(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiaoyun
ya, the diff also lie in my mum having to take care of the kids so allowance increased. in addition, i also take her on holiday with us as a kind of reward.

haha ya, q interesting discussions.

i think what i might do is to tell my son he has to pay me back for uni, but when he grads i tell him it's his graduation present. if i can afford it lah. so at least he doesn't take it for granted. but maybe if i have more kids then #2 might catch on, wahaha.

studying overseas is a really good experience, so maybe best compromise is to study in local uni and then go for exchange?

actually not just for uni, for giving parents money

Hiya morning mommies,
How was your weekend? I'm pooped out before the week started already. Woke up this morning with aches and pains all over; felt like i ran a marathon! Weekends are like harder work than weekdays man. At least in the office, just sit in front of PC and type...weekend need to run around after a hyper 18 mth old!

K went for a bday party at gogo bambini yday. It's damn siong for my hb cos he got to follow her up and down the slides, tunnels, ball areas, ramps. It's all made for little pp mind you, that means adult must bend and crouch. He also had a backache.

morning ladies! i was thinking of bringing ashlynn to fidgets ytd. decided to go shopping instead. had a great long weekend with her. we went to east coast and she enjoyed playing with the sand so much. she din enjoy the cycling though... this weekend i feel that she changed... heee... to a more lovable gal
hopefully it's for good.

What an intterestng discussion. It came at a right time as me and hubby were discussing family finances. We give 20% and sometimes I do think its a lot. But we love them and we think of the sacrifices our moms make for our kid, so for now, we will still give the same amount but will prob change when our siblings start working.

Bx
I felt that K became more garang after gogobambini play. Seems more chor lor to me now whereas last time, she was more scared to fall down. Also, more tantrums for no reasons - prob start of terrible twos. sigh.

morning morning...

re : long weekend,
our jbp trip didn't go well coz C threw up a big tantrum on the way while we were having lunch. End up we went back coz scared won't enjoy. so will reschedule to next sat
but felt good yesterday coz i manage to cut his hair.. haha.. save $$ as i was about to go to junior league when i decide to give it a try.. :p i feel it's getting more tiring to look after C, coz he always run around... in supermarkets he will want to walk around and we have to walk with him coz we scared he will break sth like bottles and stuff.. :S so it's easier just to bring him out in the open where he can't break anything.. haha! but it is tiring to go grocery shopping with him :p

bx/bkk/tubao,
shall we schedule the playdate early next month? a bit difficult for me this month as my MIL is in town so sundays we will need to go to church in the afternoon with her. so am proposing that we go 6 sep. how how? is it too far ahead? :p

bx,
i saw ashlynn's pics in fb... she's so kawaii... with the sexy flowery top and the hair all tied up
heehehe...

re:education,
i'm ok actually with local uni.. maybe bcoz i'm not sporean? and i'm really puzzled with all the obsession with making your kid into a scholar? my colleagues just keep talking about this... i think it really depends what scholarship you get coz not all scholars will get priviliges... as for being independent, can do this by giving them a chance to live by themselves in hostels... am i being too simpleminded? maybe i am, but i really don't want to be an over ambitious parent who forces their kids to study and end up stressing the kid...on the other hand though, i know how important it is to give a child a good education... sigh, what a confusion! i think the bigger the kid is, a different stress level would come that goes beyond mealtime, milktime, naptime and playtime.. :p

I Have A pair of KEANE Perfect Symmetry tour Concert Tickets!!!!

DATE : Thurs, AUG 13 2009
Time : 2000H
Venue: Fort Canning Park

Retail Price for 1 ticket :$95 / --$103.65 (Inc GST)

SELLING at $150 for both tickets. Price Neg. Interested pls sms 98414683 or e-mail [email protected]

re: education
being a teacher, I have seen so many students with learning disabilities even with very educated and affluent parents (which surprised me). so I tell myself, no need for her to be scholar. juz normal can already. if can do well in studies, it's a bonus.

tute,
normally 1 of us do the grocery shopping while the other 1 chase after her. we have grown use to her running ard. if she gets out of hand, we will bring her out of the supermarket and let her run "free".

re: playdate
6 sep may not be able to make it as i am planning to bring her to night safari. 30 aug ur mil still ard?

bkk,
no lah, i dun think so fast rch terrible twos la... maybe it's just one of her "naughty" days.

Hi, tute
6 Sep is fine with me.

Hi, Sweetpea,
Feel I know your words. Hehe....My hb and I reduced money contribution when my older SIL started to contribue $ mid last year, and my younger SIL started to work early this year.

Hi, Xiao yun
Saw sewing machines exhibition at B1 central void area of causeay point. What's your budget for it?

--long weekend,
Hehe...I stayed at home, and cooked every meal which hb were very satisfied. Hb brought E to Sembawang park & libary alone.

Now bringing my gal to playground is relaxing. We let her climb up/slide down/run around herself, with our eye power. ^_^

--local university vs overseas uni
Hehe...if kids go to local uni, they can stay at hostel. At school holiday, they can go backpacking and do hourly paid job at other countries.

---throw tandrums.
My gal likes to throw tandrums now too. I borrowed "wimpy parents, From Toddler to Teen-How Not to Raise a Brat "from libary; hopefully the book can give me more ideas.

Tantrums:

Seems like all our little darlings are growing up..and a growing temper too. I think my boy has a quick and bad temper and we always wonder where he got the temper from...and I always wonder if he's got an exceptional temper. He likes to throw things, rock his highchair, bang his head on the floor or highchair table when he is angry..dunno how to stop him from hurting himself and others.

Last Sunday we brought him for lunch and he threw his bowl at a glass cup, fortunately didn't fall or break. Then yesterday he broke a ceramic spoon...headache!

talking about education, anyone saw the article on northlight?

before A came along, I had been volunteering at CDAC for 5 years, and had seen some students enter this school. I must say the results are very impressive and the children gain so much more self esteem and confidence. in a traditional school environment they are labelled as the "laggards" but in northlight, they are nurtured and encouraged to develop their skills in other areas.

I am very glad that Singapore has taken a step in this direction to help the segment that may not be respond well to traditional school education.

tute,
you are right - the education stress will be much worse than eating / pooing / napping concerns.

Tubao..safe to let Emma go down the slide herself? I haven't tried to put my boy on the slide by himself..scared he fall off! Or am I being too cautious?

Gar, I didn't see the article..where is it? But I do know a teacher at Northlight and she finds it very fulfilling teaching in this school.

sweetpea,
the article was in sunday's straits times. the report stated there are teachers who waitlist to join this school! =)

re slide, we let her go down on her tummy. safer i think

Tute

6 Sep is ok with me. I'm away in the last 2 weeks of August.

re: scholarship
maybe cos those of us in govt jobs see how scholars can fast track over those who are not? sometimes it's not just the cost of education lor..it's the prestige or the life opportunities that come with scholarships (provided ur child does not turn out to be a bond breaker lah). Scholars can become Perm Secs and earn lots of $$. muahahahaha.

sweetpea
wow, i'll be scared he hurt himself too. maybe over time he will learn to control his physical actions and emotions. i read that children undergoing terrible twos can't express their feelings, so they use extreme actions to get attention.

Bx
hope so, hope so. it all started with making her wear socks in the morning. she had been wearing those open sandals for many months liao and now hates to wear socks, so she tantrum in the car until i "bribe" her with my iphone game. and then during bathtime, i took away the container of blueberries from her and she screamed at me. told her shower how to bring food into the toilet?? aiyoh.

bkk,
haha... kate so cute... sounds like a little chilli padi you have there... actually ashlynn also has quite a temper, but i have grown use to it already. when i scold her, she will slap me or beat me. very fierce.

bkk,
sounds familiar.

A also has been having meltdowns...especially when she sees her favourite star biscuits and we don't give it to her. she will stand and stamp her feet repeatedly on the spot, wailing and screaming "star...star..."

last night, she had one of her episodes just before dinner. i felt so helpless cos nothing we said or did would make her calm down.

Tute: agree, I cant shop for groceries in peace when my ds is around. He will go touch , remove and relocate the things. And when I want to catch and carry him he will struggle and run even faster. Now I can only do groceries when I sneak out from home or do it alone while hubby brings him somewhere else to entertain him.

bx
shawn will also do the same pose as ashlynn when he sees the camera (not everytime, depends on his mood). wonder where they learnt it from :p

re: scholarship
never thought of my kids having scholarship (since me and hubby are not scholars so don't expect our kids to be one). what bkkgal said is true. scholars in public sector are high flyers and rise up the corporate ladder faster than their peers who are non-scholar. if can earn lots of $, of cos good loh. if not, if we are happy with what we can earn, not too bad either i think.

Hi, Sweetpea

When E walks well, we let her slide 1meter high slide first.She can press her leg into side of slide, and slide slowly at the beginning(Guess that E is cautious by nature). Then she upgrades herself to speed sliding at 2meter slide & 2meter spiral slide.

Now E can slide water slide at Zoo water play. But since we don't go there often, now we still put our hands one palm away from E's back for 1st time on that day, to make sure that E has sense for that slippery slide.

For very very high slide at park, sometimes hubby in front, E center, I am at back; we slide down together.

Re: Northlight
Its really a nice place to work at according to my 3 ex colleagues who are still working there. Most teachers want to be seconded there. More real teaching taking place than normal schools.

Re: scholarships
Like what bkkgal an stephie said, it would definitely be good for themselves if they can get scholarships cause the advancement is certainly different but of course saying that it doesnt mean that we are gonna force them to be scholars if they cant do it. Some things cant be forced.. and if my kids eventually have the ability to get one , i will encourage them to go for it than to give up the chance. But most important learning should be a fun process for them so as to sustain their interest. I think ultimately as long as they dun go on the wrong path when they grow up i will be very happy liao.Doing very well in their studies will be a bonus for us, parents

Re:slides
tubao.. emma is a brave ger.. dares to try a lot of things by herself.

bkkgal.. i can understand how u feel.. caus gwen hasnt wore socks for a long time too.. and she keep wanting to take off the socks after i made her wear it yesterday!

stephie,
ashlynn learnt the action from me. she likes to copy our actions.

tubao,
agree. E very brave. and i think she is very smart too! can speak so well now. and toilet-trained also right?

g'morning !

bkkgal,
hee... mine is totally opposite from you, C gets angry when we take off his socks... I dunno why he just loves wearing socks, probably it's a sign that we are going out. He also loves to chase around his daddy's socks coz his daddy wears the toe socks type so he always like to play with it.. (can be quite gross if he does it after we came from a long day at work) :p

sweetpea,
one time i met up with a 15 mth old boy in the playground who can slide by himself (the high type) and climb stairs on his own with hanging on to the two railings beside him.. i was so impressed ! with C we still have to hold him when he comes down the slide, and he is also a bit scared coz he will auto brake with his right foot... though that makes it even scarier coz he can topple down if he does it too fast, so i always stand guard at the bottom and my husband holds him from the top and hold his hand..

re:meltdowns
i'm also thinking if they have come near into their terrible 2s? i'm trying to stay positive and always try to put myself in their shoes and understand them. anyway, i try to be firm to C at times and just leave him to cry a bit...

re: hitting & slapping,
C does it too.. haiz dunno how to stop him, he does it when he's overly excited and when he's angry... sometimes he will bite too.. my MIL keep on saying have to be hard on him and keep reminding him.. so i try to do that... only difference is that my MIL tend to raise her voice a bit to C and i don't... i really don't like raising my voice to C (and dun like MIL to do it too, but dunno what to tell her..) :S

tute
i'm guilty of raising my voice to shawn when he misbehaves. shawn likes to pinch people. sometimes pinch me for nothing. think he got influenced by his sister (cos jie jie always bully him by hitting him, pinch him, etc). most of the time when he sees kids, he'll either push or hit them. make me so scared of letting him get close to kids. hubby said he's in defence mode after being bullied by his sister. i thought so too.

re: hitting&slapping
K will exclaim "ow!!" and slap her hands together in frustration or use her hand to clamp over your arm if she's overly excited, upset, angry. We always laugh when she does it cos it's kinda cute but it's wrong lah, so now we laugh secretly. She used to hit my maid when she doesn't get what she wants. So I gave authority to my maid to stop her and discipline her sternly. Now she has stopped.

re: active kids
wow, Emma is really good, can climb up and down herself. But maybe becos Tubao is more relaxed and allows her more leeway. sometimes i wonder if we are too protective of K esp in the playground. We follow her everywhere, make sure she doesn't fall. My hb is esp heartpain if he sees K fall down.

Toilet training
mommies who succeeded, any tips? I let K wear the bumwear training pants at home but she still cannot say when she wants to sheeshee. I just found out from a fren she toilet trained her son in 2 weeks. Everytime wet, will change or sometimes accidents happen, he will wet the floor. But i don't have luxury of following her around everywhere leh. wonder if there's another way to do it.

bx,

tell him to shee shee in potty, let him be diaperless, if possible without pants too. i will expect him to pee all over the floor , so i'm getting ready to wipe the floor all day. but after he pee i will bring the potty to him and tell him to pee there. By doing this repeatedly i'm not sure whether the idea will be reinforced and implanted into his head??? anyway i'm ready to do this for the next few weeks.

yahor. but the nanny has been trying to train with napkins on, so he still cant leh. only weekend I can train wor. myabe not consistent n will make the kid confused hor?

bkk,
it's good that UJ is protective of K. i hv the opposite problem, EL gives A a free rein and believes in the "learn through falling" method. i try to support him lah, but secretly heartpain when she falls and will scold him "see lah...fall down liao"

at playgrounds, i always find it amusing that the caucasian parents are so laid back and it's the asian parents that follow their kids' every move. very different parenting styles

re:toilet training,
I now take off his diapers immediately in the morning after he wakes up and bring him to the the shower area and ask him to pee pee... yesterday was successful because he did't pee at all at night so i think he needed to go. Today not successful but he did pee in the shower. Will try this for the next 2 weeks. I'm not ready to take off his diaper during the day yet coz he always climb all over the place, scared the pee will not only end up on the floor, instead it will end up on the couch, desk, chair etc... will be quite messy...

re: playdate,
bx i can't make it for 30 august coz we are planning to celebrate teacher's day at C's sunday school. Can only make it 6/13 sep... bkk/tubao, are you ok if we move it to 13 sep ? hehe... that's like 1 month planning in advance :p btw, C is the only boy? haha..

My boy sometimes bite me for nothing..think his gums are itchy. But when he gets angry sometimes he also hits my face and my mom also kenna before. I hope he will grow out of this stage. Other than his temper, he's a sweet and funny little boy. I read that at this age, you can kinda see thier character coming out.

A used to bite us and we would try to move ourselves out of her way when we see her jaws coming our way....we tell her that it's painful and hubby will gently pinch her arm to let her know what pain pain means. we also pretend to cry when she bites us and tell her we are very sad (show sad face).

not sure if our actions helped, but she stopped trying to bite pple after a few months

how's everyone? really busy at work and hardly come here recently.
sad to know from my boss that a colleague will be trf out from our dpt 'cos boss thinks that the colleague is not competent in her work regardless of training and coaching given to her these few years. kind of demoralised when i heard that. it's a reality of worklife, isn't it? *sad*

re: toilet training
my boy can indicate to us that he wants to pee since about few weeks ago. waiting for him to tell us that he wants to poo. save us lots of time to change nappy for him. so, now at home, he doesn't need to nappy/diaper except nap/sleep time... when we go out for a short while, we also let him go diaperless. :D

Tute
i'm easy - 13 Sep oso can. hmm...think C is the only boy, unless Dor is bring Vaise along!

Dor
playdate is at jacob ballas children's garden, botanics.

Gar
yeah, totally different styles - i saw this caucasian mommy with 15 mth old boy - she just let him run everywhere, jump on trampoline by himself, climb up stairs, come down slides. She's preggy with 4th kid and he's her 3rd.

Re: toilet training

Impressed with those mummies that can toilet train.. i think i am too lazy and have no patience to do that. Sunny and tubao.. u all are doing very well! Jia you.

Tute .. cayleb can dun pee the whole night? wow... not bad.. means he can control already?

Tongtong.. jia you and share with us how it goes..

Re:2nd baby

Any good news??

Hi, tute
13Sep is fine with me. I couldn't make it on 20 Sep.

Hi, Genice/Bx
Thanks..No lah, E is not brave , I feel that she is very timid. She normally watch for hours, before making 1st attempt. But I let her be; let her watch, let her decide whether she wants to try. From my obeservation, She looks very cautious, making very carefully calculated risks.

But I feel Dorothy's Gervaise, Vine_gal's Julian are brave boys, can try just anything whenever seeing it.

Hehe...I also feel Ashylnn is braver than E. She just tried crawling long tube at JWT birthday celebration, and crawled around at Jeannie's house. E always cling to me for quite some time, observe, before trying ONE activity.

For talking, I feel much amused by E's talking. Hehe....now I joked with my hubby "Haiz...always like listening funny words.... cheated by your tcss, so married you".

E still wear diaper at sleeptime. Sometimes accident still happen. Yah...kinda of another stress, needs to bring her to toilet almost every hour at outside; hehe...reluctant to feed her much water at outside.

Last time we only let E sit on potty before/after nap&shower. After she can pronounce "poo Poo",(it takes much longer for E to pronounce "shehh shehh"), It's much easier, and we start to let her diaper free.... Then she refuses to wear diaper when she's awake.

--pinch .
E's finger development is very very slow. All ILs noticed it; commented that maybe E shall play violin than piano. Kinda of pity....all ILs & hubby are very good at handcraft/drawing.

toilet training
wow so impressed! recently E pees a lot, even if wear diapers can leak onto the bed too, so i think night time training cannot lah. maybe day time training can start, but i am so lazy to do anything, plus recently been super busy at work, so sian...

supermarkets
E used to always take things off the shelf too, but he likes to walk around, so if he misbehaves, i'll pick him up and not let him walk on his own. after a while he realised that he should behave, so now he only touch and won't (or v seldom) will pick things up. but of course always needs reminders lah

cautious parents
i think i'm more like the ang mohs, i will keep an eye but i usu give E some distance, but not completely bo chup too. worry too much also no good lah

not sure if it's related, but i noticed that E is more daring than his cousin who is 1 yr older, cos ILs every day will tell him not to do something otherwise he will knock his head/fall down/etc.

some of the instances i've witnessed they are actually q unnecessarily concerned (like stand in front of the coffee table will fall onto the table?!), and i think that is partly why he's q a handful now at 2.5 yrs old, cos he wants to do his own thing but always kana negativity and "rules". imagine one whole day always getting told don't do this, don't do that..

i'm so glad that to have had book recommendations like positive discipline!

jeannie,
not really.. he only woke up with clean diaper twice so far in the past 2 weeks, not sure if it's a sign that he's ready or is it a coincidence. but i've been taking out his diaper in the morning for a while now. that's when he finally learn what pee pee means coz he feels it when accidents happen... it almost happen everyday so it gets a bit tiring... anyway my MIL ask us to tell him to pee right after we take off his diaper so this is a new method i'm trying

sunny,
your boy very smart can ask already... was this before the training or he just does it naturally? i read that usually boys are later than girls in terms of toilet training, dunno how true this is...

jeannie,
u got good news to share huh?

re:playdate..
ladies, 13th sept is a sun.. will the place be a bit crowded?is it late afternoon?

re:toilet training
wa!!! i forgotten how to train already...

re: potty training
got to thank my mil who help us to toilet train my boy. i didn't put much effort on it, just follow her method during the weekend so the way to train him is consistent.