
nice and detailed birth story! you seem to be more in control and calm
saw sarah mae's pic in fb... she's very alert... small little bundle... congrats again !

Jeannie
Love that postcard pic of G there! She looks so grown up
You very farnee lah - miss going to hospital to give birth. Actually I felt very apprehensive gg to hospital bcos I know what will come next, how they set the plug, insert catheter, epidural injection...*shudders* first time blur blur just go along with no expectations. second time more scared but also know my "rights" e.g. insist no CTG after first 30 mins, no VE by housemen.

bkkgal, congrats again! Haha, reading your birth story, 430-6am sounds so familiar. I also dragged for 2-3 hrs when contractions started, waited until ILs can come over to bring RaeAnne to school before I left for the hospital. Got epi quite last minute too, my contractions in the car were already 5mins apart and bad. I was shivering from the pain the whole way but had to wait for the anaesthesists to come back from lunch. Faint! Only enjoyed a few hrs of pain free labour this time. :p

Hi Pauline

need to ask you...rustic nirvana has this bb club where they give u something when deliver right? I think I signed up but can't rem what is the number to call? Do u hv the number? Wat did they give huh?

bx,
but last time you had quite a fast labor process and without epi right... so should be easier 2nd time around?

*paging for genice*

hey gal, you signed up for origins jamu massage right? can refresh my memory what is your deal ah? kum sia!!

bkkgal,

hehe.... love your writing.....so much sense of humor, even at critical moment.

Post more photos at fb.

Xiaoyun,

Do we still have cooking session with Reena?

Isobellies
SMH alerts are not consistent. I get that prob too. Sometimes get the alerts, sometimes not.

Glad u all enjoyed the account. Thot I'd better pen it down before I forget.

MPH sale sounds good. Too bad I can't go out.
Also been checking out the promos for Mamil Gold but seems like there's none for Step 3? shucks.

Newborn diapers
Anyone tried Goo.N before? There's an email promo for new members now.

tubao,
i've been too busy with my activities for the whole Jan and forgotten to contact Reena regarding the bread making session.
festive season is just around the corner, probably will arrange again after that. will inform you if our timings can match.

re: NB diapers
bkk,
i tried the GOO.N before. not bad, it's soft.
but they have increased the price quite a bit, i will source for other cheaper one next time round.

bkk...i used Goon(NB)for ruth till she was almost 6 months i think. it's a rathe rbig cutting i feel and worth it in the past. now that their prices seems to have skyrocketed. but i think most impt is to try n see. every baby different. it fit ruth well in the past. i think if u sign up, u get a free sample?

mamil gold - still buy from minimart - or from malaysia.
minimart about 39 for the big tin.

NB diaper,
i used nepia the last time round. kind of lost track of the cost per diaper already. probably will use that again cos love the urine strip lor....the only other brand that has it is pampers which is super ex!

LOL !! gar, you reminded me about urine strips !! the good ol urine strips for first time blur mummy like us to determine if it's time to change diaper or not... :p

Xy, yes they have capsule form. Powder inside.

Bkkgal just need to call the spa outlet that u signed up with n remind them. The masseur will bring the gift down on the first day of your home massage. The gift nothing much, just a few pieces of diaper samples, a few satchets of fm, and rustic nirvana trial voucher.

Hi mng!! Any mums hv good post natal massage ladies to reccommend? I can't recall who I used liao haha...so super last min I haven't booked yet!!!

re: urine indicator
i find that it changed color once bb pees, even a small amount.
changed a lot of diaper due to that.
in the end this stingy mummy didn't follow the indication. :p

pauline,
dun know if the powder inside the capsule will dissolve in water or not?
how about the taste. what if it taste powdery/awful, then better get some in liquid form?

garfield,
you not using rustic nirvana?

XY,
hehe...know what you mean. so i usually change only when the urine indicator has changed colour for at least half or 3/4 of the strip. means pee quite a lot already hehe...

i have option for home visit or spa visit. the home visit quite ley chey, and takes quite long (like 1.5 to 2 hours). may not be so convenient. so thinking should also consider those malay ladies chop chop finish in 1 hr type lor.

gar,
didn't notice that the length of the color change on the strip indicates how much urine that it has absorbed.
in the end in use my hand to weigh the diaper instead. haha..

can't contribute on the massage. i didn't hire any massage lady last time. only went out to my usual place for post natal massage after full-month.

Hi Gar - my prev massage lady quite good. But i always have body aches after her massage, she uses quite a bit of strength. keke.. if u interested i can sms u her number, she can be booked via sms as she doesn't speak much English. Its 7 sessions for $400, i just asked her yesterday. The 7 sessions should be done continuously in 1 week.

Xy the capsule version is for adults. Think gnc got a liquid form for kids but I never try before. The sweets taste best lor. ;p

gar,
my massage lady is quite good, she's gentle and nice to talk to... but she only did my massage, didn't massage baby at all and i remember some massage lady help with massaging blocked ducts... i didn't have that time so she only did body massage and then wrap. she does normal massage as well, called her few times for my mom. i think her charges is 7 session for $500, normal massage $60. let me know if you want her contact.

XY,
heee.....don't think you needed much help leh =) so lucky!

Qingling, Tute,
thanks! can SMS me or PM me your massage contacts please? i think a lot of them already full for feb so as many leads as possible will be good. hai can only blame myself for procrastinating!

Gar.. i think i paid 10 session/$678 inclusive of 2 baby massage. Then they have some free gifts as well during the promo. U have their no.?

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Jamu-Postnatal-Massage-Package.html

Currently they have ended their promo so $50 more expensive.

U may want to try another massage lady that i have also booked tentatively. Mdm Ida :94249829. She is very popular in a lot of threads and her charges are reasonable. 1 seeion/ $50 and she helps with baby massage too. Apparently she usese those charcoal dunno what to help u push ur uterus back/ help with ur stitches if u have poor stitching done. Let me try to find the reviews.

Gar - sms u le

Pauline - i went to order the sweets u recommend for H, keke. sigh, need to boost up her immunity, haven't recoever her cough n runnign nose ever since she started CC!! argg

Fairfield, the picture was actually take near the lakeside , not on the cruise.
On the cruise and cable car can see Mt Fuji clearer but very difficult to take nice pics.. too many pp. Actually it was super cold just that it wasnt cloudy so MT Fuji was visible. What was ur itinery in Hakone?

Bkk, thanks for the compliments!
BTW, i agree that ur recount of ur birth story was so detailed and interesting. Haha.. u make a good story writer.BTW, what was the thing abt CTG after 30 mins? Can u elaborate a bit more? Actually i am quite impressed u can still move so much and get down on all 4s??

BTW, i noe 1 shop in pasir ris dr 6 selling Mamil gold at $35.80 or $36.80 for 1.6 kg but i think a bit far for u. If u are interested than i go and google for the contacts.

Stephie.. i posted my itinery on my blog.. not very interesting though. :p

gar
my 2nd massage lady was quite good - she will even tell you if she thinks u dun need so many sessions. the first one was complete crap, recommended by my friend who said her massage can be quite painful, but it did nothing for me. i left my phone at home today so i don't have the number with me. argh!!!!

genice,
thanks for your info! will go and check it out agree with the rest = postcard pic for gwen! it's priceles!!

iso,
can PM me your 2nd massage lady contacts when you are free? desperate liao....going all out to find available aunties hehe. thanks!

xy,
why so zobo today?

domestic woes,
arrrrrgggghhhhh....my part time domestic help has dumped me. she has a health problem and going back home. shucks. now have a new help coming in today and i have to brief the new help all over again! so bad timing...going to bomb liao still have to handle this kind of chores. so sian

gar,
1 group of ppl i worked with encountered issue and got to delay the project. another group of ppl i worked with have higher priority projects on hand then got to postpone ours.
now i end up with no projects to do.. that's a terrible feeling. waste of time in the office, why can't they just let me go home to make my CNY cookies? :p

regarding the parttime help, yours is through agency?

xy,
no not through agency. those very expensive. a friend recommended to me. now learn my lesson - writing all the tasks and equipment to be used in spreadsheet. in case i have to change again!

bosses rather you hang around doing nothing (and they can see you) rather than let you go home!

i already in ROD mood. finished my handover, seeing gynae again this afternoon. thinking of starting ML next week, if boss don't allow then i will just work from home till i bomb.

boss says after ML my job scope will change to something else *yippee*
which means i don't need to pick up where i left off!!
which means i don't need to have "take back briefing" from colleagues covering me
which means i can COMPLETELY SWITCH OFF during ML!!!