(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

lezy,
i wanna buy Space-saver bags + manual extractor leh...can let me have the link to the BP?? i was want g to get it for some time liao....

leila, the BP link is http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2605621.html?1254929691. I bought quite a lot. It's been a few weeks, so far the vacuum effect still there.

Leila, I saw the books on BP. Is this the one http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3005479.html?1253253172? So it's hard cover cos description doesn't say? Hmm... think better to buy hard cover than paperback cos RaeAnne still tearing up books. :p

By the way, I hardly eat bananas but I'm having 2 gals. Hubby loves to eat bananas though. Maybe that affects? :p

leila,

i use the wrong word. I shdnt say 2nd 1. "a alot of elders who i knwn say if ur daughter resembles alot ur hb, most likely the 2nd 1 will be boy"

i shd say the next 1 will be boy.

and i tink ur next 1 might be a boy again if ur boy resembles u! keke... cos wat i seen is if son resembles mummy, next 1 will be boy! Haha...

but of cos not necessarily "zun" la. i strongly believe on the O-day thing & whether the woman got the feeling anot when doing. (according 2 pregy book) keke... ;p

Bx,
I think singtel mention that stock will be here only in end oct. I register interest and only got it after 1.5 mth of waiting.

Esther,
yeah iPhone camera is not that gd so if you're looking for gd camera better go for other brand. Last time I heard Sony Ericsson is pretty decent
but I still trust normal camera as opposed to phone camera.

Leila,
my eldest sis really believes about food intake and gender relationship. She wanted a boy for a 2nd one and heard any the theory of eatin seafood can help you conceive a bb boy. So when she found out hat she's preg, she ate seafood all the time and true enough she got a baby boy. Can't rem tho what you should eat if you want a bb girl. I must go and find out too. :p

qingling,

five love languages,
forgot to clarify yesterday - the 5 languages will apply to everyone in differing degrees. so the idea is not to have your partner express them all...but to understand which is your DOMINANT language and to make effort to express in that language.

so while every woman loves to receive gifts, that may or may not be our dominant language. and it's not realistic to expect our partners to express all 5 languages equally all the time. hence, the emphasis on DOMINANT language.

the exercise should be to identify each other's dominant language:
Wife: Eg. Words of Affirmation
Husband: Eg. Acts of Service

Wife may be saying "I love you" all the time to hb who doesn't feel loved cos his dominant language is acts of service. Vice versa hb may do all the housework as an expression of love but wife doesn't feel loved cos everyday hoping to hear "I love you"

conceiving girl vs boy,
hmm...dunno never really investigated cos hb and i are not particular about gender

Gar, last night, I asked hubby to help me top up my water bottle but he was already lying in bed and feeling lazy to go to the kitchen. So, I said, "See, even acts of service (his dominant style) also don't have liao", then he said "ok, I go top up water". Haha.

haha....pauline - well done! so can say it works huh?

i find it a meaningful theory, helps manage expectations on both parties.

next time when my gals grow up - i will share this theory with them cos when looking for a mate, it helps if the dominant language is similar =) doesn't mean that different dominant language cannot work, but requires a bit more effort

Gar, haha, think it works because we are more aware. I told him I'm missing on the other 4 languages. haha.

Ya, I must share with RaeAnne and Raelynn too. I'll also tell them to find a guy who loves them more than they love him, that way, they'll always feel loved. hee.

vacuum bags
wow! i thought it was bags that you put into a vacuum cleaner. seriously! actually i don't vacuum but i know some require "bags"!

LOL.

garfield
i heard of the 5 languages of love before. can't recall where. probably during a training/seminar. actually i don't know what languages i'm dominant in.

bx
working late not a minus point. sometimes really no choice and have to work late.

preggie can go, why not leh?

re: food
think should start exposing else may be hard for them to take outside food cos too used to having homecooked food. my nephew doesn't want outside food so my sil always cook and bring food out for him. for lazy pple like me, will find it leceh to always bring food when going out. for those who enjoys cooking for their darling probably don't feel the chore :p

i always bring 3 portions of milk powder whenever we are outside as milk is still a must in btw meals.

qingling
congrats! wow, ur gynae very confident yah. i only got to know mine is a boy after detailed scan. prior to that, gynae didn't mention abt the sex and i didn't ask (though from his words could tell that he was implying).

tute/bx/esther
besides iphone, any other good touch phone? my fren say iphone v leceh, needs to download latest sw every now and then. being not so IT savvy, afraid i don't know how to do so. my contract ending Jan 10. So will buy a touch phone then. wish the megapixel for iphone is higher...

leila
i oso read that diet affects the gender. for my case, we still eat as per normal so probably not true for me on the diet thingy. any factor is the timing, position etc. very cheam to me. again i didn't plan anything.

Just went into BP to take a look - i'm floored! so much to buy, so many pp selling, so many choices. goodness. i'm not very patient in going to past threads to see things, so i don't even know what some of the BPs are selling! hehe

Qingling, congrats! you know so soon, can start buying stuff.

I've bought zilch for #2 so far, except for 2 small BPA free pigeon bottles, so bad huh. not motivated this time...plus i figure boy or girl, just wear jie jie's things lah. after all when i dressed K in neon pink, pp can still ask "boy ah?"

Unrelated qn

How many mommies are in charge of family's investments and make active investment decisions?

Do you invest actively in stocks (not unit trusts) and keep a portfolio?

Do you attend any courses/seminars on investing?

stephie
lucky i have hubby to do the sw updates for me, but other than that it's such a great phone becuase there are so SO SO many free apps - i thin they have something like 25,000 or more apps in total (including ones u can buy lah). although it requires a bit of a learning curve in the beginning, it's SO handy because i have movies and even sesame street podcasts in my phone. all ready to entertain restless toddlers

bkk
not me.. my hubby and i do some jointly but i'm q bimbo abt all the investment stuff really!

conceiving boy or girl
actually my gynae told me that if you want a girl u shld try to avoid seafood the month before conceiving. he said somehow there's something about the iodine that affects the X and Y i guess. heh.

i thought sex of baby is determined by the men's 'contribution'.

iphone - i thought the sw updates are quite auto one? I using itouch so i dunno if it's the same.

erm...i DON"T give the itouch to ruth at all. she still trying things so no way she's getting hold of it. so far she doesn't snatch for it - and i usually try to use it away from her or hide it.

heh.

5 languages of love
Mine was gifts b4 marriage. Now? Acts of service. I think all sahms will be the same. Hehe

Congrats to linda n qingling =)

bkk,
me too...have bought zilch so far. plus #2 is same gender so even fewer things to buy!!

i intend to buy the following though:
1) new bottles and teats
2) another car seat
3) new handkerchiefs / towels / swaddling blankets
4) some new clothes (esp for going home + first month)

re investment,
EL handles it all and keeps a portfolio. he will discuss with me before each decision but he is overall in charge. i'm too emotional to be a good investor hehe

stephie,
maybe your friend using old iphone? i think the upgrade not necessary but never heard my hb complain about upgrading the sw. i chose iphone because of the many applications you can choose from, unlike any other phones. a lot of ppl are now developing softwares for iphone. as for other touch phone, maybe can consider htc... heard some good feedback from friends.

bkk,
hmm... so far we have not invested on anything... ever since we got married, every 2 years there's always a "big" investment and now we find it hard to find the time to actively invest... so we only invest on funds using our CPF $$. Partially because we are not risk seekers, prefer to save more $$. Actually, really want to learn to do trading/forex trading but according to my friends must actively monitor and at least 1-2hr a day esp for forex. So now trying to push this to my hb... hehehe... as I think we are in a comfortable position to start investing. As for overall portfolio, well... I rely on planner who comes to visit yearly... gosh, having said this maybe i should buckle up and start maintaining my portfolio at least on a monthly basis first. Training wise, some friends to go for training but mostly said can read up by yourself... and then just try try...

hi there,

thread is so active once talking about shopping. heheh..

linda,
congrates.

qingling,
so fast know the gender liao.
what do you think the factors that affecting the gender of yours?

snowbelle,
if bb can latch on well, it saves a lot of trouble.
just afraid that no. 1 will disturb while latching.

7 month include maternity is not that bad lah. so 'kan4 kai1 yi1 dian3' for the better quality of life there loh.
now renting out house can earn a lot leh. not bad.

re: pickpocket
i was pickpocket on bus 170 to malaysia last time too.
so heart pain and replacing the documents are very troublesome.. now very phobia of losing my wallets. so, i separate my $, cards in different wallets.

re: tods development
i already 'kan4 kai1' about it. C is slow in talking. but takes instruction very well.
i guess it's in the genes. my hb doesn't talk much too.

re: holiday plans
going malaysia cameron highlands end nov.
budget air ticket is so cheap now, holiday trips are so affordable! :D

re: languages of love
same as pauline, lezy's. mine is a down-to-earth kind.
that's actually the quality that i am looking for. i don't mind he's not romantic as i am not a romantic kind too. :p
however, i still envy bx for what her hb did.

re: food for tod
which stir fried macaroni?
i search search cannot find from her blog.

btw, mummy who still feed baby cereals - Happybellies cereal can be found at NTUC now. (saw it at Tampines NTUC). It's 9.90.

re: shopping
since paycut, i shop very little nowadays.
now i don't dare to go BP in case itchy again.

re: investment
we do our investments separately using savings of each individual. but he's my adviser if i want to buy shares.
for $ in joint account, we seldom use it for investment. only bought an endowment plan for C.

investments..

my dad and brother are very active..but my hub and i are very risk adverse. the most i will do is to get a savings plan etc.

right now we're focusing on reducing the loans we have so that we can be credit-free. if all goes well, in less than 5 years, we will not have anymore loans.

xiaoyun, i also stopped visitng BP for LONG time. then recently dunno why itchy go see - i think i looking for something for my friend.

waranz...kana hook until now.....jialat man. i think i'm buying to relieve stress i face at work. sigh. cuz the impulse is horrendous.

lucky now playing with itouch apps a lot in my 'free time' (that is when putting ruth to bed, i still pat pat her, talk to her etc but she's like just rolling around. She just wants me to be around then i can go off after she sleeps. usually takes about 15-30mins but i really enjoy it cuz she's very lovable during this time - will smile and rub against pillow, me, hubby, 'sing song', sayang etc. very very engaging so i look forward to putting her to bed everynight).

so yes, after my last nail polish purchase, i'm stopping!

garfield/pauline
u all very good at getting good buys at BP. i rarely/never visit BP unless it's something recommended in this thread.

bkkgal
ya, i also let shawn wear jie jie's clothes at home. only buy new clothes for gai gai purpose.

tute
ya, my fren's iphone is the old version. you mean the latest iphone will hv auto upgrade? hubby previously kept asking me to buy cos he has corporate rate. and i told him not interested then. heard from a fren that next year they are coming out with a new version of iphone, nicer than the current one and ask us to wait for that. not sure though in terms of application if there are difference.

stephie,
i read that some ppl pantang abt preggy in 1st trim cannot attend weddings or baby first month celebration.

can't advise u much on touch phones. keen on iphone as the apps can entertain ashlynn. other than that, my main use is voice calls, sms and take pics and videos.

bkkgal
both hubby and i are not savvy in investment. i'm the risk averse type. fixed dep is considered good for me. ocassionally will ballot for ipo when my brother advised me to do so. few months back suddenly interested in investing in shares. too bad market had picked up a lot and hence i haven't gone in yet. last time when there was crisis and stock market crashed, hubby always ask me to buy and i was just not interested then. didn't know the potential is alot. wasted. so now, i'm waiting for another crisis :p

iso
yah, lucky you. my hubby is worse than me when it comes to IT products.

lezy
i oso hope to clear my housing loan asap. if the loan package remains the same, i should be able to clear in 8 years' time.

bx
oic. i wasn't aware leh. attended birthday celebration, 1st mth celebration, wedding, etc when i was pregnant.

my girl likes to play with iphone too. ask me to buy and i told her i got no $ :p

xiaoyun,
cameron highlands sounds nice =) how does one get there? via coach?

btw, hb and i thinking of going to malacca but not drive. can you recommend any good coach companies (comfortable ones given i'm preggie)?

also any recommendations for nice hotels?

garfield,
we go as a family tour as i've bro and sis in KL.
so, fly KL, take coach to KL central and drive up there.

for coach, you can try http://www.easibook.com/
choose those super VIP seats. my friend just came back from KL using that.
are you particular about the entertainment on bus?

i am not very familiar with melaka. so can't advise on the hotels.
most ppl stay in Holiday Inn i think.

Gar, stay here: http://www.majesticmalacca.com/spa-village/index.htm

I wanted to the last time we drove up but we had family..so ended up staying at holiday inn which was not bad too - newly built and near to mahkota parade where the shopping/food is.

Stephie
Oct's going to be a good time to buy ;>

Investing
I was just asking to see if anyone here has the responsibility of investing the family's finances. I'm sort of the one in charge at home (saver/investor) and hb is the (payor) but we do discuss and make joint decisions e.g. when it comes to big investment choices. But I got no strategy, no disciplined way of investing..just as and when i discover a good stock, i just buy by instinct which is very bad.

xiaoyun
ya, 0.9% p.a. is considered good given that amt required is small and tenor is short. currently my savings earn the same interest rate as my HL. so happy to leave the $ there. if got spare cash, will check out finatiq.

garfield
if you want coach that offers VIP seat, can check out grassland / five stars. i went up their VIP coaches before, v spacious. there are those with 1st class seat that serves meal also (and comes with attendant), maciam like in the plane. not sure what's the price though.

think there are 2 popular hotels in meleka, hotel rennaisance (not sure of spelling) (fann wong having wedding dinner there) and another which i can't remember.

bkk,
i'm in charge of the savings part only... i.e. i'll be the one from time to time consolidating our assets but then since we are not savvy investors, we don't maintain a portfolio. Are you keen to do it yourself? If yes, then i think need to read up about investment strategy etc. or else maybe get a financial planner to help review your portfolio first and start off your planning before you continue on your own? Also, there may be free tools/apps out there which you can use to maintain portfolio.

stephie,

sad 2 say nw i choose hp based on design. tat y initially i eye on iphone. nw on HTC becos orv the camera pixel 5 so very tempted 2 get.

last time b4 marry, u ask me on hp, i sure knw alot! then marry, no time 2 look into them liao. nw wif kids, lagi worse! i dun even knw the latest model of nokia (for example) haha... jia lat rite.

no "ME" time ever since... sigh. ;p

bkkgal, really Oct is good time to buy? I bought most of my shares at the height of 2007, mostly property shares cos they are going up, up, up then. Until now, still suffering paper losses now. Luckily, only paper losses or else really burn big hole in pocket. :p

My hubby more conservative, he only buys unit trusts and insurance policies though he attended those investor seminars and encourages me to buy stocks. :p

BKK: there is a shareinvestor forum, maybe u can check it out. Me not savy in shares also, lazy to read up. attended seminar before, there are really techniques to monitor ...

only have some shares and unit trusts.. all in reds...

re: investing
pauline,
actually the risk for unit trust is pretty high too. the one i bought is now only 20% of it's original value.
the one i bought at '97 still losing $.
but those bought in '05 and beyond one not that bad.

bkk,
if want a disciplined way of investing, probably getting a financial planner or look for the unit trust regular investment scheme.
the risk is lower.
investing in stocks has higher risk and higher potential gain.
for me, i categorize my $ for investment into 3 parts: low risk(20%), medium risk(30%), and high risk(50%).
low risk - fix d, savings account
medium risk - unit trust
high risk - stocks

for stocks, loss quite a bit in a particular stock that now i take it as a lesson learned. :p. so now i am timid and mostly looking for those that has high dividend.

re: handphone
i played with my colleague's HTC Hero recently. Not very user friendly leh. 4 of us cannot figure out how to forward a sms. :D

for phone with good camera, this must be the Sony Ericsson C series - a.k.a. cybershot series. I am using cybershot series K800i (considered old phone), the picture taken is really nice.

now got myself a non-touch screen samsung smartphone. regretted as a lot of applications cannot be used as they are only build for touch screen phone.

hihi mommies !

re: #2 gender known earlier
i also dunno how true this is but my gynae detected the gender at 11wks. then i still asked confirm really a boy and he confidently said yes.

congrats linda!

garfield
so your #2 is a girl ? very good so A can have a sister and share secrets when they grow up. just last night, i feel like having another 'C' but it's just think only la. so stressed with handling two now and daryl is only 5mths old now. i tink my parents will kill me if i have #3 next year. cuz the 2 kids now are enough to kill us. haha.

bx
your hb super nice! ENVY ENVY !
btw, Cheryl had already graduated from porridge and cereal etc. she is now taking rice with soup ONLY for dinner. she refused chicken, egg or whatever in her rice. she ONLY wants soup. so luckily my mom always double boils winter melon, old cucumber, sweet corn soups everyday or when i bring her over. hope the good essence are all in the soup with the rice though she nvr takes in any physical meat. when we go out, we have also stopped bringing her porridge. we are feeding her outside food now like fish soup with rice, or those double boiled soups sold outside. she really like rice with soup. and another of her favourite is FISHBALL. she really loves them to the max, to the extent she refuse rice when she sighted any fishball.

i also damn tempted to get a iphone. but mostly for the sake of cheryl since i always hear/see kids get very well entertained by the iphone. for me not much diff, cuz my main usage is voice calls and texting.

talking/ vocabulary
cheryl is still not talking yet but still signing alot. i dunno if i shld get worried over this? she tries very hard to pronunce the word but always wrong. till now, she only knows how to call popo, papa and mama and her own name.

and she always mistaken a cat for a dog when she sees one outside. she makes the woof woof sound when she sees a cat. haha!

usborne books
i also got that set of 12 books from the book people. very nice and cheryl loves that little duckie too. other recommended book are 'who ate all the cookie dough'. very rhythemic and illustrations are bright and cheery.

read mother and baby mag this month issue, and they recommended this books. im getting them from amazon.

They are What You Feed Them: How Food Can Improve Your Child's
Behaviour, Mood and Learning (Paperback)
http://www.amazon.com/They-are-What...TF8&s=books&qid=1254810068&sr=8-1

What's Going on in There? : How the Brain and Mind Develop in the
First Five Years of Life (Paperback)
http://www.amazon.com/Whats-Going-There-Brain-Develop/dp/0553378252/ref=pd_sim_b_20

BX: now that crystal mentioned ya wanted to type but keep forgetting, u are so lucky, your hubby is so romantic still. Mine will say "lao fu lao qi liao no need lah"

Crystal: don't worry all kids develop at different rate. I have heard of a kid not speaking till 3 but once he speaks, he can speak in 3 languages!

CAT: be careful not to let cherly be too near cat. Amanda was attacked by a cat on Tue. She was excited when she saw one and squat down in front of the cat happily. Who knows the cat gone mad and sprung up and attacked her. Lucky she only got a scratch on her leg and bleed slightly only. My hb had a good scolding from me cos he insisted it will be okie to let her squat down in front of it.

I think we'll see a pullback in Oct re: stocks as the run-up in Sep was too fast, too much and Sep/Oct is traditionally when the Baltic Dry Index dips (it is the measure of shipping of goods/commodities across the world i.e. drop in spending, drop in manufacturing) but I'm no analyst - this is just my reading.

I've given up on unit trusts - still have a fair bit tied up there. Like Xiaoyun, those bought in 97 during tech bubble still doing badly. Those bought later ok but not great. During Oct 08, managed to pick up some nice buys though i was quite scared that more and more coys may go the way of Lehman but I'm sure alot of pp also watching for the next dip to buy.

I always believe that no one will look after your $$ better than yourself - hence, have never considered a financial planner before. Attended a seminar before, kinda boring, wondering if should go for more technical analysis type of courses.

Actually, my aim is to find something interesting to do IF I have to convert to part-time or be SAHM next yr. I'm not sure I can do a business, org BP, etc but it would be nice to have a little income on the side

esther
so far i only own 3 handphones, all moderate model. i won't buy phones that are too ex. my current nokia E51 cost only $48 (cheapest phone of all 3). nowadays, sort of hooked by smartphones, iphone being one of them. at least i heard the current version is much better than the previous one. anyway my contract ends only in jan 2010. i probably see see look look and buy one during IT fair in mar :p

pauline
i hv phobia for unit trust. both some stupid ecommerce fund and value has been 10%+ for many years. luckily only bgt 1 lot so i treat it as write off. don't even bother to redeem that miserable 10%

bkkgal
couple of months back there was an expert who predicted that there will be a pull back in sep/oct. i didn't read article. hubby read and told me. so i kept telling him "not accurate leh, market still bullish" :p

xiaoyun
i also invested with my CPF $. did so only because my insurance advisor promote to me. so i invest some $ to give her face. end up made almost 100%. invested $7,500 and got $14,700 value in abt 1 - 2 yrs time. so i quickly lock in the profit and keep the principal in the fund.

bkkgal, stphie, I see, aiyah, shouldn't have averaged costs last month then. I bought a few lots of scglobal, capitaland so that I can see less red. But I also managed to buy a bit of citidevelopment and scglobal during the low or Mar/apr 09 so at least not bleeding as badly now. Still waiting to average cost of SIA200 and STI index which I bought at the height. :p

Stephie, XY, I also wary of unit trusts, earn so little but must pay management fee etc. But when you lose, it's not as fast as stocks bah. I wanted to open forex FD account for long time but always hesitate cos I don't understand forex at all. :p

bkk
i have similar idea as you, would really like to do something to bring in extra income when/if i become SAHM, but so far no guts to start anything, haha.

crystal
oh! i read What's Going On in There!

I borrowed from the library. It's q a lengthy book, which i read when i had time long long ago. it's really q interesting, but can be q dry at times, because the author is actually a scientist. so she even has some drawings of how human fetuses and animal fetuses look v alike, that kind of thing.

it's more on the actual brain and physical, rather than behavioural development, and you can learn things like why babies love to be "thrown" about (becuase their vestibular something (the inner ear) is not developed yet), or why they like peekaboo (existence vs. non-existence).

I think Amazon really sums it up in their review:
"Though not for the impatient, What's Going on in There? How the Brain and Mind Develop in the First Five Years of Life will undoubtedly make you a better parent. It is thick, detailed, and scientific."

LOL.

pauline
wow, you caught the lowest price during mar/apr 09 period. so good. i only became interested in late apr, went for holiday, didn't take action until i reactivated my trading account in june/july. by then price went up liao so i didn't buy any in the end.

i bought AUD2000 when rate was low at 0.99/0.975 and bank in a forex account. earn some interest before i use the $ for holiday in australia. don't whether to sell now (since rate is abt 1.25) to make some profit first. hmm..,

i'm totally clueless abt all these stock thingie u all r talking abt. how i wish i can know more and earn more from these investment.

Stephie, ya but I didn't know if that was the lowest point so didn't buy many. Plus I bought my shares at the height mah, so still a lot of paper losses. Imagine, I bought a few lots of scglobal at $3 (before stock split, around $6) but I only bought 2 lots at $0.30. After averaging costs, average price is $2+, now the price is $1+ so still bleeding badly lor. :p

bx
i'm no where better than you. only act when pple advise me, else i totally bochap abt investment cos of the high risk.