(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Berry! long time no see. yes, our bbs are turning 1 soon. So fast huh?

Sorry, very sk but what are mall shows?

lumpy foods/pieces of food
K is a hamster. I gave her some raisins and she happily (or so I thought!) ate them. But an hour later, eh how come 1 raisin on her shirt, another 30 minutes later, another raisin and slowly all the raisins just popped out of her mouth. that girl just kept all her raisins in her mouth until happy happy spit them out!

bkkgal,
hahahah... the way you describe K is really cute.
when I let her bite those foods, my hb kept asking me to check her mouth to make sure that she's not a hamster..

btw, can feed raisin meh? won't it be too sweet? any special raisin? just the sunsweet brand? or organic one?

jass,
i think for cayleb no difference... cereal he will swallow, then porridge a bit lumpy he will also swallow...chew a bit only...hahaha...

XY,

i bot heinz baby biscuits (very soft) jz a soft bite, the biscuit will come off. but bee prepared for crumbles to be all over the floor. Maybe Cayenne is more kpo, everyting aso wan 2 hold and PUT inside her mouth lor. so i hv no pro wif her biting and chewing off the biscuits. i ever bot the heinz teething biscuits. super hard. i cant even bite it off myself!

my bb sitter say it's time 2 let her hold and bite, if not, she might be lazy or dunno hw 2. i tink 4 bbs who loves to put toys inside their mouths, it might not be a bad thing afterall. Does Carrie love 2 hold toy and put it in her mouth? if so, she shd be able 2 hold her biscuit and bite! keke

my gf's gal dun put toy inside her mouth one, so my gf say her gal oni hold the apple or biscuit. din put inside her mouth 2 bite

iso,
i have this tiered steamer. i will usually cut the apple into halves, place them on a small plate and steam. i will feed ashlynn with the juice collected on the plate.

esther,
C is the same as your gf's gal. doesn't put things inside the mouth one.

the only thing that she's interested to mouth are wires and telephone lines...

ronroo:

hope this helps.

Porridge preparation
1).What to put in the porridge?
i will put frozen puree (meat / fish / veg / fruits / mixed puree) i prepared earlier. sometimes i'll add in some flaxseed powder / home made ikan bilis powder.

2).Do you put salt in the porridge? no.. baby can;t take salt / soy sauce. no good for their tiny kidneys

3).what kind of vegetables can we put in porridge?
cabbage, potato, sweet potato, yam, carrot, broccoli, heng cai, spinach, xiao bai cai, lettuce, french beans, green peas, mushroom... many types.

4).Do you put dry scallop? Ikan bilis?
dry scallop. I only used a very few to cook adult soup (i do not use any seasoning in my soup) then from there, use some of this soup add into the bb's porridge to further cook it. for ikan bilis. i only used ikan bilis powder which i grinded myself. i remove the head of the ikan bilis, to wash to remove the salt, roasted in oven till very cripsy then i grind into powder.

XY,

haha.. she loves wires ah.. so cute. then u better start 2 train her. hw abt when feeding time? she wan 2 kpo take the spoon or bowl? probably Carrie will show interest to hold/grab and eventually put into her mouth!

XY
Try feeding spaghetti, noodle, carrot strips? hehe.
I dunno what kind of raisins..i was at this wedding dinner, they had pilaf rice with raisins so I just experiment and feed her loh. normally she gets only boring cereal/porridge but she very gian to try our food so i let her nibble a bit.

Have u tried the Pigeon rice crackers? K really like them and it's less messy than those crumbly biscuits. It sticks to her hands so she is kept occupied for a good 20 minutes trying to get them off her hands. That gives us time to enjoy our meals too! :p

Actually, I'm very concerned that she doesn't want to chew or bite her foods. Even with 6 teeth, she still very lazy, only wants to swallow super nuah nuah type of food. I have to push the porridge thru a sieve before she would eat.

gar:
hahah u mention the pigeon snacks on sat, i went to buy 3 types fr kiddy palace yesterday.

cheryl:
hheh i bought the spout too! wahaha

tute:
matt didnt chew all the way, a bit chew chew then swallow. hahah @ least he chew lah, makes me happy.

bkk:
haha the way u describe kate's hamster incident very cute. haha i can imagine! coz i also like to check matt's mouth but he hates me to check.

xy:
how did u feed the blueberries to carrie huh? matt will keep all the skin in his mouth leh

bkk - i also want to laugh reading kate's hamster's story..hahha...it kills my boredom when i m working now..hahaha

i tried feeding Heidi those ABC pasta (i bought from this organic store).. she keep giving the very hard to swallow look, like something stuck in her throat..but i tested the pasta, it was very nuah already..guess she doesn't like the texture..then i went to blend it she also dun like..hmmm..any mummies with experience cooking this pasta for your bb?

bx
i bought the ikan bilis brown rice but must cook 1

esther
vernon seem to prefer that more than porridge, lol.. i have the normal brown rice n ikan bilis one

bkkgal, every year end, some major malls will have kiddy shows, like barney, sesame street, transformers, etc. Somehow, this year most major malls are having them. Its free and usually lasts 20-35min, but you'll ned to go slightly earlier if you want to get a seat at sitting area (sit on the floor) in front of the stage. We usually try to arrive at least 15min before the show begins but there are parents who will arrive an hour just to get front row seats lol! Oh, and alot of the time, the speakers are located ether at both side front of the stage, or behind the sitting area, and it can be VERY loud for younger kids like our bbs if you are sitng/standing too nearby. (During the Mr men show this year, my ears were ringing for 5 min after the show ends, thats how loud it was. luckily that time hb was looking after bb at home, if oy my bb will be temporarily deaf for a while :p)

Here's a link to this year's show schedule:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/1086271.html?1227074469

Food- I dont cook alot of porridge cause I find that my bb prefers to eat what we eat. And I dont feel that porridge is nec more nuritious than other food. Plus with my very tight schedule, its impossible to cook twice a day just for bb. So most of the time, I will serve bb whatever we are eating as long as its not spicy or heavily seasoned. today we had steamed red snapper (among other stuff) for dinner, so for bb's dinner, I put a huge chunk of steamed snapper, several cubes of toufu, half a steamed tomato, and two tablespoonfuls of rice into a bowl, added a teaspoon of liquid from the steamed fsh, a little hot water and blended with my handheld blender My bb ate it all up happily. A nutritious meal with no extra effort, good for everyone.

been really occupied with work. come back from hk already a week+ but cannot catch up wif all the work man. today i told my boss i'm going crazy.

so exciting to hear all the babies growing up. such an exciting period now...and i have a lot of fun wif Ruth.

Ruth has 5 teeth, with another 2 more emerging. The 2 are incidentally her front teeth so now we keep singing to her "All i wanfor cweeth-mirth ith my two fwan feef".

Food: Ruth has cereal/wholemeal bread for breakfast. sometimes milk about 10ish, if not then earlier porridge lunch at about 11ish. milk, snacks, fruits in the afternoon. she eats biscuits, sweets, basically anything we feed her. Especially since my cousin gave us some Karihome Goat's Milk sweets....ruth will take the whole sweet and slowly savour and smile at us.

Somehow she doesn't have a problem of eating big chunks of things. If it's hard, she'll keep them in the side of her mouth until it softens, then she chomps and swallows.

Dinner is porridge again, and milk before she sleeps. SHe wakes up for one feed about 5/6am. Each milk feed still about 120ml only. Usually just before the 120ml is up, she will auto-stop.

Weight: She is 9+kg liao....carrying her is really challenging man. But she still look quite lean i think.

Her actions are all very deliberate. Claps and smiles when she's happy. Likes to 'play catch' a lot. Can pull to standing from sitting. Crawls fast ONLY when she wants to. Other times she won't even crawl!

She knows when i scold her. She will frown and almost cry and look for daddy. sigh.

bkk - ya ya..i bought that from the organic store. i use 1 whole tomato and some carrots and vege to puree , not really so tomato based, cos i used pork bone stock as well. but i think mainly its the texture of the pasta that she find it not so tasty to swallow..plus no teeth to chew maybe makes it difficult..

qingling,
i almost wanted to buy bb pasta too but realised i dunno what base to cook it in. the way u describe like quite ma fan. haiz... i am too lazy to do that.

hi berry,
nice to see u here again..

re: mall show
yes, i brought ervin to the Greet & Meet with Pooh and friends @ Taka last sat.. V fun ! we took a nice pic with them..
Last evening, we went to the Mr. Men Show @ Compasspoint but din stayed long cos we were watching from 2nd storey as it was too crowded..
I missed the Sesame Street show @ Marina Square..

qingling,
re: ABC pasta
I tried feeding ervin this but he oso dun seems to like it although we have cooked the pasta till v soft..
i have not let erlene tried the ABC pasta yet. Maybe i will blend the pasta for the 1st few feeds so that it will be easier for her to swallow..

xiaoyun,
erlene loves to put toys or anything into her mouth !
she can chew on it for quite a long time..
so we have to watch her closely and clean the toys regularly..

happy,
ashlynn also. she doesn't play with the toy. She will find a nice spot or the tag and start chewing and sucking. we very terrible, sometimes the toy drop on the ground when we are outside, we still give it to her. coz we are too tired to clean for her everytime it drops. she will purposely throw on the ground wan...

bx,
yes yes, and the toy will be soaked with their saliva rite ? hahaha..
erlene oso the same.. when she gets tired of a toy, she will purposely drop it on the ground.
My hb is v particular abt cleanliness. last sun we were having dinner outside, erlene accidentally dropped her toy on the ground a few times and my hb will run to the toilet to wash it everytime she dropped it..
for me, i will juz use the wet tissue to wipe it clean.. =P

re : pasta

got some frm my SIL, she told me hv 2 add a pinch of salt 2 the water when cook the pasta, the water tat we used to boil the pasta cannot be used for soup. so if intend 2 prepare soup based type, hv 2 boil another pot of water and then put the boiled pasta into.

if wan 2 prepare dry type, then must totally drained off the water and fry them.

she say now actually we can add tiny pinch of salt since our bbs r coming 2 10mths old. but definitely no soy sauce.

gg 2 try 2 prepare tis wkend and c if Cayenne likes anot.

My BB always pick up thing on the floor and put into his mounth...even the blanket he also take and bit or suck.. I can't do anything....he will cry if you pulling it away...

re:abc pasta
had cooked this for shaun. he liked it very much. the soup i used veg stock+pumpkin and sweet potato. sweet enough.

esther: no need to put salt. you can cook the pasta using the stock. flavoured enuff liao.

Kitsune
Looks like Raeanne enjoyed her first holiday
When you have time, post what things you packed for Raeanne's trip to HK and what travel tips to look out for. Is it like a lot of stuff you had to bring? did u bring your pump, diapers, food, formula, stroller, carrier?

Berry, re: mall shows, oic - I guess will have to pay attn to these holiday activities when bb is alot older :p Right now, think she can't appreciate them yet. In fact, she was scared by the big characters when one approached us to eat at this restaurant. Started crying the minute she saw the doll coming towards her.

How do you manage a toddler and a baby on your own going out, Berry? I'm always amazed by you.

I like your way of feeding! very convenient, just put everything together and blend. Maybe I should try it too.

Pasta
hmm..seems like not many babies enjoy the texture and also sounds difficult to prepare..

Today very busy man. Just got some time to pop in and out.

Ruth used to mouth every single thing. nowadays her 'pattern' change again.

she loves being on our bed - cuz u can see her behaviour is deliberately different when we put her on the bed before sleep everynight.

she'll tumble around, crawl, fall, rub her face on the pillow, lean on the pillow and relax for awhile before starting all of the above.

on normal 'hard' floor, she's more cautious it seems.

we've been trying to tell her "nono..this is not mum-mum" whenever she puts something non-edible into her mouth- not sure if it's paying off or just a phase!

but she doesn't have much interest in holding a spoon or anything like that - which my mum says is perfectly ok la. we also never had interest in holding out own utensils until older and well, i think i'm quite perfectly capable of holding my own utensils now. hah.

but from time to time she still try to put one thing or another into her mouth it seems. however that's considerably rare already. nowadays she only eat food and her pillow corners (and sometimes her pacifier.

kitsune,
welcome back! looks like a successful trip =)

my hb told me over the weekend to "let's go hong kong" hehe...so need tips from you now especially on weather. not sure how much warm clothing is needed.

Thanks, mummies. Glad to be back.

bkkgal, Gar, just posted my packing list on my blog. Hope it'll be useful for you.
Three things I found very useful for my HK trip: 1) Baby Bjorn carrier (lots of stairs in HK, stroller not convenient) 2) Baby changing mat (hardly any baby rooms in HK, only found one in Elements shopping mall near Kowloon station) 3) Nursing wrap especially if you are still BF (cos no baby room = no nursing room :p)

Gar, RaeAnne hates to be in warm sweaters and cardigans, she keeps pulling on the long sleeves. In shopping mall/restaurants, it's too hot althought it's just nice for outdoors in morning and evening. Think it's best to layer the baby so that you can take out when it's warmer. Jacket with hood, gloves and thick socks/shoes will be useful.

XY, did you manage to collect the munchkin snack net from Gar during the playdate? When can I get from you?

good morning all,
kitsune,
i've long long time collected the munchkin feeder. thought you not going over your mum's place so didn't pass it over to her.
when you going over again?

bkkgal,
the mozzie patch can be bought at pharmacies, GP clinics...

garfield,
stop BFing soon ah?

jass,
my gal eaten up the blueberry skin.
probably you cut it smaller so that matt can eat it too?
if not, quite easy to peel off if it's frozen. :p (yes, i freeze blueberry - for making yogurt)
basically, i am now freezing lots of things... haha..

xy,
i've been supplementing with 1x FM all the while. now thinking of switching brand.

as for bf - i think my target is one year old. will stop after chinese new year.

garfield,
thought you stopping BF soon as you selling away your Avent cups.

was intending to ask you if you are trying for #2 or what. haha...
okok..

kaypoh a bit on the formula that you intro. it seems not bad.
$22 for a tin of 360g is actually not too expensive. if not wrong, Similac is about $19 for 400g, right?

you get from luckyvitamin?

xy,
ya i actually reduce pumping frequency gradually. so don't have so much excess to store. therefore all the avent via cups i stock up on not required anymore.

for the organic formula, i think the additional cost in percentage terms is similar to what we pay for organic cereals / foods in general.

ya looking at lucky vitamin...but haven't done research if can get cheaper elsewhere. the milk costs US$8+ so about SG$14. I estimated about $8 of shipping cos nowadays shipping cost a bit whacko...tends to be quite high. i guess the actual cost could be closer to SG$20.

similac is $16-17 for 400g. so organic formula costs about 30 percent more.

you keen to try?

hey.. kitsune, welcome back.
had a good trip huh

xy:
wow, you freeze the berries as in you thaw and when you need it? you cut up the berries and put into yogurt? hahah thats a good idea. yeah... i cut each berry into 8 coz its already quite messy liao.. then i cut into 4. haha in the end i resort to use my teeth to try to peel of some of the skin, press the berry firmly between my fingers till a bit nuah then feed him.
lazy me end up puree the rest of the berries and add into cereal. so far he enjoys the berries a lot. i used 1.5 oz of blueberries, 1.5 oz of mango and 3 oz of apple to mix with abt 8-9tbsp of cereal and he finished everything quite fast

re: persimmon fruit
ok.. the very adventurous me tried to puree and freeze persimmon. Matt hates it. hahhaah i tried and spit out. the persimmon has a very very siap taste. totally yucky. ok think we cant puree and freeze that fruit.

Similac's price has gone up with the new packaging.

I find that it's quite difficult to switch formula once they are used to a particular brand.

XY, ok...I didn't look hard enough..will try again.

Gar, can use your avent cups for freezing purees what..no need to sell.

Need your recommendations for dim sum - authentic HK style, preferable if got pushcart type of dim sum. MIL's birthday lah, wanna bring her out for dim sum lunch.