(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx
i remember there was a stage where my girl dropped more hair than usual. think she was less than 1 year old then. not sure about the cause.

sometimes shawn doesn't sleep well too. he'll toss and turn in his sleep. sometimes wake up crying and i had to carry him to put him back to sleep. he also just want me to slep with him on the mattress. refuse daddy too. i usually sneak away after he had fallen asleep. in middle of the night, he may wake up looking for me (happened a few times) if i don't sleep beside him. sometimes i sleep on a bed in the same room as him and he thought i wasn't in the room. shawn is not used to sleeping with me n hubby on our bed. so i sleeps with him everyday in the kids' room.

re: braces
iso,
that's why i am asking you for a 2nd opinion. :p
thanks your help for checking it out.

re: dentist
reena/garfield,
i went to the one at Haig Road, Dr. Siva.
Corporate Dental Clinic (Haig Rd) Pte Ltd
36 Haig Rd
Singapore 438740

not sure good or not. at least i find that the dentist and the nurse is friendly enough, charges not too expensive.
most importantly, the dentist is not those 'yayapapaya' kind. :p

gar,
very near your place!
C is not very cooperative. refused to open her mouth. then let her see me do cleaning and scaling. only open the mouth and smile when we ask her to say bye bye to doctor and nurses. this is the time that the dentist able to see her mouth.

reena,
DD3 teeth chipped? will it affect latching?
think you need to start physcho her about open mouth for dentist, otherwise hard to get the teeth repaired.

re: isetan promotion
stephie,
thanks for the info.
but i dun think i've time to go down isetan by 29 Jan.

clover
yah, she got it from her son but she got it worse! and it sounds like it was really bad...

kitsune
oh ok, i didn't know they can tell based on that, intersting to know

XY
haha i think it's better to get a good consultation as each case will vary

bx,
A's hair used to drop - PD says could be due to the shampoo, either too strong or we are washing too often. so we changed brand and reduced frequency. now her hair loss is less.

re waking up at night - A also does that recently, can be very restless, toss and turn or sit up and whine, need to pat her back to sleep. i think it could be due to their over-active minds cos now in a development spurt.

XY,
yes v v near! walking distance! hehe...my PD's name is also Dr. Siva! C very kuai liao....mine won't even stay still in the chair, don't even talk about opening mouth haha

Doraemon lucky charm,
just agreed to pay $8 to buy a dog doraemon to complete my collection. anyone else also collecting?

doraemon..

i never collect. just bought 2 monkeys cuz happen to see it. too lazy to collect. still dunno what to do with my hello kitty from years ago when i first collected it (with a lot of difficulty)

hah.

lezy,
actually i'm an "accidental" collector also. happen to order mcdelivery online and didn't realize that they had checked the boxes to purchase the doraemon by default! so when the meal arrived with the charms, A took to it immediately!!!! and the doting father decided to collect for her lor...

re: waking up at night

mine did that last week for 3 days. woke up and cried. took 1 hour plus to get back to sleep. He was teething , the last big molars. Already saw the molar cutting out, so it was due to teething.

<font color="ff0000">Kueh Lapis - 3 more slots left!</font>

Thanks mummies for your orders. Only 3 more slots left! Cos ordering in multiples of 9 (for the small lapis) and multiples of 4 (for the large ones).

If there is additional demand from office / feb moms will consider accepting more orders.

Pls PM me for details!

garfield, my hb's not cute. He made me roll my eyes till the back of my sockets.

Iso, hfmd quite similar to chicken pox... So adults hv it worse.

clover:
o dear, hope your child and hb can recover soon.

re: waking up @ night
matt also does that to check that we are around. he will come to my side of the bed and ask to be carried to zzz between my hubby and I.

reena:
poor DD3, is the chip bad?

Gar, oh dear, looks like I better go and buy Macdonalds soon. Went to Rivervale Mall last Sat and had Mac, don't know why hubby forgot to buy the Doraemon toys. :p

garfield,
C doesn't sit on the chair. she huged hb like a koala bear.
so the checking is without the extremely bright light.

re: doraemon
i didn't collect the doraemon too although hb suggested that we may consider to collect it.
got a doraemon toy came with the happy meal some time back for C. the one with some mechanics and got wing to flip flip flip kind.
C played a few days, pulled out the wings. now it is sitting on the TV liao.
my conclusion is - no need to buy any collective item for her. she won't appreciate. :p

re: NAN Pro 3
just to share, there's recently a new packaging of Nestle NAN Pro 3. 3 x 650g aluminum packet in paper box, selling price $56.10.
Comparing with the metal tin, it's cheaper by 7-8%.
It's available at Giant Vivo now. I can't find it at NTUC yet.

for metal tin version, the cheapest i found is $25.40 at the mini market near market Blk 632 Bedok Reservoir Road.

re: promotion
Currently Giant giving out $20 voucher for every $200 spend using Citibank Credit Card. Promotion till 14 Feb.

talking about formula milk, price of gain IQ is going to increase/has increased liao due to introduction of new formula - 1.8kg tin increase by abt $6.

then i realised while in supermarket that price of nestle/dumex is 50% cheaper than gain/enfa. what a great difference.

stephie,
i thought Gain is similar price than Nestle?
How much is a 900g tin of Gain now? what's in for the new formula?

Enfa is super ex. about $8 more than Nestle.
Dumex is a little cheaper.

i am considering to get a 2nd hand car because of my rusty driving/parking skill.
does anyone bought a 2nd hand car before and can share your experience? good or bad?

xiaoyun
for gain iq - 1.8kg is about $54.60; 900g is about $28.45 (before increase in price)

i also not sure what's new in the formula. only know they always introduce new ingredient and take opportunity to increase price loh. lol.

enfa is now the most ex. with gain increasing the price (i saw new packaging in store already), it became more ex than enfa.

re: car
i don't know much about car. but do hear pple say that it's not worth getting 2nd hand as new car is not that ex. probably with increase in COE recently, it's ok to consider 2nd hand car now.

re: formula
stephie,
they have got to 'upgrade' their formula frequently to stay competitive and earn more $.
i remember the Enfa has like 4x the DHA/AA than other brands.

read some article, we can replace some milk with skim milk after the kid turn 2 years old.
wondering if I should do that too.

guys say it's not worth it as the maintenance for a 2nd hand car is higher after certain number of years.
that's why they like to change car every 3-5 years. this also means that the car loan got to be renewed every few years right?
how about i drive the car back to malaysia for servicing?
furthermore, i dun want to risk to scratch or knock here and there a new car given my lousy skill. driving a 2nd hand one will be less stressful and heartpain for me then. :p

XY, my car is Toyota Vios more than 3 years liao but hubby don't intend to change cos don't want to take new car loan. Car fully paid up in 2007. Now I ask him to be very careful also cos no more warranty. I guess it's the same bah in that sense. Old car or new car, if got knocks and scratches, still need to repair if driver's skill is no good. We scratched the front of the car while parking at compasspoint 2 months ago. Until now, also never repair, cos don't want to spend hundreds of $. Sometimes, after patch up, knock again, then must pay again. :p

XY,
My personal take (even though i drive a first-hand) is that you bear LESS depreciation if you buy second hand.

Regardless of what make/model you are eyeing, the depreciation in the first 2 years is usually nearing 10k a year. This means you lose money in terms of value of the car when you want to sell off the car (cuz come one, who are we kidding..nobody drives a car to its death anymore...)

The maintenance issue is very heng1-sway1. I have been very active in car forums previously and well, a bunch of us owning the SAME car, SAME make/model/production batch, will all have DIFFERENT experience with the car.

Some more problematic, some no problem. So even if first hand, got problem, other than certain things (which their maintenance contract will cover in so fine and technical print you won't understand), you still have to pay for other fees/parts. Worse is when you lose sleep/time/workhours trying to send car in for maintenance, fight for your 'rights' for free repairs etc. Can be very mentally/emotionally exhausting.

That, of couse, is the extreme lah.

Usually, like all other things we buy, we just hope we pay and dun have to worry about the item malfunctioning lor.

I"m all for second hand car.

THere are many good workshops in Malaysia - even in JB. I"ve been to some in Skudai area as well. Usually following friends cuz my car normally still under warranty (my family is quite anti-second hand cuz they feel warranty makes repairs very convenient). Servicing there definitely cheaper.

And as Stephie pointed out, now COE going up, second hand car will be more wise. Plus you dun wanna 'heartache', much better to have second hand car.

xy,
we got a 2nd hand car last year, it was already 1.5 yrs and mileage still quite low (in fact most 2nd hand cars in sg the mileage are relatively low unless the owner drives it to malaysia a lot). IMHO, it's quite worth it to get a 2nd hand car especially if you can get a 3yr old car as i heard from my friend the car's depreciation value is at the highest for the first 3 yrs. another friend bought 3 yr old mazda 6 for only 30k plus. for me the difference to buy new and 2nd hand at that time was almost 30k, plus the COE was much lower and i had a limited budget (was not willing to spend a lot on a car due to depreciating value) hence i went for 2nd hand... i think you have to see the market first... go around and see, do test drive from authorised distributors... once you know roughly the model you are looking for, then start looking at 2nd hand market... can take a look at sgcarmart, and then you can go down to their ubi showroom (near your place right?) and check out the conditions yourself. You should also get the car check by STA and they will be able to grade the car for you. Try to look for A grade cars as this would mean that the car has not gotten to any accident, condition is very good... no parts has been changed etc etc.

pauline,
ur hb is an extinct species - in a good way.

male drivers around me are those who change phone, PC/laptop, camera very frequently kind.
they have got their excuses to change their cars too. what OMV, PAR value.. all so difficult to understand.
what i can only see that is, their car loan is like forever. and they say it's worth it! >.<

that's why i am asking mummies here on what do you think about getting a 2nd hand car. I know myself very very well, sure got knocks and scratches if i were to drive.
so, it's only the maintenance cost when the car is out of warranty after 3 years?

actually most time..even if u dun bang ppl or knock ppl car, u will kana also cuz a lot of ppl just open door without thinking and cause a lot of dings on your car door.

lezy,
thanks for your affirmation on a 2nd hand car.
i came from a family where my dad never drive a new car till he's about 65 yo. so, 2nd hand car is nothing new to me.
i witnessed that 15-20 year old car can still be driven except that it requires a major overhaul once every 1 or 2 years. and his current 7-8 yo Proton is still working fine except that it is not as powerful as before.
hence, i wonder how bad a 3-4 yo Japanese car will need for maintenance. i don't have to worry too much on the maintenance as i can just dump my car to the garage for servicing when i go back home for holiday, right?

tute,
that's good to hear your good experience on a 2nd hand car and thanks for the tips on where to get it and how to choose it.
i've not been to any showroom yet. but i am interested in Hyundai Avante or Toyota Sienta. know nuts about car, not sure how much i will appreciate if i go for a test drive. :p
Since Hyundai Avante is still a new model, i doubt i can find a 3 yo 2nd hand.
nvm, i only need the car after my ML end of this year. still got time to look around.

i oso say go for 2nd hand car.

there are good deals around - like my expat colleague owned a honda jazz for 1.5 years with super low mileage (drive from office to home at orchard only). sold for $32K super dirt cheap.

impt thing is to understand profile of the driver, look at mileage etc.....cos like certain cars i don't recommend buying 2nd hand (eg. those know for speed like Golf GTI cos the driver would have obviously abused the engine quite a bit)

if you wanna buy new, then should be prepared to drive till 10 years. mine is coming to 5 years and we intend to keep it =)

i just got my dog doraemon....collection COMPLETE

pauline,
i think the doraemon charms are all OOS - they've taken down the entire disply liao...

XY,
hmm...i'd suggest you go showroom, sit in the car, look around the car, get used to the ergonomics. Eg..

If you close the door, can u reach the door pocket where ppl normally put coupons? I once sat in a car which after u close door, cannot reach that pocket cuz the seat is blocking. i thought that was stupid.

can u reach radio dial comfortably?

when u sit in the driver's seat and adjust, are all the angles of the car visible?

Are you comfortable with the viewing range?

Do the A/B/C/D 'pillars' obstruct your view significantly? (the 4 sides of the car that 'hold' the roof)

Also, this one abit hard...but i once sat in another car, when it rained, the noise from the roof was SO DEAFENING!!!! It was crazy.

ALl the above sounds quite bimbo lah...but if u r gonna pay for it, drive it and like it, may as well feel comfortable in it.

WE are all 'built' differently, so sometimes certain cars are just way too badly built for each of us.

Just my kaypoh 2 cents.

I also drove a car that's my age last time. I LOVED IT! Really regret getting rid of it. sigh.

BTW,

ANYBODY DRANK <font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">HORSE BRAND CHICKEN ESSENCE</font></font> before???

Is it same taste as BRAND'S?

lezy,
good suggestion actually. i think for me most importantly is that the seat got to be quite high because of my small build.
too ambitious to aim for a MPV. later ppl can't see the driver while i am driving. haha..

actually i am quite sad to join the driver club. i am enjoying my trip with chauffeur now..
no choice as we are going to have 2 small one to take care. no car will be very difficult.

bimbo is, front passenger's side should preferably have a mirror. that's my criteria! LOL.

our last car was 2nd hand, we got it for a super good deal, and when we sold it we didn't lose much. the car before that my hubby had for like 5 years, after a while got a lot of scratches we bump a bit also dun care (also good cos it's manual, so i'm much less confident!).

XY
i think it's good that u learn to drive, less stress for your hubby!

iso
then it's time for me to do refresher. got my licence more than 10 years ago and had not drove more than 1 week's worth of time. skills rust until cannot rust anymore. keke. :p

heng, the licence now is paid for life kind, else every year renew, paying $ for nothing.

stephie,
*hi5* i got my license in 1996. 12 years liao.
last time wanted to drive but my dad very nervous. in the end gave up.
now feel so bad that my dad/sis/bro still got to chauffeur me around whenever i go back.
still renew my license in malaysia $30 per year leh.
lucky singapore one is now lifetime. otherwise i pay double leh. :p

xy, yah it's definitely better to get 2nd hand car. the moment u start yr new car engine, it loses 20% of its value, not to mention new car will need more TLC, coz its more heart pain to see the car keyed n dented. can look out for common models for more comparisons. if we ever need a bigger car, it will be 2nd hand mpv for us.

xy,
we got a 2nd hand small mpv actually because we don't want to end up upgrading after a few years time if we were to have >1 child. if you aim to get smaller mpvs i think should be fine, built wise
i don't feel they are big and can still reach everything maybe because i'm used to driving big mpvs in indon... i think picking up driving is like riding bycycle, quite easy to pick up again... just recently got my license (in dec) and the last time i drove was before i had C... no problem picking up
try driving around the parking lot first...

XY, ya, my hubby is definitely no techie. Even I can't stand the hp that he is using. So basic and the camera sucks. Even my CL's HP is better model than his. But bo bian, he only wants basic phones. No camera also ok lor. :p

Stephie, hi^! Me too, my driving license is collecting dust cos I hardly drive. Lousy skills so after tricking hubby to buy the car in 2006, I left all the driving to him. Haha.

Gar, aiyoh, so sad. I wanted the cow doraemon for Raelynn leh. Now got to see if my hk friend can help me get or not liao? :p

xy,
okie will keep a look out for any expat colleagues relocating home!

re driving,
i oso don't like to drive. prefer to be chaffeur driven. driving on singapore roads is v stressful....everyone is so impatient and don't give way!

pauline,
don't be sad. can try the WTS/WTB threads to find one for raelynn. some sellers are quite reasonable only ask for $4.

xiaoyun/pauline
^5 back. actually, i didn't drive cos i'm afraid to drive. wonder how on earth i passed the driving test :p. took up driving cos driving instructor's my father.

if i drive, will sure kana bully and sure labelled by pple as road hogger. keke.

<font color="ff0000">Kueh Lapis - No more slots left</font>

Managed to fill up all 27 slots for the small lapis. If any mums still interested please PM me. I'll see if I can gather another batch of orders.

good morning mummies,
good start of the day for me with less sneeze.

otherwise will need to take mc again..

we have sort of decided to get a WISH.
when do you think it's a good time to get it? before/during/after my maternity leave?

re: enrichment class
just had a chat with my friend on the enrichment class.
no. i am not going to sign C up for anymore.
i am just curious about the review of GUG.

she has got a bad opinion about GUG, e.g., inexperienced teachers, dirty environment/toys.
what do you all think about it?

so far i attended LNT and positivetots trial classes, and i find that they are pretty good.
curious to find out if it's my friend's expectation too high or GUG is really that bad?

tute
i think driving is like riding a bicycle too! just need to practice a bit then can liao.
i love to drive (now that i don't have to drive a manual car) because i can go anywhere, do anything!

gar
wow, what good business!! i lurve kueh lapis but i lazy to meet up to get it, hahah. unless u dropping anymore off for tongtong (near my office too) let me know. heh.

tute/iso,
driving like riding a bicycle. die liao. i lousy in riding a bicycle.
start learning it since secondary school time and still very clumsy in riding. panic when anything come near me.

dear drivers, please beware. a dangerous driver is coming your way! lol.