(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pauline,
oh ya, forgot to say. the things u mentioned really make it like quite obvious hor? nvm lah, as what u say, as long as u and hb shower Raelynn with lotsa luv, that's good enuf. anyway they may change their attitude after Raelynn is born.

bx, hehehe, all I can say is she's active in the thread so we all know her. I guessed cos she asked me about my post natal massage package at rustic nirvana lor.

Ya lor, that's how I comfort myself. I'm sure they'll change their attitude after Raelynn is born and after I stop putting RaeAnne at their place for good. Cos they only need to play with her but no need to look after. But they missed out an important thing which is grandkids will only be close to you if you look after them and they see you often. Eg. Raeanne is not close to my parents cos she only sees them once a week. She can say ye ye, nai nai, bo bo. and until now cannot say ah gong or gu gu. Ah Mah, she just learn recently. But I don't think i'll ever forget their bo chapness towards Raelynn lor. hee. :p

i think its gar.. hehe..

bx.. i also put on a lot of weight.. jia lat..i din even lose all from my 1st preg. At least u quite slim got a lot of allowance.. very good..

i think bkkgal was pregg already.. maybe she din noe.. cause we met in june.. now aug only.. but she is coming to 4 months..

pauline.. maybe the 2nd kid.. the excitement not there.. and they feel that u can take care of yourself.. But i wouldnt want to be trated like that.. every pregnancy is as impt.. i will feel unfair to wards the second kid.. but than frankly speaking.. i think i i preggie again.. i myself may be more bo chup towards myself... jia lat... i must make sure i am fair to my 2nd one too..

LOL so funny all of u. confirm not me la...remember...i dun even know if i want no. 2 as it is now.

jeannie, me also still 'hanging on' to extra kilos. need to lose them fast.

erm...jeannie....that's aprtly why i dun want no. 2 cuz as it is now, i feel i can't love anyone more than Ruth. jialat.

but motherhood has surprised me in many ways i never knew/expected. so maybe when no. 2 DOES come - when we decide we WANT another one - i will react differently.

genice,
u very cute. still calculate back for bkk.

juz went to facebook to check out familiar names. hee... maybe artemis?

Bx/Jeannie
I didn't know at Ikea gathering. I oso shocked myself at how fast "strike" this time cos that time only just decided and started trying. For Kate, we tried nearly 6 months. Somehow now older, so I thot surely will take more time.

Do you know who knew before me even??? Kate! She started to lift my shirt and kiss my tummy 2 weeks before I found out. I think she had intuition.

Pauline
I sometimes read Feb 2010 thread but never active there ley. So I really dunno who's the mystery mum.

Maybe it's dor????

Reena,
thanks for the pic. actually yesterday i went to pasir ris park - but ruth not that crazy about the swing - dunno why. perhaps now she not that gian liao.

but it's a nice playground - many things to play.

lezy,
jeannie not teaching le...
i marking and checking posts at the same time. today's topic very interesting. cannot miss.

genice,
btw, u got a new job izit?

lezy,
she was a teacher. now dunno still is onot. muz wait for her to cfm.

me? planning for 2nd wan or quit teaching :p
i let nature take it course. i super long menstrual cycle, like 50-days cycle. so very hard to conceive wan.

yar lor.. changed job already.. today is my slack day cause at home doing some stuffs..

yar lor.. bx.. today topic interesting haha.. so also kpo a bit.. BTW.. u and ashlynn look alike!!! So now ashlynn allows you to tie her hair already?? Gwen is super acustomed liao... and i make sure her hair is always tied up before she goes out with me.. haha.. now she automatic sit in front of me back face me to tie hair.. so cute..

Attended wedding dinner last night with gwen and hubby.. out of so many married with kids couples we were the only 1 that brought her.. the rest 8 months 13 months and 4 months all din bring.. and all of my friends were very impressed that gwen can eat guai guai eat her porridge at the table and self entertain herself with plate/cup and straw for quite a while.. in between she will put up some performance like xi nu ai le.. Haha.. really very proud of her that she is easy. Paiseh.. not boasting abt my ger.. just feel happy that she doesnt fuss ard that much.. Hope my 2nd child will be as easy as her.

genice,
so what r u working as now? still ur PILs taking care of gwen?

haha... ya, i saw ur comment on the tagboard. she will let me tie. her hair still not long, so quite hard to tie. when she is in bad mood, she will pull out. gwen's hair is much longer.

wah, gwen so guai. i tried to bring her once when she was 15-16 mth. wah, cannot make it. keep wanting to come down to walk. hb and i gotta take turns to bring her out for a walk. gwen is really good girl. even during the ikea gathering she also guai guai sit at the table with us. mine keep wanting to come down to play.

hi bkk, congrats!!!!
envy envy!!!

no3?
not me lah.... tho i love to... but not yet(or maybe no) cos i am still breastfeeding Gervaise(something that i want to do as long as possible)

helloooo... finally had chance to reply,

bkk,
congrats on #2 !! your planning is so good liao, can plan around the same time as miss K

lezy,
haha.. me and hb are also ok with 1 only now... eventhough we want #2 bcoz hb's theory is that in order to give back to society we need to have 2 kids... (funny theory) :p but want to wait at least another 2 yrs..

jeannie,
not me lah... you see my answer above sure can guess not me... i also try to plan well... plan not to have first that is :p

btw, gwen is a very guai kid... can see that from all your blogging as well. For C, haiz... the longst he can sit still is 10 min and that usually means he's sleepy :S

re:mystery mummy,
umm... whoever you are, congrats on ur pregnancy !

Hi, bkk
Kate knows to adore your 2nd one, very good neh!

Lezy/tute/Xiaoyun,
Same here, maybe try 2nd one one year later...

Pauline,
Your gal is used to playgroup now..?

Hi, jeannie
Gwen is so guai, good education .....

Hi, bkkgal,
This time do you have bad MS at 1st trimester? I remembered that you had tough pregnancy last time.

Hi, Reena
Your DD1 wear glasses?
My E likes to watch TV, stare at TV, seems that eyes not blink at all, scared that she will get myopia before school .

genice
i sent my girl to the playgroup at blk 11 when she was 3 yrs old. then PCF nursery this year. haven't thought abt sending shawn to where yet. :p maybe will checkout the apple tree at bv cc.

bkkgal
congrats! mine supposed to be both feb babies. end up, shawn pop abt 3 wks earlier and missed feb by 1 day.

where's your new place? near HV?

mystery mum2b
congrats and let us know soon k?

pauline
my IL opp, brew birdnest when i was hvg #2. my mum is the same for both pregnancy.

Thanks everyone for your well wishes.

Tubao
your memory is very good! i only had bad MS for 3 weeks this time, not like the last time which lasted for longer. Hope K cont to sayang small one when he/she is born.

Mysterymum, whoever you are, congrats to you too! share your joy with us soon!

Yes, I want to have #4 but tough cos DH says 3 is enough. In fact, he wanted to stop at 2 but I wanted 3, and I promised I'll stop at 3. I think if I ever have #4, I may even consider having #5 :p

iso,
My kids are all 3 years apart. My thoughts are, when you have 1, you struggle. When you have #2, an extra pair of help will be appreciated. But when it comes to #3, it's a breeze since you've already been through #1 & #2. That's how I look at it. And I'm definitely not as ks and/or rigid as I used to be. All those stuff I did for DD1, looking back now, I won't do it for DD3. Time constraint.

Pregnancy
Sorry if I sound rude here but my take is, as long as the bb is healthy, nothing else matters. I've seen a few real life cases of people around me, delivered bb with defect (brain damage, adhd, autism, etc...) and this made me appreciate healthy kids better.

Parents/In Laws
When my sis offered to take care of DD1 then, she reminded me that dd1 will not be close to my inlaws and my inlaws won't love her as much as my niece and nephew (taking care by inlaws). But, she made a remark, does it matter if they love her lesser? As long as her parents love her and she knows it, that is good enough. This left a deep impression in me.

Pauline,
Throughout my 3 preg, MIL did not prepare any tonic for me. Although she's just staying a few blocks away from me, and we went over for dinner daily (while expecting DD1), she prepared nothing. I was telling DH, maybe she prepares for SIL (she was preg with #2 then) but not me cos I always talk back :p But whenever I go back to my mom's, she will try to prepare tonic soup/birds nest for me. I was quite affected initially but with my 2nd preg, 我看开了. Don't let this affect your preg. Rem, happy mom = happy bb ;-)

tubao, haha, today I'm very happy with RaeAnne's performance. I had to see the GP cos of scratchy throat and dry cough, rush back to pick RaeAnne up from playgroup (without collecting my med cos no time to wait). Thought she'll be wailing there cos I was there close to 11am and 1 or 2 kids had already left. Instead, I saw her standing guai guai near the door with the other kids. Her favourite teacher told me she adjusted well, nowadays, when I leave, she cries for less than 5mins. Also when the teachers brought her to playground (they do that on Mondays), she sing songs happily and will hold teacher's hand to ask them to play slide with her. Teacher also said she can recognise her own water bottle and bag and even waved bye bye to the kids when they were going home.

Reena, yup I also 我看开了. I just wonder how they can ignore my big tummy and never ask me anything about no. 2 or show any concern. Maybe they are scared that if they ask, I'll ask them to look after? ;P

Bkkgal,
Kate is your eldest? Talking about intuition, yes, I think kids are very accurate. When I was expecting #2, DD1 told me it'll be a boy. And when it comes to #3, both dd1 and ds2 said it'll be a girl

lezy,
So fast you went Pasir Ris Park. We like to go there and I try to bring them to the park at least once a month. The kids love the playground!

bx,
I agree with genice, Ashlynn and you look very alike.

Tying hair,
I give up tying her hair so I just had her hair cut short, just below her ears. Looks abit boyish but easier to manage.

genice,
You're so lucky to have an easy toddler

dorothy,
Breastfeed can still conceive ;-) I was preg with DS2 while breastfeeding DD1 and nursed throughout preg. Wanted to tandem nurse but unfortunately I had early contraction and had to stop breastfeeding. The important thing is to have a breastfeeding friendly gynae. My gynae not too pro breastfeeding.

tubao,
Yes, dd1 is wearing glasses now. Slighty myopia but due to her squint eye, she needs to have perfect eyesight so needs to put on glasses 24/7 now. I don't usually turn on the TV for them, it's only when DH is home then the TV will be turned on. When DH is overseas, the TV is never on
I never like my kids to watch too much TV/play computer games for a long time. She reads alot but her posture is not correct (reads in a dark room, on a moving bus etc...), thus causing her myopia.

bkkgal
gong xi gong xi! next yr chinese new yr, is exactly cheryl's 2nd birthday and also is valentine day. so hope your #2 is any day before the 14th. haha!

mystery mom
congrats and let us know soon ba!

full day cc
cheryl started her fullday cc today. did not adapt very well. cries when im out of her sight. but when im around, she dont stick to me and instead she roams around/ observe other kids on her own. when they bathed her, she also cried badly cuz it's the 1st time she is bathed by another stranger. then till nap time, she cried until almost vomit because not familiar with environment plus it's out of her daily routine, very cranky cuz extremely tired alrdy so i ended up with no choice and brought her home. super heartache to see her cry until like that. i had nvr seen her cried this way before. just very gek sim. =(

bkkgal
i understand what you meant by thinking our own parents would be able to babysit our kids better. way before daryl's arrival, my parents did not raise the subject of helping me to babysit him, instead they told me that they cant look after cheryl anymore. was quite upset because they are the only ones i could depend on, impossible for the ILs to look after my kids. anyway, i had tried looking after 2 kids on my own for this past 1month, and i really cant cope. so my new domestic helper would be arriving prolly next week liao. hopefully things does get better by then!

Pauline,
Just to share... I had very bad morning sickness for all my preg.

#1 - 9 months, still puking in my last trimester
#2 - intensive puking for 1st trimester, went on drip
#3 - intensive puking for 6 weeks after every meals. What goes in must come out, nothing stays...

When I was expecting #3, we still go over to my ILs place for dinner. But after every meal, I need to run to the toilet and sometimes forget to wash the dishes. After a few occassions, DH told me to rem to wash my own plate and utensils as IL complaining. I don't know if it's my MIL complaining or SIL complaining.. Anyway, told DH, I had to run to the toilet and I'm feeling so lousy, what's more after puking, I'm totally exhausted, I just need to sit down and rest. I really forgot I've not washed the dishes. Anyway, we're one family so what's the problem of washing up for me?

Childcare,
I've seen a few cases, when the parents about to leave the cc, the child will cry and wail like it's the end of the world. But once the parents are gone ie out of sight, the children will usually stop crying within mins. If the parent relent ie continues to stay within the premise, the child will take advantage and the crying will be prolonged. Also, when you leave, just tell your child you have to go, say goodbye and leave, don't look back, don't fuss or be reluctant to leave. Reasoning with a 18 months won't work. The child can feel your anxiety and this will make it even more difficult for you to depart. Make a big deal that you come back but never make a big deal out of leaving. They will outgrow this stage with parents' help.

HTHs.

crystal, I also had to 'harden' my heart and let RaeAnne cry for 2 weeks before she adjusted and knows the routine. Hopefully for good. But then, I did bring her to the playgroup very often to familiarize her with the school, teachers, classmates etc. The teachers advised me not to rescue her when she cries, if not, she'll keep crying to get me to bring her home.

Full day childcare is even more traumatizing for a 18month old child, so must understand. Until now, RaeAnne refuses to let my maid change her clothes, let alone bathe her. If full day CC is your only way out then do it slowly bah. But if with your new maid, your parents don't mind helping to look after the 2 kids, then take her out of full day CC bah. Start with half day CC to give your parents a breather?

Reena, don't mind me asking, why didn't your DH wash the dish for you to avoid the ILs complaining if he knows ILs are the fussy type? He also ate there right? :p I'm quite lucky that FIL is very particular about his kitchen, he doesn't like anything to touch his things so he always ask us not to wash up. Bad thing is he doesn't like the maid to stand around the kitchen to observe his cooking either. I had to drop very obvious hints to MIL that the maid will never learn if she doesn't get to observe anyone cooking. Then MIL hinted to FIL then FIL made effort to teach her how to fry bittergourd with egg today. :p

pauline
my parents are not going to help out anymore. im on my own with the maid and my hb liao. um, if cheryl really cant adapt to cc, i prob might just let her go for half day, 1pm come home nap. see how things goes first. i tink actually im the one who is showing anxiety more than she does. zzz

crystal, I see, I guess they find toddlers tougher to look after than babies bah. But I thought you are working full time? Is your maternity leave over yet?

Reena,
Good that you can take it easy even when your DH tell you about the dishwashing complaint. I think after awhile, we all learn not to split hair over small things like this in a marriage. I think it's good if some of us have super hubbies and thus have higher expectations of them..but also try to be sensitive to others whose hubbies hardly do anything etc.

No one is perfect. NO one is obliged to be jumping around our big bellies with excitement. Tonics nowadays not difficult to prepare. If really need, go medical hall, ask them to pack tonics and all you need to do is go back, dump into slow cooker with a piece of pork or chicken. Wait 4 hours for normal taste, 8 hours for super good taste (but make sure u get the water amount right.)

Pasir Ris - ya, i kan chiong, decided to just go la instead of waiting and waiting for the 'perfect' day. My hub said not prepared la..simi simi ah...i told him give him another week he also not prepared one la.

Pauline,
That's because we don't eat at the same time, I'll usually eat first while he takes care of the kids. Come to think of it, I think it was SIL who complain as we usually have dinner around the same timing.. Anyway, after that incident, before I run to the toilet, I'll tell DH to wash up for me after he's done eating his dinner (sometimes he hasn't even started eating his dinner yet).

lezy,
After going through 3 preg, I really take it easy now. And I've learnt... instead of being dependant on others, I rather do it myself. And that makes me a stronger person
I still rem DH used to be sandwiched between us and that soured our relationship. Now, I prefer to talk to my MIL directly instead of going through DH, as conveyed message may get distorted/misinterpreted.

Why need to be prepared to go park? :p

Reena, I see, thanks for explaining. Me and hubby eat at different times when at my mum's place too cos we got to take turns to feed our gal.

Lezy, I don't know if Reena's hubby is one 'who hardly do anything' or otherwise but I do agree about no point splitting hair, that's why I thought if her hubby knows that his parents mind, he can help to wash up her dishes when he knows she is puking away in the toilet. But she has explained the situation and how it was resolved after hubby started washing up after her.

Agree that no one is perfect. Got to accept the man we married for their strengths and weaknesses. We are not perfect ourselves. But I think it's good if we can share and learn from others in the forum without being too defensive no matter whether our hubbies are considered 'super' or 'hardly do anything'. After all, both categories are subjective and it really depends on who's the one making the judgement. ;)

By the way, I did go to Hock Hwa to buy those prepacked tonics but the lady advised me that the only thing I should be taking now is ground ginseng powder and bird nest. All super expensive stuff. Probably trying to make BIG money out of me, so I made a hasty retreat.

As for those NTUC prepacked tonics, don't dare to buy cos don't know if all the herbs are suitable for preggies. :p

reena, then yr mil is purposely showing her favoritism lor. not my mil, but my mom is capable to do such things. i will never understand why our mom/mil generation like to do such things, but just accept that this is their way.

pauline, u can try taking white fungus. it's poor man's bird nest. =)

reena, ya lor. That's why i told him just go.

Pauline, i just anyhow put 2 category. Dunno everyone and their hub well enough to be able to dish out such judgments. Ha. all diff benchmark n expectations. One woman's super hubby can be another's bo chup.

You talking about hard core preg tonic or just normal double boil soup? When i was preg, i just took normal double boil soups. Nothing special i think. All herbs i take-as long as not excessive it's ok to me. I think still better than Msg in food so if i can tahan maggi mee, anything also can eat. :p but then again, i'm a bit bo chup.

so cute that everyone is guessing about the mystery mom. i wish i can be preg soon! i also wish for a twins next. some ppl will look at me as if i'm crazy, but i hv my own reasons. i most prob will be going under the knife again, + i'm not young yet i will like more kids so next preg will be my last.

pray for me or wish me luck!

reena
wah that's q insensitive leh, esp since not your fault you have to go toilet! tsk..

with 3, is it sometimes a little difficult to handle them all, e.g. getting everyone ready to go out?? you have no helper at home is it?

Hi Crystal
I think you are coping very well with your 2 kids - don't know if I can do what you are doing - saw on your blog, you even cook dinner on top of caring for 2 young ones! you're very capable for a young mom. I think it's harder to care for them when they are this young, still not indept and needs constant watch. When your maid comes, hopefully things will be better, at least another pair of eyes to watch over. Hang in there!

Poor cheryl, I can imagine how cc can be traumatising for her. I still rem my first day at cc in toa payoh - my mom just left me there with all these strange kids and bathtime was a cold hose over our heads, after lunch had to sleep on mattress, no noise, teachers fierce. *nightmares* i cried until sick the next day - mom took me out.

Reena
i oso take the same attitude - everything just take it easy. no point sweating the small stuff.

Clover
Twins are really tough; my gf couldn't have proper sleep until they reached 18 mths, cos 1 cry the other wake up, 1 hungry, the other oso hungry. Not enuff bm for both - she really went so thin. when we told ILs abt #2, FIL immediately said "twins?" - I was like "No thanks dad, very siong one leh!".

Lezy, I'm looking more for preg tonic soup. Like the type that bkkgal's MIL whips out for her every Mon-Tues. There are some tonic soups that claim to help relieve backpain, water retention etc. I do try to take double soup if I go out to eat with my hubby (but it's very seldom nowadays cos with the maid, we hardly eat out). But those soups are usually too oily or too salty. :p

Clover, I used to love the idea of twins too. But after having RaeAnne, I realise I'm not the sort who can cope with twins. I'll be too stressed out. ;P Hey, I'm not young either, but I think c section can do max 3 times?

bkkgal, you went through CC too? Ya, back in those days, where got water heater? Even my old house (1980 - 1993) didn't have water heater, we always boil hot water. But then, my ILs house is still like that cos FIL doesn't believe in water heater. :p

Very heart pain to hear our kids cry when they are so young. But RaeAnne is doing a lot of fake crying nowadays so I'm learning to ignore and distract when she does that. Didn't know that I'll be a softie until I had RaeAnne cos my first reaction is always to soothe away those cries. Before I deliver, hubby always said I'll be the bad cop and he'll be the good cop but it turns out to be the other way. :p