(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xy
isit air conditioned? the one i'm looking at is $520 after subsidy. the one i was looking at before was $320. a difference of $200! but i'm more keen on the $520 one... sigh...

bx,
yes. it's air-con.
$520 after subsidy means $820 before subsidy. wa..
but still cheaper than learning vision. haha..
have you considered The Orange Tree at East Point? Reena said the teachers seems good. erm.. it's a little cheaper than $520. :p
https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCentPartLst.jsp?centreCd=PT6650&psCd=-%20click%20here%20-

you want to find out more on others?
use this link and search:
https://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccLst.jsp
the price are stated.

xy,
the price at orange tree has increased to $561 now. and heard from the personnel working there that there will be another increase either in mar or june. can't remember already. heard the fees immediately switched off liao.

the fees at the website not all updated.

bx,
we also considered one near our place $300 (w/o aircon). in the end really dun really like the environment and teacher. end up paying $140 more per month for the current one.
so got to save on other aspects loh.

it's important that A likes the place. which one she prefer?

wa... so expensive!!!
the orange tree branch behind my place also going to increase their fee from $430 till $490 in Mar.

she anywhere oso ok wan. as long as got friends and toys.

hungry caterpillar looks good! pity too far from my place lar. izit within walking distance for u?

yup. it's walking distance for me.
when we say walking distance, it's 15 minutes walk - fast pace. :p

nearer to my pil actually.
you know the baby hyperstore, baby kingdom? it's just 2 minutes walk from there only.

dor.. ur day tripper is very worth it!! Ur bp organised by who?

bx.. i am paying abt 300 after subsidy too ( no aircon), i am fine with non aircon cause more ventilation.. is the 520 one the KA that Reaana mentioned? Honestly speaking 520 is not cheap lah but if i really think that the place is more suitable for G, i will probably have to scrimp on other areas. But i think convenience is very impt too. do consider that.There is another CCC that i prefer.. Little Skoolhouse but i have to walk quite far to fetch her to and fro.. its really too troublesome for me when i am taking care of the younger one so the CCC next blk is the best option but of coz i am still KIVing.. How is the CCC that u prefer compared to YMCA?

XY..Hungry caterpillar looks gd!! Wish i can put her in this kind of CCC and C seems to be very comfortable there already.. even can help w the chores..

hi xiaoyun, actually, germaine used to study in hungry csterpillar when it is still a pre-school...overall, the place is good.

my neighbour's kid used to be in hungry caterpillar until this yr. he changed to cherie hearts at jln singa.. heehee..

genice, the bp no more le...good buy hor... plus i sold off the accessories...so my daytripper is only like hee $60.

actually, i want to place gervaise at mindchamp which is 1 level below my ofc. but too ex.... $1200++ after sub

dorothy
wow, you managed to sell off your accessories at such good price. what a great deal you had. bgt my daytripper at abt $89. no regrets.

think ok even though our kids are turning 2 yrs old. cos my gal (coming to 5 yrs old) uses it too and it's ok.

genice,
KA - $320
YMCA - $309
Elfa - $520
of coz in terms of environment, Elfa is much better than the other 2. i think i will definitely drop YMCA after reading reading Reena's comment. Can't bring myself to send A there. so it's between KA and Elfa. KA is just next blk but ELfa got to walk abt 10 min. i told hb i can picture a happy A in Elfa and a nobody's child in KA.

hopefully i get promoted soon so got more income. keke...

genice,
C seems ok with the environment. just that she will shake her head when we ask her if she wants to go to school.

according to the teacher, she behaves well. just that will cry after afternoon nap. think she still want to continue sleeping ba.
she slept a lot yesterday and today. 1 hr in the morning and 3 hrs in the afternoon. this explains why she's grouchy after school - cos too tired. :p

dor,
germaine attended hungry caterpillar previously?
u keep her old uniforms? wants to sell to me? their uniform expensive leh.

mindchamps too expensive. 4x what i am paying now.. equivalent to tuition fee for university.

bx,
when's A starting CC?

Bx, hi^, I like Elfa too. There's one at my nearby CC. Wanted to send RaeAnne there initially but too exp so decided to just send her to 2hr PG since I'm SAHM and have a maid. Think there's one at Changi Simei CC right? My ex colleague who also stays at Simei sends all her 3 gals to Elfa but the one at Pari Burong road cos got a house for them to run around.

<font color="0000ff">XY</font>,
My ex-coy is in the West, CCC is Creative-O. http://www.creative-o.com.sg/

What I like about this school is, they do alot of hands-on and outdoor activities (almost daily if it doesn't rain), not so much emphasis on academic. And I realised that the kids there are more out-spoken, probably due to their exposure to the outside world. See here for an excursion to SPH.
http://alvinology.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/interviewed-by-kids-from-creative-o/

And here's a review from a parent.http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=949

Another thing I like about Creative-O is, they don't use recorder, unlike some schools, they will turn on the recorder and sing along with the music. But in Creative-O, the teachers sing aloud throughout in class, unless it is music lesson.

The only thing is, they do not have infant care and for playgroups, the child MUST be toilet trained.

I rem I paid around $600/month after subsidy (when I resigned from the coy).

<font color="0000ff">BX</font>,
Actually I don't recommend KA as I've not put my child there before. When I first visited them, they were just newly opened, only 1 student. I decided against it because I'm claustrophobic so I can't tahan void deck schools. But based on a mother's instinct, they seem much better than blk 123.

I visited Elfa too and have shortlisted but after some considerations, I decided to drop Elfa too for the place was overly crowded.

I brought my kids to the playground again in front of blk 123 and further confirmed my concerns. At 5.30pm, most of the children are in the TV room watching TV while waiting for parents/guardian to fetch them. Imagine you only pick your child up at 7pm, that means they watch cartoon for 1.5 hrs! Maybe it's just me but I don't like my kids to watch too much TV so this is a no-no to me.

There is another CCC but slightly further from your place. It's Moriah (http://www.moriahbpc.org/2007/04/moriah-childcare-and-development-centre.html). DD1 was there for 1 month. I like their premises as it is huge and non aircon. Kids have ample space to run! But due to logistics and I don't get to spend time with DD1, I withdrew her and put her in Creative-O. Though travelling time was longer, I managed to spend some quality time with her to and fro school/work.

<font color="0000ff">iso</font>,
Alot of people don't know about e-coli virus thus allowing their little ones to go diaperless in the pool. In Western countries, they are VERY STRICT.

Once you cross the 3rd child, every thing will come by easily, easy peasy :p Not exactly smooth sailing but just need to grit teeth for that 2 - 3 years.

<font color="0000ff">bluegin</font>,
My heart goes out to you... Your MIL so "funny", don't want to look after weekdays yet offered weekends... weekend is your family day leh...

<font color="0000ff">Clover</font>,
That's good news! I just weighed DD3 today, she just crossed the 9kg!! But still on medium size diapers.

reena,
you really go into the details on how they teach the kids.

can't even remember if they on the recorder or not.
what normally the kids do after 5:30 pm? from the curriculum, they have group activities/home sweet home. when i fetch her around 6, they are also watching TV. (how to define cartoon btw? barney counted?)

C upgraded from M to L last month too. on the bright side, the diapers are cheaper.

i think she's having a growth spurt recently. appetite is very good. can finish her lunch and dinner very fast. soon i won't have strength to carry her anymore.

Stephie,
Thanks! I just bought the swim diaper when I saw it, is $14.95 the discounted price? What's the normal price?

I opened the packet and found the swim diapers looking like regualr ones, not sure if it can really 'hold' the pee and poo in if G indeed relieves himself? Havenot tested out yet cos no swimming during last week's class.

Think I will go and get the re-usable swim pants (I-Play only right? only sold at Bumwear?) when I have the chance to visit the malls...

hi bluegin,

i aso hate pple who smoke in front of kids, my inlaws do tat. highlight 2 my hb but he oni very "fu yan" 2 ask my girl 2 come over 2 our side if my inlaws smoke. so wat i did, i went over and carry my girl away frm my FIL 2 other area. i dun give a damn. i even told my maid in front of everyone, bring didi over 2 the other side as ah gong is smokin. i dun like didi or cayenne 2 inhale 2nd hand smoke.

if they cant be considerate 2 kids by not smoking, y shd i give face 2 them. tis is my tinking la. ;p

piglettail
based on the press ad of cold storage, it's stated that usual price is $16.45. have not bought before so don't know what's the 'usual price' but since it's advertised as a promo item, price shouldn't be too far off (cos generally cold storage stuff are pricier than the other supermarket unless there's promotion)

i play is sold in departmental stores such as isetan, taka. i remembered seeing swim pants when i was at royal sporting house (suntec outlet). can't recall what brand.

reena
good, can save $ if still on m size. i remembered my gal also was on m size for quite some time.

diapers:

Actually i find the main reason to upgrade Ruth from M to L was the 'holding power' of the diaper. Her pee is quite a lot now - and i think she's almost ready to go diaperless (though not 100%) cuz she holds her pee and then lets go a lot at a go. Thing is have to keep remembering to bring her to loo/potty and ask her to pee. She still dunno how to tell us she wants to pee - except on a few occasions she like, squeeze her knees together and put her both hands on her lower abs. So funny. Then we faster faster bring her to potty/loo.

And Ruth got expensive butt. Now only wearing Mamy Poko girl pants cuz other brands dun fit as well and she pee so 'forceful' that it just leaks all over.

WE got so sick of washing bedsheet/pillow/clothes/couch &amp; cushion covers etc that we just bite the bullet and spend on mamy poko diapers...especially when she sleep/nap. She like to sleep like, with butt up in the air, knees tucked in and head turned to one side. If wear any other diaper, wil leak major...

xiaoyun, what kind of meal does carrie's cc provide?

i'm concern with the meals provided cuz i'm very kiasu when comes to food.

tong,
wanted to reply your post but the thread is down.
for her meals at CC, lunch is like stir-fried bee hoon, fish porridge, spaghetties. they provide fruits after meal.
can't really remember what's for breakfast and tea-break.
they are halal but non-organic, non-vegetarian.
according to person in charge, you can make special request to bring in own food if you are vegetarian. but kids might feel weird if one eating one kind of food and the other eating another kind.

this morning C wave goodbye and blow kiss when daddy send her to CC. good improvement.

now comes another problem. her school project starts and now the parents need to work hard.
teacher asked us to help her get toy cooking utensils, old cooking magazines, pictures etc.
faint. so early need to start doing school project. -.-

reena,
Thank you for your ccc info.
Yap. I think wat my MIL want is during weekend, when we are not working, can help her to look after the kids. That's y offer to look after on weekend. weekday, we will be working, so cannot help her. N she will be alone with 2 kids.

XY &amp; Iso.
Thank for your comment. At least speak out feeling better.

I think the system is back.

Quick break while no. 1 is sleeping and no. 2 is looked after by maid. ;)

How's everyone? Nowadays only got time to read posts at night but no time to post much cos CL has left.

Don't know why but when using iphone, the Feb08MTB webpage cannot be enlarged. End up I can't read the posts. Only happens for this thread. :p

Hi mummmies,

Anyone stayin in Bkt Pjg, Bkt Batok, Upper Bkt Timah or CCK, wanna share helium tank with me for baby's 1st birthday.
I need to pump 200 balloons.

Rental is 26-28 Feb 2010.
PM me for discussion.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 12 responses!! I am hoping to get 18 more in the next week so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education.

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. It only takes 5-10 minutes to complete. To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

*wave*

i'm here...everyone waiting for everyone else to post is it?

me errm...busy with work (starting to count down to ML liao...so tying up MANY loose ends....hurray!!) plus helping PIL with his love letters biz.

also planning for A's little home celebration with immediate family plus some little gifts / cupcakes for her school. realized cupcakes are soooooo ex....$4 for one pretty one!! i sim tia to order hehe

xy,
nice tops, too bad i'm so advanced no point buying. will save $ to slim down instead!!

oh, btw, any MTBs who want to go for PRENATAL massage at rustic nirvana, but don't want to sign up entire package? i have 3 more sessions that i have not utilized. can let go at special price.

although RN allows me to swap to post natal, but i already signed up a separate post natal package with 15 sessions....think cannot finish using haha

tong,
very nice hoh.
i like it so much that ask my sis to organise BP for that. :D
you post in thread to ask her where's that from loh (help to increase the traffic :p)

sure got chance. if this BP successful, she will bring in more design.

XY,
confirm the clothes can get before CNY? maybe i get one for CNY (in case i don't bomb by then haha)...bomb already also can wear lah - tummy won't go down so quickly.

Iso,
ya lor...there are 10 kids in her class, but they kind of play together with the older kids...so hor, if i add up the entire group it's like 30 kids??? and it's not so nice to errm, only give out to her class right? dunno leh....