(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

anyone know if robinson's is still having a sale? i want to get some xmas toys gifts...

celia
i saw! but i got mail from her already to say taht she will send it out starting from 14 dec.

Iso, haha, my hubby had to pretend to walk towards the carpark to get the car while me and my gal walk towards her playgroup. :p

Sigh, I got no time to do Xmas shopping except toys which I got for RaeAnne earlier. Xmas tree still bare. :p

Thanks, Leila. Err... the photo not taken after massage. My hubby haven't upload the video of the massage yet. hee.

Hi mummies,can any1 SMS me garfield's mobile,I m using another phone so din store her no. My number is 97854097.tks! Gar, if u see this, pls SMS me
,I will b in the east today.

Xmas Gathering:
Enjoy yourself. Show me the photos.

Yap. When I mentioned I hv 2G, most of the ppl will put on the disappt look, and ask if I'm planning for No. 3. Initially I'm sad over it. But soon get over as we don't have to mind how others think abt things.
My friends who have 2B also been prompt these qns.
I think if you have 1B and 1G then ppl will congratulate you. That's life I guess.
Like garfield and bkkgal, I also think most impt is healthy bb.
Frankly speaking, who dun wanna be have 1B & 1G? I also wondering how my son will look like. hving a girl also very good. I told myself before. If I have 2 boys, I will try no. 3 for a girl. I definitely want a girl.

Before having No. 2, I told myself I definitely going to have no. 3 regardless if I hv 2G or 1B & 1G. But now I hv doubts, will still considering if i'm gng for No. 3.

Atermis,
Channet is closer to me than Daddy. Perhaps Daddy wasn't ard when she needs him. So whenever she felt very sad, it is Mummy she will be looking for. Daddy also heartbroken.

boy vs gal
heard that if the 1st 1 boy looks like mum,then next 1 will still be a boy,but if gal looks like dad,will be a boy,any 1 noe if it is true?

Gar, blueginger, bkkgal, LOL, I get the same response too. When they ask about no. 3, I'll tell them my hubby not keen. That usually shuts them up. Hee.

Leila, I can't really remember but it was after a BF session. So, she's probably feeling contented bah. Haha.

Goodbbb, never heard of the theory b4 but my gal looks like me, and no. 2 is a gal. Sounds accurate? ;)

goodbb,

frm wat i heard, the version is if girl resembles daddy, the next one will be boy. so far it is quite true 4 most cases i hv seen so far. btw, it is true 4 my case 2.

leila,
it's from nature's plus... here's the link of the item from vitakids (i usually get from them coz they are the only one so far i find who sells the small bottle) : http://www.vitakids.biz/shop/product_view.asp?id=85293&StoreID=90947917688E4F3FA58839EEF7E6FC03&private_product=0

about the website, not sure if it was me... but i did once say that i asked my colleague from china to help me buy usborne phonics book set... it's much cheaper.. same quality, just that it is bilingual... he actually didn't buy online, but he use the website to check if the books can be found there (i think)... if you want i can ask him what's the website coz i don't read/speak mandarin so won't be able to help.. heheh..

re: xmas gathering,
really enjoyed it! though i was quite tired afterwards... and C as well... he was famished by the time we reach home, had lunch and knock out after that... heheh...
nice to see everyone (and the kids), i took some pics (not a lot, busy looking out for C and making sure he behaves) and have 1 nice group pic, just post it on my multiply...

Tute,
Toddler's main source of food should come from the solids they eat and milk is only a supplement now. Some kids just don't like milk (like me) so if you are concern about calcium intake, try sub with yogurt and/or cheese.

tongtong,
I used to freeze my soup stock in tupperware containers but it's so oily and I had to wash the containers like 4 - 5 tims but still oily. Now I use freeze in disposable plastic bags. Beware of using glass for freezer as they may crack due to the temperature unless it is stated that it is safe for freezer. It doesn't matter whether you freeze up to the brim or not. Even if you don't, if the glass is not suitable for freezer, there may still be some hairline cracks and that's more dangerous cos you can't see.

Esther,
DD3 is super clingy towards me, everything also wants me. She used to allow DH to bathe and change her but with DH's frequent travelling the past few months (he's only in Sgp 1/4 time of the month since Oct), she literally refuse him now. The lucky thing is I have 2 elder kids at home to play with her so she's alright when she's not sleepy nor hungry.

Giving supplements
I try not to give supplements since they should be getting their nutrients from solids now. I don't give because I don't want them to be dependant on supplements. Even if I do, it is not on daily basis but more like a reward thingy.

Artemis
Is your child still nursing or have stopped? If she is still nursing and you have no wish to stop, then I don't see a reason why you should discontinue. If she has already weaned off, sometimes it's just to suckle/kiss for fun. If I were you, I'll prob tell her it is ok to do that at home but not outside. But then again, she only does that to you when you are naked so this should not occur outdoors.

Food outside
My kitchen is closed on most weekends and we always end up eating junks. Unfortunately, DD3 followed us and eat junks too. But I think it is ok since she has already eaten proper food (ie carbo + protein + veg) for 5 days in a week.

XY,
Doraemon yogurt drink can be found in most supermarkets and they are usually together with the UHT/condensed/evaporated milk section.

bx,
I personally wont use those stock cubes. Just boil so ikan bilis/spare ribs/chicken bones for stock, more natural.

xy,
I shortlisted the same recipe from Florence too but planning to replace wheatgerm with wholemeal as mine already expired and I have no wish to buy another pack just for this. Are the cookies crispy?

genice,
Gwen is a strong girl leh, can open fridge by herself.

Boy vs Girl
I agree with bkkgal, healthy most important.

Morning Sickness when expecting girl?
Not true for me as I suffered MS for all 3 pregnancies.

Hi Reena, aren't you in Beijing at the moment? I read your blog.

Predicting gender of next child
K looks like the father but I'm having a girl - so i think not true.

Morning sickness
I think the sex of child does not affect MS. It's how your body deals with the onset of raging hormones. 2nd time was better for me, only severe MS for 3 weeks, guess my body is "used" to hormones?

Bx, just read your blog. Congrats on getting a boy. Hope it's what you wanted.

I think Ashlynn looks so much like you but since no. 2 is a boy, guess the prediction is not true. ;)

bkkgal, I thought Kate looks more like you leh but maybe it's because I don't remember how your hubby looks like. Hee.

Re: MS

Thanks for all the comforting words.
Cant wait for this phase to be over soon. Finaly entering 13th wk hopefully ms will be over in 1-2 wks time . Can gradually feel the energy and appetitie coming back soon. But still i woke up in the middle of the night to vomit yellowish stuffs.. my goodness.. 5 am just to vomit. and also vomiteed just b4 i left for polliwogs on sat. This is disgusting but i actually took down pictures of the yellowish liquid ( cause i think this might be my last pregnancy.. haha so must have some pictorial evidence to show my kids what i have gone thru.. :p)

Re: MS=ger
Oops.. so this theory is not true.. good lah.. otherwise so easy to predict gender?? :p

Re: ger vs boy
I agree with what gar says.. actually some pp still have wishes of having either boy or ger so maybe just have to be sensitive and 'sense' out what thy feel before commenting.. I think the best is just say "Congratulations!" and shuddup... hehe

i think nowadaes.. ger or boy abt the same.. as long as pil/parents do not stress us to 'produce' a son to continue the family name can already..that can really spoil our whole pregnancy!

goodbaby and ester.. haha will confirm when i noe the sex..

bx.. congrats... just saw ur updates too!

Re: opening fridge

tt and tute .. thanks..will check out the ikea fridge lock..

tute.. so i guess this is part and parcel of growing up..sigh..she is not helping in energy conservation lor..

reena.. quite easy to open the fridge leh.. erm.. or maybe cause gwen also quite big size.. she's quite fleshy actually... think she really eat too much.. although i cant cook good food but she eats a lot of porridge at my mil place and in between snacks on biscuits and fruits.. cant help it cause my mil always offer her food or gwen will look for food like opening fridge lor.. haha

Re:stock
following what bx have asked... reena and other mummies.. how u all cook ikan bilis stock?? Must wash and soak ikan bilis? For how long? cause it will be a bit salt if cook just like that right?

Re: polliwogs
Actually din plan to go down cause hubby wasnt free but i am glad that i did. Thanks to bkkgal who gave me a lift.

Bkkgal..Thanks! it was an interesting ride to and fro seeing kate and gwen interacting and i am so impressed with kate. She can speak really well in sentences.. haha.. think gwen also dunno how to react ..she seems a bit 'shocked'.And kate has a good memory too! She remembers gwen's name and can call her gwen after u told her once and even fed her when i asked her to. Cute and smart little ger.

Great to see the rest of the mummies and tots too..haven seen some of u for so long... I think i haven seen arielle since she was 7 mths ( at my hse, i tink).. she is so cute.. gar.. paiseh abt the wafer.

1st time meeting fairfeild too!! Another pretty and young mummy!

crystal, genice and pauline,
thanks!!

pauline,
actually ashlynn does look like daddy when when she younger. as she grows older, she starts to take after me i think.

re: polliwogs
thanks for organising that gathering, and for me to finally be able to meet some of the mommies.

genice, nice to meet u too! wished we had a chance to talk more that day!!

artemis,
i have a couple of pics of Danica. Shd I email them to u?

genice,

nw u alredi in 13th wk. tink shd be able 2 knw the gender in ur next appt. i made a guess on ur bb's gender. but dunno true anot. haha...

bx,

i agree, A looks more like daddy when newborn when i see her younger time pics in ur blog.

My C nw looks more like me as she grows.

reena,

am hoping tis clingy period will go away soon.

nw i got another set of problems. Cayenne is having her terrible twos now! at times i look @ her, i reali out of my wits.. dunno wat 2 do. sigh..

then hb instead of helping me, flare up @ her.

btw mummies who bake,

may i knw the reason y the cake will hv cracks on the top after baking?

AND why some part not fully baked? esp the bottom.

if the intructions stated using a 22cm tin, i oni hv a 18cm tin, does it matter?

good morning!

fairfield, aiya.. how come you never self introduce? only know who u are on the way back.

bx, congrats

bb gender
actually, i wanted a gal... so when i know no2 is a boy, was very sad for a while...
so if i got no3, i hope i will have a gal!

Leila, maybe you want to try adding some red dates and wolfberries while cooking his porridge/stock(can add blackbeans too) n the veg you mentioned, and see whether there’s any improvement? Tot it might be “liang” so he might get mashy poo. Mine din because I used veg stock to cook his porridge, where I add in red dates and wolfberries to prepare his stock. Erm, does your son chew and bite? You might want to cut the veg up into tiny pieces and add in the very last minute. For Shaun, I will do that same. But for broccoli, I will cook the big piece cuz he knows how to bite and chew liao. For veg that he doesn like I will cut into small pieces. For avocado, yea will get mushy poo because avo/sweet potato acts like prunes, tend to be more laxative. but since he likes to eat biscuit ( which tends to be heaty), so I have no worries.

Reena, I agree on ur view on the supplements

Dor – after going to 2 playscape, you prefer polliwogs or GGB? It was a pity that shaun missed the polliwogs. But I will bring him there one day. Hey, try #3!! think i can only try #2 after i gain weight. sigh, i dunno how to increase my weight cuz i cant eat much ever since i stopped bf

Esther
my E also approaching terrible twos. sometimes not easy to distract him with other things and he will refuse to cooperate. guess we just have to be be firm with them and have patience. sigh!

tongtong
how was staccato? i think i can't make it this sat as the timing is too tight for me, i'll call them to let them know.

tongtong
how to cook red dates and wolfberries? like how to prepare? must soak first? i've been thinking of adding it in, and would love to add in peanuts into porridge also but they take so long to cook...

esther
i dun bake but my mum does a lot, i think if u use a smaller tin, then the cake will be thicker, and that might affect whether the centre part is cooked properly, based on the time/temperature?

bkk,
No leh, I've never been to China. What did I blog about?

Next bb prediction,
Not sure if any of you have heard but it's the spiral thingy on the head, can't rem clockwise or anticlock you will have boy/girl.

ikan bilis stock,
What I usu do is to give the ikan bilis a rinse off first, then soak in water for 5 - 10 mins, change water and soak 5 - 10 mins again before cooking.

esther,
Don't worry about the clingy part, it's just part and parcel of their growing up.

cracks on cakes,
I suspect your oven temp is too high and uneven. Try lowering your temp and tent your cake till almost cook, then remove tent to brown the top. If recipe asks for 22cm but you baked in a smaller pan, you will have to increase your baking time. Hths.

Red dates and wolfberries into soup,
I usu wash and soak the red dates for a few mins before using. Just add it together with the soup stock. For wolfberries, add it last, around 5 mins before turning off the fire.

reena,
ok thanks for that... will try to be less uptight about his milk intake and give him other alternatives.. unfortunately he's not that into cheese but he likes yoghurt so i'll keep giving him that...

bx,
congrats ! ashlynn will have a little brother to play with

fairfield,
too bad didn't get a chance to really chat coz busy looking out for kids... but finally nice to meet you in person, agree with jeannie... you are another young and pretty mummy !

jeannie,
i am amazed with your energy! can still look out for gwen at polliwogs eventhough you're preggie... then again, gwen is so easy going and cute... sorry cayleb almost scared her... but it was cute seeing the 2 of them laughing around..heheh... btw, my hb took a nice candid pic of gwen laughing, it's uploaded in my multiply

xy,
sorry cayleb made carrie cried... hope she is ok, cayleb had a bump on the head after that but he was too excited that he didn't even feel it.

lezy,
what happened to you? we missed you at polliwogs!

bkk,
i think kate looking more and more like his daddy... especially the eyes...

re outdoor activities,
yesterday we went to fly kite and surprisingly cayleb loves it... he kept wanting to hold the railings... so funny... it's a nice outdoor activity if you don't mind the outdoor that is

Sorry all....i bumped into Xiaoyun at Mcdonald's (East Coast) on Saturday but i had to leave early cuz we needed to erm select tiles. hehe. having some minor reno at home to redo toilet and kitchen and in quite a hurry so needed to get it done. My architect was at the tile shop so we headed down.

Sorry ah. we were all prepared liao...but left right after breakfast. Ruth kept pointing at the bicycle shop on the way to the carpark - think she's disappointed no bicycle to ride....we bring her to ride bicycle pretty often.

Danica had a wonderful time at Polliwogs too. Unfortunately, she was too reeved up and did not fall asleep till 2:30 p.m. :p Woke up at 5 p.m. and ask for milk then to go gei gei.

Hi Reena,

:p Yeah, I will only be naked at home. Thanks for the advice.

Hi fairfield,

Yes, please send to [email protected]. Thanks in advance. :p Danica is a little vain pot. See camera only pose. Thanks for taking her photos.

re : cracks on cake,

iso,

i tot i can jz mk do wif any tin i hv mah. :p

reena,

wat u mean by tent the cake & brown the top? temp uneven? meaning my oven too old (it is in fact) tat the temp will get uneven?

me is a complete idiot on baking. keke...

Terrible 2: seems like mine over liao? Cuz it started very long ago. Now he doesn’t throw tantrum liao cuz I know what he wants by asking him and he will tell me what he wants now. So I think to handle T2 is to handle their needs/wants. And must be patient ok.

Staccato trial: I went both Juzmusic and Staccato trial. I think both are equally good. The approach might be a little different but I think shaun learned different things at different trials. But I din sign up cuz location too far. But I made an effort to go because it was FREE, lol. Cheapo me :p

tongtong
haha.. i think even if have to pay, sometimes i dun mind going for trials so you know what's going on or what is available out there

tong,
i think polliwogs better. :p

hahaha... no#3? not now... tired... cos vaise is still very onz with latching... think he will fight with no#3 on latching

Hello mummies - i heard that Polliwogs was really fun, too bad i had to missed it, otherwise super rush for me. I hope next time we will have outing again
. Post pics ya.

BX - congrats! finally we moved on the second phase where we can shop for bb clothes upon knowing the gender

Genice - hope your MS subsides soon!!! :p, by the way, haven't had much chance to chat with u on Sat. I told you i wanted to sign up H at P's schoolhse, but its on waiting list until dunno when..zzz, so hubby decided to sign H up for another term of LNT, are you planning to?

travel - tmr i am off to super cold Shanghai, my last trip for the year! hopefully last trip b4 i give birth, am SO sick already. I am definately dreaming of becoming SAHM after i give birth..hiak hiak.

Dor - admire you! you are still so hardworking to BF!

dor - ok, i will sure go polliwogs , maybe after xmas. oh yea lor. since vaise is still latching.... sure get more jealous with #3

qingling, no lah... got demand so bo bian.. i stopped expressing already. was veri upset as the pump was my companion for 22 mths.

tong- jio me! need to bring germaine there.. she complaining already.

tute,
nice to meet u and cayleb. He was the first child I recognised that day. :)
thanks for ur compliments, but i am neither young nor pretty. Old liao..

artemis,
i emailed u the pics liao.
Danica is such an outgoing child, very adorable.

Polliwogs
Was fun for K. She didn't want to take off her socks, had to bribe her with raisins. She KO-ed upon reaching home, no lunch, no milk, just sleep until 5pm.

I agree with Dor - polliwogs is WAYYY better than Go Go Bambini. Gogo was quite dirty and unhygienic I feel. Plus the staff got some kind of Pinkerton syndrome with so many ang mohs there.

Reena
Happyhomebaking.blogspot.com not you ah? I must have read wrongly then :p pai seh

Genice
I'm glad u came along too
I learnt that cooping up at home with little one didn't do my MS anygood. Worse thing is you end up anticipating when your lunch/dinner/breakfast is gonna come out.

I think K may have been too forward with Gwen by trying to hug her/hold her hands. She's quite used to hugging/holding A's hands cos they see each other nearly every weekend and may be thinking that G is A. A even allows K to feed her water, and I dunno...other things that they do together that me and Gar don't see!

Btw, she loves the tutu skirt. When she woke up from nap, first thing she saw the skirt, she wanna wear liao! I have to tell her the skirt is Gwen's, we borrow only.

Lezy
wah ur reno need architect? i thot designer/contractor will do :p

Veggies
Do your tods eat green veggies??? K only eats mushroom, carrot, radish, wintermelon,lotus root...as u can see, none of them are GREEN veggies. how do u make them eat greens?

Veggies,
Hmm, skylar eats a little spinach, and some caixin leaves. Doesnt seem to like it though. Is it difficult for our tots to eat lotus roots, cos its a little "sticky"? I've not tried it with skylar yet.

Hi fairfield,

lol... I just saw the pics. Sorry about Danica invading Skylar's personal space. :p He didn't look too happy about it. But Danica loves to give hugs when she is in the mood, especially to kids.

tongtong
no not going.. will call them to let them know, no worries!
and will see if i can make the 930am class, but all depends on hubby's schedule cos i have to drop him off at work.

Fairfield,
K eats lotus roots like a snack. It's like the minute she sees lotus root, everything else won't wanna eat! If we cook lotus root soup, we must "hide" the root when feeding so that she eats the rice and other dishes first. But now she smart already, once taste the soup, will know there's lotus root.

She also loves fungi - all kinds of fungi, chinese, japanese, shitake, golden, straw, portobello. Too much fungi healthy or not huh?

Just came back from gynae's visit - I'm happy cos only put on 300g in 2 weeks, that means weight gain is slowing down, whereas baby gained from 2.1 kg to 2.3 kg. Which means bulk of what I put on in 2 weeks went to her! whoopee!

bkk
lol... my first trimester i was so bloated, i thought i was going to be HUGE by the time i get to the end! luckily now not so bloated, i think my tummy size has been almost the same for the last 1-2 months now due to getting rid of all that water retention

Iso
When pp see my tummy, they go - are u due soon??? Everytime my bosses see me, they go "Oh you're so big, i didn't realise! do let us know if you are going off soon." Almost feel like faking it and taking hosp leave!! LOL.

I'm only 31 weeks and I already look like almost near popping! Was so scared, dunno how I'll look by the time I hit 40 weeks.

good afternoon!!
C enjoyed her time at polliwogs too. but accompanying her is super tiring. both me and hb take turn also feel tired. lousy stamina. :p

fairfield,
didn't realise you are feb mummy as skylar looks more than 2yr+. probably due to his height.
hb asked me if i know this chio chio mummy, and i say no. until i see you joining us taking the group photo.
now i understand why this chio chio mummy keep smiling at me during the play. paiseh paiseh.

tute,
no worry. C has iron head. she doesn't have any bump.
she probably cry due to the shock. she's fine very soon after that.