(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

vaccinations
on top of the compulsory jabs, my DS took the rotarix n pneumoccocal (sp) already. I dun see the need to let him take chicken pox jab.

the reason I asked if anyone stays ard me is to see whether can hv play dates...
i'm a sahm.

tongtong, I just went to bottletree park this evening. quite a nice place. it has the kampong feel...

hi bkkgal,
oic! tks for sharing!
i use that hotline too

btw, just to share that ntuc sometimes have offer and it's 2 for $28+ nowadays... save a bit but you have to lug them back home...
last time they used to have 3 for $39.95 which will be more worth it tho

hi clover

i stay at sengkang - near yio chu kang road.
bottletree park is it at yishun?
im ftwm but i wld also like my son to play with kids his age...perhaps can arrange but weekends...hehe

Clover: oh! I haven’t brought my son to bottle tree park hehe. I just stay opposite leh!! Ok tomorrow I will go la! Keke. Yea, can have playdates! Let me know if you wanna meet up then, but can only do during weekends la, I’m not so lucky as still need to work.

morning mummies

re : jabs

I intend 2 let Cayenne take chicken pox jab cos she will be going 2 CC. PD advises 2 give chicken pox & prevenar jabs.

as 4 MMR, I brought Cayenne yesterday for the jab. Asked PD abt the relationship betw MMR & autism. He told me if it is unsafe, government wont intro this jab 2 our kids.

Me and hb tink tat as long as jabs r recommended by docs, shd be safe ba... plus we wouldnt want Cayenne to suffer during exams or any important events (chicken pox) as per some mummies alreadi highlighted.

Bottle Tree Park - Have been wanting to go there for a long time. I work in Yishun and when I used to take the train I will pass by. Wanted even to hold my boy's bday party there. I've been to Bottle Tree village at Sembawang before, I like the place although the food is quite exp.

Clover

Playdates sound fun.But at their age, they know how to play with another? Maybe more for mummies to get together for tea sessions..hee hee..either way, it's sound cool.. I'm at serangoon garden.. Or maybe we can do grocery shopping together

grace
you'll be surprised. my 26 month old nephew and my son are v v cute when they're playing together (and of course when my nephew is not bullying my son). they often copy each other's actions and sometimes will even play peekaboo!

hihi mommies
i had delivered my #2 on 12 May at 1021hrs. he weighs 3.105kg. admitted to hosp at 7.45am and bb popped out at 1021hrs. just discharged yest.

Hi Sweetpea, isit?? where do u stay...my block of flats is exactly behind Yio chu kang rd..fernvale..

Play Date
it will cute to see how the kids will interact with each other...when my nephew ( hes 2 mths younger) plays with my son..he always kisses my son..heheh

Congrats Crystal!!

good afternoon mummies,

=======================
congrates to crystal.
=======================

update from my side: C, me, and hb all kena flu virus.
C has recovered. I am on the way of recovery, and hb still fever till blur blur...

=======================
re: breadmachine

wonder if the one get from US can be used here (in terms of the voltage)?
the review of this not bad, can bake 1 lb bread too.
http://www.amazon.com/Breadman-TR875-2-Pound-Breadmaker-Stainless/dp/B000FZZ0VE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1242372226&sr=1-1

tried to us my mixer (dough hook) + hand kneading + oven to make the milk bread, the taste is there but the texture is not right.
too moist and i can't knead it well

Congrats Crystal!! So fast your labour!
Have a good confinement

Xiaoyun
Kneading bread is hard work man! Need a lot a lot of strength wan. The 2pound breadmaker looks sleek. The bread will be big, but ok if you have pp in the house to help you finish, then no need to keep

crystal, congrats!! is his name daryl?

bottletree park
i went yesterday around 5pm. the weather was quite nice and my boy enjoyed himself a lot. he's end march bb and still can't walk yet but he kept wanting to walk. lol. no mozzies. it's nearer to khatib mrt station. the car park entrance is from the AVA side... i'm also interested to visit a little farm on the premise. maybe next time will spend more time there.

play date
will be nice
to meet up with u ladies. my kid tend to find the toy that another bb is holding is more interesting, so he's at the snatching stage. -_- maybe 2,3 mths down the road, then they can play with each other?

grace, r u a sahm too?

I went for my gynae visit in the afternoon. Baby is now 3.57cm long. He or she was sleeping when the gynae started scanning but when i commented to gynae 'eh, baby sleeping ah?' then bb woke up n started waving hands n legs. So cute. Gynae commented that my water bag got a lot of space for bb to move. She tried to put the doppler for me but can't hear the heartbeat yet. She said maybe 16 weeks can hear better. Felt quite guilty that not as excited as the first time i saw my no. 1 moving though. :p

bkkgal,
the machine bakes 1, 1.5 and 2 lb bread.
probably it will waste a bit of energy to bake just a 1 lb bread.
don't know if anyone in my house will support the home made bread or not.
C is my only supporter for the bread that i made last time.

sweetpea,
i've the transformer at home for my PIS. hopefully it works for the breadmachine too.

still considering if i should get it from there. after shipping, will be about $200+

My baby have been running fevers on and off for the past few days. no fever today but rashes developed around the legs and arms. Thought I have read someone written something before on the condition of fever followed by rashes. can't find the thread now. Can anyone helped to explain what this means?

crystal
congrats. think i'm d first to c yr bb Boy. saw u being pushed out of delivery ward when andrae was admitted to hospital last week due to bronchitis

jab
sm ppl delay mmr for fear it might cause autism. however no scientific proof yet. u can delay mmr till before they attend sch I think. For me I skip pneumococal,rotavirus n chicken pox. may consider chix pox cos my #1 is attending sch. she is oso nt vaccinated. in case anything happen at least I know he's vaccinated. wanted to vaccinate my ger but she already knw the pain during jab thus refuse to go for any jab anymore. thus if u wan vaccinate d child, do it b4 they understand tat injection = pain = fear. hahaha

playdate
yes at this time they knw hw to play n interact. I go on playdates wif my gf whose bb is oso feb bb every wed and/or sat. anyone interested can let me knw.we usu go outdoors if weather is gd.. jus creating chances for the kids to interact.

outing
anyone keen to join me @ night safari next week or week after? now promotions $15 per entry. however i'll b gg on weekday night.

mommies
i'm distressed. help! i shared before K's poo situation - once every 2 days, hard and painful, bleeding, crying. I give prunes, fruits, water, prune juice. PD recommended lactulose which I've been giving almost 2 weeks, every day 5 ml (adult dosage is 10 ml). But lactulose cannot be long term solution...

today was 3rd day no poo, so we use suppository on her. She cried so bad that i also cried along with her. She strained so hard that 2 pieces of flesh came out (very sorry if this sounds gross but i think this is what piles look like). I think she gonna kena piles at this rate.

What should I do?? I'm thinking of changing formula. Pls recommend which ones do not cause constipation and easily acceptable to children. She's on Gain IQ. K is fussy about milk, I tried many times before to change (tried Nan, Mamil, Bellamy) but she rejected.

Pls share with me your thoughts on FM. What about fresh milk? Do you think it will help?

bkkgal, poor Kate. Piles very uncomfortable. :p Can you give her more liquid diet during this time? I know Kate doesn't like porridge, how about other soupy stuff like bee hoon or bee tak ma etc? RaeAnne was on Gain IQ (strangely for her, it was diarrhoea instead of constipation) but it didn't suit her so we switch back to Friso 3. It's Vanilla flavour and smells quite nice. Maybe you can try? Usually, RaeAnne poos twice a day. One hard stool (after porridge feed), one soft stool (after FM feed).

bkkgal

i heard many people comment that friso is gd. maybe u shld try that. if fm dont wrk try goat milk, suppose to be better than cow milk.

ask yourself wat r the food u feed her that causes conspitation n try to avoid that, maybe give her more water

bkkgal
yes I think fresh milk is better than formula milk on constipation. have u tried giving probiotics? it helps.. probiotics balances d gd n bad bacteria in the intestines as well. u may gt promo from gnc - multidophilis powder or vitakids- lifeflora powder. these r the two i've been using.

poor kate. understand hw it's like cos my dd once like tat too...take care

hmmm ruth is on both mamil and friso. so far so good.

i hear from a friend that FM can cause bad constipation for certain babies and need to find the 'correct' one.

i agree friso quite fragrant

Hi, bkkgal
Feel sorry for kate suffering....

If milk is most possible culprit, maybe you can work on more solutions on providing milk....

E is on Nan 3. Last time when we tried to reduce her milk intake & increase her porridge intake; we made diluted 120ml milk(with 3 spoons milk power, 30ml/spoon) instead of her normal 210ml milk. At beginning she screamed for more after finishing it; we then just refilled with some water and passed back to her. By doing this a few times, E's milk intake dropped.

Don't know how fussy kate about milk brand....sometimes when E is naughty/fussy at eating, I remove her food. Even E ask for more shortly afterwards; I ignore her.

And my colleague's daughter had constipation since she went to childcare. Now they get up early, spend some time on potty every morning.

Hi, ABC's mummy
Interested on playdate on Sat.....where you normally go? Last Sat we go swimming at Yishun Safari.
Are you still teaching? We can't make it on weekdays.

Hi, thank you for all your ideas. I will try everything possible.

Milk
I tried giving some fresh milk before but she's not so keen. Maybe I try again.

Friso sounds good. I'll go try that too.

ABC
The lifeflora powder - how do you feed? Is it mix into food or feed direct?

tubao
Do you mean to dilute the milk and make her more hungry to eat solids? Or dilute milk to give her more water?

Every morning, I encourage potty time but she never give me chance wan leh...2 seconds she will struggle to get up liao. sigh....

bkkgal, RaeAnne's PD prescribed a bottle of probiotics called Reutefene when she was having diarrhoea. The clinic assistant told me it's live culture so quite exp for a small bottle, think they charged me $20 at least. 5 drops a day mixed with some cool boiled water into a medicine spoon for her. You may want to ask about that too. But I'm not very sure if it'll help Kate since hers is constipation not diarrhoea. Maybe can also check and see if there is anything else 'heaty' in her diet eg. biscuits, chocolates etc that may cause constipation. Desperate times calls for desperate measures. I'll probably try anything too. That last time RaeAnne didn't poo for 6 days was when she was 1 month plus old and we switched FM from Nan to enfalac. Had to put suppository at the clinic too and she pooped 2 diapers worth of shit after that. After that, I switched to TBF until she reached 6 months old. Too heart pain to see her cry when the nurse put in the suppository. :p

hi pauline
yeah, i can't watch when my hb inserts the supp too. i'm chicken
Now when I clean her bum, can see the pile sticking out, i have to push in for her. feel so so so bad
wanna cry when i think about her suffering in pain.

She gets biscuits for teatime often. Maybe I shud cut that out.

I bought a packet of barley just now from NTUC - gonna boil barley water for her tomorrow. Hopefully can relieve heatiness.

Also read about black sesame milk drink to clear intestines. Gonna try that too. You're right - desperate times call for desperate measures.

bkkgal
i add into cereal or milk but as they r live bacteria the temp of the food u add into cannot be too warm. Max is 35 deg.

Probiotics
there are many types of probiotics in the market. The one i intro to bkkgal has 3 billion cells and hence per feed only once a day 1/4 teaspoon. Also they have different strand of live bacteria which works for different function. There is never such thing called overdose of probiotics. If feed too much the body will jus pas it out. One thing gd abt probiotics is tat it balances the flora in our body and help in ecezma too. when giving medication or when bb has diahorrea u may increase the dosage of the probiotics.

This is the one:
http://www.vitacost.com/Source-Naturals-Life-Flora-Powder
Usu i dun recommend buying probiotics from online as liek i mention they r live bacteria and survive only at room temp. When buy from overseas, i do not know how the gona pack during the shipping and is afraid the live bacteria might be dead by the time it reaches to me.

Hope it helps

bkk
aiyo i feel so heart pain for you! have you tried flax seeds too? whatever it is, i think it's best that you speak to your PD before trying anything?

congrats crystal.

bkk - alamak, hope bb kate is alright. try dragonfruit, i always eat it when i constipate, does quite well. heart pain for you.

abc - andrae is recovering i hope?

bless all our little ones!!!!
playdates - let's meet, any1 keen to meet up for water play dates (pref sun)? hahaha

BKKgal..so sorry for your gal. My boy is on Friso, so far so good the past 15 months. Some milk powders have probiotics inside. Friso is one of the brands.