(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

i must be very lucky with my weaning experience...and i think partly cuz at 6months, ruth still udnno what's happening.

she bit me a lot that time and flicking her cheek never worked. i was so scared everytime i think she also scared cuz i look at her with fear and she look at me in fear too!!

So i just stopped like that!

abit of blocked ducts but i keep massaging lor. anyway my supply was never all that good so well, just weaned her off like that.

WALKING: Ruth isn't walking yet also. She can walk if i hold her hands and guide her but not on her own yet.

FALLING ASLEEP: Ruth spends about 30-60mins falling asleep..but to give her credit, she mostly falls asleep on her own. the 30-60min is actually like our 'quality time' cuz she loves this time on the bed, jumping around, playing with her toys or watching mickey mouse clubhouse on playhouse disney. sometimes she will lie on my legs or between my legs and i will make her comfy with pillows - she will just fall asleep like that.

BULLY:
i think ruth bullies me...i think all babies 'bully' their mummy. When i'm around, she will cry easily - probably for my attention. My mum told me this cuz when the same incident happens and i'm not around, she doesn't cry.

If i'm around, I must be the one putting her to sleep..unless I really disappear and dun appear in front of her or let her hear my voice cuz she'll clamour for me.

No. 2: i still half-hearted...cuz i'm not big on children actually.

kitsune, forgot to tell u...i admire your move.

i dun think i can give up my job - not like it's damn fantastic or high pay - cuz i'm too impatient with Ruth.

In fact, I relish my freedom so much i miss it nowadays. i'm quite a bad mummy. heh.

lezy,
ruth sounds like a very good bb.
i am still waiting for the day my bb can fall asleep on his own. The only few times he does that is when he is really really really tired in the day, that he will just lie on me to sleep. But it never happens at night leh.

I read that after 1 yr, breastmilk contains even more fat, and got more energy levels.. does that mean bb will be even more energetic liao? hehhe.

qingling..that's a funny picture. heh. full of life and it's bittersweet moments!

I see all the cupcake and fondant cakes...so tempting...but erm...i reluctnat to spend so much on a cake..plus, i think so nice i can't bear to tear it apart (and eat it!)

fairfield..thanks. Ruth is generally ok. Just abit bratty and hard to manage in the day. She needs constant supervision and company - if we leave her for just awhile, if she's engrossed in her toys, she doesn't notice but the moment she looks up and sees nobody, she'll yell and cry and wail and nowadays, she'll crawl very very very fast and sometimes hurt herself in her fluster.

sigh

fairfield, gynae said even no such thing as silent ovulation cos if got ovulation sure got menses. But I guess some people got caught because the 'first time' they ovulate they also don't know cos usually it's before first day of period mah, then they strike jackpot. So that's why BF still not foolproof contraception if you not latching/pumping regularly/frequently bah.

But my gynae did a scan when I saw him at KK yesterday. He confirmed I'm not ovulating cos he saw egg but still small. It won't be released unless it gets bigger since I no menses for long time liao. He said prolactin level too high but no need to do blood test.

Thanks, Lezy. I'm a lazy worker. Now with my daughter, perfect excuse to quit.

Morning mommies
No time to come in yesterday. Working like a dog day and night. See dd for 15 mins, put her to sleep, morning, wake up, see her for 30 minutes and go to work. Very sad that I can't get to see her more

Qingling, nice cake and lovely photo! Heidi so cute! I wanna capture my cat and K together but the cat is damn scared of K lor. She hear her coming - run far far away. So no chance to catch anything.

Lezy, K also will clamour for me when I'm around. But i don't see as bullying leh..i think of it as a compliment that she naturally prefers her mother. heh.

Ok, gotta start my long day soon. Have a good day with your LOs! Post more pics ok?

abc's mummy,
i am still breastfeeding. 2 feed a day plus night latching.
total yield is abt 400ml.
will continue to bf as long as possible

Artemis - yes, can order cake alone.
Picture - tks for compliment, that's the first time we manage to take photo of them together as well..haha..ok..i will see which baby contest are available to submit..haha..
fairfield - you give me an idea - i shall print out and frame..haha
Lezy - actually the cake not so ex leh. if u dun wan the fondant cake, u can opt for the cream cake, i think it looks just as nice and its only $38 for my design like that. Its the fondant that expensive.

by the way, Heidi still cannot say anything including mama n papa..should that be worrying? actually i am not, but i heard the 1st yr assessment will consider that into the test..hmm..

re: bb's bite
yesterday, he attack my shoulder and flabby tummy... bite my tummy thru my t shirt. pain till i freeze on the spot. OMG... i bled a little and got teethmark.

qingling:
hahaha its a cute pic. makes my day lol.
will go and vote for bbay H!

cheryl:
gd to hear tat vernon's fever is gone liao. gd lah, if rashes comes out means ok liao. they will go away in a few days.

blueginger
i think they are starting to understand a lot more now, quite amazing cos it seems like all of a sudden!

artemis
danica sleeps in her own cot or on your bed?

fairfield
i think bbs will change lah, for mine i used to have to really rock him to sleep, but then all of a sudden now if i rock him he will not be happy, so for naps and night time just need to lie next to him and pat pat and sing a bit. we didn't train at all, and it just happened, which i'm sooo thankful for cos it's much easier, heh.

jass mei
aiyooo!! notti matt! wonder why they like to bite hor.

long time no "see"...been awfully busy at work can hardly catch my breath. non stop meetings and have to eat at my desk.

only managed to glance briefly at the posts no chance to follow in detail...

heidi,
great pic! so spontaneous...i love it! i like your cake too! got mine from cupcake divinity as well.

kitsune,
jia you!! take it slowly one step at a time re weaning. it's probably very difficult for Raeanne to give up something so comforting.

dor,
your bday party looks v fun! nice venue and very nice pics! the cake is v nice too

qingling, haha your bb looks soo cute in the pic!

apple/Iso, I have a chomper too! He bites my hb more than me cause I am firmer about it wheras my hb is alot more inconsistent lol. I will usually yelp v loudly (natural reacton, cant be helped!) and tell him firmly "DONT BITE!!" When he peers into my face, he can see that I am really upset.

I think they bite because they CAN lol, I think thats the primary motivation for bbs otheir age to do alot of the things that they do (eg, topple stuff, fling food,..). And also to see our reaction to it? And the prob repeatedly so because they just want to make sure that we REALLY dont like this action, and so if we are v consistent, it should help after a while. At least thats what I read in most books about this behaviour.

bluegin, I think bbs do understand ALOT at this age, way more than what WE normally think haha. Esp if you speak to your bb alot, its v natural that your bb understands even more.

abc - saw that u r selling your logico set..is it good ah? i saw it at Pasir Ris selling..

mummies - tks for compliment..Heidi and Jasper (dog)will be very happy
(photographer is daddy)

Qingling : Voted hee hee. Too cute to not vote!

Baby Bite : Old pple will say cos eat crab, then baby will bite! My MIL say cos I ate crab. I only ate one tiny leg that time and only once! Haizz what logic?

Berry : hee yah they seem to be doing the action to "test" our reaction. She always do certain action and look at me to see what I am going to do abt it.

Agree that babies can understand more than what we think and they can pick up things very fast. So must be more aware of our own actions now....
That day Amanda was screaming away, me and my sisters all keep asking her keep quiet and putting a finger to our mouth telling her to keep quiet. The next day, MIL brought her downstairs for a walk and she scream again. A ah ma ask her not to scream and to be quiet and Amanda put a finger to her mouth just like what we did the previous day!

Apple79,
Not true. I din eat crab during pregnancy. Dun really fancy crab.

Isobellies,
ya. Their times are here. Perhaps ours are easier. I read from books that bb at 1yo starts to have their biting teeth growing. Hence, they like to bit. But dun understand why bb oso bite adults. I tried directing Channet to bite her own legs and she shake her head to signal "NO".
Puzzled me.

Climbing stair.
Channet starts to climb staircase 2week ago. Very tired for parents.

Bfing:
I'm still considering whether to continue or stop. Like many, a bit reluctant.

Cayenne aso bites me! My chin & shoulder. But not painful as Jass's. Jass, Matt reali use all his mighty force ah.

1 other thing Cayenne loves to do is ..... PINCH me & every1 @ home. Esp when being carried, her small fingers will come 2 my neck, chest area & start to pinch! Tat can be quite painful.

blueginger
so cute!! maybe you are tastier than her leg

berry
but my bb really hardly bites my hubby - so much so he was asking bb to bite him! :p

another thing my bb likes to do is to pinch my tummy fats!! aiyoooo

apple
that is very cute! i must try and teach my bb.. haha. but he is quite a calm bb, doesn't scream much.

Hi qingling,

Aiyoh.. Heidi looked supercute. Where was the pic taken?

Btw, i have voted.. u shld put the photo in other websites too..

Re: TBF
Wow.. u mummies can last for so long!! Jia you!!

Re: biting

Jass.. ouch.. must be painful.
Luckily G has not biten or pinch me or do anything to me yet although i have accidentally scratch her( but no injuries) on a few ocassions.

ok gers.. finally i have signed up for msn after it died on me a few yrs ago.

Pls add me at [email protected]

See u all again.. gona do pedicure now to prepare for my ger's party on sat.. haha.. Byee

XY and cheryl.. thanks for the websites k!!!

bfing: ABC mum, i wont stop purposely, but am expecting ss to stop gradually. dunno how long can it last? now with mens my ss about 300+ only.

apple: amanda so cute with imitating the actions!!!!

biting: shaun also bit a lot. always bit my hands, thighs, shoulder. so end up i always scream.

iso/tongtong: sometimes find babies "you hao qi you hao xiao"

Genice: wah must pedicure somemore hee hee. My frd commented prepare baby birthday machiam like prepare wedding dinner like that haha

qingling
that's a cute photo!

tongtong
ya, everyone said i am too skinny leh... all my clothes and pants/skirts quite loose now. y stop when you have #2?

abc
me still tbf.

Gar, I agree, very difficult for Mummy to stop the BF bonding too. If RaeAnne is my no. 2, I'll bf her until she doesn't want to latch anymore or if she keeps biting me. :p

Anyway, RaeAnne is at MIL's place tonight. Today, I look after her with my aunty and mum whole day together with a 6 year old (my cousin's kid) to give ILs a breather. So asked hubby to ask his parents if they can look after tonight so that he no need to wake up for night feeds, can rest more since he's sick. MIL agree lor.

Morning Mummies!!! Its Friday the 13th!!! Enjoy the weekend ahead.. think most mummies will be busy celebrating birthdays since there are like 5 babes with actual birthdays falling on 15th!

Super Happy Today... Finally.. my last day of work...how i wish i am going on Maternity and not NPL. :p

Re: birthday parties
Apple.. yar lor.. planning a party is not that easy.. a lot of things to take care... big affair leh.. :p

Went to paint my nails black and pink.. haha.. for her party.. looking forward.. E last big party for her till she turns 21.

Qingling... wow.. i thot the photo looks like in some Autumn place.. very nice..
I think the dumex website need to sign up to vote..

Kitsune and other bf mummoes.. *envy*.. i never really latch G b4.. only for less than 2 mnths so do not understand how it feels leh.. e next one i must make sure can latch...must be very fun when they can respond to you.

Jeannie
haha. If I had my way, the next big party will be her 21st birthday or wedding. But I think the doting daddy will oppose. Damn alot of work man, planning this birthday thingy. Almost feels like a mini wedding! :p

Really? Are there 5 babies on 15th Feb? I know only Ruth, Ashlynn, Kate.

good morning mommies !

iso: can check with you whc PD do you go to ? the one at sunset way is not open tdy, nicole's having runny nose...

or anyone knows any PD in the central or west area ?

THks!

dianA - there's one alpha baby and child at jurong east central.

ALPHA BABY & CHILD SPECIALISTS BLK 135 JURONG EAST ST 13 #02-321 SINGAPORE 600135 67958660

there's another one kidslink opp chinese garden.

3. Jurong East Branch
Blk 353, Jurong East St 31
#01-111, Singapore 600353
(Opposite Chinese Garden MRT)
Tel : 6567-5600
Fax : 6567-5990

genice, you taking NPL?

latch: luckily i took the video shots when latching shaun.. that is the only clip i have !! after that he decided to wean off liao.. heng i stll managed to catch that in video.

Haha all the 15th feb babies are girls. Amanda's bd is on 16th feb but we are celebrating her birthday on 15th.

I have outsourced the decor (theme Hello Kitty) and the person in charge said all the decor he is doing that day are all Hello Kitty. Think on this day a lot of baby girls birthday.

diana
bukit timah plaza has one PD quite gd. Dorothy ong baby and child clinic. If not i usu go to the one at united sq. Prefer the united sq one though

qingling
logico is gd... my hubby bought her another set tat y selling.

genice
i added u. did u received?

tong tong
300ml very gd le. during my menses my supply drop until very low. prob only 200plus.. when my menses not here on average day i get 300plus too. whatever i pump i will feed him lor... usu is about 120-150ml per pump only. but when i am, with him i will latch n latch

dropping by before the start of another hectic day but hey it's friday !!! TGIF....

diana,
kidslink at jurong east is so2 for me but the pd is a cardio specialist as well... i usually go to aglow at united square.

qingling,
voted for heidi

re:biting,
C likes to bite too especially when we say no or if we don't give in to what he wants then he quickly go to us and bite us... haiz...

i didn't get to pump this morning cos was running late and last night work quite late, very tired so overslept. Had to hand express at the office toilet into the sink
so sad. SOB!

I'm near the end of my expressing career liao.