(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Crystal, aiyo poor little Cheryl… hope she gets well soon. Since she is already on so much medication, you can try natural remedies to help her relieve her cough. http://ezinearticles.com/?Natural-Cough-Remedies-For-Babies&id=232004

Xiaoyun, thanks for asking! I told that I coudnt get MC right, well, I realy buey tahan liao so I went to see doc to get pm MC. But I told boss I will be back the next day. So I got to rest at least for more hours. And I hid in the room and sleep . my fever and flu recovered , without medicine! So my conclusion is that I just need rest rest and rest. And strange enuff, shaun behaved very guai when I’m not around ( cuz I hid in the room). Hubby said he will turn monster when he sees me. Haha. Why do you need to take muscle relaxant?

tongtong, we do apply every night but only on arms n legs but not hands cos she bites her fingernails. End up she kenna the bites on her arm during her afternoon naps n on her hand at night. I'm looking at the bp now got some ultrasonic insect repeller, dun know if it works. :p

linda,
how many is my child? you mean months?
similar to others, she's now 18 months.

dor,
rabbit not bad la. very tame..
your supplier want #3 or not? :p

stephie,
for me, if she really don't want the cot anymore, i will most probably dismantle it to clear some space in the room.

tubao,
how do you make chinese buns before you get the breadmaker?
the bread flour is about 1 cup = 125 g.
have you bought the standard measuring spoons? i've got the small weighing scale too. but find that it's not very accurate.
so, most of the time i use the internet conversion to convert the g to teaspoons/tablespoons.

btw, i've checked out breadmaking class at CC. it seems only bukit merah and jurong spring CC offering it. not convenient leh.
for phoon huat, no more hands on class for breadmaking too. only demo available. not sure how much can learn from the demo class. good thing about the demo class is that the fee $10 is fully redeemable for their products.
interested to go? weekday 7 pm at phoon huat near geylang there.

pauline,
mosquito bites so bad? my house got some mosquito last week too (don't know how they fly till so high).
anyway, we close the window and on the aircon + apply repellent for her.

sweetpea,
i found one that's offering 1 hr service near aljunied with 6cts per piece.
i think it's reasonable.

tong,
sometimes too stressful, then will get headache, stiff neck. etc.
then doc will prescribe paracetamol with relaxant.

pauline,
i did use the ultrasonic one before. is that the one small one?
stephie bought it too..
it's useful to some extent for C yet not useful for stephie.

but the battery run out very fast, changed twice liao. then find that it's expensive to change it again to use it for another week.
you want to try? i can lend you, you just change the battery will do.

xiaoyun
re: cot
hee.. just want to have more mileage loh. else if he don't want anymore, will sell it off :p

think the mozzie at my place are more fierce hence not afraid of the repellant. think maybe i seldom use, have not changed batter before.

hmm.....mozzies...interesting topic.

which level u all stay - if you're combating these bloodsuckers?

I stay on 4th floor. My next door neighbour say they have no problem - maybe i need to put on a lot of INdian perfume too...

I have ALL sorts of gadgets.

A zapper with 'blue light'. Think it attracts the random fly more than mozzie. my place mozzie seem well-trained to avoid this. It attracts mozzie to one place - so we better not be anywhere around there or else actually never kana also wil kana!

Electric "sonic thing" with light and 3 different 'sonic waves" - i have NO idea if this works. turn on....or turn off....i can't tell if it works cuz sometimes kana, sometimes dun kana. *scratch head*

Electric with light, sonic thing and zapper - also same same...sometimes kana, sometimes dun kana. *blur*

Electric 'dish' that you put a tab on, and dispels a 'smell' - this probably supposed to work the best. One little tab lasts about 12 horus i think...but usually after 6-8 hours, i feel, it loses smell liao - or maybe still ahve but i dun smell it cuz already immune. i think cheaper to buy tab in malaysia.

manual repellent spray - by far should be the most effective - but very ley chey to spray every night when she sleeps. also scared she rub her eyeds n etc.

AIRCON and manual dust-busting- probably most effective so far. My mum says mozzies hide in dark places/clothes. So need to do protocol as follows:

1. unsettle them by slamming pillows all over the bed, shaking your curtains, clothes (if u have some hanging somewhere), create turbulance in corners etc to get them out.

2. when they're out and flying about, either use those electric racket and ZAP! them...or chase them outta the room. (at least ur baby doesn't get bitten - but you get if you go out watch tv later :p)

3. After you're done with your dust/mozzie-busting, slam shut all the windows/doors/whatever holes and make sure no more mozzie come in.

4. turn on aircon.

Hopefully u can do step 1-3 before your baby need to sleep or befor eyou baby make noise, and before you collapse.

sigh.

XY, the ultrasonic one selling at $23.25 at BP uses power supply. Is yours like this? http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2853971.html?1250857819

Tongtong, think because recently keep raining so mosquitoes got chance to breed. :p

Lezy, we can't use air con in the room, hubby has sensitive nose. Already tried spraying pesticide twice in 3 days. My hubby loves to run after them in the electric racket, he gets a thrill from 'BBQing' the mosquito if he catches one. But most of the time, they are too fast for him. Hope the problem gets better. :p

apple:
oh apple, did know u leave so near. i send my girl to my mum place from mon-tue at amk, thats why send to for 2hr class, rather than she do nothing at home. her ah ma only knows how to pamper her. in learning kidz, i sit in before, 1hr english and 1 hr chinese class. they do singing, story telling, some flash card and drawing. is cheap la, 3 days per week for $440per term(3mth). each day $13 for 2hr. u can go for trial 1st for $18. my girl is e youngest.

today, i went to wiggle learners to enquire, is abt $25per day- 2.5hr. but they only have 1 class. ratio 1:7. learning kidz 1:5.

if u r keen, pm me, i give u my hp, will feed u w more info, maybe our children can be classmates.

dor,
im good, been busy w C and work. u all still got shop at ppl park complex. hee
i also wanted for 2nd one but HB says wait till we settle our love nest first. moving by end of the year.

xiaoyun,
ya, is the mth i wan to ask.... time really flies...

xiaoyun,
do i look veri tame to u?
my supplier?hahaha.... he always change his minds... not in a hurry to have no3....

re:print
i sms u already...

linda,
no more leh(shopping at chinatown)u working already?
same industry?
i left liao...now in insurance..

stephie,
hehe.. my cot is hand-me-down. that's why don't feel the pain if she doesn't want it.

for the device, i on for like 8-10 hrs per day. then very fast 1-2 week then no more battery liao.

pauline,
mine one is similar to the one like key chain, this BP also sells. i think they are about the same. just that the one use power supply.
do you want to try? i go and dig it out for you.

ha. i can imagine your hb running after the mosquitoes with the racket. we use the same thing in malaysia too. sometimes the holes are too big for the mosquitoes, they can easily escape.

agree with lezy that the electric mosquito repellent tab is effective. but don't dare to use it too often afraid that it might be toxic. i like the smell though.

linda,
yes. so fast they are 18 months liao..

dor/pauline,
it depends on the horoscope also lah.
my hb is a rabbit but taurus. he's stubborn and looks tame. :p

pauline, you leo right? where got lion tame tame one leh?

XY, thanks but never mind. It's ok, we decided to buy the one with power supply to try cos my house's mosquitoes very poisonous and guerilla trained. Hope a more powerful repeller will work better. Tried the baygon electric mosquito repellent before but quite costly in long term leh. :p

hehe, yup, I'm Leo but this lion kept in the zoo one mah, so 'quite' tame lar. hahaha.

Just now, the nearby primary school finally called me for relief teaching THIS AFTERNOON AT 1230pm, 6 months after I registered with them. Faint! Was thinking of going Taka Baby fair. Looks like cannot go liao. :p

pauline,
you forget the recent white tiger case in the zoo?
no matter how tame they are, they are still fierce animals. somemore lion is the king.

wish you good luck for the interview (is that an interview?).

i think mosquito will not be all year round thing, they only come out during the hot seasons. should be not that xiong to use the repellent.

Hehe....
My gal's only gadget for mozzies is "ME". At zoo & anywhere, I am the only one attacked by mosquitos....

Xiaoyun,
For chinese buns, steam for 20mins.

Hehe....how much ml is 1 cup?

Course sounds fine to me. Which day you prefer to go? I prefer Friday nights.

iso
mystery mum has not made the announcement leh. silent mummies i can think of are garfield, jass, and sunny.

pauline/xiaoyun
i also have those baygon electric repellant (need to refill the liquid type). felt that not effectively leh.

haha, i earned 2 blisters, a hoarse voice n $90 (must wait until next month then can get $) for my first relief teaching experience. The classes r really rowdy, they can outscream, outshout me, even when i'm using a mike. Faint! :p no wonder the usual pool of more than 10 relief teachers rejected the job. Must be they know how notorious these classes are. :p

XY, haha, true true. I do attack/retaliate when provoked or under attack. But I'm always the defender not the attacker.

Stephie, that liquid type no use ah. Just now, my MIL wanted to pass to me, she got it free from her RC karaoke singing class. :p

pauline
maybe not totally useless. just that not very effective. don't know is it because my plug is at corner of the room, hence can't cover the entire room... cos there's a limited coverage area.

wow, not easy to be relief teacher..

Stephie, yup, really not easy. And there is no 'orientation/training' whatsoever. Don't know the students' names so can't even single out the naughty ones. Now, I know why MOE is always recruiting teachers. :p

apple - i also follow this mummy's blog
, the things she do is quite interesting

HELLO mummies,
it s really been a long long while since i came into this thread cos my netbook died on me n only got it back fm repairs recently. Took me a while to scan thru the entries. Great to hear so many feb mummies r preggy.
i want to be nxt in line too :p

pauline,
u went for relief teaching?? so brave!!! cos i hear these days, kids r no longer as easily managed as compared to before. what did u teach??

i have 2 tins of Gain IQ 3(400g) sample pack to give away.

My baby do not take this brand anymore so i don't want it to juz lie on my table till expiry.
Expiry date: May 2012.

Anybody interested, pls PM me.

Morning mummies! Tute, so nice got block leave. Can spend more time bringing your boy out these 2 weeks. I'm looking forward to Sept hols. Will be staying at Amara sanctuary hotel on 11 Sept. Looking for attractions at Sentosa to bring RaeAnne too. Anyone been to Sentosa Luge, any height limit if kid rides with the parent? No info on the website on that. :p

Good morning mummies.. wah.. really very quiet.

Playdate on 13th sept:
I think i also going.. erm.. can someone post the details again? Timing?

Have a good week ahead k! 2 exams to clear this week.. ambitious me.. placed 2 papers on the same day... hope i can clear.

re: relief teaching
tong/pauline,
sorry, a bit slow regarding it.
you went for the interview prior to that? thought you register only?

what do you teach huh?

re: mosquito
tubao,
why you will be the gadget for your gal?
thought kids are warmer and perspires more, easier to be the target?
on contrary, i am safe with my gal and hb around. :p

stephie,
mosquito at your side very fierce leh. everything not effective.
like that, need to install the net on the window for the room and diligently spray baygon at the corner every week. keep the room door closed at all times, esp evening and night.
this is what my mum did when we were young and in malaysia where the mosquitoes are really fierce and a lot.

re: baking
tubao,
1 cup = 240 ml.

friday night, ok. let me check on the schedule again and let you know, ok?

re: zodiac sign vs horoscope
dor,
so qiao?

so you stubborn also? :p

some news to share in case anyone using Ez-link Giro top up.
please note that, they now charges a 'convenient fee' for each top up - unlike it was free for the past 10 years or so.
now got to go GTM to do manual top up each time liao.
http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Online%2BStory/STIStory_422609.html

XY, aiyoh my ez link card is giro linked. You mean now got to pay? :p

Ya lor the relief teaching, just apply online. Once approved, your details will be in their database and the schools can call you anytime. No training, no interview, 1215 report for work, find out where's the classroom, get timetable, 1230 teach liao. No textbook even cos the teacher on MC can't remember where she put her copy. Scary man, no preparation at all. What can the kids learn? I'm just there to be part time baby sitter and maintain discipline bah. :p

pauline,
you changed your ezlink card already or not?
for old card - giro link - giro linked at GTM, waiting time few minutes - free per top up
for new card - giro link - giro linked through form, waiting time 3 weeks - 25cts per top up

aiyoh. why make things less efficient and want to charge ppl money?
i giro linked my card since the farecard era leh. :p
everywhere all need money nowadays.

relief teacher teach whatever lesson assigned? scary leh. no time for preparation.

I haven't changed my card yet cos I asked the counter a few times but if changed now, must apply for giro separately so I'm waiting for it to be auto-linked before I change my card. Me too, giro all the way cos our house (jalan tenaga) not near to interchange/mrt mah, where got time to everytime go and top up. :p

pauline,
me too. was waiting so long for the giro function. now comes the news..

yaloh. i go everywhere by bus, not always passby mrt.
so sian now yet don't want to pay them for the service that's previosly free for so many years.
do you know that DBS ATM can now do top up - at a fee of 20cts? Free for 1 year though.
too bad it's monopolyzed, otherwise i sure boycott them.

XY, oh! Mine is giro card also. Can we change to normal ezlink card? If kena charge for every top up I wont do that lor.

tong,
in fact, you need to change the giro card to a normal one. then fill in a form, wait for 3 weeks to make it a giro card again.
as long as you don't fill the form, they can't make your card to a giro card.
why make the process so complicated then charge ppl $ for the 'convenience'?

tong,
not really. i am still waiting for the last week of card changing exercise then change my card. cos i want to make full use of my free convenience now.

XY, tong,
wah!! why they so bad and want to charge for everything?? aren't they supposed to make it easier for people to take public transport?? gosh..