(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

haha, hope to hear good news soon.

diana
long time no see

do you use those no tears shampoo? E has also gotten used to water over his face now, although he doesn't LOVE it lah...

hi iso ! long time no see

oh... i think the pigeon shampoo is not a no tears shampoo... could be stingy to the eyes.

maybe time to change shampoo.

other than J & J, any other shampoo that are no tears ?

stephie.. i went to check already. no apple tree in the new buona vista cc.

diana.. i also went to check on glow and grow at blk 11.. same here.. dun like the attitude of the teachers..

Re: change job
haha.. yar lor.. stop teaching already now in the finance line.. a refreshing change from teaching.

Re: pregnant
See so many mummies preggie.. i also want to get second kid liao.. skali cant wait till aug.. haha..

diana,
i use sebamed shampoo for baby... so far my son is ok when i rinse his hair, there are even times when it runs down through his eyes and he seems ok with it... i now say peek a boo everytime i rinse his hair so that he knows when i say boo means he can open his eyes... then he'll not cry
though there are still times when he's cranky and taht method doesn't work on him but not very often

stephie,
unfortunately, i'm not preggie leh..although i would really love to be. Sigh, but i say i want,yet not really doing anything abt it, plus still BFing, so chances very low.

Dun want tiger bb too, but too late for Cow, and Rabbit year still a long way to go leh.

genice, if want Aug 10 baby, got to wait for another 4 months before trying I think cos no. 2 may pop early. But since you just changed job, good time to try? Stressful or not? Wa, you changed to finance sector? Good leh, thought it's tougher to change line as ex teacher cos previous years of experience don't count. At least someone told me that. Don't know if it's true. ;P

My hubby 'bu she de' his CONNECT plan though I asked him to try teaching in private school or international school or go for further studies so that can become lecturer in poly or uni. He teach in the same school and same subject for so long, can get a bit boring also. :p

Diana, RaeAnne uses either kodomo baby shampoo or J&J shampoo.

morning ladies,
on child mc today as ashlynn running high fever. 40.1 degree celcius!! temperature kept on yo-yoing. it rises esp at night. very heart pain to see her suffering. seen a pd last night already and given the suppository. anyone got any remedies to keep the temperature down?

bx, poor ashlynn. Sponge her as often as you can. Make some barley water, give her that instead of normal water. It's cooling and supposed to help. Give medicine regularly. Hope she gets well soon.

oh dear, poor ashlynn. keep sponging her down bx - that should bring down the temp.

still guessing who ah? whoever wants to say, will say in due time.

bkk,
she refused to be sponged. coz i think her body feel hot and the towel is cold against her body. so she feels uncomfortable. but i will do that when she is asleep.

u mean u know who?

Pauline, how come you know mystery mum is pregnant? Is she in facebook n did the announcement?

Bx, make green bean and barley water ( Chinese big barley called yi4 ren2, not the normal barley we drink from stall), sponge her all the time. Let her drink fruit juices. It’s ok if she doesn’t eat. Make sure she has lots of fluids. Don’t worry yea, ash is fighting hard against the virus! That’s why got fever. Jiayou ashlynn

no lah bx, i dunno who.

i think u cont to monitor ashlynn today. if temp over 40 degrees persist til afternoon/evening, bring her in to kk. sponge her forehead, dun sponge her body cos it feels cold and clammy for her. if she conts to be this warm, can give her a cool bath.

Bx, 40 still not very high if u refer to the Thomson children guide, 42 is considered high liao. But I read that the body acts like the thermostat one, it will stop at 42, unless it keeps getting higher and suddenly then the kid will have epilepsy, which will be a cause of concern. I think the virus is strong in the body so the heat got to get up to 40 in order to kill it! Don’t worry, since ash already on medicine, that will be able to keep her temp down. Is ashlynn still active or look very sick?

Can sponge her forehead, folded arms area, neck. Don’t use cold, use lukewarm. Do it continuosly.

If you give her a cool bath, not too cold till she shivers la. after that, don’t open the door, don’t let the air come in else will catch cold . don’t wipe her off first, let the water on her body evaporates via the heat, for a while. Then wear loose cotton clothing, best if got those cotton shirt with holes one.

bx - my mum got grandma recipe, use plain flour to knead a dough, roll this dough on the forehead and body. The dough suppose to be cooling the body. i hope it works.

or brew the "ling yang", suppose to be very cooling although not nice to drink.

genice - u in financial planning? :p

Bx, ya, I just use room temperature water. Most of the time, her fever starts at night so I got to check temperature, feed med and sponge her through the night. Difficult to get lukewarm water. :p

tongtong, I mentioned before cos the MTB asked me about my post natal massage package. So, I kaypoh and asked if she got good news and turns out to be true lor. ;)

Qingling, lingyang with a bit of 'bing tang' is very nice to drink.
But I don't know whether ok for kids so I only gave barley water (also made by MIL). Yang sheng xu water also can, I heard.

hi bx, i give panadol and nurofen. If temp is more than 38.5, i give nurofen. If between 37.5 to 38.5, i give panadol. The interval must be at least 2 hrs. Have to check temp every 2hr n then decide which med to give. Panadol given every 4hr n nurofen 6hr. my son was having high fever, hb n i took turns to wake up at night to take his temp or give him med. V tired but it keeps the temp down.

Twins
Yah, it's a lot of work, but i rather deal with it at one shot. Praying hard. =)

thanks mummies for ur advice.

her temp went down but still enuf to consider as fever. now she is pulling down all my files and taking out all the papers. so i suppose she is active

Inlaws,
I must give my MIL some credit too. Basically she's ok, just some old thinking for certain things. Actually, the washing up part, I won't be surprised that no one's complaining but my MIL just want to take precaution and prevent SIL from complaining.. I don't know, but it's just my assumption. Cos last time, she was staying with us and taking care of my newborn niece. But as we have a dog at home and SIL is scared of dog, MIL decided to move out and stay with them instead, to prevent conflicts, if any. So basically, she's a very careful person in this aspect. But for the upbringing of kids, I'll have to disagree. She can feed the child a bottle of milk/give pau/bread just prior to dinner time (cos nephew complains hungry but dinner is not ready). Then come to dinner time, the boy can't eat since not hungry...

bx,
Sponge her as much as you can. I try not to give ibrufen for young kids unless no choice. Did you get the cooling pad for her? It helps to cool the body down. I was told by some aunties to boil green bean water, add green bean and water, bring to boil. Once water boil, drain and leave to cool. The water supposed to bring down the temperature (but it didn't work for me leh...)

Being preg
I've learnt that being preg does not entitle you to any special benefits/privileges. I've stood from Simei station all the way to Jurong East, no one gave up a seat, some even "snatched" seat. For me, I always tell myself I'm not special, I'm just pregnant. And if someone lends a helping hand, that is a BONUS.

Ear Surgery
DD1's scheduled for an operation tomorrow. My mind is in a whirl now as DH can't go, this means I have to bring the girls alone... Feeling abit down and no mood to do much.

Bx, as long as she is active, no need to worry J

Reena, issit becase your tummy was small so nobody let u sit? Previously though my tummy is small still got ppl giving me seats wor.. what happened to your DD1? Don’t worry, everything will be alright.

She is diagnosed with Otitis Media with Effusion (OME) ie fluid in her middle ear, thus prone to ear infection and some hearing loss. Her surgery was scheduled last month but she had cough so I had to reschedule. Then DH went overseas so I rescheduled again, and that's like one month's lapse.. I do not want to continue postponing her surgery so now thinking to just lug DD3 there as well. Will tongpang DS2 with MIL but tmr school hols so niece and nephew will be home too. Wanted to leave DD3 with her too but I worry may be quite a handful for her since she has never taken care of dd3 before.

tongtong,
Yes, my tummy was small but the time pple "snatched" seats, it was because someone offered a seat but another lady dashed across and took the seat. Anyway, after that incident, I usually take a train up to Pasir Ris and ride back on the same train to Jurong.

reena,
how long will DD1 be at the hospital? i think quite hard to bring DD3 along...

iso,
haha? y u like tiger bb? seems like a lot of ppl dun like. u wan 3 kids?

bx,
dunno leh, my horoscope says compatible with tiger and dragon. i dun mind 3 or 4

reena
will the surgery be long? did u ask MIL if she minds looking after DD3? maybe if she's willing u can just leave her there. sometimes have to trouble other people, otherwise you also won't be able to cope right

Hi, bx
For green bean & barley water, the recipe is
http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/2009/07/green-bean-barley-drink.html

Hi, Iso,
3 or 4? haha....fast neh....

---compatiblity
How you gals know horoscope compatiblity?
My hb says "tiger will bully pig". ...don't know whether he bluff me of not.

---Bath
My gal cried/became fussy everytime we washed her hair last time; such a headache for us.
But one day she kept playing at water sprinkler at zoo water play herself. after that, she didn't complain at all for being poured water down from head. Very surprise for dh and me; my MIL haven't yet figured out why E changed . ^_^

bx, that interval's fine too. 2hr's minimum. Nurofen cant give that freq at 2, 3 hr interval, coz it works in the body for a longer time.

Tong, we took the temp while bb's asleep. If his temp is high then we wake him up to take the med. After that i let him latch n sleep. At nite, temp can spike so must take such precaution steps. V tired one!

reena
DD3 will be restless if you need to spend hours in the hospital. how abt asking MIL like Iso says? hope everything goes well for DD1.

bX
vernon oso having high fever, yest it reached 40.2, den faster bring him see PD....

yesterday he was not active at all. he dun even smile or talk.. keep whine n whine.. but this morning he can laugh, smile and talk liao... phew...

Iso
quite accurate - FIL (rooster) and me (rabbit) can't see eye-to-eye but recent yrs, he mellow alot, give in to our views, - better harmony.

hb and me also harmonious cos Tiger (hb) always give in to smaller animal! hehe.

Clover, oh you woke him up for medicine, wont he fuss? Cuz disturbing his sleep wor. Yea I know it was tiring, cuz I had experience once too, but I did not wake ds up for medicine, he sleeps soundly, just that he was hot. That night I sponged him throughout (taking turns with hubby), tiring lor! But effort paid off la.

tubao,
thanks for the recipe.

cheryl,
ashlynn temp still goes up and after i give brufen it will go down. when the medicine wears off, the fever comes again. sigh...

Bx, if you dare, let ashlynn fights the virus herself because using medication to control the temperature is not helping her building up her immunity. But of course, it depends on whether you are willing to do that. you can consider if she is still active n doesn’t look sick.

bx - this fever seems to be like the same as what H experiences b4, usually the fever spikes up higher at night. I suppose more sleepless nights for the parents. You and your hubby also better taken turns and not get over tired. H's fever lasted ard 4 days - the temp yo yo day and night, then when fever subsides, roseola appears.

bx - yea i gave one time at night but fever yoyoing, so i din give, and sponge instead. lasted abt 3 days but din give medication cuz he was still active and eat as usual. after fever subsided roseola appears.

hihi..
just happen to pop by and read about mystery mum... haha.. Pauline.. i know who also! happy guessing...

just wanted to ask if anyone interested to buy longchamp bags? can get 4-5 pcs.. prices will be at 20% off the retail prices here.. go to www.longchamp.com.. Pls email me directly at [email protected]
My friend is flying back on Friday, and orders need to be confirmed by Friday by 3pm.. so let me know if anyone interested, ya?