(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

iso..

oh dear...hmm..i'm looking for those free international shipping sites - like tobiasmayer so i won't care what size box they use!!!

so hard to find for crocs leh...

Long time no "see" ^_^ Been really busy with work and implementation of project.

Just to share with you ladies, since Danica has started taking Usanimals (around 13 months. She loves them :p Every time I ask her if she wants to eat vitamin, she will run to the dining table and wait for me there), she had not been sick until last week. She had runny nose, fever and cough with phelgm. I did not take her to see a doctor but made shingo pear with chuan bei powder and gave her the NatraBio Cold and Flu drops and she recovered within the week. Whenever her fever was more than 38 degrees, I gave her paracetamol which I left in the fridge.

I personally find that her immunity system has improved greatly after consumption of Usanimals. She does not get sick so often and when she does, she does not stay sick for long.

If any of you are interested in getting some to try, please let me know. It retails at SGD35 but I can get it at distributor price of SGD29. At their current age, 1 bottle can last 8 weeks.

By the way, congratulations to all pregnant mummies. Wow! You all are really contributing to Singapore's population. :p I think I will wait till Danica is 3 before trying for the next one.

Pauline,
I have tried out a few recipes, just uploaded one in my blog.
http://blessedhomemaker.blogspot.com/

And I don't use pre-mix from medical halls. For the chuan bei, they have a few types. $5, $6 and $28, I bought the latter.

According to the staff, if you are giving TCM, interval should be 2 hours if you are giving western medicine too.

I'll be updating more recipes shortly.

Not easy with inlaws (or rather, the elderly) when it comes to medication, they have their own way of doing things and I get very annoyed when they try to intervene. Also, I get comments like after bath must quickly wear clothes, else will all sick. DS2 is always naked esp when the weather is hot. Even for DD3, sometimes I just let her wear diaper and run in the house :p

Try to sponge her as much as you can, and lots of fluid. When they are sick, they lack appetite. Just cook porridge with lots of water (you may add some meat/egg/veg), let her drink the porridge water.

apple,
No need microwave/oven, just thaw it overnight in the fridge if you have time. For me, I just thaw in room temperature the night before.

"Swan" ride,
The big "swan" where you can sit 2 pple and paddle in the lake :p

tongtong,
So fortunate to stay near some "nature" walks.
I attended DS2's meet parents session yday and teacher told me my son only knows the shopping mall near my house :p

BX,
For food stuff, you may want to try珊瑚草 (or commonly known as 海燕窝), heard it's high in collagen.

Stephie,
I love to travel so I do all the planning, fm booking of air tickets, accommodation, itinerary and sightseeing, everything bao ka leow, but I enjoy lor hehehe. Whenever we go for holiday, I'm always the planner. Even looking at maps, I'm much better than DH.

We try not to stress ourselves too much, itinerary is PLANNED and we try to follow. If no time, we'll give it a miss. In that way, not so stressful. Holiday is to relax, not stress ;-)

reena
same leh, my sense of direction and map reading skills also better than hubby. he always get confused when he's at a new place. blur blur one. i always tease him saying that he'll get loss without me around. haha.

bx,
realise that you ask me 'where' to squeeze wu fen pu. not 'should' squeeze wu fen pu or not. :p
probably day 2? after yang ming shan trip? we went there half a day only as we not too romantic ppl and cannot enjoy whole day in a mountain.
can squeeze another night market visit after yang ming shan too.

bx
if just taipei, don't need itinerary. roughly identify places you wish to go then slot into the 5 days. good to get taipei map so that you know which are the places that are nearby.

i went wu fen pu but didn't buy much things there. it's a wholesale place. clothings during this period not v suitable for us. there's a nite market near wu fen pu, called Rao He Ye Shi with a famous hu jiao bing stall. very long queue and quite yummy.

stephie,
yes, it's the Rao He night market. I can't remember the name until you mentioned.
For the hu jiao bing, it has another branch near Taipei MRT Station - our hotel just opposite it.
We bought it from rao he night market to bring back for supper. and turns out that it's selling opposite the hotel. haha..

xiaoyun
ya, now i remember seeing the hu jiao bing branch at another nite market. think it's those open stalls located beside shi lin nite market.

stephie,
got ppl sell this sweet in BP too. not sure the price. cos haven't intro sweets to her yet. :p
japan also many good buys, e.g., Meiji collagen
which part of japan you went? tokyo?

Airasia promo
Saw it but didn't book as the travelling date is so far and with DH travelling so often now, duno when can go holiday :-(

Philippines,
Anyone familiar with Manila? DH may be posted there for 1 month so we are working out if the whole family should all go together.

Pauline,
Try to sponge her every now and then even if the fever is not high.

Genice,
When we went to Perth in 2007, we had initially wanted to drive down to Margaret River and Albany but shelved that idea because we were travelling with young toddlers. In the end, we stayed 7 nights in Perth (suburb) and spent lots of time at the beach. Actually it depends on what you want, adults or kids oriented. From there, it's easier to plan.

Taiwan,
My sis just came back from Taiwan, 8D7N F&E. They stayed in Taipei throughout and took bus/trains outskirts. Very easy to move about and folks are very helpful and friendly there.

They stayed at Future Star Hotel, very near MRT. Very basic hotel but good location.

http://www.futurestarhotel.com.tw/front/bin/ptdetail.phtml?Part=r006&Category=63791

tute,
I agree with you, I also prefer home cooked food but sometimes cook until duno what to prepare... But when eat out also sien cos it's always the same old thing. And we are already eating out in restaurants at least once a week. Single income so shouldn't splurge like this :p

bx, are you preg too? If yes, congrats!

xiaoyun
oh is it. when free go check out BP. my SIL complained that the retail price is very high here cos there's only one distributor in singapore. curious to know how much the vit cost under BP.

i went osaka, kyoto, mt fuji and tokyo. it's more like zou ma kan hua. hence i wanna go back to tokyo on F&E to slowly explore.

xy, stephie,
wat is hu jiao bing? all the taiwan talk is getting me so excited!

reena,
yup i am
preggie can eat the 珊瑚草 which u mentioned? will it be too liang? i will be abt 15-16 weeks when i go.

go tsipei dun need tour package. Other place without a vehicle a bit difficult to move ard. AUn moon lake sightseeing only. Mostly for relaxation, not adventure type.
Alishan must see sunrise.
Things to do during winter. Basically I just eat my way all day and go hot-spring. =P and enjoy the cold weather. Buy books and comic.

XY,
I still take coach to and fro airport. Cheaper unless relatives send us to airport. Free.

Went to clinic to remove dressing. Gosh... I stil have 8kg to shed. Hope I can lose them within 2 months.

bx,
I'm not sure about preggie and 珊瑚草, maybe you can check with your gynae? It's ok for toddlers though, I gave my 3 kids and they all love it!

tong tong,
Yes, needs to pay for the swan ride (just found out it's actually call swan paddling). More info here http://www.bottletree.com.sg/?cat=33

tute,
Want to find out if Manila is child-friendly, transport easily available and safe to go out alone ie me + 3 kids. Thanks!

hello mummies!
all the talk about tour and Taipei!

I am going Taipei next week, Monday to Thursday but for arggh. work. i also hope i have some night time to walk the night market!

reena - Manila i been to before quite a number of times, basically i think if its at night better not wander yourself with 3 kids. Day time, i still feel not so safe but i think its ok if you manage to get yourself a reliable driver

Blueginger,
Congrats! share with us your baby's photo!

so happy today,
one of my caterpillar became beautiful butterfly....

Reena,
I went to Yishun bottle tree park, it's near butterfly lodge.

For traveling, I also did all booking/research. At breakfast/lunch every day, I brief DH itinerary, he will locate places and restaurant then. Hehe.....I am very lousy map reader.

bx
胡椒饼is a snack. taste something like shao bing, jus that it has pork filling and is round in shape.

iso
hehe..strange that we girls are better map reader than them hoh.

qingling
if you are not too tired after work, sure can go nite market in taipei since they are open till quite late.

Thanks, everyone for advice and concern.
Went to Hock Hwa and bought the 珍珠川贝 (sales lady told me it's top grade) 南杏, 北杏 and some chinese 鸭梨 (more cooling she said). Also bought flumicil satchets and a nasal spray that A Jan mummy recommended. Only let her try Flumicil so far cos she napped from 2-5pm. By the time, she woke up, time for fever med liao so can't take TCM. If she can nap better, hope it means that she is getting better. Fever peaks are slightly better too, around 37.9 to 38.1.

Thanks, Reena for the recipe. The hock hwa staff told me after 2 hours too but 1 hr still ok cos she said this soup is not strong. She split up the 川贝 into 5 packs and I'm supposed to double boil or boil 1 pack with 1 ya pear and 1 teaspoon of 南杏,北杏. Will add some winter melon sugar if still not sweet. :p

Vitamins
I just collected my lucky vitamins loot from spree organiser this evening. Got some gummy bears and gummy fruits sweets for RaeAnne. Actually supposed to collect my breast pump accessories from the same organiser in end Nov but decided to get it early since the vitamins sweets may be useful to 'pian' RaeAnne to take her medicine and I may need the Motherlove's BF supplements earlier too. :p Let RaeAnne try the gummy bears just now. She likes it.

Wa, all this talk about Taiwan making me very gian too. Have saved all the hotel links.
Both hotels claim to be near Taipei train station though. Don't know which one is really nearer. :p

XY, ya lor, if I can go in Mar/Apr timing then I'll go to Japan to see sakura liao. Sigh.

Bx, haha me and hubby went on holiday w/o RaeAnne, just a short trip to Penang this June too. That time also got free airticket promotion but I only managed to get the return leg free. Okie lar, single income now so not much budget. I also don't want to spend too much cos may end up bringing the gals there again if I go to HK or Taiwan. ;P

tubao,
do you still interested to attend baking class?

Phoon Huat Baking Demo Class ($10):
BAKED BANANA CHEESE CAKE
MUESLI BREAD
04/12/2009 (Fri)
7.00 pm to 9.00 pm
Sims Lane Outlet
Geylang Lor 23, One Sims Lane, #01 - 10 Singapore 387355

LAM SOON CC BREADMAKING WORKSHOP ($30)
05-Dec-09 (Sat)
SATURDAY 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM

JALAN BESAR CC BREADMAKING WORKSHOP ($22)
19-Dec-09 (Sat)
10:00 AM - 01:30 PM

re: taipei
Pauline,
the Future Star Hotel is near the Xi Men MRT Station, the one that I mentioned is near Taipei MRT Station.
In fact their MRT stations are quite near to each other. Can walk - just like cityhall, bugis, etc.
Since it's still too early for you to plan. You just KIV bah.

stephie,
so many places.. Tokyo F&E also quite easy too. Their MRT/trains very convenient.

I am opposite. Can't read map, no sense of directions.
Friends around me say that i shouldn't drive :p

bluegin,
why you so familiar with taiwan?
it's you who are from taiwan or your hb?

re: kanyu drops
stephie,
the price difference quite a lot for different vitamins.

Reena: Thanks! I did not know we can just thaw bread and eat without microwave/toaster!

Taipei: The last time I went we took this *FEI GOU* which is a coach from the airport. You can buy the tickets at its counter at the airport. Convenient as it goes directly to my hotel at Xi Men Ding.
http://www.onestartaipei.com.tw/en/room-en.html

I enjoy my stay at this small hotel. Convenient too. Taipei easy to move around in their trains or taxis! The furthest we venture out is to Ji Long. Along the way go to Wu Fen Pu.

Hot spring: we took a package with lunch. I nearly want to faint in the hot spring. Not used to it. I find it quite uncomfortable for me. But the lunch was great! Each of us was even served one whole abalone each. I remember the package price is not too ex either.

There are many different night market there! I am visiting different night market every night! I found some good buys from those street vendors who source their goods from Korea. Some shop owners bought from them to sell in shops. Its very cheap like $5 for good quality tops and cardigans.

Japan: I read air tickets price going up . Will it be ex to go next yr?

So strange that you all are better map readers. I totally hates to read maps loh. Even GPS also can confuse me ahahah. Normally my hubby will plan every with full iternary and I just follow. Basically I don;t like to make decision.

taiwan hot springs

how does this compare to the japan ones? we went with a group, and we stayed in a place that wasn't cheap, cost almost $200+ a night, and i was really disappointed with the hot springs cos i thought the atmosphere not as nice at japan ones. we were there for a conference and after that we were staying at westin taipei, which i would have MUCH rather stayed at than the hot spring place!

and maybe we dunno where to shop, i didn't find the stuff more exciting than bangkok?

dor,
CC also have cupcakes class. but i not interested.
you want to join the breadmaking class as well?

Phoon Huat Christmas Cupcakes Decoration Hands-On Workshop
Venue: Geylang Lor 23, One Sims Lane Building
#01-10 Singapore 387355

Slots:
17/12/09&18/12/09
(1) 12 - 2 pm
(2) 3:30 - 5:30 pm
(3) 7 - 9:30 pm

19/12/09
(1) 10:30 - 12:30 pm
(2) 2- 4 pm
(3) 5:30 - 7:30 pm

Lots of culinary classes at CC:
http://one.pa.gov.sg/CRMSPortal/CRM...rseSelection&_pageLabel=CRMSPortal_page_1

XY
me interested! but me will be VERY big by then. I went for Phoon Huat class when preggy with K. Instructor was very scared I slip and fall in class cos the floor can get wet and slippery esp at the sink area.

Qingling,
still travelling??
When can u get off the travelling schedule? dun over work hor.

Taiwan
wow, u all very familiar with Taiwan. Hot springs!!! i loved the one we went to in Hokkaido - is it the same? like as in women in 1 place and men in separate spring? I saw this lil jap girl scrubbing her mommy's back and i had a vision of my (future) daughter doing the same! hehe. I've never been, maybe shud KIV for next year cold season. K loves the cold.

i went for hands-on CNY goodies class with mom and sis. Very good. Instructor is a guy. He's aunty sha shou type. Lots of aunties at the class. But they not very considerate to me cos they rush for everything. Lucky mom and sis help me to take ingredients and wash up cos really the aunties will shove u aside, pregnant or otherwise.

The recipes are good. I still use the cashew nut cookie recipe for CNY.

bkk,
the bread/cake handson class for phoon huat is this week.
dun think we can make it for tomorrow evening. Sat not possible for me cos hb might have mobilisation - means i need to stay at home to take care of C.

xiaoyun
my hubby having mob this sat too. sianz, he can't go to a kids party with me and kids.

feel like joining some cooking classes at CC. go recce what classes that cc opp my mum's place has.

re: hot spring
i very shy, dare not go to public hot spring. so have never been to one when i was in taipei and japan.

however, it's predicted that Yen will drop, so maybe can offset the cost alittle.

apple
yalor, the airport tax for japan already increase wef oct 09. when i booked was only $75, after oct 09 became $160. newspaper report say next year prices to japan and hongkong will increase.

Stephie: you always very in tune to the exchange rates all that hor.Thinking of going somewhere next year.

Don;t think I have the guts to go public one too. The one I went was private one.

Iso; Bangkok definitely nicer to shop. Things are much cheaper as well.

Mobilisation: My hubby's one just over. Everyday wait and wait and they are not called back in the end.

XY
The phoon huat class must book ahead. I think cannot make it le. If you want the dec classes, must book now. dun think i'll go lah cos by Dec i'll be 33 weeks..getting clumsier.

Hot spring
hehe, first time i went to korean bathhouse, very shy - this fat korean aunty scrubbed me down. all the korean women never stare or anything. second time in japan, also shy but the women act natural, so after a while i let down my guard. But hor, if i have to go with pp i know, then I think it's different loh! imagine looking at your mom/sis/fren naked!!

diana!
i went to best denki yesterday to see the humidifiers. the floral ones we were looking at are like $299!
the one i have now is only $149. the design of the floral one is nicer, slightly easier to fill, and has a few more functions, but the sales guy said too many electronic buttons also no good since got humidity and water, might spoil easily.

he actually recommended the Osim one because he said it has an ioniser as well, so it's worth it. must think about it, i'm still not sure..

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
6. bx + hb + A
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar

apple
hehe.. i only take note of currencies of countries i intend to visit.

for hotspring, will only dare to go if it's private one

bkkgal
exactly, if i'm with pple whom i don't know at all, perhaps will still consider going to public hotspring. even tour mates are no no cos you'll still see each other for rest of the tour.

stephie,
confirm your hb and mine is from the same clan.
reservist, mobilisation all same time.
this time round confirm got mob, he already received alert call liao. no play play..

tubao/bkk,
means all cannot make it loh.
nvm, let me ask my colleague if she wants to go or not. :p

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
6. bx + hb + A
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. fairfield + skylar
9. artemissoh + hb + Danica + maid