(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
BP ending in 1 weeks time. after order, delivery is by EMS.
should be able to get before CNY.
if can't get it, I ask my sis to refund. ok?
quite a number of it is suitable for post-delivery as well.

gar
wah, $120 just for cupcakes :S can bring cake instead? or u intending to put into the goodie bags?

XY
i heard from SIL the kids will always get like a goodie bag from the birthday child. not sure how it is for all CCs though, heh.

BPs
i have been busy looking at some of the BPs on books.. going to borders to check out the prices first since borders having 30% (+10% for members) sale off regular priced books, then if they dun have i order from BP... heh.

iso,
in the orientation of the CC, they said can help to organise the birthday party for us.
and everything is chargeable, e.g., goodie bag, food... even can pay to employe external performance like magic show.
they gave a list of the charges for each items.
i didn't bother to take a look at it. feel that it's so commercialize. :p

so i don't know is it compulsory to organise or not.

XY
magic show? wah!!! yah sounds v commercialised, esp if u not going to be around for the party right? but q impressive that they can organise, hahah..

btw any mummies use BabyPlus when preggers? just curious, i'm not really interested to invest the time and money to use it, haha..

XY,
thanks for info ok will go and support

re bday celebration no it's not compulsory.

Iso,
ya I think I'll just get one whole cake instead. Too ex Liao, gulp :p for baby plus bkk used before n thinks it's good. So I also bought one. Can sell to you in a few weeks time if you keen!

morning mummies.

tong,

help!

i recall u mentioned flaxseed ages ago. ask u hor.. can i give flaxseed for my boy when he 6mths old? or hv 2 wait till older?

Gar
yah cake more "affordable"! unless it's something smaller like cookies? ok let me go read up more on babyplus, i'm not the kiasu type who wants my kid to be gifted, but i would like one who can sleep easily and sleep a lot!! hehehe.

RaeAnne's birthday is next Fri. Decided to get a Barney cake for her since she likes Barney. Let her choose from BS cake catalogue herself. Initially wanted to get cupcakes for her but cannot blow out candles so not so fun. ;P

iso,
high five!! main motivation for me to try babyplus is the "promise" of a errm...calmer, easier to soothe baby. cos we had a hard time with A, and worried about coping with #2 arriving. so ya la, you can say that i'm BUYING HOPE

ya, cake more affordable, but hor check out these gorgeous cupcakes...sooooooo cute can almost die from it!!! *dilemma*

3498495.jpg
3498496.jpg

gar

yaaaa... i've already started to "talk" to #2 to tell him to be guai and sleep more when he's born, wahah..

omg the elmo ones are super cute!! where are they from? some of them look so pretty but just looking at it i feel like i'm going to get diabetes.

i just saw that prima has barney, carebears, strawberry shortcake and barbie cup cakes for $18 for 9, not too bad?

tong,

thanks 4 the info!

Yeah, coming soon liao lor... 18th gg 2 be 6mths old. dunno y leh, 2nd bb the time seems 2 fly fast!

kitsune,

me aso tinking of getting a barney cake 4 cayenne. my gf aso getting a barney cake 4 her gal. seems like gals like barney alot...

iso,
nice right? the elmo ones are from mongstirs.com. tooooo pretty to eat if you ask me.

thanks for the heads up on prima deli
i guess i have a "happy" problem at hand, cos A likes a few characters - Dora, Barney, Sesame Street and Doraemon. So if I am lazy to source, I can get the ones readily available from the larger bakeries (like Polar, Prima Deli, Bengawan Solo)

Esther,
when does your SAHM career officially start? can check out prima like iso says, i think the barney cakes are quite nice!

gar,

25th jan will be a "careeer switch" 4 me! Haha... In fact, cant wait. the SAHM urge is getting stronger each day. Nw alreadi start 2 count down liao! haha...

in fact, i started 2 source 4 barney cakes yest! i aso check out prima ones. nice! but hor. am tinking of getting the one which provide the barney toys one. keke... but tink will be ex. i saw the cupdivinity has. I ordered 4 Cayenne's 1st BD b4. but then feel like trying out other nice yummy bakeries. ;p

tong,

haha.. me hor... alreadi cant wait 4 Cayden 2 grow up fast fast cos our darlings's age now is very fun! I njoy every moment wif my Cayenne now (minus off the meal times) haha...

hello...

me silent reader coz busy with work these days... doing interviews 2x a day, on top of the normal work i need to do

esther,
if you are talking about cake topper, you can actually buy it yourself and ask the bakery to put it on the cake... any bakers can do that. But if you're looking to get an edible cake topper (those from fondants) then you must go to the independent bakers - as bigger bakers will not imitate the characters due to copyright issues.

gar/iso,
yeah... those cupcakes are really cute right! love mongstirs cupcakes but then she doesn't do delivery leh... only self collect at upper bukit timah... this year i think i'll be getting normal cake, cutdown cost... last year spent >$100 for C's sesame street cake and my mom commented the cake not nice as it is too heavy. We like moist and light cake, but so far a lot of cupcakes i taste is rather dry... this year me getting either thomas or disney cars coz C is crazy about them... somehow after he discovers Thomas, he lost his interest in barney and sesame street.. :S will try to order cakes from a friend of mine who does customised cakes...

pauline,
remember you asking about air con... i just changed mine last year and bought a toshiba inverter... quite happy with it and can see our electricity bills coming down with it...

iso,

mine is the normal cream cake. the deco part is super sweet.

i tink qingling ordered fondant type if i rem correctly. u can ask her. keke...

iso,

fondant taste sweet like candy. some ppl like it, some don't. it's easy to peel off the cake if you don't like it but heartpain lah, pay so much for the fondant then ppl throwaway... i like cream but not the butter cream type, prefer lighter whip cream or royal icing (cupcakedivinity uses this on their cupcake, it hardens after a while but not as thick as fondant and melts in your mouth).

esther,
some of those shops selling party supplies do have cake toppers or maybe you can ask the bakery itself if they have the cake topper.

tute.

cupcakedivinity cupcakes and cake the icing most my friends say very sweet. but the cake part is very yummy according 2 them.

alot of my friends ask me if the icing can eat anot! keke

tute
wah actually i wldn't know the different types, but i can sort of guess what you're talking about. those "traditional" bakeries use butter cream type right? all this talk about cupcakes making me hungry, lucky i got 1 cupcake (or muffin?) left over from breakfast..

esther,
i also ordered from cupcakedivinity for A's first birthday. the edible cake topping tastes a bit like those traditional round small gem biscuits with the colourful cream top, quite nice. but i scrapped away cos scared too fattening!

gar,

oh i rem them! yummy! love them when i was a kid. hmm.. tink will go & buy 2 bring back some childhood memories....

esther,
yeah... the icing can be very sweet but then i have a sweet tooth so i love them... hahaha... maybe you can make a special request to them so that the icing is not too sweet? i ordered cupcakes from cupcakedivinity for C's one month so yeah i like their cupcakes... that's why thinking of ordering from them too... plus their collection place is quite near to my place

iso,
hee... actually i had to google on "royal icing" last itme... i know about this icing because in the past my mom used to make 2d cakes for us and she always make this royal icing so i grew up eating this type of icing...
you're right re butter cream, it is the one usually used by the bakeries and i hate them especially when it's too thick.. because it's not sweet and it's just oily so i usually scraped them off the cake...no value add eating them coz no additional taste to the cake... :p

Tute, thanks, I'm still deciding between panasonic and LG at the moment because of the special filters and ionisers (sounds better for kids, me kiasu). But Toshiba is a very established brand and the compressor is made in Japan.

Esty, you are so positive.
Hubby came back earlier today cos we initially wanted to bring the 2 gals to see PD. But end up PD clinic was closed for 3 days. Hubby and I were so tired looking after them esp RaeAnne cos she's so defiant and asserting her own free will now. Almost everything we ask her to do, it'll be "no", "no want", "no nice", "go away". Faint! :p

garfield, have transferred the $ to you, pls check. also, if i want to order more but not entitled for free deliveyr, can i pick up somewhere else? like ur house? ur in law house? anywhere?

tute,

i did mentioned less sweet 4 Cayenne's 1st BD cake/cupcakes. 4 me, me dun hv a sweet tooth, can u imagine i can happily eat and NJOY my birdnest just plain! probably 1 or 2 super tiny pieces of rock oni la. keke...

kitsune, i sounded +ve ah? i must rite, if not, hw 2 "struggle" my life thru ah? keke... actually i hv some experience of being a SAHM while on my 4mths ML if u counted tat as experience. Tell u lor, i go "crazy" and scold Cayenne & the maid at times. sometimes both can reali drive me mad! haha... so hor.. nw i gg 2 be SAHM, mixed feelings. excited & SCARE. haha...

i can understand wat u mean by big R is defiant. u r not alone! cayenne aso the same! plus most of the time she oni wan me. can get worse IF she is cranky or crying. literally cling onto me like a koala! then i will be the tree lor. cant do other stuff like bath/feed didi, or even go toilet!

tong,
transfer received with thanks

for extra orders, if not too many - i can meet you at bugis MRT.

i also will be doing quite a few bulk office deliveries within CBD area on 01Feb, so don't mind dropping off at your office lobby also.

but must let me know your extra orders by 20Jan can? Xie Xie ni!

tong,

yes!! i agree. i tink SAHM is more tough than working in office! at least office i can "dream" abit, "eat snake" abit go shopping during lunch time.. haha... but at home, it is 24hrs standby mode!

so guess wat. i recently went 2 buy some vitamins, supplements 2 boost my energy. been fatique. and tinking of drinking the yomeishu aso! ;p

esther
agreed!! and i think in office you can be distracted by work and surfing, so somehow i feel less tired. at home cannot surf when you want, it's like having a demanding boss who wants your attention now NOW. heh.

what vitamins did u buy? i heard vitamin B is good for energy, but for me it's a bit too strong and "heaty".

iso,

hi 5! agreed totally! we have a demanding boss @ home! reali. keke.. i suppose E is very clingy 2 u now rite.

i bot vitamin b complex & magnesium. my massage lady told me abt these two while i complained 2 her tat i was having terrible ache ard my neck/shoulder. she recommends me 2 get magnesium oil 2 rub on but she say SG very difficult 2 get. tink can try organic shops. i went 2 vitakids the other day yet i 4get 2 ask.

ya very heaty cos i can see my urine change 2 very yellow! ;P So must drink more water.

esther,
for bu3 qi4, you can also brew those chinese soups (like si4 shen2 soup or liu6 wei4 soup). can buy pre-packed from medical halls and boil with some chicken. not so heaty.

iso,
re birthday cake...well, practicality rulesthe day....A's CC has errm 30 kids (her own class is only 10, but they have "communal" celebrations with the older classes...so a grand total of 30!!!)

30 cupcakes will cost me $150!! *FAINT* so...will just get a 1kg cake instead
and be content with oogling at the cupcake pictures

gar,

yeah! last sun i jz brew those "lun fei" & clear phelgm tonic soup. of late, i very into those ready pre packed packs, tinking of brewing once a week 4 the whole family. even go buy cook book! i aso wanting 2 prepare those desserts 4 my family. i'm someone who dun fancy cooking. nw like hv 2 take up cooking as well. like super big mission 4 me. keke...

esther,
go for it!!! actually the cantonese really believe in soups and dessert to nourish the body. and usually v easy to prepare and wash up esp using slow cooker!

esther...

actually dun really need cookbook one.
Most of the time cantonese soup, is mainly juhst obtaining ingredients - which usually consist of HERBS + MEAT (pork ribs/lean pork/chicken/black chicken/etc). Sometimes will use certain veg/roots like lotus roots/old cucumber etc.

1. from internet
- lots of sources. i once found a blogger...but cannot remember. u can search for CROCKPOT recipes/cantonese soups etc.

2. from medical hall
- when you buy the herbs/spices, ask them what to cook with. they usually can recommend easily to u. no issue one.

my parents cook soup at least once a week. used to be more often...but we getting lazy to cook so always eat out.

gar,

yes yes! when my mum was still ard, she used 2 cook so much and variety of soups & desserts. i'm some1 who loves soups alot! i knw cantonese love soups & "tang shui", sometimes i tot of i'm a cantonese! but i'm not la. ;p

and yes, i use slow cooker so it is reali super easy. keke..

lezy,

thanks 4 the info!

the pro is i dunno hw 2 get the herbs 4 eg tat particular soup lor...

oh ya, tink i hv 2 get myself familiarize wif the market and medical halls. keke..

as Cayenne's meals still very bad, i hv 2 mk sure i brew some nutritious soup 4 her. oni sometimes eat out.

Garfield, will u pop by 1feb?? yea sure, I will give u the extra orders by 20 jan.

Esther, yea I felt very lousy past weeks, due to fatigue and diarrhea. Luckily I’m ok now , and yes my mum is coming to lend me some support! Keke. U take care too ok! Yea take yomeishu or any other booster to boost ur energy. Jiayou!

xy,
That time still having only 1 child, so quite kancheong about the curriculum the CCC has to offer :p 5.30pm onwards, all levels will go to the multipurpose room for story telling/sing-along session and the PG will be at the indoor playground on certain days. When there are enrichment classes on some days starting at 6.30pm, the children will then proceed to the indoor playground. They do watch TV but it's mainly cultural/educational (eg documentary but age related) programs on TV. Only once or twice I saw them watching Barney.

Swim Diapers,
I bought the washable ones mainly for toilet training but it can also be used as a swim diaper. Mine is Bummies.

Stephie,
That's the only consoling part - save money on diapers :p

lezy,
Mine also sleeps with butt in the air. I'm using Huggies but needs to change her diaper regularly. She uses 5 diapers daily (pee only).

Esther,
you can always ask the medical hall on what they suggest. depending on the type of person attending to you, most of the time they can recommend certain soups for you. eg you want cooling soup for dinner. tell them. they will give you the herbs/etc and maybe u need to ask them and they'll tell you what other ingredients to buy and how to cook it (normally just all into crockpot lah).

do this often enough, coupled with some research here and there, you'll be expert in no time.

TIP:
my mum is cantonese. and she feels if you want very clear soup, you should not stir the soup. usually if you stir over high heat on stove instead of crockpot, there will be a lot of residue and the soup will not look so clear.

also. i recall she said something about putting water first...then herbs...then when close to boiling then put meat and well, wait lor - min 4 hours for nice, rich flavour.

Also, cuz using chicken/pork, sure will have oil. usually we'll scoop off the top layer of oil in the crockpot/slow cooker before serving.