(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

genice,
but it still took me 6 months to lose 7 kg, and 1 year to lose another 1 kg.

bkkgal,
yeh! you made it!!
that's fast.

bkk.. Congrats!!! Sarah Mae is a nice name! Cant wait to see her!

qingling.. yar bump showing... oops i think i must have ate too much.. how much did u gain for Heidi?

genice,
thanks! nope, mine is 10 days after hers =) but gynae on sunday said could be anytime, so was joking maybe i'll deliver before she does. got me worried cos i had not finished any handover at all. so have been frantically downloading stuff to my colleagues since Monday

weight gain wise, i gained 15kg for A and this time round it's 16kg. more or less the same. got to go for slimming after i close shop liao

genice - i think i gained 10kg for Heidi. but i was already heavy to start with ma. so i reach 65 that time. this time i doubt i can only reach 65, sure exceeed, cos i start off even heavier than last time.

bkk
congrats!!!!

jeannie
i'm at 23 weeks, i think so far i only gained about 3-4kg. last time i gained 13kg! and took me almost 2 years to lose 10-11 of it :S

i think someone in the june mtb thread said she put on more than 10kg already?? :0

gar.. wow.. soon soon.. so exciting!! i miss going to hospital and giving birth. Hope to do w/o epi this time round.. dunno will succumb to temptation or not.

15-16 kg is e norm.. i think i also need to join u for slimming!!

Qingling.. Aiyoh..i exceeded 75 kg the last time!!! i am not light to start with.. Now i already exceed 65 kg lor. :p.. i super jialat.. getting very hungry recently, can even polish off 2 set meals on the plane..

epi - i tink i afraid..hahha..most prob opt for pain-free again..hahahah.

genice - good appetite is good la..shed it off later. we go for exercises after..keke. now i like to eat, but i feel very uncomfy after eating, feel like puking and again burping air. maybe not much space liao, cannot eat too much.

Iso - u already look very slim the last time i saw u (1 yr ago?)!

Congrats to BKK gal!

I'll be 28 weeks end of this week. So far gained 6 kg. So think I will gain about 12 kg by the time I am due..which is my target. The last time I gained 16 kg..took me 1.5 years to shed 12 kg. So I am still net with the extra 4 kg to start with for this 2nd preggy. I try to control myself from all the ice-cream and ice-kachang..got a really sweet tooth!

Genice you are so funny..you miss going to the hospital and giving birth?

Frankly I am having cold feet..I did have a smooth delivery but the thought of going through the waiting and pushing and bfeeding and pumping woes is making me quite anxious even at this point. And then worried that we can't cope with number 1 and new baby at home. Even now, I am finding myself very stressed with my boy..who is quite defiant and whiney and seeks his independence. Dunno how to keep him in control..sigh

bkkgal
Congrats! Sarah Mae is a nice and unique name.

xiaoyun
straight after birth you did lose some of those 8kgs right?

genice
you ate gwen's share of meal on plane or they gave you extra?

sweetpea.. i miss the excitement just before giving birth and also seeing the baby for the 1st time!

Actually i am also worried abt how i am going to cope.. no CL only hubby for 1st 2 weeks.. but my ger going ccc now so i think shld be maneageable and afterall 2nd time mummies shld be easier. Dun worry!

Yar.. my ger also defiant but i think cause she is still our 1st born so everything seems 'fresh' to me even if she does something notti , sometimes can be quite entertaining.. :p. U working or staying at home? why not send ur boy to 2 hr PG so u can have some free time to do miscellaneous stuffs.

Stephie.. gwen doesnt have meals.. she only got infant food.. i actually asked for another share cause i was really hungry because i shared my portion with gwen :p

genice
which airline did you take? depending on airline, some offer proper meals even for infants while some only give infant food.

talking about weight gain - i have been stuffing myself with new year goodies every day. if i don't bomb soon, i think i will put on a few kg just these 2 weeks alone from all the pigging out!!!

i remembered right after delivery i lost about 6-7kg, then it took about 8 months to lose another 6kg. 3kg stayed with me till i conceived #2. so my weight now is about 4kg heavier than when i was about to deliver #1.

travelling with #1 is now so much easier since they can eat our food. so i just asked for more bread and biscuits for myself and shared my main course with her.

genice,
me too, no CL only hubby and mom. i think it should be ok. cos i do not expect to be treated like a queen...haha...so will DIY a lot of things also.

qingling
i'm hiding it all ;)

i think i have to slow down on the CNY goodies, too much sugar!!

jeannie, gar,
me also no CL. although got ILs and hubby at home, there will also be E and nephew (during the day). am already anticipating that i don't think we can handle! already my FIL told my parents that they can't handle the 2 tots at home. hopefully the baby will sleep A LOT.

Genice I am still working. Also not getting CL. Will have mom and hubby to help me, and my MIL can also help cook.

Travel - Have not travelled with number 1 - Dun dare to travel with him. Think no chance to bring him for holiday for a loooong time.

iso,
any plans to send E to playgroup or half day CC? are your ILs hands on type with E? that would help alot and free your time to look after #2.

with A in half day CC, we basically only need to manage #2 in the morning. A will come home about 12+ and my mom will shower her and then put her to bed till about 2.30/3pm. the challenging period will be 3pm onwards when A is awake and needs to be entertained haha....but at least half of the day will be at a manageable pace.

gar
that's the plan eventually, when we move out to our own place, which might be another 6 months, so i'm not sure whether to put him into half day CC with my nephew, or to just leave him at home until we move out then go to CC. was thinking that changing schools might be disruptive for him? or is it more disruptive to move house AND have to start school for the first time?

any thoughts mummies? we haven't really decided what to do yet..

iso,
agree that too many changes at one go for E may be very unsettling.

perhaps can identify a suitable CC that is close to your own place and let E start going there 2 or 3 months before #2 arrives?

a bit more travelling since it will not be that close to in laws but at least it removes one variable for you and E.

Actually I know nuts about CC and playgroup. What do they do there? Recently attended some hands-on workshops with my hubby and James, guess its something like a playgroup for him. He couldn't sit still, couldn't listen to the teacher's instructions, and kept wanting to do his own stuff. What do they do at the playgroup and keep them learning and occupied, yet safe and cared for?

Hi, just checking in cos looking after my no. 1 today. I fed her milk at 1255pm and tried to make her sleep in her own bed. She was a bit sleepy but still refuse to sleep. Maybe she was already sleepy but Mei Mei woke up at 130pm so I had to BF her. She just slept at 140pm in maid's arms. She was screaming in the living room, shortly after that, KO liao. Heng.

I developed a cough last night. Sian. Keep giving RaeAnne echinacea sweet cos scared she will catch the bug from me. :p

Congrats! bkkgal. I like Sarah Mae too.

Genice, yup you are right. That's the general consensus so far. Mei Mei looks more like Daddy, has less hair but is fairer than Cheh Cheh.

hehe...i got small part to play in sarah mae...cos was commenting to bkkgal's hubby that my colleague's name very nice - kara mae - can consider!

gar
hmm.. actually not a bad idea. i'm stopping work 1.5 months before EDD, so E can start at our new place (apparently will have a PCF and a CC in our estate but not open yet), then maybe during confinement month he can take a break, or if i'm up to it I can bring him to school and rest at our new place while he's there, evening everyone go back to ILs place to rest.

thanks!!!! i feel like i've had a brain wave!! :D will suggest to hubbs tonight

bkkgal,
congrats !! sarah mae sounds like a nice southern bellle name... very unique in singapore indeed !

jeannie,
v nice pic of gwen, showed it to my hb and he also say she's cute... he still remembers her trying to pose for him at pollywogs... hahaha.. lucky your trip turns out okay... now i feel like going japan! can share how much your total damage alltogether i.e. transport, meals and hotels ?

pauline,
nice comparison...
the 2 girls look alike but mei2 seems to be more plump than cheh2

sweetpea,
i have not travelled with #1 either... except to my parent's hometown and in may to my husband's hometown... so not really counted coz we are staying at home..

bkkgal:
do share Sarah mae's photo w us wor.

iso jie:
yeah, agree w garfield. the transition for him could be better?

pauline:
may you recover soon wor.

stephie, i took JAL leh.. actually i asked them whther they have kids meal on the flight back but apparently gwen was the only baby/tot on board.. so they dun have kids meal. Then very funny, one of the air stewardess says since gwen not taking her share then i can have one more! I also blur.Actually they definitely have spare meals left so i thick skin just ask lor.. i already "lugi" cannot drink the wine already..hehe..

My cousin is working at JAL so thot can take her flight but she wasnt onboard, she told her colleague to take care of us.. they very nice kept offering biscuits/bread/drawing materials and lotsa toys to entertain gwen. Gwen was very talkative and kept singing.. irritating a lot of pp who are already sleeping.:p

Tute.. thanks for the compliments..have trained Gwen to pose already..
. In total, i think we spent close to $4.8 k for everything inclusive 6 nights citadines stay, Jal flight,Hakone free pass, disneyland plus food( Ave Meal abt $20-25 for both pax except once we had an expensive dinner cost abt $150), bought 5 Phiten Necklaces ( for parents and myself) and lotsa food stuffs. Din buy clothes except some on sale item from MUji and a winter jacket for myself.Was trying to keep everything on budget in the end still bust by $800.Erm.. $4.8 k expensive??

Pauline.. take care k.. be careful not to spread to the gers else very troublesome..

gar.. wow..got any nice names for boys or not??

bkkgal,
Congrats! Nice name and good weight!

---weight
I got 4 kg with me from last pregnancy. still keep most of pre-pregnancy clothes with some hope.

Tubao..me also initially kept all my S size pre-preggy clothes. Ocassionally I took them out to try and see if I can fit. But each time end up disappointed..then I will discard away a few pieces to be given away. So now left with maybe half which I *hope* I can fit in again after number 2. That's why this time I really try to control what I eat..dun want the same frustration of looking into the mirror and seeing the flabby tummy and arms again.

jass
yah, hope so! :D

weight
i've given up on pre-pregnancy clothes. i think the hips will never go back, and a lot of old tops all seem so tiny!

jeannie,
doesn't sound expensive to me, coz i thought gg to japan need to spend like 5 digit number hahaha... :p now i feel more tempted to go... but C still not eating rice so v diff to go, off course i can cook over there but i think my itirenary need to accomodate that.

re pregnancy weight,
i lost more than waht i gain actually, thanks to breastfeeding. but after i stop bf, the fats has seem to pile on again

tute.. if he doesnt like to eat rice.. IMO it may be a problem unless u want to feed him cereal/bread/milk most of the time. Gwen doesnt take bread at all so we cant even feed her that and she is rather choosy when it comes to biscuits, only like certain kind. Of coz, junk food like potato chips/french fries always work on her.

She took some rice ( she doesnt take their soba or ramen also) for most of our meals but she din eat much also.Cause the japanese rice are too sticky and they dun have gravy except for curry which she doesnt take. It was quite difficult to feed her. In fact i suspect, she is hungry most of the time.. :p cause sometimes while we are eating she fell asleep so she din eat,she relies on her 3 milk feeds plus 1 cereal/day plus some rice plus sweets/chocolates/junk food to survive. we were quite lenient abt the junk food cause i rather let her eat fries then she go hungry. We also ran out of milk powder. In the end have to substitute with 2 feeds of fresh milk.

She likes the katsu don though cause they have egg and some gravy. But we cant be eating that all the time.

Wah. 5 digit har.. thats a lot leh maebe if u go hokkaido at the same time, very gd if u have bigger budget can spend more..

qingling.. har.. really har.. i dunno abt all these things one.. how to cook dried scallops?

Re: lockers

XY and Pauline.. wanted to say this but forgot.. u all very smart to use the lockers.. i was wondering who uses it.
But i got stroller so just hand everything on it.

Re: Japanese

Not sure whether u all will agree but honestly speaking i feel that singaporeans give up seats more readily than Japanese. In the subway, all the Japanese are in their own world , they see that u r pregnant or carrying a kid they also pretend not to see. I feel that they only do a lotof greetings but actions wise.. erm.. i think singaporeans might be more gracious.Just my personal take.

genice - i cook dried scallop porridge for H in Jap..haha.. eh, just soak until soft, chop fine, then add in porridge

i even go and buy fresh scallop sashmi and their raw fish (from isetan basement) and cook for H in japan..haha

jeannie,
ruth eats scallops almost everyday. dried ones put in her porridge. makes porridge very sweet and flavourful.

ruth is big fan of oyako don. sometimse what we do is order that, but order another fish and substitute the chicken for the fish. She'll eat udon and ramen too..but ramen not too much as it's stringy and hard to chew. She very lazy one.
Udon also not much cuz can get quite 'gelat'.

SO in the end best is rice. She'll also eat sushi - but not the raw fish n etc lah. So i reckon it's really the way the rice is that captivates her appetite. I must go learn to cook jap rice man.....or else always go sushi tei will go broke....

lezy,
have not tried giving him japanese rice... maybe i should brave and go to japanese rest one fine lunch/dinner and offer him the rice. he still has problem chewing big amount of rice, and he will end up throwing it up... btw, jap rice has its own special type of rice right which you can buy...

jeannie,
not that i got big budget, just that everytime i mention japan people will say expensive so that's why i thought it will be 5 digit :p

i think if C is very hungry he will take bread and cereals he eats as snacks e.g. milo, fruit loops, honey stars...

tute
i also had the impression that it's very ex to go japan. that's why i didn't go japan my whole life till end last year. i think can compare the cost of food and transport with place like london. now regret why i never go japan when i was young.

jeannie
i took JAL too. They did give shawn proper meal. think need to request when making reservation else they think that infant = infant food. SQ gave shawn kids meal (that comes with lunch box) when they had extra without us requesting.

not bad leh, you got special attention while on flight. how much was your airticket may i know? gwen's?

$4.8k sounds ok. my fren who went japan f&e for 8D (minus departure date and arrival date) spent abt $2.5k on everything. she didn't shop much though.

qingling
any specific stall to buy the dried scallop at ueno? or all stalls are selling at competitive prices? my mum will be interested in getting dried scallop.

re: weight gain
for #1, i put on 10kg+. managed to shed off in 6 months or less.

for #2, gained about 5-6 kg already at 24 wks. this time sure exceed the 10kg. sigh...

genice, i have been feeling hungry too...

re: tummy shape
is it true that carry bb boy will have sharp tummy? mine is quite round and my colleague commented that mine may be a gal instead.

re: japanese food for kids
shawn took ramen when in japan and he liked it. otherwise, feed him japanese rice drenched with miso soup.

jeannie
stroller, though leceh to bring overseas, comes in very useful when we do shopping. keke. i also use stroller to hang shopping bags, etc. very useful tool i must say. so in a way, there's incentive to bring stroller along for holidays :p

bx
i think the shape theory is not entirely true. the so called symptons to tell whether you are having girl or boy have never been 100% accurate. detailed scan would be more reliable imo.