(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

qingling,
congrats to heidi! very cute the way they walk right... just thinking about it makes me smile

gar,
need to set another lunch date with you to pick up the books... C getting bored with all his old books... heheh..

flashcard - Heidi not so interested in the dots flashcard anymore..hmm..and i am only at 42 dots..haha..zz..any mummies still doing the flashcard thingy..?

i too always feed her hotcakes only and didnt dare to try scrambled eggs. she luv going to mcds now and will nod her head and say yes when i ask her....

how about beans? is it ok? like red bean, green bean etc...when can start? and peanut butter?

Hi, piglettail
My baby can't take egg white before 11 month---having diareaa everytime we tried to feed her; now it's ok.

Hi, Qingling,
Congrats to Heidi!Take more videos!!

I am still teaching flash cards; Last time mostly about animals, nowadays about fruits/food.

tubao - ya..i forgot about the video, cos din expect to see her walking..so din manage to record it.i better try to record today

ooo.. my previous post mia.

qingling:
i'm doing. but v lazy. probably once in a long while. just started dot cards. now @ #8. he is totally not interested. he like words, english words. eg when we read some pic books to him, he will look @ the words rather than pic. when i ask him to point to the duck, he wil hit the word 'duck' rather than the pic of a duck which is on the next the page w word.

Hi, nagsterak

My baby ate smashed green beans around 8 month, and we use soup base of red beans & peanuts for her porridge around 10 month.

Hi, Qingling
Go to Tokyo with Heidi.... Seems fun.... I have a "Lonely Planet Japan" book published in Oct 2005 edition. Can lend to you if you need.

Want to go to JWT trial on 21 March together? with Xiaoyun also....

Qingling, tubao, XY, 21 Mar you all going for JWT trial? Which branch?

Tubao, what type of flash cards are you using? I bought 1 pack from popular long time ago but the paper quality is too thin. RaeAnne crushes them with her hand. Thinking of getting thicker ones. :p

Wa, Gar, Japan to watch cherry blossom, ooh... so nice. Don't think I can ever go there in cherry blossom time ie. end Mar or early Apr unless, hubby is no longer a teacher or I abandon him and go myself. So sian. :p

Piggletail, my ILs let me try the steam egg that they prepared for RaeAnne, no seasoning, just add some water. It was so 'xing1' that I nearly puked myself. No offence.

RaeAnne is starting to walk now too. But she walks very very fast, it's as if she's afraid she'll lose her balance if she walks slowly. Quite funny to see her do that. I've been trying to capture her on video cam so many times but whenever I whip out the video cam, she crawls towards me instead. Performance stress? Hee. ;)

good morning mummies,
busy busy busy.. this is what i can say.

re: JWT trial
i was thinking to go to the eastgate branch, hopefully they are as good as the UE square.
if you all stil prefer the UE square, i am fine with it.

(a) 21 Feb 10:45 am UE square
(b) 21 Feb 9:30 am Eastgate

which one do you prefer?
i think we need to call in to book soon

(1) xiaoyun - b
(2) tubao??
(3) qingling??
(4) pauline??

re: walking
congrates to all the babies who are walking.
C is now cruising everywhere. think she's going to walk soon. i already feel tired chasing after her, cannot imagine when she starts walking... :p

re: beans
i recently use 7 types of beans (red, black, green, lentils, etc) to prepare soup base for her porridge.
just heard that ground nuts will cause allergy. what are ground nuts? peanut?

re: eggs
i tried scrambled egg by adding our normal fresh milk. should be ok. she like it.

but i have no success on the chawanmushi. the one that i made is too watery. what's the porportion of water to put huh?
she likes the chawanmushi in the restaurant though.

haven't been posting for awhile.

ashlynn developed fever after her pneumoccocal jab. sigh...

recently she has not been sleeping thru the nite. both me and my hb and my mil are so tired from taking care of her.

re: walking
ashlynn managed to walk a few steps a few times over the week. but i think that few occasions were really by luck. have been waiting for so long... most of the time she still prefers to crawl when she wants to get to something fast.

bx,
yes yes yes.
it's 21 Mar. hehe...

(a) 21 Mar (Sat) 10:45 am UE square
(b) 21 Mar (Sat) 9:30 am Eastgate

which one do you prefer?

(1) xiaoyun - b
(2) tubao??
(3) qingling??
(4) pauline??

RE : walking

Danica has also started to walk. Yesterday evening, in order to play with my mobile phone which I was holding in my hand, she walked across the room. I was totally bowled over.

RE : JWT Trial

I want to join but... Cannot remember where I put the trial coupon liao. :p Must go search for it.

a) 21 Mar (Sat) 10:45 am UE square

which one do you prefer?

(1) xiaoyun - b
(2) tubao??
(3) qingling - UE Sq (eastgate too far for me

(4) pauline??

BX
When babies are learning a new skill, their brains go into overdrive - hence the night wakings. I noticed the same with K when she was trying to learn to walk. When start walking, I think they burn more calories, so suddenly there's a growth spurt - eat more, drink more. If not enuff, this can cause night waking. Eliminate the hunger issue first and see how, maybe it's the learning issue that's causing Ashlynn to keep awake.

Mommies
It's very cartoon to see them walking right? hehe. K walks like a cactus - 2 hands up and legs spread out, pampers seem to be in the way! hehe.

XY
Peanut butter can also be a cause of allergy. So far, I have not tried nut-based foods on K yet. The worry is not so much the allergy but because they are so young, the doctors can't do much to alleviate the allergy. Must watch out for honey too.

Jass
wow Matt can recognise words already! smart boy! mine can't be bothered with books, cards, DVDs. she prefer to crawl around and cause destruction!

Pauline : my girl also pratically run! As if she just want to finish the "terrifying" ordeal thats all.

BX: same here. Amanda also keep waking up and also ask for milk in the middle of night/or toss and turn and whimper in the night. Now I am a panda cos I am the only one who wake up to attend to her. Guess its what BKK mentioned.

Bkk: honey will cause allergy? Oops hubby just let her have some the other day. Luckily nothing happens.....Babies their age are good at destroying things. Hubby call her the destroyer!

apple, bkk,
ya ya, she woke up at 4am to drink milk. stunned. she has not done that since she was a tiny bb...

bb's development
i think ashlynn is quite slow in her development. can't walk properly yet. can't speak well. only baba, mama. can't read also. haiz... i guess i am really one ks parent who worries a lot.

bx
maybe she's not sleeping thru cos she is going through some changes, i.e. walking? or maybe that's what we all hope, and that they will go back to sleeping thru ASAP, haha.

piglettail
how about scrambled eggs with some cheese? last time i made scrambled yolks with cheese and milk, bb loved it. but then again he was at the stage where he eats anything. now a bit more picky.

nuts
i think they advise against nuts in general for young bbs cos some people are allergic to it. but actually it's v rare for asians to be allergic to it, and v common for ang mohs! it's a genetic thing.

nagsterak
so cute! can understand McD's already!

jass mei
waaaaah matt so clever, he can "read" already ;) have you "tested" him on different books to see if he always points to the same thing?

bx
dun worry dun worry... most bbs don't really speak their first words till much later, apparently at the 18th month check, they'll check if the babies can speak 3 words. E can't really speak yet (although he does say some words which sound right but not sure if it's just a coincidence), my nephew only started walking and speaking about 15 months.. my ang moh colleague's daughter at 15 months was still moving around on her bum (not even crawling!!) at 15 months!

bx - ya, don't worry so much, every bb is unique, learning rate also different..Heidi also can't speak any words yet except mum mum..not even papa mama..hmm..

BX: agree that there is no need to worry. every baby is different. A colleague told me her frd's son could not speak even at a age where others are speaking a lot of words until they thought maybe he is "ya ba" but one day when he speak, he shocked everyone cos he could speak in 3 languages!

bx,
long time no see! don't think ashlynn is slow... i think it's quite normal
even C can't speak properly still... still doing "mamama, papapa, nanana, tatata". the only cute thing is that he will wake up in the morning and lie on bed and start babbling like telling stories :p

re:pickiness on food,
i read somewhere that it will take babies 20x to try on a food before they decide that they don't like it... ummm not sure how true this is... i think luckily for cayleb so far he's quite ok with food (prob coz we always cook it using soup based so the smell not that strong).

re:beans,
been giving red bean, french beans(errr, dunno if this can categorise as beans) to C since he's 8/9 mths i think... he loves it

re:walking,
iso/bkk, can e/k walk while wearing shoes? i find that c cannot walk properly with shoes on... he will tend to fall and can't seem to lift his foot up? so when we're outside he will not be able to walk.

speaking
ya! i know a few boys over 2 who haven't or didn't speak till later. not that they don't understand, maybe they just dun feel like it..

tute
some shoes he seems to be able to walk better than others, but overall quite ok, he can still walk, altho more clumsy than without shoes. what shoes is he wearing?

tute
only when K wears shoo shoos (the very soft soled type), then she can walk. But when she wears those harder ones, she can't grip as well and tends to fall.

BX
dun worry. i was a slow one myself - started walking only at 20 mths, by then my mom boiled dunno how many frogs' legs, chicken legs for me to drink. hehe, she always said i'm the more expensive one to upkeep!

abt talking - friends who married other nationalities say that it is recommended that each parent uses his/her mother tongue exclusively to speak to them. their children get "equal" exposure to both languages but they may not articulate as fast because they are busy assimilating the languages. So i guess those babies who are not talking yet must be powerfully bi or trilingual in future!

re : shoes

want to ask abt the soles of the shoes. i saw the hello kitty & "bubblegummers" (dunno if i spelled correctly anot) the soles are transparent rubber type. quite soft. Some r those harder soles. (not transparent)

mummies, do u tink the transparent one safe 2 let our darlings walk wif it? the designs r prettier (for girls) but hb dun let me buy cos he tink not safe leh.

any mummies buy similar soles b4?

hello mummies!!!
been a tiring week for me. hubs out of town n L seem to have developed a "fear" for unfamiliar noises that he clings to me all the time. This behaviour heightens esp at night. He wld point out the window to indicate that it is dark and when he hears odd noises, he wld whimper n if i don't carry him, it wld turn to huge huge sob. Though i tried assuring him and even bringing him to the window to let him knw what is the noise abt, but he still insists on clinging onto me. Goodness! it was really cham for me for the past few nights! Even during dinner time, he wld insist on sitting on my lap and it is really difficult to feed him in the position. Any mummies come across this situation???

xiaoyun,
can i join the UE's jwt trial on sat(21/3) too? i really hope to find my coupon though cos' mayb have dropped it

bkkgal,
ur description of K very funi! like a walking cactus...hahaha!!! L also started walking and his style is very much like a drunkard, always bumping into things and tripping over something. 'kok' his head many times n had this bad fall once n bit into his lip. ya, now he looks like a wounded boxer wid a swollen lip :p sometimes i wonder if i allow him to move too much on his own though cos' he seems to be picking up lots of injuries here and there....hmmmmm.....

gar/qingling,
m gg to japan only in May or Jun, wonder it wld be too hot though cos' i understand that their summers can be really really hot!!!

tute,

may i knw how do u cook french beans for ur kid? been wanting to do that but wonder how i shd do it to make it ymmy....

Hi, Pauline
SIL bought flashcards from Popular also; one about animals, another about numbers with different subjects...cost around $7.9 each...
We ask baby where is , for example, "tiger"? She will point to "tiger", ask her to kiss "tiger"; then say "smart girl"; correct her if she points wrongly.

Hi, Xiaoyun

which one do you prefer?

(1) xiaoyun - b
(2) tubao --UE sq
(4) pauline??
(5) Leila

Hi, Bx

Can I exchange Emma with your Ashlynn? Haha....
I love Ashlynn's fun loving and beautiful face. Wish my 2nd daughter(if have) like her......

Don't think IQ differ much for different babies/people at first place.......or only very very very few people are really intelligent...... anyway, EQ plays 80% importance.

My hubby and I walked pro at 11 month compared to Emma at 13 month----Both MIL and my mum commented that Emma is not as smart as my hubby/me at that age. But we didn't care about baby's IQ; we hope that through our education/discipline Emma can have strong mind power and know how to make right choices to make herself and others happy when she grow up.

Don't really like myself writing something abstract.....seems only my hubby likes it....

hi andrea,

so sorry tat i din inform u abt the size. Hv PM u liao. thanks hor!

tubao/apple,

i tink the transparent rubbler soles are good enuff 4 walking but hb dun tink so lor. he tinks 2 soft, not suitable for proper walking.

but tink i will go ahead 2 buy since u mummies bought 4 ur darlings. I will jz ignore my hb! haha...

the shoes r reali pretty and cute!

JWT
mummies where u get vouchers from?? i also want

(1) xiaoyun - b
(2) tubao --UE sq
(4) pauline??
(5) Leila
(6) isobellies - UE!

tubao
i agree w u! hubby and i think that EQ is v v impt - so if he doesn't score so well in sch next time i won't mind, but i'll be more concerned about his social skills development

Iso,

Ya shoo shoos too soft, tat y i oni let Cayenne wore for oni 2 wks when she jz walked a few steps. After tat, she walked much longer distance. Tat y i went to buy a harder sole type. But hor, most designs i see in department stores not nice leh. either blue or pink. i prefer white, wan the sweet sweet design one. keke...

personally i tink shoo shoos not very suitable for proper walking cos too soft, Cayenne's shoo shoos become out of shape abit when she walked more than 10 steps. Tink not protective enuff of her little feet.

Btw, mummies, where got more range of shoes 4 our darlings ah. I went robinson, taka, JL... Pathetic range leh.

Kiddy palace still not too bad.

apple,

i dunno aso. my sil told me too soft not gd as in protective of their feet. so hb tink tat HK shoes too soft. now hor i go shopping sure go c shoes. everytime i pick up the HK shoe (always tempted to pick it up and admire say so pretty, nice etc), hb will pour cold water on me. say too soft la, scare not gd la etc. so i always put it back. keke...

tink i gg 2 chiong the isetan pte sale to buy shoes. haha...

my gal is wearing bubblegummers now.
the first shoe i bought for her is my little pony...she started walking two weeks before she turned one year..but when i wore the little pony shoe for her, she stood there like dont know what to do..cos the shoe maybe she cannot feel her own feet.
so i bo bian buy another pair from bubblegummers for her one year old birthday and she walked around everywhere and can practically slow run!

esther
tangs! they got a lot!
yah i think shooshoos good for the first few steps. now he's wearing "brown bear", about $18.90 (b4 any discounts) from taka or tangs. the quality is so-so (the tip scratched off a bit already from wearing), but it's not bad otehrwise. i don't like the kiddy palace "max cool" ones. looks v cheap.

i also bought a pair of osh kosh from Tangs and Colette but it's a bit bigger so he hasn't worn that yet. his feet are growing so fast i have to make sure got shoes for each stage!

i haven't gone to see the bubblegummers ones yet! must go check it out. selling at Bata, ya?

iso...

you should go see bubbleg at taka cos they got more designs and if u are taka card holder, they always got additional 10% etc...bata got some designs and at times selected few got discounts but not the new arrivals...