(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

apple, you asked me about the filling hor:banana walnut, apple cinnamon, apple walnut, fig, apricot, blueberry, cranberry, sundried tomato, olives, yam

bx,
yaya.. like apple said, lots of ppl buy the beauty products from 'nv3 ren2 wo3 zui4 da4' online and send to 7-11 nearby for collection.
lots of chinese books to buy too.. if you are chinese books fans.

btw, what's the review of:
Red House Seafood Restaurant 小红楼 (East Coast)
in comparison with long beach?

tong,
i bought those NT199 shoes back too. about 7 pairs.
the quality are so so, can tahan for a few months. too bad my feet are small, otherwise will be able to get more.

since she's guai, i hardly got experience to handle a cranky kid. whenever she becomes cranky, i normally just put her on the floor (at home) cry until she like. I don't think i can do the same outside.

bx
beauty products from mei li de ri ji is cheap in taiwan too. hubby's colleagues tong pang us to buy masks when we were in taiwan in March this year. there's a cosmetic brand that is cheap too. bought some eyeshadow, mascara for hubby's colleague too.

xiaoyun
i don't really fancy tour group (my hubby does cos he lazy to plan and happy to just follow the itinerary). it's more of a no choice for my case since kids are young now and there are only two of us. if can, i would like to go F&E. but my F&E is very siong too. haha.. i remember when we went HK twice on F&E, we walked a lot from morning till late evening. my poor mum gotta walk a lot too :p

i am thinking of going F&E to tokyo next year. hopefully easier to handle the kids by then ;)

dorothy
^5. you sound like me and your hubby sound like my hubby. hahah.. i suggest you bring along your day tripper. last time when i brought my girl to US (2 yrs 9 mths then), i gungho didn't bring stroller cos wanna travel light. who knows end up my mum and hubby took turn to carry her, it was so tiring for them. I couldn't chip in cos was preggie then. in the end when we saw a cheap stroller in supermarket (abt US$11), quickly grab one. After that, really saved hubby and my mum from carrying my girl, especially tiring when she was sleeping. the stroller came in helpful too for us to hang our shopping bags.

i brgt stroller too when i went HK. quite ok except need to carry when using overhead brigde and going down to mrt stations.

reena
i'm always the one sleeping late and waking up early on tour be it package or F&E. in the morning, we don't wake the kids up, changed them while they sleep. carry them onto the stroller and push them to the restaurant where we had our breakfast. sometimes they will wake up and join us for breakfast. thank goodness we didn't delay the group due to need to attend to them.

tongtong
hee.. seems like there's usually one party who plan and the other follows. better this way so that there won't be clash of views. since i like to travel, i enjoy doing the planning too

Stephie,
sounds like the 2 of us are great travel companion! kekekeke. ya, the thought of gg to carry the stroller + gervaise up/down... stress me by a bit....
k.. will bring my daytripper.. cos for him to use in the park...i loves to chiong....

tong, ya... my h see the way i planned the holidays... he stressed

kitsune
thanks!! looks interesting. today i can access the website from work computer but can't see any images. maybe the site is not mac compatible? heh.

XY
yah, ex. that's why we only go when they have 1 for 1 offer. they've had it for the last 2 NATAS fairs.

thanks everyone. Raeanne is still no good today, high fever every 6 hours when med effect wears off. Pd said if by fri still got fever n bad cough then go back n see her again.

Tongtong, thanks. Chuan bei mu ah? Will go out n ask tcm med halls. Actually it's not that the cough syrup doesn't work. Problem is she got a lot of phelgm n mucus but can't cough it out. That's why i'm looking for something to complement. But also worried that western n tcm will clash. The other way is to buy flumicil satchets from pharmacy can also help with dissolving phelgm. :p

tong...ruth gets cranky when she's bored too!!! hehehe...

but yeah..agree..mostly cranky cuz basic needs not fulfilled or not feeling well.

tong,
yes. that's why i dun think i can bring her out from 8 am to 8 pm. furthermore, she might get overstimulated as she's in a new environment.
(i get cranky when i dun sleep enough too. :p)

pauline,
good it's every 6 hours. last time i resorted to alternate bufen + paracetamol every 3 hours when she had her flu last time.
is she still active? if still active should have no problem.

iso,
when i considering going club med, it has this 1-for-1 offer.
but club med (bintan) after 1-for-1 still more ex than going F&E to Taiwan/HK.
that's why my hb feel ex. :p

XY,
wah just leave her to cry until?

actually recently for Ruth, once I've ascertained that she's not hungry/thirsty/sleepy etc, and she's fussing and crying, i'll also leave her alone. I read that sometimes they just need to 'get it out of their system'.

A few times she just stop crying on her own and went on her own things. Sometimes she stop crying and run to us for hugs. Sometimes she cry until sleep. haha.

lezy,
It depends on what C wants.
If she's too tired, she will cry till she fall asleep. It's hard to put her to sleep when she's too tired. So, what we can do is to keep her on the bed as much as possible. She will definitely struggle to get out of the bed/room, and hb will 'catch' her back. The cycle continues until she fall asleep. sounds cruel ya? :p
If she's throwing tantrum to get the things she wants, she will cry until she know that her tactic doesn't work (i.e., everybody ignore her). Then she will stand up and do her own things like Ruth. funny gal.

thanks mummies for your feedback on taiwan. not really a mask person. guess i will just go there to relax, enjoy er ren shi jie and eat, eat, eat!! oh ya, i like shoes, will bring some back

Iso, ya, can adjust the holes depending on what fruits/veg you put in. I found another link with details on the different types of veg, hope you can open this link. http://www.tupperwarebrands.com.my/~tupmas/product_info.php?cPath=1_9&id=74

XY, she's active when fever is 38+ but 39+, she's very cranky and blur liao. After giving neurofen at 6+, she was happily playing hide and seek with hubby at 9+ when fever came down. Temp at 10+am was 37+ so we only needed to give paracetemol instead of neurofen. Decided to give more frequently cos every 6 hrs a bit late, fever spike up v high liao.

Hubby needed to do some work so brought her over to ILs place. He just went back again cos she was crying for him. I'll go over later if she's not asleep.

Holidays, I'm the planner, hubby is the follower. But I get frustrated with the planning when he's too bochap and doesn't offer inputs. He'll rather take package tour cos lazy to plan. So after our Switzerland honeymoon which I planned, we went on a few package tours to Korea, NZ etc.

Re:trips

i am planning a F & E trip to Australia next feb.. anyone got any own ititnerary to share. Its my 1st trip to Australia.. thinking of going to Perth, farms and scenic drives. No shopping for me.. just wanna enjoy a relaxing trip before no, 2 comes.

Lezy and bkkgal.. u all have itnierary to share or any websites/recomendations?

Stephie/dorothy.. i also like u all, prefer to chiong when i go to a place for travel.. unless i go beach resort.. totally relax..Thinking of going tioman to snorkel.. but scared of the monsoon season that is coming..

Re: Taiwan
Bx... just go there and eat and go for 'wen quan', the hot springs.. i still remember i went with my hubby when Gwen was 2 months old as my 'PUSH' reward.. go there eat a lot of chicken cutlet, 'coffin' toast, the mango snow ice.. oyster mee sua... shiok.. the clothes not very suitable for us.. beauty products are good.. especially masks quite cheap..

Check in to those 3-4 hr hot spring hotels.. they got hot spring in ur bath room.. quite shiok.. very relaxing.. but oops.. i think u cant go hot spring now cause u preggie.. not suitable for u i think.

Iso.. how much is club med?

Bx, I wanted to go Taiwan when preggie with RaeAnne but changed my mind cos cannot go hotspring. Never been to Taiwan before and the package was a bit ex so prefer to go on a full trip instead of just Taipei for shopping. Until now, still haven't go so maybe wait until the 2 gals are older bah. Sigh. :p

Oh ya, any new preggie mummies updating on their baby gender?

re: trips
pauline,
go taiwan(esp. taipei) no need to join tour group.
the public transports very convenient and everywhere all chinese.
we took MRT, bus, train. very easy one.
just buy budget airline ticket and off you go..
basically just eat and eat and eat.

bx,
you go by F&E or tour package?

XY, if want to go to Sun Moon Lake and Alishan these places, can take MRT/train? How many hours away? I don't mind if no kids lar. But if got kids, got to lug luggage, stroller etc, very leh cheh I think. :p If only going Taipei, how many days will be good, budget airlines, decent hotel, 1 pax roughly how much?

pauline
re: holiday, your hubby sounds like mine! and i do get frustrated like you did. heehee..

genice
we went Perth on F&E two years back. did more sight seeing than shopping. went busselton jetty, margaret river, bunbury, etc. now i can't recall names of all places. must go dig out the info.

xiaoyun
agree, taipei is soooo easy to walk around on our own. somemore the pple in taipei are v nice. i took mrt twice and both times automatically pple will give up seats to me when i board the train (was preggie then).

pauline
i went for 4 days (hubby wanted 5 days but cos it was my first pregnancy then, i didn't dare stay too long). not enough i feel. at least 5 days should be fine. opt for hotel that has got direct airport transfer. the one i stayed in had the transfer, so it's rather convenient. no need to lug luggage to take train, etc.

pauline,
Paiseh, didn't do any research on Alishan and Sun Moon Lake. I guess can be reached with train/bus. Sun Moon Lake is at the central of Taiwan. Don't know how far from Taipei.
To tour around Taiwan within 1 week should be very rush.

Budget air ticket about 250+ per person. Hotel we stayed is this as we didn't expect to enjoy the facility in the hotel. Breakfast included but it's a voucher to dine at Cafe nearby. About $100 per room per night for a standard room. Location is superb as it's just beside the Taipei station. Very convenient.
http://www.taipeionestarhotel.com.tw/english/room.html
If you need to bring kids along, then got to get bigger rooms.
E.g., 4D3N, $800 for 2 adults.

pauline,
taxi in taipei is very affordable too. if 4 ppl take, sometimes same rate as MRT.

we took taxi to and from airport.

Pauline,
fyi, you can easily venture out from taipei to JiuFen, WuLai by train/bus.
saw the advertisement, it's 1k+ per person for a whole taiwan trip (7D/8D).
I think to tour around whole taiwan in 7D/8D, most of the time is spent on the road journey. Doesn't sound worth it.
Why not separate into 2 trips. 1st fly to Taipei. 2nd fly to GaoHsiung. It should be more enjoyable - at least for me. :p

Thanks, XY. Will plan TW trip in end 2010 or June 2011. Already booked for Penang trip in Jun 2010 since Airasia got free tickets promotion. Where's your hometown? Want to join us?

genice
great ocean road is at melbourne. feel like gg to melbourne next year..

pauline
i went in early nov in 2004 (F&E taipei only) and apr in 2009 (package tour - went taipei, tainan, kaoshiung). if dec, will be a bit colder. for F&E, i booked airticket (china airline) + 3N hotel stay via tour agency, inclusive of airport transfer. think paid about $600-$700 per pax inclusive of tax. i assume jun will be hotter since it's supposedly summer. so depends whether you prefer cold or hot weather.

pauline,
still long way to go for TW trip then.
i am aiming hokkaido leh... very expensive too. got to save $ so not going penang.

pauline.. u very sharp.. even noe when airasia got free promotion..
are there any prmotions for other budget airlines now?

pauline,
too bad you can't go during mar/apr, there's a season of calla lily @ yang ming shan. my favorite flower..
last time went at the wrong timing.

agree with stephie, june is hot and dec is cold. hard to choose..

genice,
promotion just ended for airasia & jetstar... jetstart had this 24 hour sale where they slash the price of tickets for 2010 travel until may while airasia promo ended on 15 nov also for 2010 travel... i managed to buy tickets to fly home.. very cheap, it was $240 for 4 person!

xy/bkk,
apt is a good idea...didn't think of that... thanks !

bkk,
yes we are trying to train C, just today he spit out the side dishes my mom prepared eventhough it looks quite small to us... but notice that he will try and chew food that he can hold by himself e.g.longan, rambutan

reena,
i believe everyone can cook, it's just the matter of how much effort you want to put in
i think if you get used to home cook food then you hardly want to eat outside... that is how i feel actually, i do have cravings for certain food at times e.g. steak, jap food but day to day food i prefer eating at home and dread eating at food courts.. heheh... :p

XY
true, bintan not cheap. we took the 1 for 1 to go phuket and SQ had 50% off krisflyer miles, for bali we also use air miles.

jeannie
depends on where, how many nights, flights included, etc..

kitsune
thanks for the link! it's really so interesting! i should go and get some

xy,
i am going on F&E to Taipei only.

genice,
yes yes, i also tot muz go a trip b4 no.2 comes along, hence made the cruel decision of not bringing ashlynn. my next trip will be when no.2 is much older. dun think i will lug a toddler and a baby overseas.

pauline,
hope RaeAnne recovers soon!

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
4. Cherylkjh + hb + vernon
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)
7. vinegal + hb + julian

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
6. bx + hb + A
7. vinegal + hb + julian

---taiwan

If my memory is right, it took 4 hours from sun moon lake to taipei by direct bus. We travelled there in 2004.

xy,
not really. hb is now trying to gather sample itineries from the forums he surfs.

anyone with sample itinery to taipei for 5d4n, pls share wif me k?

SPREE ANYONE???

Wanna buy crocs for Ruth....trying to find sites that offer free international shipping for consolidated orders.

ANYBODY GOT ANY WEBSITES?
ANYBODY INTERESTED to spreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?

*evil grin*

Bx,
my relax itenary proposal:
Day 1: Taipei City, Xi Men Ding
Day 2: Yang Ming Shan - some nice cafe, hot spring
Day 3: Jiu Fen/Dong Bei Jiao - scenary
Day 4: Night Markets/GuGong Museum/XiaoJuDan
Day 5: Taipei City, Xi Men Ding - last minute shopping, Home sweet Home

12th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. Bkk + hb + K
3. dor11 + hb + 2G(can only make morning n afternoon)
5. tute + hb + C
6. bx + hb + A (can only make it in the aft and eve)
7. vinegal + hb + julian

19th Dec
1. Gar + hb + A
2. tongtong + hb + S
3. Bkk + hb + K
5. Bluegin + hb + Channet + Shenon
6. bx + hb + A
7. vinegal + hb + julian
8. artemis + hb + Danica + maid

lezy
i bought from crocs before. they send in this horribly big boxes leh!! charged me an arm and a leg for vpost-ing it back. GRR!!

XY
not cheaper, but more worth it we felt? bintan can be like $600+ for a few nights! i think we paid for phuket $1.6k for 2 adults for 4nights each. not like super cheap, but q comfortable and convenient.

bx,
wu fen pu is for wholesale clothings. since the season not suitable, i dun think it's worth a visit now.
i compared price of the clothes that sold there and outside, quite similar. probably i don't know how to bargain.

fyi, the undergrond shopping mall at taipei mrt station got cheap shoes. one of the cheapest i can find. (provided nothing much change since 2007)
however, the station and shopping mall very complicated. many levels and link here and there. more complicated than dobby ghaut. :p