(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: sick baby
yah, shawn also sick. fever due to MMR injection. so today me on childcare leave.

qingling
how abt central japan/osaka? haha.. me itching to go japan now that yen is dropping. :p

pauline
oh, can only claim once a month ah. for me, there's a fixed amt set aside each year for medical claim. if we do not claim fully, balance will be transferred into our medisave account. so sometimes i also don't bother to claim.

cheryl
hope vernon is better liao.

Re: hospital
i delivered twice at mt A. like that place. the staff are all very friendly and pro bfg. treatment in 1 and 2 bedded are the same. they had new wards when i was there in 2008. very nice. got lcd tv and the bathroom is like those condo kind.

Anyone going for your 1 year check up after giving birth? I gave birth in Feb 2008 and going for 1 year check up this month. Any idea what will the gynae check? Pap smear?

tongtong
think standard for mmr is at 15mth. when i brought shawn for chicken pox vaccination, doc said 12 mths onwards can take mmr liao. so decided to bring shawn for his mmr since we will be away when he reach 15th mth.

long time never come in to chat.

re: hospital
i quite like Raffles Hospital.
think the nurse are quite friendly.
my gynae is a soft spoken and quite kind.
the food there is nice too.

re: 1 yr check up
bottle,
don't know what's the check up. is it in the package you signed with your gynae?

Cheryl so qiao, RaeAnne also scheduled for MMR jab on 25 April. My PD going on long holiday to Australia. If she doesn't recover and miss her appt then must wait until early May then can jab liao.

Xiaoyun, you chose RH ah, heard it's quite expensive, is it true? I keep forgetting to bring the Happy bellies cereal to you. Must remember this Sunday, you still have stock right? :p

pauline,
i chose RH because the clinic is just very near to Tampines MRT station and it has evening consultation so that I don't need to take MC/leave whatsoever.
it's actually not very expensive compared to KKH private. my friend had 1st delivered at KKH with single bedder and RH single bedder for 2nd. he said the price is comparable. cos KKH single bedder do not have much subsidy.

i still have cereal stock. no worry. you take care yourself. don't over stress, ok?

XY, oic, I know which clinic you are talking about then. I pass by the clinic quite often. What's the name of your gynae?

Sigh, I finally confirmed my hubby's medical benefits. http://www.stu.org.sg/Mentor08/AprilJun2008/pg8_9Medical%20Benefits.pdf Hubby's under MSO scheme and it's really lousy. Like stephie & Lezy said, can only claim if it's subsidised care and the cap is $350 for the officer including the dependents. Aiyoh, that means even if I don't choose gynae, my hubby can only claim up to $350 (40% co pay for me) per year and that's only he or RaeAnne doesn't claim at all for the year. Cheh, like that where got enough. As for hospitalisation, maternity can't claim at all! :/

Stephie, ya lor, how can civil servants have such lousy benefits? I thought government supposed to set the example for private companies in terms of being family friendly? :p Now, I'm thinking of going to TMC liao, since KK won't be any cheaper for us. :p

pauline
me had same thinking as you. i mean nowadays costs had all increased, how much can $10 help offset the cost of each medical visit. Suspect this policy had been around for many years. Back then perhaps still ok, now it's really miserable loh.

Stephie, ya lor, I think some civil servants complained before but govt don't care cos polyclinic still charging less than $10 for consultation so they peg to that bah. But I still think it's stupid that the specialist outpatient and maternity benefits are so pathetic. I mean, come on, isn't it better for the government to encourage spending within the ministries?. I mean if civil servants get good benefits at restructured hospitals, then most will choose to go there instead of private outside? Per person at least $4 - 5k leh for prenatal plus delivery charges. $$ transferred from one 'ah gong' pocket to another 'ah gong' pocket, isn't it better than to let 'fei shui liu wai ren tian'? Duh...

something on the teeth:

When Can I Expect My Baby To Start Teething?
The first baby tooth sprouts around 6 months of age. By 3 years old, a complete set of 20 milk teeth will have appeared.

However, there are exceptions where some babies are born with a tooth or teeth called natal teeth. Teeth which develop within one month after birth are known as neonatal teeth. In some babies, the milk teeth do not appear until as late as 18 months.

How Do I Know My Baby Is Teething?
Your baby will salivate or drool more. He may be more irritable and tends to put things in his mouth, especially when the back teeth are cutting through. Giving your baby teething rings as well as chewing rusks may help. Teething balms may be used to relieve gum irritation but use them sparingly as these can contain sugar which may promote tooth decay.

How Do I Clean My Baby's Teeth?
When baby has his front teeth, you can clean them after every feed with a clean damp towel wrapped around your finger. You can start using a small toothbrush when his back teeth appear.

What Feeding Practice Is Good For My Baby?
If you are breastfeeding, never let your baby sleep with you and suckle on demand. Never let your child fall asleep with a bottle of milk or sweetened liquid in his mouth. Both practices promote an aggressive form of decay called nursing bottle caries.

Try to wean your baby off the night feed at the 5th or 6th month. If he is fretful in the middle of the night, give him plain water. <font color="ff0000">Your baby should not be using a milk bottle after he is 1 year old. You should train him to drink from a cup.</font> There are many training cups available in the market.

<font color="0000ff">anyone not using bottle anymore?
my gal still having problem of choking if drink from straw/spout.</font>

What Food Is Good For My Baby's Teeth?
In the first few months, a baby's main nutrition comes from milk and liquids. Do not let your baby get used to liquids with a lot of sugar in it, like honey, fruit juices or glucose water. Avoid adding sugar to your baby's milk or food. Read labels on baby food to know exactly what you are giving your baby.

Is It All Right To Give My Baby A Pacifier?
The first year of life is regarded as an oral phase. Babies like to put things in their mouths and get pleasure from sucking. Some parents may feel tempted to introduce a pacifier especially if their babies are fretful. Be aware that prolonged pacifier use and thumb sucking cause teeth to be pushed out of their normal positions. The operative word here is prolonged. If you must use a pacifier, try purchasing an orthodontic one. This is less damaging to the teeth. Limit use of the pacifier.

Can I Use Toothpaste On My Baby's Teeth?
Before the age of 2, children have not mastered the skill of spitting and tend to swallow toothpaste. Therefore, toothpaste is not recommended until the child is 2 years old and above. Even then, use a pea-sized amount of children's toothpaste, which has a lower concentration of fluoride.

My Baby's Teeth Look Weak And Decay Easily. Is It Due To A Lack Of Calcium During Pregnancy?
A mother's diet will have to be severely deficient in calcium in order for milk teeth, which are developing in uterus, to be affected.

Other factors like nursing bottle caries are usually responsible for the condition described above.

Should I Give My Baby Fluoride Supplements?
These are usually prescribed in countries where water is not fluoridated. Singapore has fluoridated potable water so this not necessary.

When Should I Bring My Baby To My Dentist?
Paediatric dentists recommend the first visit at 6 months of age or shortly after the first tooth has sprouted. This will allow the dentist to evaluate the baby's teeth, and give patients counselling on the baby's diet and dental hygiene instruction.
<font color="0000ff">
can anyone recommend a children friendly dentist?
I found one at Ngee Ann City last time but she has left.

Bx,
can you please help to find out if there's a dentist called Eloise Lim at clinic located B1 Simei East Point? (if you passby there...)
last time she practices at the clinic too...</font>

i finally found a bbsitter! my question:

1. what is the market rate now?
2. other than cooking and taking care of bb, what else do they do?

Hello mummies - i m back..very tiring, but i missed Japan already. H unfortunately vomitted back on the trip back again, but i think its because we overfed her with the meal provided on the plane (ops). And sigh, first night we came back for dinner in sg, she fell down from the high chair cos she stand up,back down, bad mummy, i am so guilty...sigh..i shld have strapped her down with the strap (normally i don't cos she will complain..argg). Luckily she's fine until now..no vomit,nothing, but really super heart pain...

By the way,pls support my fren's small business
. All handmade by her and her sisters

http://princessypixie.blogspot.com/

re: baby teeth

i think myson's teeth is prone to decay faster because he is still on bottle and he usually have his last feed then zz. I'm thinking to get him to brush teeth before sleep now. cuz he got so many teeths now .. also i think i'm not ready to introduce drinking milk from cup yet leh.

re: milk

ANybody knows whether toddler >1 year old can do without drinking milk?

qingling: HOpe H is ok now!!

morning mummies.

qingling,

oh gosh! hope H is ok! i tink all mummies can understand ur "xin tong".

tong,

bb sitter does the basic taking care as wat we would do at home. as 4 teaching our darlings, tat would depend very much on the bb sitter herself.

4 my bb sitter, she is very good! she takes very gd care of Cayenne and teaches her alot. In fact, Cayenne learnt alot of stuff from her since very young which I don't tink i am capable of teaching Cayenne.

She would aso advises me on general knowledge of taking care of babies, how to see their behaviours, how we mummies shd adjust ourselves in motherhood etc.

Aso take very good care of Cayenne when she was sick and advises me how to take care of Cayenne.

I reali know nuts abt taking care of bbs! So my bb sitter's expertise reali help me alot!

tong,

i read a few bb mags or books, some do point out tat once they started on solids, their milk intake shd reduce. Even Cayenne's PD said so.

but of cos there are some say milk is still an essential part of toddler's development.

Cayenne never like milk all along. Her intake can be as low as 200plus ml oni! Nw her milk feed sometimes can be oni 2 feeds (per feed oni 120ml or lowest 50ml)

but i tried 2 load her wif alot of other nutritious food.

tongtong
after 1 yo, solid food is main food and milk is just a supplement. but, i think it's better to continue giving milk so that the kids can get calcium from the milk. I read that if the kid is not choosy about food, we don't even need to give FM, just fresh milk will be sufficient.
if you worry about tooth decay, possible to gv a bit of plain water after the night feed?

stephie
ya, the $10 subsidy is really pathetic manz. my both kids have been taking turn to fall ill last mth. visiting GP once already cost me $40+ already. the $10 is just so little... and not to mention visiting the doctor for few times in a month. if go polyclinic, we have to wait for so long and can't let the the poor sick kids wait for so long right?
somemore, most of the time we bring the kids to see chinese sinsei and it's not subsidised at all... sigh...

Poor heidi, never mind, lucky nothing major. Just be more careful next time with the strap. I know it's difficult. My gal can wriggle out even when I strap her hor. Guess I didn't do it tight enough. :p

Esty, good that you have a good babysitter.

Tongtong, you can try giving Sean some water after drinking the milk, that's what I do sometimes, I hope it will help to 'rinse' her mouth before sleeping.

Esther
your bb sitter is so good! so nice

Cayenne's milk intake q little hor. my PD said they should be taking 500-600mls until abt 2 years old. all along E dun really like his milk also, only recently he started to drink a lot more.

XY
wah, where did you get the info? i can't imagine bb drinking milk without teat until older. i asked a few pple, i think most use teats until abt 3 years old, so no need to worry

btw i know eloise lim, hee. but not sure where she is now, i think she might be at a clinic near indoor stadium, want me to find out?

iso
my gal didn't use teat after she's about 10 mth old. she used straw. since abt 1.5 yo, she used cup. my boy doesn't use straw after he abt 13 mth old.
i find it conveninet as i don't need to bring their milk bottles around when we go out.

my colleague's kids are now primary school and still using teat 'cos they commented that the milk doesn't taste so nice if they drink from cup. haha... so, it depends on how you want to 'train' your kids and how the kids are able to adapt to it.

hmm...according to my mum, babies still need to drink milk.

Ruth seems to like Step 3 milk. I recently switched her from Mamil Gold to Friso. She's ok with it.

Compared to Step 2 milk, she's more willing to drink as long as she's abit hungry. She eats like a bird lor, every hour she's eating, except for her main meals which will last about 2 hours.

Typically in a day, her feeding schedule is something like this:

7am - 120ml FM
9am - 2 slices bread with cheese or cereal with banana. (bread without the 'skin')
10/11am - 120-150ml FM
12/1pm - Porridge/Millet with Fish/Spinach/Scallops. ABout one adult soup bowl.
2pm - 120ml FM
4pm - Apple (steamed)
6pm - Porridge as above
8pm - 150ml FM

in between got biscuits, water etc.

i tried giving water/milk via cup. she will leak all over.

i think no hurry to 'train' for my girl...cuz so far for ruth, i find that she does things when she is ready and not when we want her to. I think I want to give her the freedom of choice for now when she has the means of choosing what she wants to do or not.

GOod thing about her - she is creature of habit and if we are consistent enough with certain things, she will pick up. Eg peeing and pooing. She will pee and poo on cue at potty/sink/toilet bowl (have to carry) even in public changing rooms. Can save diaper from time to time. :D

btw....any tips for travelling with baby? esp in OZ?

We've booked our tickets to Melbourne in early June. Very excited now.
Self-planned holiday so every night busy reading up and planning.

vernon drank very little milk nowadays. cos sick ma.. now better liao but milk appetite havent pick up yet... but solid wise he still eat wat he usual eat...

bx
vernon is in infantcare. so i tink to switch to babysitter. cos very scare he get sick again, haiz. den again not easy to find.. esp some1 near my place

Hi Xiao Yun, I didn't sign any package with my KKH gynae. The appointment was made 1 year ago.

Anyone else here can advise what is this check up about? Is it just pap smear?

Hi Lezy, I will be travelling with 2 boys to Perth end of Apr. 1st family trip by flight.

iso,
i think the info was from KKH website.
let me know where's she ok? but if it's too inconvenient then i will go and find others.
eastpoint is considered ok location for me if she's still there.

lezy,
i am trying to make C eats like a bird too. :p
but she don't have such good appetite.
and she sleeps a lot.
read that kids get tired sometimes due to iron deficient. hopefully she's not fall into this category.

cheryl,
ya. think you can give babysitter a try. see vernon fall sick so often also very heart pain.

re: potty train
lose hope.
she doesn't like to sit on potty.
think i will wait a while first.

am tinking of training Cayenne to drink from training cups 2.. but i reali dunno hw leh...

sunny, hw u manage 2 train ur gal 2 drink frm cup?

is there any other good straw mugs/training cups around? Pigeon magmug tends 2 leak alot... I bought munchkin one but tot of getting a smaller one. Any ideas, mummies?

ester,
pigeon mag mag leaks?
is it because you didn't fit the rubber thing correctly?
mine is ok leh.. only leak once because i put the rubber ring wrongly.

XY,

will leh. if i overturn it, will aso leak... somemore the cap cant reali close properly.then 2 re-open by itself.

urs wont?

re: sleep
anyone's kid still sleep that much?

C slept 2 hour in the morning, 3 hour in the afternoon.
then evening 6:30 pm slept till this morning 7:30 am.
just now slept at 10:30 am again and now still sleeping....

XY,

C reali sleep alot and early hor. I tot my C alreadi sleep super early in the nite. (earliest 7plus till next morning)

oh reali, i tot due 2 frequent sterilize, so kinda of spoilt tat y keep opening up by itself.

vernon mag mag also leaks...
the cap cannot close tight 1. keep popping open itself. den hor. vernon like to shake the bottle. hence water also come out.

esther,
i didn't sterilise it at all...

actually, C normally sleep after 9:30 pm one.
but yesterday i let her take a nap at 6:30 pm cos she keep rubbing her eyes.
then she refused to wake up after that!!
even when i wipe her down, changed her diaper, changed her clothes. she keep her eyes shut.
but also refuse to open her mouth when i try to wipe her teeth.. :p

tongtong,
my PD says our bbs at this age need 16oz of milk a day.

xiaoyun,
wah, C sleeps A LOT! My bb sleeps abt 13-14 hrs a day, inclusive of nap time.

i ask u all hor.
vernon neck n the area below his mouth. his chin got rashes very badly. look like heat rashes to me. but calendula dun helps leh...

wat else can i apply to make it better???
he keep scratching it

lezy
one adult soup bowl?? like fish ball noodles kind of bowl size? E is taking like one full rice bowl the rounded bowl kind that you get when you go to chinese restaurants. that's the only analogy i can think of, haha. think i might want to up his intake, cos he still wakes me up for milk at night, but he can't eat that much at one go.

8am wake - 180ml
10+ breakfast - sometimes bread or cereal, or sometimes cereal plus another 120ml
12 or 1pm - lunch, porridge
4pm - 150-180
6pm - dinner, porridge
9-11pm - 180ml (depends on his mood and when he sleeps)
midnight - sometimes 100-120ml, sometimes none at all depending on last feed.
usually 4/5 am - 100-150ml

XY
ok let u know

esther
i also thought that mine is looser after sterilising. but otherwise the straw is quite good. i'll probably buy replacement one soon cos bb likes to bite it.