(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline,
ya agree you cannot claim to be old =) i think i am the oldest in this thread leh

re the duck - it's actually in every single usborne phonics book. it's very small - very cute - hiding in each page. i think it's meant as a feature of the books =) i'll take a pic of the sample pages and send to you.

re nursing bras - thanks for sharing. ya i also dun need big cup size just that my rib cage has expanded. usually i like to try before buying - but these are really nice cannot resist

Bx, hehe, I got a maid mah, so my maid does it. If I don't have a maid, I'll probably use ABC pasta. haha.

Gar, you are only a few months older than me lar. wa, the book sounds cute. Maybe you send me the link lar, don't want to trouble you to take photos.

As for the nursing bra, I'm very particular about the underbust cos if the band is tight, it's very uncomfortable for me cos of my long term gastric/heartburn problems. But I'm not the well endowed type lor, so I need wide underbust but small cup size. I asked the organiser for exact measurements and she was obliging. Oh ya, NB56's cutting was not good for me cos she didn't have 80B anymore and gave me 75C with the mutual understanding that if it doesn't fit, I can refund/exchange. End up the band was so tight, I nearly suffocated. So I exchanged and topped up for the nursing top which turns out to be good cos the underbust is wider than the nursing bras. But pull down to nurse tops are better for home and lockable bb rooms lar. haha.

Gar, saw the duck, so cute. I'll check out bookdepository, hope the book is cheaper there. What did Arielle like? What were the titles you bought? Fat cat?

Haha, I feel so demoralised when I see the big lobang for my ill fitting bras too. Worse, if I carry RaeAnne, the big lobang gets deflated, so embarrassing. :p

Eh... aren't you a stripey animal like my hubby?

iPhone apps
There are some free ones that you may wanna try. "I hear ewe" teaches animal sounds in English/Chinese/Spanish and it's free! K loved it but she's a little bored with it now. There are also various flashcard apps on iPhone. Her current fav is this "wheels on the bus" app, it's fun cos she gets to move the bus, open the door, make the passengers jump up and down, pop the bubbles, make the wiper go swish swish. It's USD0.99 but worth every cent. She'll bring the phone to hb and say "swish swish dada!"

Yr end hols
I've booked my tickets for HK next month, couple time before #2 comes along. Does anyone have recommendations for hotels? I got my jetstar tickets cheap so I think we can afford to splurge a little bit on the hotel.

bkkgal, stay at Langham Place.
Highly recommended by one of the Jan08 mummies who stays at HK. I would have stayed there too last Dec but I was travelling with a group of retirees and they find it too exp. :p

pauline,
cute right? hehe...ok remember i said i am sucker for books? i got the whole series of 12 books from the book people. let me go home and get the titles that she likes cannot quite remember them.

and noooooooooo...i'm older than stripey animal

bkk,
thanks! i'll get EL to check them out and download. agree with pauline on langham place. they have pretty good promos now and then!

BP,
i feel like organizing BP...but dunno what to bring in. anyone has any ideas?

Gar, bring in training pants lar. Our kids will need to start potty training soon. I was eyeing those Nissen 4 layers ones but size 90 and 95 always OOS. Sian. I'm also beo-ing pediped shoes from US. You want to organise spree? Or cute backpacks for Apple's sake? Most of the kids are either starting playgroup or CC next year. Hee.

Hmm... then I remember wrongly? Same as my no. 2? hee. ;)

<font size="+0"><font color="#CC0000">

I'm guilty of being super busy at work and BPs. :p

I've not be doing BPs for quite awhile now and that day i got started - i can't stop!!! NO more editing pictures and blogging! Instead, i keep surfing for more and more BPs!!

Lucky i set up an excel sheet to monitor all my purchases or else i think i won't keep track of how much i spent. NOw have to stop for awhile liao.

1 Stick-It Pads
2 Space-saver bags + manual extractor
3 Feet Moisturizer - Akileine Hydra Defense 24hr cream; Dr G's Clear Nails ; ZOYA &amp; OPI nail colours
4 Anti-Mosquito Patch from Korea
5 Body and Face Ampoules (i tried the COllagen ones - i THINK it works leh..)
6 TUPPERWARE (Large Microwave Reheatable, Small Carry All Set (900ml x 2) &amp; Small Shoyu (2))
7 Dr Lily Aloe Vera Gel
8 KARIHOME Goat's Milk Sweeties
9 TopLess Undershirt for Ladies

And now...i'm thinking of buying another 2 ORLY nail colours. Sibei jialat...</font></font>

<font size="+0"><font color="#CC0000">bx...we very bo chup. we always make her eat outside food. :p lazy parents.</font></font>

Garfield: aiya now i regret never buy the sticker book!

Pauline : thanks, guess GOGO bag is out then. cos she taking sch bus herself, need a bag that she can carry and yet can put many things (wonder where got such a bag) haha

Usborne books: Strangely Amanda don't like the phonics reader books although i find it very very nice. She prefers the 100 words books and she enjoys finding the yellow duck!

BX; Amanda also eat outside food but of cos the qty she ate is lesser than we fed porridge at home so sometimes i top up with milk

<font size="+0"><font color="#CC0000">gar, i dunno what's your age...but u definitely dun even look your age if you were a stripey animal, much less if it's an animal ' before' that.

</font></font>

Pauline, you are cute lah you! hahaha! Langham Place sounds very plush and luxurious! I'm all ready to be PAMPERED - woohoo!

Oh my, didn't know you all so onz with BPs. Everytime go in, dunno what to buy!

Lezy, what is this topless undershirt thing? sounds oxymoronic...hehe :p

Bx, your hb is so sweet!! just read your blog - flowers and Kate Spade bag. he really dotes on you.

Apple, Gar said can still order from the BP organiser right? They should be able to give same price bah since no need to pay the $25 per week BP fee? I'm thinking of ordering party favours from her too.

bkkgal, now you see why I'm <font color="119911">GREEN</font> with envy. Flowers and kate spade bag leh. Wish my hubby will surprise me like that too. haha.

haha, bkk, I really LURRVEE to travel lor. Too bad, my hubby doesn't share my interest. ;P

bkk..it's like a tube, but u wear over the belly so can still wear the shorter shirts. hehe.
</font></font>

<font size="+0"><font color="#CC0000">pauline, no need to envy la. i long give up on hoping for such things from my hubby. he's not the type too. I'm just happy that he will let me go out for my hair appointment ah, facial ah, massage ah, go out with friends etc and look after ruth alone at home. hehe. When i married him, i admire his down-to-earth nature...so i guess i have no right to hope for him to be otherwise! heh.

so what to do? i ownself happy happy do BP and indulge myself can liao. that's why cannot stop working or else cannot liao!

my hub is thrifty type - so everything also 'no need'. takes a lot of time to indoctrinate him to be convinced that i need 20 different bags/nail polish/shoes/earrings/necklaces etc. :p hehehe.

</font></font>

Wah so many posts...

Talk abt shopping online:

Pauline.. u really buy a lot of stuffs.. envy you.. i think if i am sahm just on single income from hubby, my hubby will kill me if i buy so many things. Haven got much time to shop online.. dun even have time to plan for my facials..
Especially now one of the branches in Orchard close down and their website like not functioning.. dun even noe whether the salon exists or not.. Anyone Knows abt Modern Beauty Salon?

Heard So many raving reviews abt i Phone.. also wanna get one for hubby.. like very fun leh.

Bkkgal.. u travelling again?? *Envy*

Bx.. i brought G fro many weddings already.. but the lastest one she was a bit out of control usually i will cook porridge for her, if no time ta bao fish soup with rice but she doenst really like it. Frankly speaking, nothing much she can eat from buffet table, all to 'solid' for her.. she still does not have as many teeth. esp no many molars.. cant chew well... so i prefer to give her porridge.

BTW, your hubby is so sweet.. i read abt the KS bag too.. he is so attentive to details!!

lezy, haha, you also married a teacher right? Yup, bo bian, must accept his strengths and weaknesses. I'm not perfect myself. ;)

Actually, I'm not a big fan of Kate spade bags lar cos I find the colours a bit too bright. But there was 1 renwick kate spade bag that I liked cos it was on offer and cheap, less than $100. Tried to order from BP but it was OOS. I thought it's a good casual bag to bring around when I go to Tampines or my ILs or mum's place. The only exp bag I had so far is a red reversible coach tote bag which my cousins helped me to buy when they went to US in 2007 before RaeAnne was born. ;P

I dress down most of the time unless got wedding functions or events to attend. Whereas my hubby dress down ALL the time. I had to convince him not to wear jeans to a wedding. Faint! :p

pauline,
ok need to hunt around for the lobangs first. ya, i am patchy animal not stripey animal

apple,
no worries - go to the BP link and email the organizer. she is still selling the sticker books

lezy
*muack* so sweet and kind of you la!! i also bought and use the ampoules...hehe...think got effect hor

bkk,
ya i luuuuuurv the bathtub at langham palace. i choose rooms based on the toilet of all things hehe

hb,
i oso won't get such "surprises" from my hb. his "gift" to me is that everyday, he makes it a point to leave work on time (turns down most night engagements and meets pple during lunch instead) so that we can go home together to spend an hour or so with A before she goes to bed. on weekends, apart from dragonboat, we are together as a family. this is the "love language of time"

actually, i strongly encourage everyone to read about the 5 love languages. i think it is such a meaningful theory and brings a lot of understanding and harmony to any relationship

Gar, haha, why you never aim for another patch animal to join you then? ;) I was thinking of another small furry animal to join me but don't dare to think so far ahead. When RaeAnne is in one of her moods, I will think that one is enough. Why torture myself? haha.

Gar, lezy, I bought my ampoules last year, put in the fridge and didn't finish using. Out of sight, out of mind. Must throw away liao right? How long is expiry? :p

Gar, I love bathtubs too cos I don't have one at home and I love bubble baths. First thing I check when I am looking for a hotel is whether it comes with a bathtub.

suddenly forum so lively... after the online shopping topics comes about... hahaha...

bkk,
thanks for the iphone app recommendation! i will go and download later... hohoho... v excited now, C likes a few apps only like eggs away and he is obsessed with clocks... :p

gar,
the usborne phonics book is paperback issit? Or do you have the boardbook ones? Still don't want to give paperback books for C coz am quite sure it will get demolished after 1 wk... oh dear, i think my hb will complain again... i still have a few books for C that i haven't open and i'm order few books from sortfloorbooks... and now i'm eyeing on usborne phonics! hahaha... i better just buy and keep quiet.

bx,
i agree with bkk &amp; pauline !! your hb is really sweet... i showed my hb your blog the other day and commented how sweet your hb is... and his respond was "don't count on him doing those things..." haiz...

pauline,
can still order the sticker book issit? i will go and try later after work :p

bx's romantic hubby:
if i show my hubby, he'll probably have no response. haha.

iphone -
i cannot bring cam phone to office...so i bought the next best thing at the comex - iPod TOuch. Quite fun and has all the same applications as iPhone, just no phone function and camera. perfect for me.

Help on AMpoules:
erm..im' abit stupid about this and even cut my thumb (which took SO BLARDY LONG TO HEAL!). How to break open the ampoule smartly ah??

Kate Spade/COach:
actually hor..i also dunno how to appreciate it leh. to me nice can liao, n oneed brand. (cuz brand need to pay money. :p) but if ppl give me of course i won't complain!!! LOL!

Hotel - TOilet:
AIYOH! OF COURSE TOILET IMPT LA!!! THe first thing i do is always try to find pictures taken by travellers on tripadvisor and i try to see if toilet clean or not!!! I cannot tahan yeeky toilet!!!!

Teacher:
i think not that teacher is boring. Just so happen this 2 are quite 'that type'. hahaha. but nothing bad also la. got pros and cons. no one can be everything. Well, maybe some can, but i'm abit cynical about romance and love la. enuf said. :p
</font></font>

lezy, I usually take a piece of tissue, wrap around the long tip then break it using that. Cos sometimes there are glass fragments that we can't see. Once I nearly scratched my face cos the fragment was mixed in the ampoule solution when I poured it out. Luckily I felt something scratchy and took it out before I started to rub the solution onto my face. :p

Gar, Lezy, Pauline, yeah toilets can make or break a holiday or a home! For me, toilet #1 whether choosing hotel or renting home! I also check out tripadvisor comments on toilets before booking anything. hehe.

Ampoules
Lezy, you should break them away from yourself - 1 snap action at the neck of ampoule. sorry, dunno how to describe..

Lang of love
Gar, yeah it's interesting and tells u how each person values/uses each language and helps to moderate your expectations of the kind of "love" you expect to see from loved ones.

Genice
travel is my thing lor...can't give up...shopping not so much but if i can't get out of spore every few mths to breathe outside air, i think i will just die!!!! post-Kate, my every few months has been reduced to like several several months liao. And to very very civilised places like Perth, HK, Melbourne. Pre-Kate, wld've been places like Mandalay, Bagan, Luang Prabang....sigh...those were the days...

wah. ampoule break into the bottle itself? scary leh.

i find one ampoule very hard to finish using at one go. can use 2-3 days. they say put fridge is ok to leave it for 2-3 days.

travel. i not as hiong as bkk...but i like travelling too - but i cannot tahan the too 'uncivilised' places leh cuz i very yeeky about toilets and smell. heh. we're planning another trip soon. choices are taiwan, japan, cruise, club med etc.

iso..club med sounds very nice for u guys. heh.
</font></font>

pauline,
Me gg to japan in nov. My coll who gave birth in late aug is bringing her 2/3 yr old son n less than 2 mths old baby to japan in oct. So stil can travel if u wan to.

Bkkgal,
Agree langham place is nice tho i've nvr stayed b4.

Bx,
Ur hubby v romantic loh. Wil always celebrate special ocassion w u.

I brgt shawn to a church weddg last sat. Juz let him eat buffet fd. In fact i dun brg fd out 4 a long time. Holiday oso let him eat wat we eat. Lazy mummy.

<font size="+1">THE FIVE LOVE LANGUAGES</font>

Essentially, all human beings feel loved in different ways (each way is a "language"). There are 5 main languages, and every individual will have 1 or 2 dominant language. We also tend to express love to our partners in our dominant language.

Conflicts arise when there is a mis-match in the dominant love languages. Eg. wife feels loved through the language of "receiving gifts" but husband expresses his love through "acts of service".

Hence, by understanding your partner's dominant languages, and adapting accordingly - couples will feel more fulfilled in their relationships. So in the above eg. the wife will not feel less loved but will be able to appreciate her husband's love for her in his own way.

Words of Affirmation
Mark Twain once said “I can live for two months on a good compliment.” Verbal appreciation speaks powerfully to persons whose primary Love Language is “Words of Affirmation.” Simple statements, such as, “You look great in that suit,” or “You must be the best baker in the world! I love your oatmeal cookies,” are sometimes all a person needs to hear to feel loved.

Aside from verbal compliments, another way to communicate through “Words of Affirmation” is to offer encouragement. Here are some examples: reinforcing a difficult decision; calling attention to progress made on a current project; acknowledging a person’s unique perspective on an important topic. If a loved one listens for “Words of Affirmation,” offering encouragement will help him or her to overcome insecurities and develop greater confidence.

Quality Time
Quality time is more than mere proximity. It’s about focusing all your energy on your mate. A husband watching sports while talking to his wife is NOT quality time. Unless all of your attention is focused on your mate, even an intimate dinner for two can come and go without a minute of quality time being shared.

Quality conversation is very important in a healthy relationship. It involves sharing experiences, thoughts, feelings and desires in a friendly, uninterrupted context. A good mate will not only listen, but offer advice and respond to assure their mate they are truly listening. Many mates don’t expect you to solve their problems. They need a sympathetic listener.

An important aspect of quality conversation is self-revelation. In order for you to communicate with your mate, you must also be in tune with your inner emotions. It is only when you understand your emotions and inner feelings will you then be able to share quality conversation, and quality time with your mate.

Quality activities are a very important part of quality time. Many mates feel most loved when they spend physical time together, doing activities that they love to do. Spending time together will bring a couple closer, and, in the years to come, will fill up a memory bank that you can reminisce about in the future.
Whether it’s sitting on the couch and having a brief conversation or playing together in a tennis league, quality time is a love language that is shared by many. Setting aside focused time with your mate will ensure a happy marriage.

To The Top

Receiving Gifts
Some mates respond well to visual symbols of love. If you speak this love language, you are more likely to treasure any gift as an expression of love and devotion. People who speak this love language often feel that a lack of gifts represents a lack of love from their mate. Luckily, this love language is one of the easiest to learn.

If you want to become an effective gift giver, many mates will have to learn to change their attitude about money. If you are naturally a spender, you will have no trouble buying gifts for your mate. However, a person who is used to investing and saving their money may have a tough time adjusting to the concept of spending money as an expression of love. These people must understand that you are investing the money not in gifts, but in deepening your relationship with your mate.

The gift of self is an important symbol of love. Sometimes all your mate desires is for someone to be there for them, going through the same trials and experiencing the same things. Your body can become a very powerful physical symbol of love.

These gifts need not to come every day, or even every week. They don’t even need to cost a lot of money. Free, frequent, expensive, or rare, if your mate relates to the language of receiving gifts, any visible sign of your love will leave them feeling happy and secure in your relationship.

Acts of Service
Sometimes simple chores around the house can be an undeniable expression of love. Even simple things like laundry and taking out the trash require some form of planning, time, effort, and energy. Just as Jesus demonstrated when he washed the feet of his disciples, doing humble chores can be a very powerful expression of love and devotion to your mate.

Very often, both pairs in a couple will speak to the Acts of Service Language. However, it is very important to understand what acts of service your mate most appreciates. Even though couples are helping each other around the house, couples will still fight because the are unknowingly communicating with each other in two different dialects. For example, a wife may spend her day washing the cars and walking the dog, but if her husband feels that laundry and dishes are a superior necessity, he may feel unloved, despite the fact that his wife did many other chores throughout the day. It is important to learn your mate’s dialect and work hard to understand what acts of service will show your love.

It is important to do these acts of service out of love and not obligation. A mate who does chores and helps out around the house out of guilt or fear will inevitably not be speaking a language of love, but a language of resentment. It’s important to perform these acts out of the kindness of your heart.

Demonstrating the acts of service can mean stepping out of the stereotypes. Acts of service require both mates to humble themselves into doing some chores and services that aren’t usually expected from their gender. However, these little sacrifices will mean the world to your mate, and will ensure a happy relationship.

Physical Touch
Many mates feel the most loved when they receive physical contact from their partner. For a mate who speaks this love language loudly, physical touch can make or break the relationship.

Sexual intercourse makes many mates feel secure and loved in a marriage. However, it is only one dialect of physical touch. Many parts of the body are extremely sensitive to stimulation. It is important to discover how your partner not only physically responds but also psychologically responds to these touches.

It is important to learn how your mate speaks the physical touch language. Some touches are irritating and uncomfortable for your mate. Take the time to learn the touches your mate likes. They can be big acts, such as back massages or lovemaking, or little acts such as touches on the cheek or a hand on the shoulder. It’s important to learn how your mate responds to touch. That is how you will make the most of this love language.

All marriages will experience crisis. In these cases, physical touch is very important. In a crisis situation, a hug can communicate an immense amount of love for that person. A person whose primary love language is physical touch would much rather have you hold them and be silent than offer any advice.

It is important to remember that this love language is different for everyone. What type of touch makes you feel secure is not necessarily what will make your partner happy. It is important to learn each other’s dialects. That way you can make the most of your hugging, kissing, and other physical contacts.

re: bx's romantic hubby
thanks for all ur compliments. lemme tell him abt it i'm sure he will be floating on air and perhaps give me more surprises.

of coz he has his minus points like working late everyday not like gar's hubby. and also not as down to earth as lezy and pauline's hb.

re: outside food
seems like most of u r giving outside food already. except for a couple of us like genice, pauline, myself and tute if i'm not wrong. lemme be adventurous a bit to see if i'll bring her to the reception without preparing any food. sometimes i last minute sure chicken out and bring along porridge.

re: preggie
btw preggie can go for solemnisation?

eh bx...i usually bring out extra milk feeds in case she dun eat.
</font></font>

hello mummies - very active thread, actually i was a silent reader (haha) cos simply no time to post, now still working, but sneaking some time to post. by the way, i have a surprise but good news to share, apparently my gynae has identified my feotus gender (haha), even i dunno how much i can believe of it at 9 weeks now. i can start to shop shop too since "he" cannot use jiejie's clothings.

Qingling,
congrats! Is your gynae v confident about the gender? If yes maybe can start browsing first but maybe can hold the purchase till after detail scan?

Lezy,
think more or less can guess where you work from the location and the fact that you can't bring cam phone... Hehe..

Gar,
very good article! I sent it to my hb as well for him to ponder :p

Bx,
go and get iPhone! I got mine and love it... But becauseit's new my hb dun allow c to play with it, instead he sacrifice his.

Qingling,

Congrats! Usually 2nd time preggy, can detect quite early if a boy. Can u see it during the scan? So far frm wat i knw the earliest 2 knw the gender for boy is 3mths. Urs is even earlier!

Norm is abt 4mths.

Congrats again!

Btw, dunno if u mummies believe anot. Alot of elders who i knwn say if ur daughter resembles alot ur hb, most likely the 2nd 1 will be boy. so far i witness a few (including myself) is true.

Qingling,
congrats!! wow so early can see gender le. so exciting!!

esther,
any reason y 2nd preggy can see earlier?

tute,
mostly likely going to get it this weekend provided there is stock. u got the white or black wan? ur hb so good, sacrifice his. i think mine wants to share burden with me, that's y urging me to buy.

bx,

i aso dunno the reason. ;p

wa.. u &amp; tute talking abt iphone. me initially tempted 2 get aso. but camera oni 3 rite?

nw me looking into htc touch diamond 2. hee... camera pixel got 5! ;p

Gar, thanks for sharing the article. Showed to my hubby but I think he'll forget lor. Sigh.

Congrats! Qingling, finally another mummy with the 好字。 Happy for you!

Qingling,
congrats congrats!!! now u've got a gal n boy...how nice. Hoping that that happens to me too

Mummies with #1 and #2 gals
Can u ladies share wid me how is ur diet like?? Do u ladies have a tendency to eat more vege than meat and less carbo as well? M really curious cos i do believe that to a certain extent, our kids' gender is affected by our diet. And do u ladies happen to love eating bananas? A gynae once told me that the potassium content found in bananas help in conceiving gals....

gar,
thks for sharing the article. I too sent it to my hubs...hopefully i can see some physical gifts soon :p but of course, i still feel that buying myself the present is so much more feasible. hahaha!

usborne phonics book
My son enjoys the phonics book too. So much so that he can verbalise to me to read two of his fav stories : "Mouse moves house" and "toad makes a road".

btw, i bought the 2 hard cover books fr a BP some time back. Each book is a compilation of 6 stories. if i rem correctly, each book is abt S$23.

Esther
abt ur comment on #1 looks like hb and no. 2 will be a boy. what i hear is a slightly different version, if #1 (even though gal) looks boyish, #2 will be a boy. Now m wondering if my son looks "girlish" so that my #2 will be a gal. muahahaha!!!! but he does have my lips :p

Pacifier
jus wanna share, i managed to wean my son off his pacifier recently. I have been bugging him for days to throw away his padifier n telling him that he is a big boy now. And one fine day, he agreed!!! At first, i thot he was joking but he threw the pacifier into the rubbish bin himself!! hahaha!!! So far so good, he asks for the pacifier a few times n i reminded him that he threw it away n he jus kept quiet as if lost for words *grins*