(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

actually i have a theory, looking at what A likes there is a pretty strong correlation with my diet when i was expecting her.

for eg, i ate a lot of teochew muay / rice with dishes from those rice stalls. and she really likes to eat rice with dishes. as in, must be plain white rice, with dishes fed to her separately.

i love egg and i eat eggs all the time, and that happens to be one of her favourites too!

ate lots of fish slice soup and she loves steamed fish.

and she doesn't quite take to western food, and my diet seldom consists of that.

so perhaps mummies whose babies appear to be picky can try to recall your preggie diet and start trying to cook foods that are similar to what you ate then.

Gar,
you may have a point. i notice RUth likes to eat chwee kway (we feed her without the chye-por of course) when we have it. i think she can take 1-2 pieces on her own.

lezy,
yummy! you ate a lot of chwee kway when preggie? you have a favourite stall?

in my 3rd tri, i had super craving for chwee kway...everytime i'm at a hawker center will look for it =P but haven't tried to feed A yet

haha. no la. not really favourite stall. sometimes those that claim to be good really aren't that good. i'll eat from my place nearby markets, plus sometimes at tiong bahru. i'm lucky to have all the nice food centres around me

i often think, how hard it'll be for me to migrate. All my comfort foods will no longer be available! (Think fishball noodles or century egg porridge when u feel cold and sick, chwee kway for greedy times, youtiao with kopitiam kopi, tau hway for a snack...sigh....)

tubao,
agreed.. we need lots of patience.. unfortunately, i'm lack of it. whenever her feeding cross 45mins, you'll see my face getting darker..hahaha..

bx,
erh.. what's SAHM?

garfield,
i ate everything and anything when i was preggie, but bb doesnt seem to like eating very much, unless it's yogurt or cereal, or something cold.

grace,
wah, u are very patient. I never feed longer than 45 min. I will give up way before liao.

qingling, oh, recipe exchange is interesting! i think to involve kid in food preparation- i can only think of making bread - so that they can make the dough( i think it's rather for them to play with:p)

ok this morning on my way to work, i read some baby recipes, just to share:

green peas - good as a finger food! can make them occupied while we do our things
plain yoghurt+green peas puree+basil - yummy snack

bx: yea like what tute say, hard veggies can last longer. as for leafy veg, i will wrap them in towel and put in plastic bag, it can last for a week. but of course when it comes to saturday, it will no longer be very fresh, so i will use them to cook veggie stock for shaun. sine you said the excess you pass to your mil, where got waste?

lezy: i fed shaun pizza before too when we eat out. no suitable meal for him ( he already finished his porridge), and he "buey song" when see us eating, so i got to share with him ours. there ws once i ordered a bread basket, just for him. cuz i dont want to give him so much flavourish food now.

garfield: maybe you are right! baby is already eating what we eat when we are pregnant. so they get used to it already. Since I eat everything ( i mean veggie la) during my pregnancy, S is not picky and eats everything now.

grace, i wish to be Sahm too , but cannot lei..

how's everyone? long time didn't come to this thread to chat already.

grace
wah, 45 min!!! you are really a patient lady. i will give up if the meal time is more than 30 min. haha... how come it take 45 min for your bb to finish 1 meal?

tongtong
me too! i eat all kinds of vegetarian food during pregnancy, 2 kids are not picky on food. In fact, they are really tam jia. And, i think bf contributes part of the easy 'feeders' I have, too. 'cos the milk got the taste of the food which i take. that's why when we started introducing oat milk to my boy, he happily accepted without any fuss.

stephie
wow... seems that you have a really good trip! envy!

sunny, great! ur boy can join S as the tam jia group liao keke.btw, i never pump for 3 days liao! tonight i go back (if got time) see got output or not :p yea i give him oat milk (2 times) and bm ( night). maybe bm will finish another week or 2, then will be 3 times oatmilk liao.

hi morning ladies

qingling
hmm....ur idea on exchanging recipes is great!
im running out of ideas on wat to give my son for snacks. Sick and tired of giving him biscuits aldy.

tongtong
grean peas as snacks....tats interesting...will try it out! Just have to be careful tat i don burn the peas...hahaha
especially now that his fine motor skills are getting better.

feeding time
i don have time frame but if he acts up more than once...like throw food or spoon...i will stop feeding him. must set limits for him. think he suka2 think there will be food everttime for him. Now whenever he sees food...he will go..mum mum mum....its a habit tats starting to develop...haaaiiii

sunny, i gave oatmilk since last 2 months, yea I previously gave him i think 3 cans of bellamy liao, but after that I tot since already pass 1 year old and oatmilk is suitable for >1 liao, so i graduated him from formula lor! which brand you give?
i gave him a few brands liao. hehe

u wanna try #3? me wil try #2 year end ba

tongtong
i gv biogreen. wah few brands? what are the brands available for oat milk?

#3? haha... i don't think so though feel like having more kids. have hard time to cope now. if got #3, it must be god's will. keke..

sunny, so you never give FM? oatmilk and bm only?

purple, just boil or steam the greenpeas will do! it wont get burned hehe. u can try rice puff too, mini tiny biits, can train fine motor skill hehe. ur son like mine when sees food will mum mum mum

sunny, yea biogreen too. oh, sorry , not many brands i mean, i gave biogreen, and 2 other brands before. under biogreen also have a few choices, which one you chose?

sunny, that's good tat ur son never on cow's milk. hehe. will u give him dairy products? or totally vegan? i gave cheese and yoghurt though.

purple, oatmilk is plantbased milk , made from oats.

hmm..sorry abit ignorant....wats the diff between plantbased milk and normal milk out there?
in terms of taste....price...and nutrients...

im concerned abt my sons bowel movements...will plantbased milk help??

Purplecurlz
You can give diluted prune juice to help him.

Lezy
not getting anymore??? nvm, u can try to bake with conventional oven. i tried a foccacia bread recipe that's pretty good for conventional oven before.

Stephie
welcome back! Which part of europe did you go to? Was it baby friendly? so nice you have mom and fren to help you, otherwise will be super tiring for you and hb.

bkkgal
i gave him prune juice..and he will be able to go..he does it by the fish tank at home..hahaha
but on days that i don give..he like susah to go...and i don want to give him prune everyday.
but i do give other fruits throughout the day.
and yogourt as well.
ive read tat too much yogourt, babies can be constipated as well. But i tried to detox him of that and other foods ( rice, apples, potatoes) he doesnt go as well.

Im thinking its the milk..im using Gain IQ...previously was Similac. But horrrr.....now his milk intake is not much also..so i dunno wats wrong. Is bowel movements heridatary?hehehe

purple, your son constipate? give him more fruits! that really helps. especially plum, prunes, nectarines. or black sesame powder. oh yea, giving oatmilk wont constipate too, cuz it has got fibre. i think giving juice alone might not be enuff to help, cuz lack of fibre. let him eat the whole fruit instead. give him veggies as fruits, that's enuff for detox. yoghurt is good for detox meh? never heard of though. potato is starchy food, it's not for helping in bowel movement

shall we do a discussion on mmr jab. heard a lot of ppl saying the side effect include autism. i wonder is it true? mummies pls contribute your view

purple
i give prune every day. PD said can give up to 6 prunes a day but i give only max 3 lah cos she oso eat until sianz.

in fact, my girl is so hardcore that PD recommended lactulose which we have been giving 5 ml in her morning milk every day. So far, she is gg once every 2 days.

dun think it's hereditary or diet cos i give her fruits after every meal + prunes + prune juice + lots of water but still like that. I think it's encouraging them to go as matter of routine e.g. after eating breakfast in the morning, when hot food hits the stomach, you will get a reflex.

maybe it's the milk...dunno...but it's hard to switch brands (at least for my dd, she's resistant to change).

tongtong
i gv the 5 grain one. hee... very ks, 'cos 5 grain got more nutrients, i think. ya, i got gv him dairy pdts, but not very often. cheese and yoghurt are fine with him.
^5, my kids don't experience constipation or diarrhea when we gv oat milk.

purple
just to add what tongtong mentioned. the oat milk which we gv to our kids got no added formulae i.e. DHA, AHA, etc etc. my personal view is that I prefer original stuff; if need additional nutrients, i would rather gv the kids vitamins or through vegies/nuts/fruits/seeds.

bkkgal
oohh can give up to 6 isit?? but if in terms of juice, how do we gauge...i give him diluted so more and its enuff..hehe..

can u believe if sometimes over the weekend ( when he is with me full time) he will not go..and if have PH or when im on leave...he will not go also...hahahaha

When he was still an infant...he was on half BM and FM..and he only went max twice a day. So im thking its his nature la. But at times when he doesnt go for 3 days i will get worried. Been to doctors and they said its normal. Waste $$ to answer qns that i can ask myself:
1) baby eating - YES
2) baby active - VERY
3) baby crying - NO
4) bloody stools - NO
then the docs will say..all ok!! sian la...

im thinking of switching brands or at least visting his PD again. Or maybe i will switch brands first...then if no improvement then will visit...hehehe..aiyahhhh

thanks tongtong!
these are the fruits that we have been giving him. i have piling him up with fruits. for bkfast, tea and dinner. Hopefully it will make his bowel movements more smoother. But if his nature is aldy like that...then i don want to pressure him...hahha

Oat milk
any good brands to recommend? is it expensive. i don mind trying just to see the difference as he is not heavily dependant on milk now.

sunny
yah, it's an enjoyable and happening trip. imagine, my hubby was with my mum and her fren (with our 2 kids), taking bus back to hotel in london (i asked them to go back first while i go and buy some stuff). they met pickpockets on the bus, my mum's fren almost kana pickpocket. her sling bag zips were both half unzipped (and she's in the sitting position, the pickpockets were standing). thankfully nothing happened.

bkkgal
me went to germany (transit), switzerland, france, belgium (transit), holland and london. agree. without two extra pairs of hands, my hubby and i sure pengsan. or maybe can't shop like we did.

kirsten
heard about the mmr thingy but slipped my mind after a while. my girl took when she's 15 months. my boy took when he's 14mths plus. touch wood, so far, my girl whose 4 years old is ok. any idea when will autism set it?

MMR
are there alot of cases in Spore?
the only time ive heard of such cases were from States. The nurses told me that MMR need to take when the child turns 15mths not earlier.
My son just had his last week. I just went in there with a prayer and positive mind. It will be alright.

If im not wrong, the 'hollywood' case ive read about was Jenny McCarthy's son. He turned autistic ard 2years. But now hes better. She has written a book called Mother Warriors.
I think they are fighting their for their cause and arguing on vaccinations shd be a one size fits all.

But i think in Spore, personally i have not heard or read abt such cases.

purple
i buy the oat milk from organic shop. found the pdt details online. http://www.organiclife.com.sg/products02_02.php i won't say it's expensive, it's abt $20+ for 850g.

stephie
wow... you went to so many countries!!! with tour group or F&E?
goodness.. luckily your mum's friend's $ didn't get stolen. the pickpockets were v skillful hor? can stand and pickpocket from ppl who are at sitting position.

tongtong, qingling

ya. think they 3 can be good fren. mine 1 hor. can eat rice plus bread at 7plus. and at 8pm can drink 1 full bottle of FM (210ml) he best loh....

a while since i log on. wow!! all the food receipes really makes my mouth water.

bbkgal,
u're really creative, so many receipes to share. my son's now sick of his usual food so the receipe u posted wld sure be handy. btw, how much did u pay for ur breadmaker? m also soooooooo tempted by it cos me n L have bread for breakie and i m kinda sick of eat g wholemeal bread every morning ... :p

bowel movement
L doesn't seem to have such an issue. Infact, i thk he poos too much in a day. three times!!!! each time during/aftr every meal!!! untill the mummy is tired of bring g him to the potty n let him jus go in his diapers :p bad mummy!!!! i notice this pattern started when i use vege stock to cook his porridge/food. Mayb can try?

MMR
i was wondering...how late can we delay the MMR jab? n wld that b ok if we delay it??

Feeding her is really testing my patience. Every meals take 2 manpower. My maid will entertain her and I'll do the feeding. Our record so far was 2hours. I gave up after that..you prob can hear me screaming like mad woman 10 miles away..hahaha..

Kristen
Don't think MMR has huge side effect. Think it's egg base so before taking you gotta make sure your child is not allergic to eggs.

re: mmr
i have checked with GP and was told that it can be delayed till 2 yo.
i plan to let my boy to have the jab when he's abt 18 mth old. also read that it will cause autism leh.

i recalled when the nurses were scheduling for the MMR jab. they wrote there tat by that time, he wld have been exposed to the whole egg and need to check if have any allergy reaction.
So far..my son no reaction towards eggs except..yum yum yum...hehehe

sunny: agree with u!!

mmr jab: is this jab compulsory? i brought my son for jab but dunno what jab is that, only know it's compulsory one.

purple: you can get the oatmilk from organic shop. get those which is suitable for kid>1 year old. u try that and see how's his bowel movement. this oatmilk is for adult too, if your boy doesnt wanna drink la :p

cheryl: high 5! S also eats rice and bread when i'm back home. and bottle of 190ml milk before sleeps

leila: S also poo a lot everyday. sunday miracaly he pooed once only! but on monday nanny said he pooed 5 times. i think he accumulated from sunday whcih he did not output one. now he pooed at least 3 times a day.. wash his butt until tired

hey mummies

thanks for the discussion. Basically autism cases happened in the states. But I believe some of the mummies are afraid of the 0.01 % risk. My relative is giving his son individual shot for MMR. Meaning one shot for measles, one for mumps and 1 for rubella. she is kinda of "kiasu" becos she says she dun want to take the risk. Actually there are no scientific proof to really prove that it causes autism. Is jus a concern of many mummy.

Cherylk
so does your child experience any fever after the jab?

Tong tong

u bring yr chilf for jab already?

stepie
ihave no idea when autism will set in. maybe other mummies here can advise

The nurses told me tat fever is any will develop 5 - 10 days later.
Dunno why it takes this long. they said this is how the meds react.

As for me..i noe my son will be okay and hope all the babies tat goes for the jab will be okay.

Go with good faith and all will be well!

sunny
went on package tour, extended for 2 days in london. me only dare F&E in asian countries. keke. yalor, thank god she discovered in time. these people are really professional pickpockets. scary man.

1) I have 2 adult tickets to the Bird Park for sale. U.P $18 a pax, now gg for $28 a pair. Expires 30th June 2009.

2) Also have a BINB Beddie Bye Zip Around Blanket for sale, "Replaces loose blankets for safe comfotable sleep" U.P $34, now gg for $28. Color: Light Yellow, Size: L, for up to 31" in length.

2447495.jpg
2447496.jpg

3) Lastly, I have a BN Mustela Specific Support Bust Cream for sale. U.P is $38.50, now gg for $27. http://www.mustelausa.com/specific_support_bust.html

Do pm me if interested!! Thanks!!

kirsten

the fever if will come will only come within 3-10 days after the jab.

vernon fever only come 4 days after the jab.. but after 2 doses of parqacetamol he ok liao...