(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Garfield, wah you coughed for so long!! Do you cough in the day ? Can you check with you gynae whether you can take licorice tea. Its super effective to cure cough.

hi genice, if u hv to order e bks today, dun wait for me. I'm v tired coz my son not well. At 1st tot its side effects fr mmr now i think he might hv hfmd. Haizzz

crystal and other mummies who had travelled without your kids,
i wonder when i can let go and travel without my kids. hubby will be #1 person to rejoice if i ever do that. haha.

crystal, enjoy your holidays. i m looking forward to mine.

genice
when are you going to japan? how many days and which perfectures? how much is your airtickets and hotel?

fairfield
congrats on having #2! your menses still not back since giving birth to #1 hence you didn't know you are preggy all along? when did you go tokyo? i heard of lots of pple saying about how troublesome it's to take train with kids/strollers as there are no lift/escalator. wonder how the disabled travel in japan then.

reena
shall try the almond crisp (or like you hv suggested, substitute almond with other stuff) one day. will follow your 20g of sugar too cos i don't like sweet stuff either. can't imagine how economical it is to make the crisp and outside is selling so ex.

hehe....
Maid issues.

2 cents' experience.

For work helper has interest---cooking for my helper, I will praise her at good job. When she sometimes doubt whether she will waste resource in failing new dishes , I will ensure her "no worries, sir will finish all rubbish..haha...".

For work helper doesn't enjoy---cleaning for my helper, I will either do on my own or remind her once a while. Guess that she knows her own likings & dislikings.

Food is shared. At weekends when we had fruits with my girl, I will ask my girl to give some to helper first. My girl says all kinds of excuses of not doing that----"auntie is busy..." "auntie is full"...don't know she so young can think of so many reasons?

I will insist, thinking if she doesn't know sharing at home, especially with helper as having 1/4 responsibility at caregiving at weekdays, it's no point to teach her share with strangers.

When we rely too much on helper, I will suggest off, or gives free time-off, to let us slow down &do houseworks appreciately.

When helper and I see other maids play with hp at playground, I asked what she think about this, she said that she won't have this, reason 1 is to save $; reason 2 is that she tries to do best work as she can.

Well, anything I observe or anything she asks me for opinion, I ask whether she can think more, more for goodness of my family---such as save washing powder, food, more for better quality of work---such as nicer dishes.

Last time I feel that floors is very sticky, I keep quiet for 3 weeks, observe that she only mopped floor once with washing power, never cleaned 2nd time with water.

Well, I never mopped floor after married, hubby did that job. Then I asked my colleague which is better/economical way&mop to clean floor. Then I mentioned her why floor is sticky and which way she did, she answered her way. After I told her all solutions my colleagues mentioned, she said " I also thought for a while , for how to improve that.". ^_^

Hehe....overall, my family(ILs, hubby and I) are very appreciated at her help, and feel very lucky that she contributes so much to improve our quality of life.

tubao,
you have a very posititve mindset!
me also grateful for my helper who has been very patient with C but at the same time can't help but feel that i'm competing with her esp when parents starts to compare how my son can eat well with her and with me he'll be less cooperative...

gar,
if bugis then i can go there during lunch hour
can let me know how much it is? thanks !!

sale alert !
mph raffles city having renovation sale so all books are at 30% off... quite worth it but most of the boardbooks are gone now
so i only bought 2 but there are a lot of dr. seuss books (paperback) or usborne books

tubao
so nice to hear that you and your maid get along so well! just curious where is she from?

tute
you are FTWM right? i think it is difficult for us to relinquish some control to others (be it maids or ILs or other caregivers), but at the same time i think that we should also rejoice when they can do a good job, so we can go to work without worrying. we don't spend as much time with them as we would like to, so sometimes it's discouraging if they are difficult or misbehave. but at the end of the day, we're still their mummies and they know it, right?

tute:
me too... i give up feeding him already. Well, our kids sure know who they can bully.

sales alert:
saw this staff offer - anyone interested to get Singapore Flyer ticket at $ 15.00 nett. This is an open-dated ticket valid for 3 months.

gar,
good to rest at home. you are too stressed up over work?
i feel rest is the best cure for most of the problems.

yup. i think the CC is very worth it. it's spacious and clean inside. but outside is not so good as it's in the industrial park.
first impression is not good cos of the environment. but thinking that since the kids are inside the CC whole day, shouldn't let the heavy vehicles bother me that much.
we scared that they will raise fees in few months time like what the other CC do. hence, we pay 1 year fee in 1 shot to lock in the school fee. kiasu parents. :p

i guess if the #1 likes the environment and well taken care of, we will still be sending #2 to the same CC doesn't matter how much for the school fee liao. $ can still be earned. but going through the whole process of changing CC, adapting to the environment, working with the teachers there is too much thing to worry about when need to handle 2 kids at 1 time.
if the CC is still good after a year, #2 will definitely be sent there for us. Then 2 of them can go to school together.

i put clover and cinnamon in the pineapple fillings i made too.

for cough, i find the most effective is still the TCM as they will diagnose it to be different kinds of cough and prescribe with different medicines.
you may want to try if you really desperate for a solution.

tubao,
the chemistry between you and your helper is really good.
i don't think i will have the patience to talk to the helper so much. and i don't think i have the patience to teach too.
so for me, maid is a no-no solution. :p

ask you, do you ask the teachers to put sunblock for your kid during outdoor play?
my gal will go outdoor everyday for 1/2 hr. and i can see that she's getting tan.

iso,
tots can't tahan TCM loh. the taste is really yucky.
probably following the remedy recommended by tong, reena - the chuan bei mu, pear soup etc.

another question,
i noticed some discoloration of C's upper right front tooth. the tooth appears to be more transparent and with some hint of grey color inside.
checked the outside and inside with naked eye, didn't see any chip off of decay.
however, i am still worry of tooth decay for her.

i did brush her teeth everyday evening and let her drink water to rinse her mouth after milk feed (when i am around, but my mil and childcare centre didn't do so).
do you think it's early sign of tooth decay?
going to make an appointment for dental visit. but afraid that she will not coorporate with the dentist.

tute,

Hehe.... Luckily mama is forever. Helper is for 2 years.

Iso,
From Indonesia.

Xiaoyun,
Hehe....I don't know how to teach, but learns to know how to appreciate.

Glad that you find good CC. E also got much suntan, don't know how, must ask facial expert here.

xiaoyun
isetan having sale for a neoflam pan (24cm pan selling at $25, UP$59 - non induction type). not sure if it's a good buy. but since i hv some vchrs which are gg to expire soon, i bgt one. hubby say we seldom cook so i'm going to give to my mum.

the price of carrie's CCC is very attractive. good deal you have.

tong, confirmed it's hfmd. My fren's kid also got it n looking bk the timeline, it's our outing to jacob ballas last fri. Now looks like my hb is affected too. Haizzz.

iso,
She says their stuff are relatively ex stuff and if maid continues to eat like this, they will go bankrupt so she can only afford to buy cheapo brands for her, unless maid is willing to pay more ex stuff herself.

genice,
Not all CCC has Scholastics offer. DD1's first CCC don't have, only 2nd one have.

bkk,
My gynae also helped to stretch the membrane to speed up dilation. Like you, I was only dilated for 1 - 1.5cm, I delivered 3 days later. But she only did it for DD1.

XY,
Parents can't join the excursion but I still excited lor.. As long as there's excursion, I sure sign up for them :p

True that taking cabs daily may be cheaper than school bus. My sis's twins used to take school bus until P5/6, they took cab to school.

iso,
Your gynae is right, 3cm dilation can take another week to deliver cos the dilation process may not be fast. It all depends on how ripen your cervix is.

For those already full term and want to deliver earlier, besides walking alot, sexual intercourse helps to ripen the cervix too ;)

Esther,
With maids, better to be safe than sorry. Good to be strict with her now cos once you give her the privilege, it is difficult to take it back.

stephie,
Yalor... so ex to buy the almond crisps outside and it's such cheapo ingredients! Let me know how it turn out for you when you make it.

tubao,
I think you've got a good helper.

Singapore Flyer,
We went, nothing fantastic. Not worth if pay full price.

xy,
My gf's toddler has some brown teeth staining, PD says it's ok. You may want to check with your doc first before fixing a dental appt.

esther,
the theory not true for me too.
everyone says Channet is a mirror image of her daddy, but my #2 is a girl too.
oven: best wall mounted type as it is big enough to have even temperature in it during baking.
I'm looking for one tt can bake as well as steam food.

XY,
ya. back in the east again after 2 weeks. those playgroup nearby my parent place r full with full waiting list. only hv better chance to go for nursery. very ks right? I'm suprised CC so hot?
even Pat arena is full.
I check with my friend, she said her colleague already confirmed her son K1 when her son was only 9month old.

No more west to east thingy. will stay east.The rest let hubby take care. like this i can b more relax.

Tute sorry woke up late n too late to cook lunch so hubby suggested going to sengkang to get lunch. ok to pick up the cream from u or your parents later? Can I have your unit no. ? I dun have your hp no, can u email to me at [email protected]?can dome kind mummy share tute's contact with me?

Reena,

Hehe.... yah.....she's good.
so don't care about my posts about relationship with her. She will be a good helper in most families.

Yah...the skills she'd like to learn from me, such as claypot chicken rice, chinese buns, she can learn it in a day' time. But the skills she embraces, I need to learn at least 3 month.

I even learn her way of folding underwear, and video taped for record, afraid of forgetting these skills, due to lack of practice. ^_^

Xiaoyun,
Yah...hehe.....just felt what you tries to say.

Hehe....I also feel quite headache about people communication. Normally friends & colleagues laugh at me and hubby of being too quiet.

At weekdays, after work, I am normally dead beat. And I need to talk with my parents on phone daily after dinner , to ensure them that each day is fantastic.

So I don't normally talk at home at weekdays. Guess maybe no words at all for MIL, 2 "thank you" for helper when she passed and collected my plate.

On Friday night, I talk a lot alot with hubby as couple time.

On Sat morning, I talk some with MIL before she went back ILs' house.

On Sat afternoon, helper chatted with me on teaching me cooking.

On Sun morning/night, I will keep quiet again.

On Sun afternoon, my hubby either hide at room or went back to work, so I can spend time alone with my girl. That's the only time I can observe and teach E some skills.

Well, MIL &helper are now used to our way. Sometimes when they tries to chat with me, I will just pick up a book , and go to another room.

For E, we hope to be chatty, and happy, more like a clown, at any time.

Don't think I am verbally challenged . And as my Big big boss told me that he can feel improvement/enjoyment when he does technical, bit by bit with his efforts; but for people communication, sometimes efforts just go nowhere.

Ql, pats schedule sounds gd!The kids have their BF quite early. For G's CCC, their BF is only at abt 9-930. Btw, what do they do during freeplay?

Bkkgal.. st James church not confirmed .. they told all waiting lists will only be confirmed after March?? So u still intend to send K to St james or probably stay at Pats? Btw which Pat did u send K to?I think i will c how things go.. "walk 1 step, c 1 step" :p... thinking of registering #2 at st james onces he is borned ( No choice, better to be KS than worry abt no vacancies.. the principal of st james tole me pp register within 1 week of the their kids delivery!!) But st james will be shifting soon so need to find out where they will be shifting.. i will probably shift in 3 yrs time too... Hopefully..

Re:Books

Dear mummies, i have placed orders. Took orders from
1) lezy
2) Iso
3) jass
4) Goodbaby
5) Diana
6) Myself

I hoped i dn miss out anyone.

Garfield.. its ok.. clear ur shelves first!!

Clover.. i hope A is recovering from HFMD, must be painful for him especially in the mouth area.

Reena.. oops i dunno.. its my 1st time receiving it so i thot like pri sch those std distributor list.

Re:photo
QL, u and Heidi look alike lah! I so envious that u all have nice toddlers pics. I looked like a boy when i was young ( hair super short and very dark, dun even dare to post my pics...

Tubao.. E still looked after by nanny or by ur mil and helper during daytime?

Blueginger.. C is very smart!! can remember the names of the instruments.

Re: Japan trip

Stephie.. i only going Tokyo.. i think i will take a long time to walk ard with a fussy tot on hand.. wonder how to settle her food. What did u feed Shawn?I just saw the pic of shawn and Cherylin sleeping on the plane.. haha.. so cute...I think i will have to caryy her for her to sleep well.

Fairfield.. how was ur tokyo trip? where did u go.. was it very cold? How u settle the food for S?

Gar/ QL.. i got 1 stupid qn to ask u.. citadines got provide towels and shower/shampoo/toothbrush?

helo everyone!
bluegin - i pay ard 850 after subsidy, its at arena Pat's. schoolbus is 100 for 1 way.
sick sick sick - everyone is sick, me down with flu,kena from H
,on mc on friday. H is still quite bad,bought her to the pd at bukit timah plaza,dorothy ong's clinic (first time i see her but i must say she's very good),explains to us all her symptoms and sickness very well. H has to be on the neubaliser, its been the 3rd day since on the neubaliser, and can clearly hear her voice much better. But she still has a a phelgmy cough and stuffed nose,fever still on off since wed,i tink no school untill all these are completely gone. poor girl.
reena - pineapple tarts? keke..very cute!! can i buy from u? haha
genice - towels have. the shampoo and bath if i din rem wrongly,its the dispenser type. i din use cos i bought my own.

Stephie,
is the isetan offer for member only? Isetan Scotts?
It's a good buy definitely!!

Reena,
I also let her join the excursion since it's $18 and I've got good savings on the school fees already.
it's better to join for more experience outside rather than stay indoor and do nothing right?

Is that pineapple tarts?

bluegin,
wa.. west side CC is so popular. is it because there are more new citizens and foreigners who don't have grandparents to help need to send the kids to CC ?

tubao,
you call home everyday.
i am a bad daughter, only call home when i have something to say - that's like a few weeks once. :p

genice,
you changing your house in 3 years time?

clover,
HFMD for A and hb, you must take care too. it's more painful for adult to get HFMD.

re: teeth
I've brought C for a PD dentist yesterday. The dentist said it's unlikely a tooth decay. Most probably the dying of nerve/blood vessels due to the fall last week.
see the pic of 'Grey discoloured non-vital tooth'. this is how her teeth looks like
http://www.simplyteeth.com/category/sections/Child/1AboutTeeth/InjuryTeeth.asp?category=child&section=1&page=6

since she's too young, we can't do anything to her yet. probably 1 year later then bring her to do the so called 'pulpotomy' or 'root canal treatment'.
so now no choice but to monitor if she has got any pain, not to feed her with hard food and bear with her grey tooth for 1 more year.

*note: got a hard time to ask her open the mouth for dentist checking.

anyway, lucky that then dentist didn't charge me any consultation for her.

re: braces
the dentist tried to physco me to do braces. he suggested me to do a upper teeth only braces when i told him that i am not comfortable to see the shift of my chin when the upper teeth and lower teeth are aligned.
i am very tempted to do it after #2 comes out.

anyone has this experience tell me if it's advisable to do this way? Iso, can you help to check with your dentist friend?

tong/xy, thanks! hb is feeling better n no new spots for him. today is day 5 for alex, no new blisters/rashes. both r on the road to recovery. =)

stephie,
thanks! Ya, since #1, i haven't had my menses yet, so din know i am already preggy..
I went tokyo in early jan on my way back to the US.. actually, din see anyone in wheelchair while i was there, but i did see those automated "escalator" to bring the wheelchair up. Not sure if u know what i mean.

genice,
tokyo was very nice, we loved the food and the atmosphere. We also went to Hakone for 1 night. Foodwise for S, he ate mostly ramen. ;p It was quite cold when we were there, temp was abt 6-8C, but becos we were out walking the whole day, it can get quite cold after a while. Think it will be colder when u get there. Oh, 1 thing i hate abt the place, very hard to find dustbins!! Sometimes got to carry our trash all over the place before we can find somewhere to dump it, worse is if we just changed a poopy diaper! hehe

XY, poor Carrie. Have not been actively reading archives, she had a bad fall last week? Since it's milk teeth, possible to ignore it instead of doing root canal treatment? I've done it for one tooth, quite painful leh. :p

Fairfield, wa, so it's really possible to get preggie even though no menses hor? My KK gynae then said it is possible to have silent ovulation ie. the month when you first ovulate, you strike liao so menses never came at all. But for me, he said I was not ovulating so BF is really contraceptive for me. :p Congrats! again.

pauline,
C always fall down one. and she normally will only cry for a while.
last week she fell until the lip got a cut and bleed. we thought it's nothing serious because she can still play and eat as per normal after that.
who knows this time is so serious.

we will see how's the situation, if the tooth does not turn any darker, we will just let it be.
but if it's very bad, i want to do something about it before it cause any negative effect on her self-esteem.
she still need to wait till 6-7 years old then be able to change the milk teeth.
not sure if the treatment requires GA, if so, really need to think very carefully.

XY
so the discolouration is near the gums, rather than the tip? so far i never heard of them doing root canal for kids, but can ask for you if it's common to do it here. i do know that sometimes adults need to do RCTs because of a fall when they are young, so sometimes the "effect" won't be until many many years later.

actually it's my hubs who's a dentist, haha, but for kids questions usu i ask another lady dentist for more advice as she has 2 tots of her own. but sorry last fri i had last minute work before leaving office and he works late fridays and mondays so over weekened also forgot to ask him.

braces, i'm not quite sure what you mean? i think there are also other factors to consider, like the overall bite - just making the teeth look straight shouldn't be all, should factor in the bite as well, because if bite is not correct it could be uncomfortable, and then you might have problems like TMD.

iso,
yes. the discoloration is near the gums.
you mean some adults also need to do RCT due to a fall that's many years ago?
I wonder if GA is required for RCT for kids too. quite concern about the potential risk of GA.

I know your hb is a dentist, thought that he might not be very familiar with toddler problem and braces. Hence, i thought it might be your dentists friends can answer the questions better. :p

for braces, i mean that i would like to do 1 arc instead of both arcs. I've been to a dentist and did x-ray before, his recommendation is to do both arcs to correct the bite and also the centre alignment of my teeth. the problem is that, i've already 2 missing teeth for the lower teeth and the teeth are very very straight. just that it's not aligned to the centre. If i were to pull out another 2 in order to do braces and correcting the bite, i am afraid that my chin will end up protuding out and my overall face shape will be changed. this is why i hessitated doing it until now.
i dun mind the bite is not corrected as long as it's not going to cause severe problem like TMD.
I also heard that both arcs has to be done at the same time otherwise it's very difficult to distribute the force and may cause the braces not effective. is that true?

XY
heh, ok, have asked my friend already, let's see what she replies. sometimes for RCT it's hard to really know the cause, so a fall in childhood could be one of the reasons.. but agree, GA for a child, i think if can avoided, would be better!

for braces the dentist should also consider aesthetics, so they probably won't alter your chin such that it doesn't look nice. not like last time, for me, when i did braces when i was 12 the dentist pulled out 2 from my bottom to make it straight, but hubby and his friends say actually the guy didn't need to do that, and now my chin/lower jaw is actually a bit too small than what i would like! and I have TMD :S but i guess 20+ years ago they not so aware of such things.. just make straight and look nice can already :S

maybe if u not so sure about what to do, when the time comes go for a 2nd opinion so that you have peace of mind?

kitsune
how did gynae know you not ovulating leh? the first thing my gynae said to me (and reminded me a few times!) after i delivered and went back for check up was that if i dont want #2 straight away, better take precaution!

clover
my cousin got HFMD from her son, and she said it was quite torturous, she felt like throwing things against the wall! :S

qingling
we go to dorothy also! i really like her, she's v friendly and bubbly, but i got pre-warning from friends who recommended her that her dressing a bit like she's at home, hahah. i think if u see her outside u might think she's some auntie!! lol.

genice
other than milk, i fed shawn what we ate. he likes ramen and those bento set where he ate the rice with soup. how many days are you going? citadine has no airport limousine. how do you intend to travel to and fro airport? i only shortlist hotels where there is airport limousine, for the sake of convenience.

think my hands will break if i carry shawn on my arms thru out the flight. hence, put him on the seat which hubby vacated. bad mummy :p

reena
yummy pineapple tarts?

fairfield
where did you stay in tokyo? i'm looking at keio plaza but it's so expensive (no promo for the period i am looking at). alternative will be sunroute plaza.

me planning to go hakone too. hope it's not too difficult a place to visit. where did you stay at hakone?

xiaoyun
the isetan promo is for all. think valid till 28 or 29 Jan. still lots of stock when i was there on last thu

hope there'll be nothing serious for c's teeth.

yday shawn did somersault while sleeping. knocked his forehead on the floor and got a baluku (luckily he's sleeping on mattress and the flooring is parquet else will be very painful).

Iso, cos he did ultrasound scan and said the follicles are all too small for me to be ovulating. Apparently they must grow to an optimum size before an egg will be released. Also good that he ruled out any possibilities, if not, I would have felt very guilty to wean RaeAnne off for nothing. :p

xy,
Which PD dentist did you go to? DD3 had a fall today and her 2 front teeth chipped :-( Act her bro was carrying her and he fell together with her, landed on her while she knocked the ground at void deck today. She bled a little and kept crying and touching her teeth. I didn't realised her teeth chipped until now.

<font color="ff0000">My MIL's KUEH LAPIS LOBANG - Original Flavour</font>

Self collect from Garfield9's home week of 08Feb! Cheap cheap! Anyone interested?

Have 11 orders from office already, so opening up to Feb moms as well.

Anyone interested pls PM me.

Genice,
re citadines - i think they provided some basic toiletries. if i'm not wrong, you can request from them one. unless you are thinking of cooking for gwen, you may not need the kitchenette facilities. it's convenient, but requires a bit of walking. the last time, i walked to/fro from the main shinjuku station every day (it's about 10mins), but now that you are preggie may be a bit tiring for you. may want to choose a hotel closer to the train station.

clover,
sorry to hear the boys were down with HFMD. good to hear that they are better!

reena,
nice tarts! haha...me thinks you should sell them too!

XY,
poor carrie! i think she's a good girl and so cooperative to let dentist inspect her teeth! hope it doesn't bother her or cause her any discomfor. which dentist did you go to? is it good?

But Reena, did your menses return when you are BFing no. 1? Mine never did leh, went for check 12 months later and my gynae said I was not ovulating. :p

garfield, tks. The boys (hehe) r better. Hb went bk to work to escape from the tiredness. can pm me the kueh lapis details?

Iso, wah, yr cuz must hv felt terrible. Adults with low immunity will be infected. My fren who is in early preg stage, i asked her to extra careful.

did i tell u all where did A get the hfmd? From jacob ballas... =_= pd said can also kena from anywhere outdoor.

hi clover,
PM you already!

so cute your hb - you mean he finds it less tiring at work? hehe....

oh dear...so easy to catch diseases outdoors. A was playing (and drinking the water) of this outdoor fountain at far east square. she was down with viral fever for the next few days. we also suspect it's due to the water....

2 questions:

1) anyone's child dropping hair? A seems to be dropping more hair than usual recently.

2) does ur child wake up at night? A will wake up at abt 2+am and fuss ard till 5+am. She demands that i sleep with her. she rejects daddy. also refuses to sleep between 2 of us. it must be just me and her on the mattress. when i see that she has fallen asleep and try to sneak back to bed, she will grab me. so she is not sleeping well. isit becoz of #2?