(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Almond Crisps,
Thanks ladies! It's really very easy, check out recipe in my blog.

http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/

Esther,
You can get sliced almonds from any bakeware shops, else supermarkets but slightly more ex. Actually no need to use almond flakes, I'm sure you can replace with either sunflowers/pumpkin seeds. Maybe even toasted sesame seeds ;-)

Genice,
yes, I bought the phonics set. Comes in set of 12, with 4 series. I only managed to get 3 series.

Esther,
I agree with lezy, it doesn't matter what oven you use. But most importantly is, if you want to bake often, forget about microwave with oven function. The baking function don't last. I bought a Tecno (42 litres) after my MW oven died on me. Less than $150, cheap and good

Clover, I use white vinegar as disinfectant, and most importantly it is cheaper than dettol ;)

iso,
You only use the spray when necessary? Oh.. I used diligently daily. I don't know how's your condition but my sinus was quite bad, sneeze whole morning till afternoon.

XY,
I get very excited when my kids go for excursion. I've always love excursions when I was young! In my previous CCC, those opt not to go will join the other class (higher or lower level) just for that day.

Thanks for the bus fare info, too ex.

Crabstick - I bought NTUC house brand as it is on offer now :p

bkkgal,
I feel that there is a common symptom about maids. The more you buy, they more they use/cook/eat. My gf also always complain, a tub of margarine lasted only 1 week, there are only 2A + 1C + 1 maid. In the end, she got to buy separate brand (cheapo brand) for the maid's own consumption.

Desitin,
My first CL also use diaper rash cream like nobody's business. She finished up 2 tubes in less than a month! Lucky it was just JnJ then. DS2 got ex butt so he can only use desitin. CL (another one) used 1/2 tube within 2 weeks! Faint! When the CLs left, the 1 tube can last me for months, even till expiry I still have more than 1/2 tube.

jass,
Which brand crabstick you bought? Must share pic when you make ok?

Oh yumz! i'm gonna try the recipe. Thanks Reena! good idea to just break up in random pieces.

Oven
I'm baking with a microwave+convection oven too. Lasted me 4 yrs already. The heat is uneven but it's great for grilling and roasting. The other oven that I had but I gave to my MIL was a Rowenta - very good, I love it, in fact I want to ask for it back but paiseh :p

Iso
Yeah it's like a pastime! worse if they are crossing the road with their young charges! sometimes feel like telling them off!

Reena
initially daily then later as and when needed.
how does your gf tell the maid that maid eat cheapo brand and family eat more expensive one?

bkk
i'm also quite amazed how much they have to talk about... are they trying to solve their country's debt/political/rich-and-poor-divide problems or what?!

Iso
LOL! They are gossiping abt us - the employers, what we do, what we said, who kena scolded, who got more pay. their network v good wan. first day i moved into my new place, my maid already knew my neighbour from where, got how many kids, no hb, drive wat car, blah blah.

I bought separate kaya, biscuits and coffee for mine. She used to whack my killiney kaya so I specifically said no, these are bought for you. She guai guai eat but nowadays damn atas already, go to supermarket can choose her own brand.

Mummies.. have replied u.

XY, i think they will give to all pre-sch and CCC, cause reena, bkkgal, QL also have. Maybe u wiall also get it soon. Not compulsory to buy but i thot quite gd px so share with mummies who haven send their kids to child care yet.

I think if i go down tmr and place order, the teacher will be shocked why i order so many books lor.

Some links if u are are interested to see the inside:

http://www.amazon.com/Who-Stole-Cookies-Aboard-Reading/dp/044841127X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264056808&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/Cliffords-First-School-Clifford-Small/dp/0439082846/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264057138&sr=1-1#reader_0439082846

Xy.. so fast excusion.. go where?

bkk,
8kg rice for a month? for how many ppl? everyday 2 meals?
sometimes maid will give food to other maids that do not have such generous employer. that happens to my friend's maid. but she close 1 eye as long as the maid doesn't ill-treat the kids.

1 cm dilated, means the big day is drawing near.. you are now 36/7 weeks? good news that she took all the good stuff rather than you put on weight right?

reena,
when they go excursion, you can't join also right?
i feel school bus fee is generally expensive. i remembered some one did a comparison of the school bus fare with taxi. if you stay near by and taxi fare ~$6 per trip and have 2 kids and above in the same school, it's actually cheaper to take taxi than taking the school bus.

genice,
they are going civil defense heritage gallery. to see the fireman.

their excursion is a monthly affair.

bkk
wow! they better than "neighbourhood watch" eh?

i missed that part about you being 1cm dilated! did gynae estimate how long more it'll be? i think my gynae said even if you're 3cm dilated it can take another week?

alo mummies !!!

how's everyone ! so long never come...

re: maid
my previous maid just left and the new one who came.... sigh... majorly cannot make it... now gotta wait to choose another one.

she bluff the agent/us that she has not worked in SG before but MOM record showed she has (our mistake not to check her work history earlier). so now her WP is pending...

and my gal totally dun want her... she only knw how to stand beside my gal with her hands fold behind n STARE at my gal... without even opening her mouth to talk to her... i see already blood also boil...

my previous maid finished 1 loaf of bread within 2 days, 1 tub of magarine within 1 week, 1 pack of biscuit within 2 days and when she 1st came, she drank 3-4 packs of 3-in-1 coffee in the morning ! *shake head*

hihi mommies!

bkkgal
im doing v good. thanks! so excited for you that your #2 is coming out to meet you real soon!

xiaoyun
we are planning to go to HK, taiwan, bangkok and japan. but only the 2 of us for these places. if with the kids, i only want to go KL, genting or cruise only. LOL

tongtong
yup im still doing sprees so still abit busy on that. but cut down recently since CNY is nearing and i got so much on hand to prepare and do. no more maid liao. not going to engage one anymore after all 3 terrible episodes. so will send C to cc and hope things picks up from there. however, with the 2 little ones getting older now, im more or less manageable alrdy and even could do chores even they are not napping. i tink cartoon networks is my best friend now. haha!

garfield
hope you are doing well too!

esther
no lei. wont b considering playgrp because i really need some 'rest' from her. haha!

CNY goodies
wow! so tempting but im in the midst of slimming down, so this year will take less. nxt year then eat back the share ba! haha.

genice
congrats !!!

qingling
so glad to hear H is adapting so well to cc. you at least have a load off your heart. im really contemplating to send C to pat's schoolhouse too. which branch was yours?

bx
pat's schoolhouse fees is $1300 before subsidy for full day cc.

clover
good idea! nxt time i also going to use rice vinegar.

xiaoyun
C going on excursion! so exciting hor!

we hv started to send N to 2hr playsch near our hse (edufarm).

every morning at the sch entrance wld be crying session when the teacher took over her from us... sigh... see already also heart pain...

crystal.. wow.. u are going to a of places!!
Gd break for u , finally. So when will u go?

Pat's school hse very ex... i ever thot of but really out of budget.. Still cost abt $1000 after subsidy.. plus sch bus stil $1300.. my hubby will kill me.. if 2 kids.. $2600.. cant imagine...If i had striked the $3 mil toto then can.. :p

Iso
ohohoho, yeah wayyy better!

gynae says not likely soon cos only 1cm dilated. asked me to walk more, carry K. Cervix is soft, which is good, I suppose means efface faster?

Schoolbus
Is expensive!! XY is right, I calculated even taking cab is cheaper than the bus. But a colleague of mine said bus is the only way she cld get her sons to go to school - it's such a novelty for them to get on the bus every morning.

Crystal
so many places? *envy envy* 2nd honeymoon eh? keke. lucky that you have your parents to help you look after 2 kids. it's good that couples take time out for each other, rekindle the romance.

XY
On average, she cooks for 2A, 1K for lunch and 3A+1K for dinner. And my rice is not just white rice, I mix with brown rice. 8kg is just white rice alone hor..when we lived alone, 1 bag of 10kg could last me 3 months. sigh.

Oh and i haven't talked abt abalone sauce yet. every month use 1 bottle. good grief.

Every friday night, she will cook alot to keep for weekends her own makan cos I never wanna bring her out these days.

bkkgal, genice
will start going after CNY. first destination is HK. japan still kiv. probably year end. so looking forward too because finally can have couple couple time and a short break from the kids.

genice
ya, so that'y im thinking v hard whether to send C to Pat's. however, hb is quite ok to send her there, but he nvr think far yet that from mxt year onwards, would b 2 kids fees if really at Pat's.

Genice
will be ex if u plan to let the kids go thru childcare, prenursery and kindy at Pat's. But if u transfer G to SJCK when she reaches 3yo, will be cheaper.

Lezy
I think eliaw sends C to Etonhouse - u can ask her.

bkkgal,

ur maid seems very "bad" hor.. dunno wat word can describe. so far mine so far so good. but i do notice our butter, jam etc finished very fast. i tot of buying cheaper brands 4 her consumption. but my dad sure say "ai yo, y so ma fan"

i read in the maid blog. some buy 1 wk supply of food 4 the maid. 4 my family, she eats wat we eat.

actually i dun like 2 bring maid out, she so blur. i hv 2 "eye power" everyone. eyes tired. keke...

alot of pple told me my maid is very guai and good. i still dun trust her. cos she oni here for 7mths. i believe sooner or later, she will up 2 some mischief. ;p

ai yo, very bad of me 2 say tat...

Woman has Man in it;

Mrs. has Mr. in it;

Female has Male in it;

She has He in it;

Madam has Adam in it;

Okay, Okay, it all makes sense now...

I never looked at it this way before:

Ever notice how all of women's problems start with MEN?

MENtal illness !

MENstrual cramps

MENtal breakdown

MENopause

GUYnecologist

AND

When we have REAL trouble, it's a.. HISterectomy.

Remember You Don't Stop Laughing Because You Grow Old, You Grow Old Because You Stop Laughing.

maid: i just wonder whether i can ever hire a maid because my family is vegetarian. if she stays with me she got to cook veg. and no meat for her to eat leh? think she will complain lor

Esty
I won't say she's "bad" lah. I believe she does not have a bad heart or evil motives towards us. It's just that familiarity breeds contempt. She gets more familiar therefore lax and plus I get alot of complaints from MIL abt her. I myself also got to tahan her nonsense until after confinement. Partly also our fault for making her feel so indispensable and therefore acting up. In my 2nd trimester, we asked her how, wanna stay for another term or not. even expressed that we hope she can stay cos her term ends abt the time that I deliver. She got it in her head that she's so good loh. And then recently, alot of complaints from MIL, hb decided enuff is enuff, no point having an employee to give his mother grief. He asked her pointblank, are you staying? Her starting line was "well, my MIL not well, kids no one take care..." so hb very fast, said "ok, in that case, u do last medical checkup, we arrange ticket and terminate WP, can go back end Jan." She started crying and said she feel bad, wanna stay to help me in confinement.

I just felt that she took us for granted. We pay for all her medical bills (she has a condition that requires specialist care every 3 months) and yet she can take us for granted and give this type of "irrevocable excuse" to make us beg her to stay.

Agent advised us not to change maids now esp before a stressful period of delivery/confinement. So we are keeping her until May and then see how. She told my agent privately that she wants to stay. If I can cope with PT help + MIL and maybe work partime, then I will send her off.

been doing silent reader mode for a while...

lezy,
etonhouse - maybe can ask eliaw, i remember she said that she's going to send her son there?

re:pat's schoolhouse,
me tempted to send C there too... but i have no subsidy so have to pay for full amount. I enrolled C to their storybook class every Sat. First class so far so good, i like the teacher and the environment
the class is around 1.5 hour, they get to listen to stories, art class (coloring & sticking etc), snacks, music and according to teacher will have sand play, water play at times... at the end have a chance to play outdoor. of course the parents accompany but still quite a good experience. see how, C is still on waiting list for end of this year
am also still thinking about the fee, coz gonna burn a big hole every month...

bkkgal,
last time i was 1cm dilated on due date then gynae help to expand to 1.5cm and the next morning i was in labour heheh... then again, depends on your threshold i guess. must be quite exciting huh... hopefully K can adjust to the little sister well

bx,
pat's charges differs between one and another... can check out mcys website for rough idea if you want to know different cc's charges... i do that before though i know it may not be accurate but at least it gives you some idea

gar,
can i still order the loveletter/pineapple tart from you? i wanna try

pauline,
i have pm you.

bkkgal,

yes i agree. once they tink we tink they r indispensable, they will "ya ya pa pa ya" ;p

i tink ur hb did the rite ting. firm & fast.

and i tink maids will take us 4 granted no matter hw nice we treat them. 4 me, as long as i dun abuse her, i treat her normally. not exceptionally bad or good.

am hoping 2 do away wif maid aso if i can cope on my own. by right wif a maid, i shd be very "eng" but i aso super bz wif matters pertaining 2 my kids. eg. i bath my double Cs, prepare meals 4 cayenne... etc.

tongtong
i haven't been there before, although last time i wanted to, but didn't get a chance.

maids
i would love to be able to handle 3 boys without a maid but i won't have any parents help soon, so i think no choice..

Hello Mommies

rying to keep up with the posts but no time again. Thanks to all who replied on my Ikea bedsheets - Decided to just use the normal single bed covers since Ikea only has the plain white ones.

Tubao - Congrats on passing your driving! Must be a huge relief.

Fairfield..congrats too..and also to Xiao Yun...wonder how long is the mummy-to-be list now.

BKKgal- Jiayou!

bkk,
ermm... how to make it sound not gross... she stick her finger in and push it down to literally expand the dilation. it was not painful and after that she told me she helped to expand dilation a bit by 0.5cm :p i thought it's a common practice !

Oh! i see. um..maybe she did something similar today..felt uncomfortable but not painful. then she said to walk more, carry K if possible.

dunno is it becos we been through the experience of labour once but i feel much much more apprehensive this time round. replaying the scenes in my mind from admission, to having waterbag burst, to taking epidural, and that long night in the maternity ward *shudders*

first time like blur blur, just do whatever the nurse/doc tells u to do. dunno what to expect.

did the 2nd time moms feel the same way?

maid: sigh, i think i need to hire one too soon, since 2nd one will be due in May, my mum needs some help at least, otherwise alternative is to send H to full time cc, but then 3rd day already so sick. I suppose if 2 stays at home, she wld still need help right. headache.
H is still croaking away, poor girl, lost her voice and still running high fever..

Bkk - exciting moment reaching soon! i can't wait to unload too.

got a number of ?? tasks from boss today, arg..

crystal - nearest for me is arena

just for fun - little H (now) & little QL (then)

3539885.jpg

Genice,

Qingling,

H is so independent! Tell my hubby about this, hehe....we think that E can't do it until 5 year old.

Sweetpea,

Thanks! Yah, Indeed, finally can spend Sat mornings with my girl.

bkk,
hehe... maybe she did? if my gynae didn't say anything i wouldn't know either :p but the walking a lot did help me... i still remember i climb up the stairs every day coz there was still no signs of dilation 1 wk before edd.

iso,
i walked for 2 hours after my appointment that day and next day 2 am i was already having contraction, 5 min apart and when i reach hospital i was 2cm so they say ok to admit.

ql,
how cute !!! and you and H looks soooo alike ! Tad difference, H's eyes smaller than yours in the pic but the hair style is timeless hor.. hehehe..

ql, yr girl looks like u. =)

rice vinegar
pls dun buy the artificial type

bkkgal, can buy soap bar for yr maid to use? Cheaper lor n she cant use n use.

Maid
we prefer no maid when no.2 comes along.

Qingling,
Did you put H at Pat Sch The Arena Country Club, Jurong?
It's very expensive. Abt $1200. When I told my hubby, he said better kill him. Hahahah.

XY,
Do u think you can pay for another 2 tins of love letters from Garfield? Will be back at Tampines this sat late evening. So thinking if she can just leave them with u. I will collect from you sat or sunday at your convenient.

Tongtong,
send Channet to Staccato Music Trial on 9 Jan. She dun seem to be interested in the class as she was just wondering in her own world. but 5 days later, she was able to list the instruments shows by the teacher and also sang 'Do, Re, Mi, ..., Ti, Do'
I was so surprised.

CC:
Has been looking high n low for CC in Jurong. Those nearby Jurong point all long waiting list. Mayb I should give up and take the one near my MIL place (near Genice's parent place). Sigh... Can I know is my first skool good?

bkkgal, yup i was like that. More nervous than when delivering no. 1 but then, no. 2 delivery turns out to be better so I'm really thankful.

Blueginger, I asked hubby to accompany RaeAnne to Seimpi music trial at PP last Sat. End up MIL sat in the class instead and her observation is that RaeAnne is not ready and class timing is no good. She was extremely tired and hungry on the car ride back. So, looks like no music class for her in the time being. Hiaz.

qingling,
OMG! H looks so much like u.. i'll always wonder what my daughter will look like since it is very unlikely that i will ever have one.

iso,
my #1 also super active, and he doesnt like to sleep!! So abt preggie moms sleeping more -> bbs sleep more is not true. I slept a lot last time, that i think i must have been storing reserves for now.

sweetpea,

genice,
congrats on getting a boy! I rem u bought boys' clothes last time when u were in US right? Ooh, u going japan soon? Not easy with toddlers leh. The week I had in tokyo was tough-- had to carry stroller up the stairs in train stations, make sure he is safe on crowded streets cos he dun want to be in stroller unless sleeping.. sigh, but it was fun!

morning ladies

qingling:
hey... H looks a lot like you! cute!

yeah... everyone has their faults. so its best to close 1 eye ya if the helper is not too much. but then, we can't let them take us for granted also. Sometimes when the maid talk to other maid they will compare lor, compare abt food they get, salary they earn, other 'fringe benefits' like watching tv, off day, use of hp... so i try not to let my helper talk to maids outside, eg supermarket. Only allow her to talk to friends' or relatives' maids.

food wise, i will buy cheaper kaya, jam, butter, coffee... for her and tell her this will last her for xx weeks.
) of coz lah, if finish before then, i'll buy for her but @ least she can agar. She used to finish a 1kg packet of sugar in 1 week! Then I talk to her, explain why its not good to talk so much sweet stuff, esp when her parents are diabetic.

crystal:
Wow... thats nice! Have a good break wor
Enjoy!

clover:
i buy soap bar too.

blueginger:
Channet is smart ya!

reena:
Cannot rem the brand leh. LOL, will check it out!

bkkgal:
jia you jiayou!

At times I find tt Channet might be smart, but actually not.
For her age now, she is in her terrible two. Most of the things she did are wrong, so I keep saying "NO" to her. Til I realized she did really understand wat is the meaning of "No". Now in order to stop her action, I will say "STOP" rather than "NO".

Pauline
Channet also very tired after the trial. Sleep immediate when she was in the car all the way home.

will it work if set an allowance for her per month on food/necessities.
buy a separate set of kaya, bread for her and deduct from her allowance when she finishes hers? if she choose more expensive brand, means can only buy less.
sorry, no experience with maid. just my thinking if this method will work?

agree that if they feel that they are indispensable, then they will start yayapapaya.
i guess it's the same at workplace for us, right?

bkk,
she ate a lot of rice?

crystal,
so many places!! envy envy. your parents are so good to agree to take care of your kids.

bkk,
i guess taxi is only suitable for older kids like secondary school. otherwise too dangerous to let them go to school alone.
what's SJCK?

sweetpea,

bluegin,
no prob. Gar will send to me before Sat 2 pm. and I will only be home about 7-8 pm on Sat. Sun after 7:30pm.
CC at Tampines area again? then how you going to run from east to west, west to east?

gar,
then i pay you cash for 5 tins, ok?

finally C nod her head when we ask if she wants to go school to see teacher.

hi genice,

had pm u about the books,thanks so much!u going to tokyo,must buy burberry blue label :>can buy uniqlo for ur children also,tokyo is cheaper

finally decided to be good and rest at home. still cannot sleep even with drowsy medicine...hai...but i think lying down to rest helps somewhat cos i feel better. been ill for 2 weeks - doc says if i don't take antibiotics may develop into lung infection!!!! which is horrid considering i'm entering 36th week and close to delivery
but i still scared to take leh - so going to ask gynae for advice later

no time to go thru all posts in detail, sorry if i missed out anyone

books,
genice, thanks for the offer! v tempting, but i seriously need to clear out my cupboards before i can stock up more.

maid,
i have no experience with one. but i know my own character - very particular about things at home and cannot let go. so i think better don't have a maid - sure clash one!

tong,
thanks for helping with the love letter orders =) my hubby says you look very young i said ya lor!

love letters,
no prob, so i pass bluegin + pauline order to XY. can pay me cash.

XY,
i think your CC is a v good deal. the premises look v spacious and clean. i'm paying 700+ after subsidy and it's not even a branded CC like pat's schoolhouse
will look around for more affordable options after #2 arrives.

tute,
no prob can still order from me
but collection is a bit of a challenge cos no deliveries to seng kang leh.

gar,
any collection from central area? orchard/dhoby gaut/bugis/raffles place/tj pagar? i usually go to these areas for lunch :p

Garfield, hey good that you can rest at home now, since you are still feeling sick! Are you having a very bad cough? Eh, after having bb I had “matured” a bit liao used to be more bb face. I tried the tarts le. Got 1 tart has a weird taste, dunno how weird issit though. The other one is just like other pineapple tarts that I tasted so far. So I guess the recipe can still be improved ya!

Tute, u can meet gar at bugis! She is working there hehe. wah you always travel out for lunch

tute,
alamak! i just dropped off tong's office orders at RP this morning. else could have tong pang your order with her...

didn't do BP eventually, so no meetup points - only delivering those bulk office orders.

i can only think of pauline who will pick up her LLs from XY this sunday. if pauline is going to meet you to collect the desitin creams, then maybe can tong pang XY to pass to pauline to pass to you =) but got to ask them if they ok with the arrangement?

but can only order LLs cos the pineapple tarts not baked yet.

tong,
i'm working at dhoby gaut and v near to mrt so quite convenient to go around... plus getting bored with the food here! so i usually go around... meet friends, meet hb or just simply to get out.. :p

tong,
ya coughing for two weeks liao...esp at night - cannot sleep!!

thanks for the feedback on the tarts - will let MIL know hehe...weird taste ah - i think i know why lah, MIL experimenting with cinnamon (or some other spice) - told her pple not used to these spices in pp tarts so may come across as "weird".

oh yes! tute, you can meet me at bugis too! read too fast didn't notice you added bugis to the areas to meet.