(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi bkkgal,

the photographer has an assitant ( aka his wife) , those that me and my hubby are inside the photos , she was making her laugh with her favourtite toys etc... ( oh and my maid also helped) , those that she is alone... we are the ones who have to sing, dance and do many tricks to make her laugh... my baby respond quite well to songs.. Just sing Happy birthday she will clap hands, sing twinkle twinkle , her hands will be in the air and making the open and close actions... and her favourite action now she will do without fail is stick out your tongue.. thus the ones in the swim suit has one of that

You can also bring your relatives or other care-givers to help to make her smile...

My girl is the one who walked back and forth the aisle a few times during flight back China at CNY; and she patted everybody sitting besides aisle. Feel so Paiseh...somemore some of them were sleeping..... For the 4 hours flight , she only slept when plane was going to touch down---cry until falling asleep because of uncomfortable ears.......

When we forbid her to walk, she will cry very loud & throw tandrum.......my hubby and I took turns to play with her every 10 mins....by the time she slept, I was very tired, almost wanting to vomit......

Gar, hehe, you asking for my ks HK packing list again? ;)

Special request from the Feb mummies. Packing list for RaeAnne's trip. Don't faint, it's a long list cos I wasn't sure what she'll need so this kiasu mummy brought everything. ;P

Things to bring Diaper bag
1. 1 cardigan/jacket
2. 1 extra set of clothes in ziplock bag (top, bottom, socks)
3. 1 pair of long socks
4. Diapers (day & night)
5. 2 Diaper pants
6. 1 Bib
7. Tiger Hot water flask
8. Milk powder dispenser (tiered)
9. Pigeon mag mag bottle
10. Pigeon feeding bowl with spoon
11. Extra baby cutlery set
12. Pink thermos food jar
13. Baby biscuits
14. Bottle warmer with 1 clean milk bottle inside
15. Small wet baby towel in ziplock bag
16. 1-2 toys (cloth book and toy camera)
17. Baby medicine (eg. Panadol syrup, forehead plaster, what else?)
18. Baby bjorn carrier
19. Clean cloth diaper
20. Baby hat

Baby luggage Bag
1. Electric bottle warmer? (didn't bring in the end)
2. Bottle brush? (didn't bring in the end, but would have been useful )
3. Sponge in ziplock bag
4. 1 hat
5. Hair clips (didn't bring in the end)
6. Baby Bottle detergent
7. Baby clothes liquid detergent
8. Milk powder (put in lock & lock airtight container with spoon)
9. Baby cereal (bring whole tin or put in lock & lock container with spoon)
10. Pigeon porridge/baby food/jar food
11. 1 extra milk bottle
12. Extra bibs
13. Extra diapers (day & night)/diaper pants
14. Extra tissue/wet wipes
15. Baby clothes (long sleeves, rompers, pyjamas, long socks etc)
16. 4 Baby face towel (2 for feeding, 2 for bathing)
17. Non slip bath mat (small) (forgot to bring in the end)
18. Ruyi oil
19. Baby lotion
20. Baby shampoo
21. Baby comb
22. Baby shower gel
23. Baby bath towel
24. Baby waterproof changing mat?
25. Mosquito repellent lotion?
26. Plastic container (use as water scoop?)
27. Tiger thermos food jar? (can cook porridge in short time, didn't bring in the end)
28. Travel kettle
29. Ear thermometer
30. Something familiar for bed time? Pillow? Soft toy?
31. Bedtime zipper sleep sack
32. Breast pump (mini electric plus cos it's most portable)
33. Stroller? (didn't bring in the end)

Some items may not be so relevant since now our darling are bigger and taking more solids. If I'm going travelling, I'll definitely bring a slow cooker and ingredients for porridge (things like 'gan bei', ground 'yin yu' powder, sweet potato, carrot, pumpkin are hardier and last longer).

RaeAnne slept in my arms for both flights for my HK trip. No bassinet cos only 1 seat available for adult and not convenient to have 1 adult looking after her while the rest sit elsewhere. :p

Emoments, WA! Your gynae selling the 2 pills so exp ah? I got mine from KKH, $36+ for 2 pills, I already complained to the pharmacist and ask why so exp liao. Hee. :p

hi all i'm bsck. finally bz period's over!

jeannie
wow congrats on yr survival on lOng journey. I really doubt andrae can survive. hahaha

healthytimes
anyone interested in healthytimes bp? who has d contact for d discount har? kind of love d shampoo n bodywash...

Kitsune, what pill is yours called?

Yesterday I went to see GP and asked for medicine, the GP refused to give me. She said the medicine need to take for 5 days and has side effects, thus advised me not to take it

Cooking eggs
Thanks for all your encouragement and tips! yes I will try again, maybe i'm just too gan jiong.

Tried to give hard boiled egg yolk yesterday mixed with his fav cereal-he rejected the whole thing! but yeah, the egg yolk had a 'smell' cos i boiled it 1 hr ago vs. just 'freshly' boiled the last time I gave him. sigh, maybe he's not a 'natural egg baby', need 'training' type...but hb and i both LOVE eggs when we were children leh.

Stephie & piglettail
JWT weekday trial
I'm keen on a weekday too. Still leave with a day of childcare leave which expired end of this month. But weekend is fine too. on 21st Mar for weekend and anyday for weekday. Let me know?

kitsune,
WOW. So many things to bring for baby on a trip out. Salute.

Stephie,
Met you at NATAS fair. But nv thought you wanna bring whole family to Europe. Envy.

not sure if this has been discussed b4...but may i know how do you all bath your one year old now?
as in, do u still use the bath tub etc, standing posiiton etc. how do u all wash their hair? standing position or still the football position?

kitsune
wah u v organised! *thumbs up* ;)

btw, how come they can't give u 2 bulkhead seats?? they let other passengers sit there? i know these days they "sell" bulkhead seats - you can reserve it if you pay S$75, but i think there's a clause that says they might need it for babies.

nagsterak,
i use bath tub (coz it's quite cold for him to sit on the shower area) + shower, had to train my son a bit before using shower i.e. use a small plastic bowl to pour water over his head to let him get used to water rolling down his face... they will learn to close their eyes by instinct... initially he did protest but he got used to it after a while
oh and water won't go into the ear but just make sure you don't aim the shower in the air...

nagsterak,

I aso wash Cayenne's hair wif her head down be it standing or sitting position. Normally will tell her "head down down, mummy/daddy gg 2 pour water on ur head". She understands and she will move her head down.

how go get baby to look up instead of down?? then the water won't go into their face so much.

for mine, i bought a towel rack to put onto the wall so he has something to hold on to while he stands. he'll either sit or stand (sometimes holding onto the rack for support) in the bath tub, while i use the shower head and i'll say "mummy's going to wash your hair now, 1, 2, 3!". he loves the tub there cos he can play with the water. he always doesn't want to get out of the shower!

that's the problem i had with my gal when i still let her sit in the tub with bath toys and she refuse to get up after and make a scene...so for now, i just let her bath standing and get out when done...i was just worried if the water running down their faces etc will cause their nose to be sensitive cos she always come out of shower with a little mucus when i bath her standing...

iso,

C holds onto me when he's standing or to the wall, so far ok and he doesn't fall down... as for looking up, i put some toys up near the water tap so that he look up.. he will actually try to take the toy which is rather cute
same like E, he loves to play with the water and will protest if i bring him out too fast :p

Hi Pigglettail , just dropped you a mail that I am going on THursday morning 9.30 instead of tomorrow. PAseh... got last minute meeting.

Anyone wants to join us on thursday morning ?

nagsterak (v difficult to rem your nick!),
heheh... for me i bring one of his toys out and let him play while i dry him up... or empty the tub while he's still inside and dry him up in the tub...

nagsterak,
i use the shower to spray clean his hair, so water will just stream down his face, not so bad. And i can also point it backwards, and tilt his head a bit.

RE : JWT trial
I've called JWT UE Square
Sat classes are pretty fully booked.
Hence, we need to split into 2 groups. 3 slots available each on 14 Mar and 21 Mar.
I've booked the 6 slots.

14 Mar
(1) tubao
(2) stephie
(3) Artemis

21 Mar
(1) xiaoyun
(2) Qingling
(3) leila

please PM your contact number and your kid's name and choose a date that you prefer.

I lost sight of the original post. Who am I supposed to PM?

blueginger, isobellies, think I got part of my list from some other mummy but mine definitely longer than hers cos I added so much more stuff and separated the list into diaper bag (hand carry) and check in luggage. Think that's important cos don't want to end up needing something for baby but it's in the check in luggage which you can't access. :p Maybe, it's me lar. I get frustrated over small things like this so I need a super kiasu list to remind myself. Hee. ;)

Nag, I bathe RaeAnne in the bathtub with a shower spray. Wash her hair with that too, usually I try to shield her face from the running water with my right hand while holding the shower spray with my left. But when I miss and the water gets onto her face, just use a face towel to quicky wipe dry and using my right hand to 'swipe' the water down her face. So far, she's ok.

XY, I've decided not to go for JWT trial since I'm attending LNT trial at PP for the next 2 Sats. Also, since JWT is not convenient for us, UE square too far away, think no point attending the trial, cos no matter what I won't sign up for the lessons. Hee.

Hi Pauline,

Wow... That's a very comprehensive packing list. :D When I travel next, I will use it.

Hi qingling,

RE : bathing

I still bathe Danica in a tub cause I find that she catches a cold easier when showering (she doesn't like to stand, likes to sit on the floor and splash around in the water. :p She will also protest if you take her out too soon.

RE : ear cleaning

I clean every day using infant cotton buds that have a thinner section followed by a thicker section. I can then be assured that I would not go too deep into Danica's ears.

any mummies working part time? got any job to recommend? i am working full time now. really feel like working part time to take care of baby...

Gennice,
It's OK then. Won't wanna travel that far for JWT. Since I won't sign up for the lessons, no point attending the trial.

Trial lesson:
Do let me know if any of you are attending trial in the east or west.

thanks for your info.
i will update JWT on the registration.

pauline,
now i think i will have enough supply liao.
yes, marsiling very near me..

pauline
going to europe for leisure. chose that place cos euro and pound exchange rates had fallen! haha.. cheapo me. me target places where exchange rates are more favourable. initially wanted to go japan in mar/apr but since rate have increased from 1.2+ to 1.6+, decided not to go this year. :p

garfield
okie, will update you about the jetlag thingy after my europe trip. can learn from jeannie first since gwen survived the long trip to USA.

tute
hee.. will be a challenge but this mummy's love to travel is too strong to be 'frightened' by the challenge. i brought my girl to Hong Kong when she was 14mths+. so now not so afraid of bringing kids on holiday. me going on package tours. cos hubby said too much hassle if go free and easy. at least we need not bother abt logistics, etc.

blueginger
me can only go JWT on weekend cos my leaves are mostly used up for holidays.

RE: bassinet
my fren brought his son to europe when he's closed to 2 years old. and the airline gave him bassinet as requested. of cos he didn't put him there cos definitely can't fit it. he just want the front seat with extra leg space. when his son was sleeping, he placed him on the floor cushioned by blanket. i thought it's quite a good idea (jus make sure we don't kick the baby accidentally). will try the same method if manage to get bassinet seat.

Stephie, me opposite from your husband. I'm afraid package tour has no flexibility cos everything already paid for. Eg. if baby/child grouchy, or touch wood, not feeling well, still got to follow the group on the coach bus for the whole day. If not, got to stay in hotel, and forfeit everything that has been paid for (sights, admission tickets, tips). Me even more cheapo mum. F&E is always more exp than package tour but at least I won't be paying for nothing. Plus, I worry that for group tour, I'll get dagger stares from other tour members if my kid is too noisy, or we are late for 'assembly' because the kid doesn't cooperate. :p But Europe may be different to go F&E lar especially if going to many countries. ;)

pauline
yah, for europe a bit challenging for us to go F&E. when i brought my girl to Hong Kong (twice) and perth. we went F&E since these places are easy to move about. pros abt package tour is that there's a tour guide to assist/advice when needed.

Hi mummies who went to perth before. Any good hotels in City centre and Freo to recommend ? THining of Miss Maud swedish hotel and travelodge.. anyone tried these 2 ? Quite particular on cleanliness :p

Like to ask if any of your darlings upgraded to eating rice lately? Need some advice.

Eg. Is it ok to add abit of light soy sauce on fried fish (more tastier) for our little ones?

Can they take abit of salt as well?

pauline,
thks for your list! sorry to make you re-post...i also forgot that i had asked previously!

stephie,
can can. so which countries will you be covering?

another nice place for F&E is australia and new zealand. think it'll be a nice destination for our kids as they are growing up. the air travel distance and time differences also quite manageable

esther,
A has been eating rice for more than a month now. my mom adds some light soy sauce (one or two drops to the fish) for taste. some mummies i know soak the fish in v diluted salt water before cooking.

alternatively, you can cook the fish in stock and add some ginger / garlic to take away the fishiness.

fish on its own...err...even i feel like puking when i eat =P

Gar,

Y did u upgrade to rice for A? Is it becos she dun like porridge and prefer adult food? for Cayenne, she dun like porridge lately, not even her fav cereal. Prefer adult food. So my bb sitter suggests 2 let her upgrade to rice.

so nw wkend i got headache. I dun cook, so nw got 2 do some decent cooking.

btw, did u use "new crop" rice or the normal rice?

JWT trial
mummies!! anyone interested to go today? I was supposed to go for Gymboree, but turns out the 3pm one is only my son and instructor, which i guess is good, but would be nice to have some other kids also, so i am changing to JWT, since they also have a class at 245pm!

garfield
me covering lucerne, paris, amsterdam and london. extending 2 nites at london on F&E.

ya, after the perth trip, my hubby is now confident to self drive in australia (he used to think it's very difficult to self drive). me thinking of going australia in sep/oct with frens. but got clash in places to visit, me wanna go melbourne but one of them don't want too.

nicole
though me went perth before on F&E, but stayed at a relative's place at mandurah (very near to perth city and fremantle so didn't get to stay at those places). only stayed out when we went to busselton/margaret river area. maybe can check out travel thread in forum for tips from other mummies.

esther
my mum also fed my boy rice long time ago. think before he turned 1. not sure what rice she use. she just fed him whatever rice that we eat. as for dishes, also fed him what she prepared for us.

stephie,

another qn. with soup? or jz purely mix some dishes into rice and feed him?

pai say if i ask stupid qns cos i reali dunno hw 2.

shaun still eating porridge, but also rice when we eat. we din give him salt, but when we give mee suah the mee suah is made with sea salt also. but we make sure it's not very saltish kind, ie those from the healthy stores.

we din give him soy sauce yet. but we do give him some miso to add into his meehun soup cuz we give him kumpu/seaweed.

esther,
we started to give her rice cos she wanted to eat our food (which is always heavily laden with MSG and seasoning)...so only feed her the white rice which she absolutely loves =)

we experimented with many types of textures. mui fan type, normal type (like what we eat), teochew muay style etc. nowadays we rotate among these few types cos she seems to enjoy different textures. feed her one type for too many days and she will start to reject.

for teochew muay style, i will boil the ingredients (so like machum cooking porridge last time - stock + ingredients) in slow cooker. then about 20 to 30mins before meal time, i will add in the rice grains to cook. the texture will be like teochew muay. then i will scoop up the rice together with the ingredients, and strain away the liquid to feed.

for rice, just cook the rice like per normal for adults. then steam the ingredients separately and stir into the rice. or if baby likes soup, can cook the soup as per the teochew muay style above (minus the rice), then scoop up the ingredients and mix into the rice.

stephie,
wow nice! me so envious =) must share pics with us. when are you leaving? weather will be very nice from april/may onwards.

Will try 2 dish up some decent food for Cayenne this Sat. *Pray hard*

re : holidays

reali envy mummies who are travelling. wish to bring Cayenne holidays too.

Hi, Stephie

Share with us Europe trip with kids!
For me, I hope that I got time/leave to bring E back China often these few years since my paretns are not in good health recently.

I backpacked alone in Europe 8 years ago for 40+ days; backpacked alone in Syndney& Melbourne 7 years ago for 10 days.

My hubby asked me to stop backpacking after 2 weeks' backpack together with him in Vietnam last December/Jan. Hehe.......I was not persuaded successfully yet.

Hi, Garfield

I borrowed "Positive Discipline book" from library. Both Hubby and I are reading----feels good book----Thanks for recommendation.