(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bx,
read from your blog about what PD said regarding A's fever.
C took Tamiflu on her fever last time. Reached 40C and kept yoyoing when the effect of brufen/paracetamol over. They did flu test and found out she got Influenza A although she doesn't not show any flu symptom.
The fever subsided very fast after Tamiflu. But she becomes very sian throughout the 5 days when she's taking the medicine.

although very reluctant for her to take it, i just follow what the PD said loh. at least it makes her less irritable and sleeps better.

Hi, Iso,
Thanks for link.

Hehe.....it says "snake &pig not compatible with tiger". but Haiz....I missed Ox child.....

Hmmm....maybe aim for rabbit....

XY
i ask PD if it is h1n1, he say if i wan to test can go hosp. $200. zzz. he say if i wan he can prescribe vernon tamiflu. but i say dun wan

It's just day surgery, actual surgery will take only 10 - 15 mins. According to the nurse, with all the waiting time, it's going to be easily 5 - 6 hours in the hospital. I'm more concern about bringing DD3 there as the day centre did advice not to bring other kids along. Spoke to mil but she's worried she can't handle since she has "no milk" for dd3 plus 2 other kids at home. If she were to take care of dd3 too, she will have 4 kids to look after. Will see how it goes tomorrow.

Clover,
Thanks for asking but I'll try to work something out.

tubao,
Is that your blog?

bx,
When dd3 was hospitalised at 3 months old for Respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), I realised the nurses at KKH does not administer medicine unless temperature hits 38.5C. Low grade fever of 37.8C, they will just sponge and monitor her temperature every hourly.

A fever is a sign that the body is fighting an infection so you may want to avoid giving medicine if she is running a low grade fever. But of course, if she is achy and fussy, you may want to give her some medicine.
DD3 just recoved from her fever last Wed, lucky thing her fever is only 1 day. I continued to monitor her temperature on Thu and Fri, still having low grade fever (37.2C - 37.8C) but I didn't give her any medicine. Just sponge her and give her regular bath (check her feet to ensure she's not feeling cold).

Hope Ashlynn gets well soon.

Just to share my recent bakes, sausage buns!
2827416.jpg

2827417.jpg

cheryl,
we tested at hosptial. the test itself is $80, plus the tamiflu $40, practise fee, watever, total cost about $200.
that's the first time she had such high fever, and she's very not active. that worries us a lot.

we also discourage giving any medicine if it's less than 38C and she's still active.

reena,
hope your dd1 recover soon. how do you know she has got the OME? regular ear infection?
me too also have ear infection quite often. hope no need to go operation. :p

your buns looks good. next time i take leave and go to your place to learn making bread, can?

re: zodiac sign
hb, i and C - rabbit, horse and rate. all not compatible leh.
haha..

Xiaoyun, Carrie had H1N1!! How come never heard from u! Aiyo where did she contracted it from ? you brought her to lots of public place? Strange that she doesn’t have flu symptom but had H1n1 hor.

Cheryl, wah test for h1n1 cost so much. Why the PD so irresponsible one?? How can simply prescribe tamiflu. Tamiflu has side effects on kids and the doc in the hospital ( I read from newspaper ) that they will only give when it’s necessary. If not, they will just treat h1n1 as common flu.

Reena, better don’t bring dd3 to hospital ( lots of viruses there). Ur buns look good!

Bx, agree with Reena, medicine is unnecessary unless you really need to. Hope ashlynn gets well soon!!

tong,
relax relax.
Influenza A is not necessary H1N1. There are also H3N2 type and other types too..
The nurse didn't tell me which strain is that. but definitely not H1N1. cos that time no cases of H1N1 in singapore yet.
the only place i brought her before that is to the playground near my pil. think she's in touch with other kids loh.
strangely no flu symptom at all for her. just fever and blur blur, inactive.

however, the 2nd day she's diagnosed with the flu, me and hb got fever too. high fever and serious flu symptom for two of us for several days - worse than her.
the virus is really strong and contagious. i am thankful that C is strong enough to recover fast.

xy, meaning you got the flu from carrie ah. anyway now whatever influenza A also considered common flu liao hor. now carrie got the antibody liao hehe

hmm
E has been coughing and yesterday ILs say he feel warm so gave him buprofen!! i told them at night that it's for high fever only. and not like he was burning up, only a bit warm. oh well.

these days H1N1 also v common. i have a friend and a colleague who had it!

tong,
yes. Influenza A is now a common flu. H1N1 now is also everywhere.
what we need to do is to be alert enough and seek for treatment earlier.
hopefully the antibody can help to fight for other kinds of virus too.

Had to reschedule DD1's operation as she is down with cough :-( This is the 3rd time I've rescheduled her surgery, sigh.

XY,
You may want to go see a specialist regarding your ear infection. If it's OME, no major problem except for some hearing loss and ear infection, but suffering lor... Go polyclinic and get referral letter, cheaper that way. If you want private doc but not too ex, I brought DD1 to see a doc in CGH, he's very detail in his explanation and friendly too.

tong,
on the side effect, the report saying that more than 50% of kids taking tamiflu will have it. i believe C had some of it too, cos she doesn't look happy during the 5 days when taking it, i believe she's having some nausea feeling or whatsoever. and you know, the medicine is very bitter one. for adults, it's 1 capsule. for kids, you need to open it up, mix the powder into water and let her take 60% of it. imagine how bitter is it. she resists the first few times taking it, got to force it down 2x a day. until the last 2 days, she also sian and guai guai take the medicine as she knows that by hook by crook she still need to take it. heart pain to see her like that. but compared to the heart pain seeing her having high fever, i would say lucky she took the medicine.
at least for now, she's fully recovered.

reena,
hearing loss is permanent of temporary?

Hi, Reena
You mean http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/ ?

No lah....Hehe....how i wish that I am so great cook as Brenda(blog owner) & as capable as her managing blog so well.

hmmm...Xiao yun and I learnt from you about making bread , hah?

Or Xiao yun, you learn first, then teach me at weekends....

Hi, Eliaw,

Long time no see!
How's your childcare studies? Finished?

I almost wanted to guess you as mystery mummy....hehe....but you didn't post for very very long....

---fever
E had high fever only(no sore throat, cough&etc) for 4 days in mid June. We saw 2 drs; both said just virus, prescribed paracedmol only.

On first day E was very sleepy; almost slept thru whole day, didn't eat anything. On 2nd&3rd day, she slept a little less, and ate normal feed. My MIL cooked mainly porridge for her.

After E recovered on 5 day, she developed rosela. We saw Dr again, to ask whether it's ok for E to travel. Dr said; " Up to you!".

bx,
hopefully ashlynn will get well soon...

reena,
your cheese pancake looks super duper yummy... i'm adamant to try it this weekend... hahaha.. gotta make sure i have all the ingredients at home first. did you grate the cheddar chese so that it mixes well or just put in chunks of it ?

btw, hope your dd1 get well soon and she can have the op...

Xiaoyun, wah really can sense that Carrie is like giving in and guai guai take med hor, like very poor thing like dat, anyway she should be stronger now!

Re:roseola
Looks like quite a few of our tods here had roseola already!

diana
there's a pcf nursery at blk 32 and pcf kindy at blk 4.

genice
hiya, thought will hv appletree once cc reopens. cos usually cc has got appletree. looks like will send shawn to his jie jie playgroup when he's 3 yrs old. or see if can start him earlier at 2.5 yrs old.

re: fever
shawn had fever on fri too. when i went to my mu mum's plc after work on fri evening, he was leaning against my mum and looked so sian. but he brightened up a little when he saw me at the gate and played with me. then at dinner time, he was very hot and cried (those kind of cry where only tears flowed out). he must be very xin ku then that's why cried. then i felt his heart beating v fast. got scared (cos i didn't know fever will result in fast heartbeat) and quickly brought him to see doctor. doctor said his throat was a little imflammed (hence caused the fever). prescribed paracetomol and antibiotic. me against taking antibiotic but cos it's throat infection, have to let him take. hubby asked for mc till mon in case he still don't recover by then.

luckily he recovered since sunday. and i took childcare leave on mon :p

hope all the sick babies recover soon. think nowadays lots of virus around. lots of pple in office on mc.

reena
the blueberry cheese pancake needs so much cheddar cheese ah? if omit the cheese, u think can work?

tubao, no la.. not the mystery mum.. me most likely will be planning one next year.. don't worry i will make announcement..

i'm v v busy, tied up with lots of work and school too.. the rest of my free time i spend as much as i can with C.. so no time for myself already.. i'm now into my 3rd semester only.. still another 1 1/2 yrs to go!! heh heh...

reena,
the recipe looks yummy -- i am a cheese lover.

how to measure the cheddar cheese huh? if i use the slice kind.
thanks for sharing.

do you accept student?

cheryl,
hallucinate or not, i don't know. C never tell me. :p
i won't give tamiflu too if there's no test done to confirm that she's having flu.

tubao,
i really want to learn loh.
does phoon huat class teach making bread huh?
if so, want to attend class together?

rosela is once a lifetime kind or will come back one?

eliaw,
you say you know who's the mystery mum. the answer is quite clear liao..
did i guess it right?

It seems that lots of adults fall sick also, some of colleagues took a few days MC

...hope children recover fast.

Hi, Xiaoyun
Sure. we can attend class together.
I read phoon huat class; and also found some baking classes at CC; sewing(elementary, intermediate, advanced)hehe....

Hehe.... I am so much lagging behind; I haven't bought bread machine yet. hmmmm...I shall speed up oven/breadmachine shopping. My friend suggested me to buy oven cum microwave instead of breadmachine, since I don't have any of 3.

Do you& your family want to come to my house for dinner at weekends? How about this Sat dinner? I cook some simple dishes.

Hi, Eliaw
Hehe....super woman lah......
Join us on playdate at jacob ballas children's garden on 13 Sep?

re: roseola
ashlynn's fever finally subsided after 4 days. she has rashes on her face and tummy. is that roseola? what do i do abt it? needa go to PD again?

stephie.. thanks k.. i din noe blk4 also have... so now. where does cherylin goes to? Blk 32?

bx.. confirmmm reosola... nothing much to do.. just wait for the rashes to clear..luckily many mummies have gone thru it.. That time when gwen first got it.. i was so scared.. rushed her down to doc when i see the rashes.. cried cause i thot some serious condition like measles.. but i remember my doc says:

fever ends, rashes comes= ok
fever high + rashes= not ok

Reeena.. i think u shld start a playdate/ cooking class at ur hse.. haha.. and we can eat all ur delicious/appetizing dishes.. At the most i help u take care of ur kids lor.. :p
BTW, hope ur ger's operation goes well! Take care

Tubao, if possible, try not to use microwave lor. It’s either getting oven or breadmachine, better choice.

Bx, yea it’s roseola, no need to see PD. The rashes wont affect her one, don’t worry. Don’t need to do anything la, she has recovered

Bx
relieved to hear that it's roseola. Ashlynn should be getting better soon.

Tubao
how come only invite Xiaoyun to dinner har??? hehe. :p

Stephie
fast heartbeat is indeed cause for worry. i would have done the same. the other night also K woke up crying, heartbeat damn fast, almost wanted to send in to KKH. hope shawn is better?

Xiaoyun
so poor thing Carrie but really guai lor - force herself to accept bitter med.

I'm been having itchy throat and cough for almost 1 week. Saw GP but the mild herbal cough syrup he gave me didn't work. Bought some barley and '止咳汤' from Hock Hwa yesterday, getting my maid to boil for me.

genice,
hehe... wait for the mystery mummy come here and announce loh...

tong,
how does the roseola virus spread?
so, does it mean that it's the roseola virus cause high fever?

tubao,
which one got bread making class? cc or phoon huat?

me too doesn't like microwave although it's very convenient. some ppl say microwaved food cause some sickness in a long term.
breadmachine is good for beginner as it kneads dough and bake it. however, the kneading cycle is not good enough to make a nice texture bread, also, the crust bake in breadmachine is thicker.
i still using it as it save lots of time and i can at least have some fresh and healthy bread to eat everyday.

thanks for inviting. this week cannot. probably the 1 Sept week? dinner what time? can't be too late as travelling from eunos to woodlands. and need to reach home by 9pm as it's C's sleeping time liao.
i contribute homemade bread?

bx,
finally A's recovered. now you can rest.

bkkgal,
yup. C is very guai. so, i will kancheong whenever she makes noise.
but now, she make use of this and start bully us already.
time to start discipline. :p

pauline,
your cough haven't recover ah..
take care loh. you double check with hock hwa this can be consumed by pregnant woman?

btw, saw this super cute bread...

http://cookpad.com/recipe/349795

tubao,
I think Brenda puts in alot of effort in her blog, she has a great blog and thanks for sharing.

tute,
I used grated cheddar cheese for the pancakes.

Stephie,
I think you can omit cheese but do replace with egg or milk to get runny consistency. But do note the taste will be altered.

XY,
I used a measuring cup to measure the cheese. I poured it straight from a fresh packet and it's about 1/3 pack. Each pack weighs 250g so my guess is 1 cup = 85g. I think you can use sliced cheese, but just cut them into smaller pcs.

Breadmaking,
I no expert in bread making, still learning and I'm lucky my the dough is easy to handle. I can share some pointers but I'm not qualified to teach :p However, my house is in a mess so I paisay to invite you girls to my house leh... how?

I'm not sure how much is PH's class but cc also offers bread making course. I've never taken any classes because I don't have time. I just surf the net and look for step-by-step pics to follow :p

tubao,
My advice to you is not to get a 3-in-1 MW oven. I used to own 1 but the oven died on me. Called the service centre and the first qn they asked is "did you bake alot?". So if you want it for baking, do get a proper oven. also, 3-in-1's do brown your bakes evenly.

Bread machine is to help you knead and bake a loaf of bread. I used to spend 30 - 45 mins hand kneading the dough, decide to invest in a machineto save time.

bx,
DD3 had rosela too, no other symptoms, just fever for 3 days and outbreak of rashes after fever subsided. No need to see doc again.

Thanks for all your well wishes. Now waiting for DD1 to recover so she can go for her surgery.

Xiaoyun
I feel that K also take advantage of us.

Last few nights she will wake up every night at 11+, cry pitifully, cannot be comforted. First few times we thot she not well, apply yuyi oil, take temp etc. But the minute I carry her to our bed, she will happily snuggle in between us and sleep. Last night, she did it again. Now I can differentiate her cries in pain and her "tantrum" cries. I told hb she is bullying us, there is absolutely nothing wrong with her but he brt her to our bed. And true enuff, she just slept btw us.

Tonight we leave for holiday. I'm sure she will use the same tactics and by the time we come back, she will be so used to doing this that it will be hard to break. *fed up*

qingling,
Thanks for your kind words, I'm still a novice in cooking/baking.

Microwave,
I use this alot but I will let the food stand fora few mins before serving.

xy,
I saw this bread in Florence's blog before, so tempted to make it but I don't have a pullman loaf pan. Cute right?

Xy, I think the virus is everywhere , just that we are immune to it liao, so will attack the kids only? yea the high fever is caused by the roseola virus, cuz need high temperature to kill them ma.

Reena, there are a lot of studies that talk about the harmful effect of microwave. just for your info la.

RE: Healthy Times BP

Can't seem to get enough for the discount. Ned S$250 to qualify. Please contribute more? :p

mime_msexcel.gif
Healthy Times BP
Healthy Times BP 20090913.xls (31.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Collection maybe can during the 13 September playdate. Danica loves to run around in open spaces.

Xy, yup I did, she said nan xing, bei xing, chuan bei is ok for preggie women. I actually bought 1 bottle of preboiled 止咳汤 from hock hwa but it costs $3.50. Like very exp so I bought the ingredients to boil myself. 1 pack for $3 but if buy 3 packs, get 20% off.

bkkgal, RaeAnne is also like that. My hubby gave up the battle and his place on the bed to let her sleep beside me. And he'll sleep in a cramped position at our feet. :p I don't know how to break the habit too but must do it before no. 2 arrives. Aiming Sept hols to start putting her back to her cot. :p

hehe...
bkkgal,
Invite xy to discuss about attending class.

And big reason is that ... I am not confident to cook dishes for many adults+children. Hehe....

xiaoyun,
29 Aug? 1 sep is Tuesday.

got no time to read thru all posts now; read it tonight.

co-sleeping with bb: H used to want to come out of the cot and sleep with us, and both me n hub can't sleep well. In the end, we put a mattress next to the master bed (below), and make it cosy and "bump free"(lots of cushion and pillow), then we make her sleep there. so far ok. i suppose she dun like to see the grills of her cot. My plan is to get a better mattress now, which is also suitable for her bed, hopefull by 3 years old, can let her sleep in her own bedroom.

co-sleeping
i used to put E to sleep on my bed, then later carry him to his room, and my hub used to be super buay song about it becuase it means he can't watch tv, surf computer, etc.

luckily one day E just decided he'd rather go to his room! recently hub was away so first night i let E sleep with me, 2nd night he said he wanted to go to his room!

so i guess maybe sometimes if you just let them be they will change on their own..

Reena,
ok. then i take the weight of the cheddar cheese instead.

too bad it's quite troublesome to come my place, otherwise you can come here too..

i dun have the nice loaf pan with cover. not sure want to invest in it as i still can't shape my bread with my hand.

the bread is super cute lah. i am sure kids will love eating it.

bkkgal,
yaloh. she likes to sleep with us. she will cry when we try to transfer her to her cot when she's just fall asleep.
in the end don't bother to transfer her as sometimes we fall asleep faster than she do. :p

tong,
re: roseola
that makes sense.

artemis,
you also jump up and declare.
haha..
i was thinking to get some puffs, but dun think i will go to the botanic garden playdate.

pauline,
you bully your hb ah. so poorthing..
she just squeze in between us. but sometimes i will nearly fall from the bed. :p

clover,
no tips.

we also same problem. :p

tubao,
i looked at the wrong calendar. 29 Aug should be fine. need to check if hb if he feels too far to travel to woodlands tonight and let you know, ok?

qingling,
how do you make the extra matteress same height as yours? unless yours is platform?

iso,
haha.. E got character le.
now your hb happy liao loh. can do whatever he wants.

XY - the mattress not same height, its below us, so H's mattress is on the floor. We dun have a choice so she simply dun want to sleep in her cot even when we convert to junior bed. hmm...

XY, I never bully him lor. I keep telling him to bring her to the cot after she has fallen asleep but he said she sleeps better on our bed (which is true) so he refuse to bring her over. My hubby and RaeAnne same pattern one, when they sleep, they flip all over the place, 180 deg or 360 degree is nothing to them. So, hubby scared that he'll crush her in his sleep (he's done that before but luckily while I'm still awake) so he sleeps at the foot to give her more space to 'rotate'. Sometimes I get kicked or poked by both father and daugther in their sleep, they bully me more like it.

co-sleeping
Haha. So amused to read all your replies. K, will try the mattress method but have to prevent him from rolling under the bed. Lol

No.2 child
Xy, that's y dun have no. 2 yet lor. Rofl.

My hb was shocked to hear i wan twins next. Haha. I told him why and he accepted my reasons. He's younger than me n not in a hurry but i'm!

tongtong,
Thanks for highlighting, yes I'm aware but I did research. Also, my eldest sis is super anti MW, when she heard me using MW, she will nag non stop :p I use alot mainly for "frying" anchovies and reheating of food.

XY,
I rem u stay BR right but not near the reservoir, else I can go cos there's a direct bus from my place. See how lah.. if one day I don't need to rush back to fetch kids, I may be able to make it to your place. My constraint is time and distance.

I've always wanted to make a square loaf but this means acquiring another bakeware and that needs additional space. Already I'm running short of space. So tempted!

Co-sleeping
With a nursing bb, it's difficult to sleep in separate rooms. Both DD1 and DS2 co-slept with us till DS2 turned 30 months before moving to their own bedroom. Sorry, not much of help here. We have accepted it as it is now :p